X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Regent Montmartre Hostel & Budget Hotel Reviews

37 Boulevard Rochechouart, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
3423 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Pretty good hostel. Rooms are small and there is only one bathroom downstairs for the entire hostel. Also only one shower per floor. The location is near 2 metro stops which is nice. Still about a 30 minute metro into the city center though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your time writing your feedback. Unfortunately our room size are standard for an historic building as our. I inform you that you were sharing the shower with another room only as the 3 other rooms were ensuite. We have toilets downstairs and as two on two differents floors. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia, manager

100%

Great hotel. Staff are very helpful and there's a common area for interaction with fellow travelers. Location is great also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your nice feedback mentionning our location. Indeed we're 5 minutes walking distance from the Sacré Coeur, walking distance to Le Moulin Rouge and 2 minutes away from the metro and bus stations which make the visit of Paris easy. It's nice to read that you met new friends and shared nice moment with them and my team. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

71%

Good hostel to stay a few days, the beds are really short so if you are tall and have to sleep in the lower bed you're going to hit your head many times. The wifi works fine, the conection is slow but works in the rooms. It's pretty decent, expensive for what it offers but normal or good if we consider we are talking about Paris. The staff is very helpfull and they speak many laguages so that's cool. The hostel is located in a not so nice area but really close to two metro stations

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us overall. Our computer engineer is still studying the improvement of our system. Thanks for mentionning that for Paris our rates are good. About the beds, we'll see what we can do as our beds have a standard size. About the area we're yet in a tourisit area next to the famous Sacré Coeur. I'm happy to read that my team helped you during your stay. Hope to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia, Mgr

69%

Just you average hostel - bustling.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to read that you did not really enjoy your stay with us but you appreciate the location and the work of the staff. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back as with comments of our guests we improve our service and facilities. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

83%

First of all, the hostel located in excellent location, right at Montmart, and very closed to metro station "Anvers" Excellent staffs, especially those on grave yard shift. When I had to get a medicine at the middle of the night, one of the night shift staff (forgot his name-sorry but he was on duty at 31/May/15, and has beautiful (!) British accent) guided me to find 24 hrs open Pharmacy. The facility is little bit old and rusty, however, it is functional.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. You're right we are well located in the nice area of Montmartre in front of the Sacre Coeur (we have rooms with a wonderful on it). Thank you for the team, they like to make the stay of our guest nice giving the best information. I'm glad that Daniel helped you during the night. We try to keep our hostel maintain but as you've seen it's an old parisian building. We hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

89%

Pro: they had free lockers, it was in a central location, and it was pretty cool. Con: they put me in a 4-person room with a 50-year old couple, and a 15-year-old who had never travelled before. I'm early 20s. The lockers were sketchy. I'm paranoid about security, so ymmv. ( ^_^)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you find convenient our location and the free lockers. We never had problem in rooms or at reception, they fill their task : have the valuable items in security. You booked a room for 4 and we assign you a room of four. Unfortunately for the assignement it depends on the beds free at your arrival. We do not know the age of our guests and their traveilling's custom. Hope to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia,

94%

We had booked a six bed dorm but ended up being upgrade to a private double ensuite with the most amazing view of the Sacre Coeur! The guy on the desk was lovely and welcoming, the place is right in the centre of Paris and close to metro stations. One of the best hostels we have stayed in.


80%

I enjoyed my time at this hostel. Upon check I recieved a complementary upgrade to a 4 person female only dorm. The beds and pillows were well worn but comfortable. The rooms were of a decent size. And were comfortable when all roommates were there. Bathroom were very clean and was the linen. Great traditional French breakfast of croissants, bread, juice, tea and coffee. Kitchen facilities were good. Washing machines costs 7 euro. Good location close to the main train station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for posting a positive review of Le Regent. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your break and received a friendly and warm welcome from my staff who were friendly and helpful throughout your stay. Thank you for mentionning the great daily work of our housekeeping team. We are pleased to read that you enjoy the updrade you were lucky to benefit. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

86%

Overall I really enjoyed my stay at the hostel. Friendly staff and nice rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your review, we’re glad you had a great time while staying with us. We hope to see you soon in Paris in our hostel. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

83%

The great thing about this hostel is that the metro station is literally right out the front door, so you can hop on and go anywhere in the city. The area it's in is a little sketchy, but the hostel itself is a warm and friendly environment. Everything was clean and well maintained. They provide breakfast which is nice. I think it was a little too expensive, was the most expensive place we stayed in. Rooms are also a bit small, but from what I understand it's pretty standard for Paris.


97%

Great staff. They sepak several languages and very nice people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you were welcome warmly and friendly by my polyglot team. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

69%

The hostel is a bit out of the way of everything but is close to several metro stops. The hostel has a quieter feel to it and because there is a hotel in the back there may be older people or children around. They were painting the walls as we were there but it did not affect us. Each room has a full ensuite which is nice. The hostel is also near the red light district of paris. I probably wouldnt stay here again but only to have new experiences, would recommend for a quieter crowd though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to read that we won't have the pleasure to welcome you back. We are 5 minutes walking distance from the famous Sacré Coeur, Pigalle. The metro and bus stations next to the hostel makes the visit of the other sites easy. Thank you for your understanding for the painting, we apologise for the inconvenience. We try to improve our hostel. Hope Paris will welcome you again. Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

71%

This hostel has a great location, verry close to the metro. It's verry clean. The staff is friendly. The only thing that was absent is a little atmosphere. And a reading light in the rooms would be nice.


86%

the hostel was great, really clean but the staff is not too friendly. He gave me a room key and tell us about french in with a bit in a rush. so i didnt ask much! and when i get to the room , there was a photo shot there about the hostel so i have to wait for 30 minutes, and the staff was not letting me know about it. i dont mind to wait but at least i know. the location was great, the price is good on friday night but for sturday night was so expensive. but is great hostel for overall!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I do apologise for the lack of information you had upon check in and that you suffer our intern problem of communication about the photo shot. I'd like to also thank you for mentioning the positive points despite your arrival. I hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again to show you how good we can be. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

63%

I lost my faith in the staff when I came back the second day and my card wouldn't open my door. When I went to the front desk the girl told me my room had been changed and I was supposed to have checked out that morning. Although an inconvenience, this would have been fine given someone had told me. Since no one did all my stuff was shoved together and thrown in a closet. Not pleasant.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in our hostel. I do apologise for the experience you encountered. Circumstances beyond our control forced us to move you in another room. I'm sorry that we did not informed you before. I hope that we'll have the pleasure to welcome you back again to show you how good we can be. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

91%

Staff really friendly. The atmosphere is comfy and it is easy to start talking with your new friends. Good common areas. There is a lot of homeless and stangers on the street but it is no problem. (it is same in everywhere in Gare du Nord)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to read that you enjoy your stay with us appreciating my welcome and warm team at reception. I'm happy that you met new friends in our common areas. As big cities, we believe, you have to be careful when walking in the street. We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you back. Regards, Laëtitia, manager

83%

Good location very close to Sacre Coeur and Metro lines, and nice enough room. Very clean. They have a partnership with a bar a couple blocks away, but the atmosphere at the actual hostel wasn't very fun- no one really hangs out in the common spaces.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to read that you appreciate our partnership with the pub "on the road" where you hopefully appreciated the welcome shot we offer. We are working on animations. Hopefully we'll be ready next week. Thank you for mentionning our cleanliness. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to share nice moment during our animations. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Manager

86%

This hostel is adjacent to anner subway. Very convenient for tourist to move around. I was given a room that facing Sacre. That was a great view from the window! The staff are friendly and helpful. Croissant breakfast is nice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for such a nice feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoy you stay with us appreciating our welcome, friendly team, our position easy to visit Paris with the metro and bus station next to us. I'm very happy that you enjoy the wonderful view on the Sacré Coeur you had. Best Regards, Laëtitia, manager

74%

One of the staff members came across as a bit rude and breakfast was very repetitive. Otherwise a good hostel with great location. Will be happy to stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bonjour, Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased to read that you enjoy your stay with us and will stay again with us. I'm sorry to read that one member of my team wasn't welcome and friendly. Hope that you've noticed that all my friendly team is happy to help and give tips to our dear guests. Concerning the breakfast we offer every morning I'm sorry to read that you did not enjoy it. We look forward having the pleasure to welcome you again. Best Regards, Laëtitia, Mgr

77%

I chose this place for its location. Right next to Sacre Coeur, and of course, anywhere is close on the metro line, which is right outside. The kitchen is ample size and the free breakfast is nice, but simple. I would definitely recommend this place for a chilled atmosphere.


(151 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback