X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Village Hostel Montmartre Reviews

20 Rue d'Orsel, 75018 Paris, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
3783 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Only slightly annoying thing was that you had to bring your own lock to the lockers, but otherwise REALLY nice stay, nice staff, good breakfast and cool rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt everything was great. We are truly grateful that our hospitality and our location is ideal for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welco

83%

A fantastic stay!! I originally booked a 3 bed mixed en suite dorm, but got upgraded when we checked in (private twin room, em suite) which was fantastic!! The room was small (but what you expect for Paris), the shower had hot water. the metro was literally around the corner (>5mins walk away), staff were really friendly and the free breakfast was a great touch (croissants, coffee, orange juice, cornflakes cereal). We hired towels for €1 each and the room was cleaned every day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Guest, Thank you for sharing your great recent stay at Le Village Hostel! I`m happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We were thrilled to learn that our service/staff, our rooms and our location met your expectations. We hope to see you soon again, Take Care....... Olivier

57%

I got scabies from the bedding. I've had it before, so the itching/rash showed up within a few days, but if you've never had it the symptoms will take 4-6 weeks to show up. Scabies is a skin mite, and it's mostly inconvenient to deal with. Basically, it means they don't wash their bedding (I watched the cleaning lady refold the red blankets and not take them to be washed). The view of the basilica was nice, but the breakfast was a joke.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing you stay with us. Just for your information We clean the blanket sheets pillow & pillow case so please check the other place you can have scabies 'like shop's when you try clothes hugs with friends etc..... And The breakfast is not a joke is the important meal for start the day. Take Care.....

74%

Kind of run down neighborhood, I personally wouldn't walk around to long after dark. But it is right next to a metro that can take you to all the sites very easily and the staff is very nice.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I stayed here with my family for a few nights. The atmosphere in the room and in the lobby left much to be desired. In the room, the light was incredibly dim and we were situated right by the courtyard; it was never completely quiet with the music pounding from the bar and the noise in courtyard. The shower was tiny and could use a bit of maintenance. I did appreciate the decent wifi, kind staff, & gorgeous view of Sacre Coeur from the courtyard! Convenient, not comfortable--take it or leave it.


71%

It's obnoxious that the patio closes at 10p to keep the noise down, and even people that are sitting there quietly on their laptops (to avoid waking their roommates and avoid the somewhat depressing lobby) are rudely evicted. But oh well. At least there was an outlet and wifi outside. On the bright side, I met some very interesting and friendly people there. My room also had an ensuite bathroom and shower (though it is true that there is a shower whose door opens to the patio).


91%

amazing people and atmosphere. bad wifi :( staff did not seem to care even after repeated complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great recent stay at Le Village Hostel! I`m happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry for the inconvenience for the wifi but we do the best it's a generally problem come from the company. Take Care......

89%

Hostel was close to a metro station and the Sacre Coeur. The hostel rooms were large and bathrooms were clean and good showers. Free breakfast was reasonable and the kitchen facilities were good. Overall an excellent stay in Paris!


94%

This hostel is brilliant! It's in a great location, you can get everywhere from the Metro station just down the road. The heart of Montmartre is just a short walk up the hill and you can see Sacré Coeur from the roof terrace! The rooms are clean and have everything you need, the staff are gorgeous and couldn't be more helpful. The atmosphere is so friendly and the pub next door is great! I can't rate this place highly enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at le Village Hostel. We appreciate your kind feedback. We are thrilled to read about your great stay with us! We are happy you feel like your home. Service is our main priority, and we`re glad you appreciated our helpful staff. Thank's for your comments of the pub, maximiliano the manager will be happy to read this. Thank you again and we hope to see again soon! Take Care........

83%

This is a lovely, cosy hostel in a fantastic location! You can see The Sacre Coeur Cathedral from some of the rooms I believe! Having said that, I would take a little bit of extra caution when out and about around the area, it is a little dodgy but well it is what it is! Nice free breakfast, warm in the cold of winter. I was in one of the small rooms outside the main building and it was perfect. Secure, warm, lockers, space and a small table and chairs. Great place to explore Paris from.


