Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Le Tour Traveler's Rest Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th May 2017
9.7

Yet another great hostel. Super clean, well organized, great staff, etc. The location is awesome. It's a short walk to the metro. There are a number of restaurants, convenience stores, fruit stores, ATMs, bars etc within 5 min walking. There are a few parks within 10 minutes walking where you can squeeze in a few workouts if you want. Only docking points for atmosphere. It was very quiet while I was there, and I got the vibe that most people just wanted to do their own thing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd May 2017
8.6

Great location to see Shanghai and spend some time out in an international district. Overall, a nice hostel and good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
8.9

Very large place. Very clean. Staff were helpful but seemed stressed. Probably from dealing with the masses of French people staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Apr 2017
8.6

Solid place. Comfortable, nice staff, good location. Not the most social atmosphere, but really cool building.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2017
10.0

Apart from one roommate who enjoyed screaming into his phone at 3am and turning the lights on throughout the night, our stay was awesome. We stayed 3 nights and the interior courtyard garden had a relaxing waterfall sound that provided the perfect white noise. Clean lines were provided. Walking distance to several foreigner bars and coffee shops so you can be sure you won't starve to death if you can't speak Mandarin or don't have a guide. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Enjoyed stay at Le tour Traveler/s REst Youth Hostel in Shanghai - convenient location - private room adequate & comfortable although very basic but quite alright - restaurant/bar under renovation but many eateries in the area.... however missed WIFI in the room only in the lobby - lounge area - at least reception was good . The roof garden is a pleasant spot .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.0

An awesome location in a lovely, expat heavy neighborhood outside of the usual tourist areas. Staff were super friendly but the hostel wasn't that social when I was there. Facilities were clean but a bit shabby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
8.3

Nice location in Shanghai, quiet, easy to sleep. Patio deck was closed. This is not a party~centric hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Mar 2017
7.4

Great location near bars and cafes etc. Met some cool people here, there's a pool table and common area. Cheap. Couple of points left a bad taste: wifi was weak and unreliable - would have been nice to be able to plan the next stage of my trip without walking around the hostel tying to find a strong connection. They charge fees for *everything* - paper maps, towels, and the rental bicycles needed a $200 deposit - mate, if I had $200 in my wallet I wouldn't be staying at a youth hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
9.7

This was my first time staying in a hostel and I will admit I was reluctant to do so. But I am so glad I did. A friend recommended it to me who has stayed there a few times. The front desk staff were friendly and got me checked in quickly. The rooms were clean, towels fresh as was the linen and the staff even helped me with directions (thanks Shirley). The location is perfect, its literally a 12 min walk to the downtown core, Mr. Pancake House and Fat Cow are a must to eat at, both are nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.