91%

The staff was so friendly! Upon arrival we got coupons for welcome drinks and shots. We asked the guy at the front desk for a dinner recommendation and were not disappointed. Close to the Sacre Coeur and a metro stop that took us right to the city. The bar music below was loud at night but fine with earplugs in.


91%

Lovely croissant in the morning! Great staff very helpfull😉

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt everything was great. We are truly grateful that our hospitality and our location is ideal for our guests. Your comment that our helpful staff was able ensure that everything went smoothly for you proposal is most appreciated. We are so glad that we were able to help! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you

89%

Thank you very much for a very pleasant stay in Paris. You were very helpful, and very forgiving to someone whose French was quite shaky. Our room and bathroom were in a very good condition. My one and only complaint: just one towel for hands and for dishes both, this didn't seem very sanitary to me. For another weekend in Paris, I would take a room in this hostel again, gladly!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

PROS: really close to Sacre-Croe and to a metro station (about 2minutes). Good breakfast included. Room for 4 people (instead of 10 I had booking). Good wifi. CONS: lockers with no padlocks, nowadays every hostel need to use a card padlock, it more safety for guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to read about your great stay with us! We are happy you feel like your home. That's our priority. You're so cute for your comments. Thank you again and we look forward to future visit! Take care.......

94%

Staff was incredibly helpful and cheerful at any hour. Loved the attached bar/pub! Our studio apartment was well furnished and clean. The reception area was very relaxed and inviting. The place made you feel at home and created a great social climate.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our hostel and our service. We always love reading about our guests enjoying their stay with us!. That's so nice you enjoyed the pub "OnTheRoad". Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits with us. Take Care ......

60%

The sleeping area was not clean. There was a moldy, urine smell from the toilet room located in my room of four beds. Perhaps it was cleaned each day but it needed to be torn down and rebuilt. we only stayed one night and would never stay there again. It took 3 days to forget the smell.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We confirm you that we're cleaning the room and bathroom every day. We are sorry if the other guest no respect for the cleanliness but it's the risk when you reserved in dorm. The bathroom is perfectly cleaned. Take care....

86%

We stayed in one of the little efficiency apartments, located on the 2nd (or 3rd, depending how you count) floor, up two flights of steep, winding steps. The apt. smelled a little bit of smoke and the mattresses were very thin, atop an uncomfortable metal frame (we slept well anyway). Walls are thin; noise comes right through. Still, we LOVED staying there. The people could not have been nicer. The shower was good; there was a hair dryer. Good wifi. We loved the area; close to a Metro station.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our hostel and our service. We are sorry for the stair and the walls but is typical of paris Montmartre distric and it's difficult to modifie it. But you lived like a real Parisian. Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits with us. Take Care......

91%

The hostel has a great location, my bed had an amazing view to the Sacre Coeur!! The staff was really helpful and is a very safe place,less than one minute to the underground. The brazilians in the staff are fun and friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed with us. Our location is always a hit with our guests, we`re glad you took advantage of it. We Know that you have amazing view of the Sacré Coeur From your bed. Thank you again and we really appreciate it! Take Care ....

29%

There were even no wifi

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are surprised to read there's no wifi. The wifi is available in the Lobby, every room and on the terrace. We have a pub at the corner, On The Road Pub where you can find wifi too. Maybe there is a technical problem but it's resolved as soon as possible. So don't say we don't have wifi. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Take Care.......

77%

The bathroom sticks ! But I think that's a Paris thing ! But besides that it was good ! The bar next to the hostel was very cute. We also had a night train the day we checked out and they let us keep are stuff in there all day till we left. And also have us the fastest way to get to the train station we need .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We`re so happy to read that you loved your stay with us! For the Bathroom we modify one of them for a better using. We try to add small touches around the hotel to give a true boutique hostel feel. Thank you again and we look forward to future visit! Take Care.......

(125 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback