X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Le Village Hostel Montmartre Reviews

20 Rue d'Orsel, 75018 Paris, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
3837 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

amazing people and atmosphere. bad wifi :( staff did not seem to care even after repeated complaints.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great recent stay at Le Village Hostel! I`m happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry for the inconvenience for the wifi but we do the best it's a generally problem come from the company. Take Care......

89%

Hostel was close to a metro station and the Sacre Coeur. The hostel rooms were large and bathrooms were clean and good showers. Free breakfast was reasonable and the kitchen facilities were good. Overall an excellent stay in Paris!


94%

This hostel is brilliant! It's in a great location, you can get everywhere from the Metro station just down the road. The heart of Montmartre is just a short walk up the hill and you can see Sacré Coeur from the roof terrace! The rooms are clean and have everything you need, the staff are gorgeous and couldn't be more helpful. The atmosphere is so friendly and the pub next door is great! I can't rate this place highly enough.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at le Village Hostel. We appreciate your kind feedback. We are thrilled to read about your great stay with us! We are happy you feel like your home. Service is our main priority, and we`re glad you appreciated our helpful staff. Thank's for your comments of the pub, maximiliano the manager will be happy to read this. Thank you again and we hope to see again soon! Take Care........

83%

This is a lovely, cosy hostel in a fantastic location! You can see The Sacre Coeur Cathedral from some of the rooms I believe! Having said that, I would take a little bit of extra caution when out and about around the area, it is a little dodgy but well it is what it is! Nice free breakfast, warm in the cold of winter. I was in one of the small rooms outside the main building and it was perfect. Secure, warm, lockers, space and a small table and chairs. Great place to explore Paris from.


91%

The staff was so friendly! Upon arrival we got coupons for welcome drinks and shots. We asked the guy at the front desk for a dinner recommendation and were not disappointed. Close to the Sacre Coeur and a metro stop that took us right to the city. The bar music below was loud at night but fine with earplugs in.


91%

Lovely croissant in the morning! Great staff very helpfull😉

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt everything was great. We are truly grateful that our hospitality and our location is ideal for our guests. Your comment that our helpful staff was able ensure that everything went smoothly for you proposal is most appreciated. We are so glad that we were able to help! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you

89%

Thank you very much for a very pleasant stay in Paris. You were very helpful, and very forgiving to someone whose French was quite shaky. Our room and bathroom were in a very good condition. My one and only complaint: just one towel for hands and for dishes both, this didn't seem very sanitary to me. For another weekend in Paris, I would take a room in this hostel again, gladly!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

PROS: really close to Sacre-Croe and to a metro station (about 2minutes). Good breakfast included. Room for 4 people (instead of 10 I had booking). Good wifi. CONS: lockers with no padlocks, nowadays every hostel need to use a card padlock, it more safety for guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to read about your great stay with us! We are happy you feel like your home. That's our priority. You're so cute for your comments. Thank you again and we look forward to future visit! Take care.......

94%

Staff was incredibly helpful and cheerful at any hour. Loved the attached bar/pub! Our studio apartment was well furnished and clean. The reception area was very relaxed and inviting. The place made you feel at home and created a great social climate.

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our hostel and our service. We always love reading about our guests enjoying their stay with us!. That's so nice you enjoyed the pub "OnTheRoad". Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits with us. Take Care ......

60%

The sleeping area was not clean. There was a moldy, urine smell from the toilet room located in my room of four beds. Perhaps it was cleaned each day but it needed to be torn down and rebuilt. we only stayed one night and would never stay there again. It took 3 days to forget the smell.

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We confirm you that we're cleaning the room and bathroom every day. We are sorry if the other guest no respect for the cleanliness but it's the risk when you reserved in dorm. The bathroom is perfectly cleaned. Take care....

86%

We stayed in one of the little efficiency apartments, located on the 2nd (or 3rd, depending how you count) floor, up two flights of steep, winding steps. The apt. smelled a little bit of smoke and the mattresses were very thin, atop an uncomfortable metal frame (we slept well anyway). Walls are thin; noise comes right through. Still, we LOVED staying there. The people could not have been nicer. The shower was good; there was a hair dryer. Good wifi. We loved the area; close to a Metro station.

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your kind comments about our hostel and our service. We are sorry for the stair and the walls but is typical of paris Montmartre distric and it's difficult to modifie it. But you lived like a real Parisian. Thank you again and we look forward to your future visits with us. Take Care......

91%

The hostel has a great location, my bed had an amazing view to the Sacre Coeur!! The staff was really helpful and is a very safe place,less than one minute to the underground. The brazilians in the staff are fun and friendly

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed with us. Our location is always a hit with our guests, we`re glad you took advantage of it. We Know that you have amazing view of the Sacré Coeur From your bed. Thank you again and we really appreciate it! Take Care ....

29%

There were even no wifi

  • 21st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are surprised to read there's no wifi. The wifi is available in the Lobby, every room and on the terrace. We have a pub at the corner, On The Road Pub where you can find wifi too. Maybe there is a technical problem but it's resolved as soon as possible. So don't say we don't have wifi. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Take Care.......

77%

The bathroom sticks ! But I think that's a Paris thing ! But besides that it was good ! The bar next to the hostel was very cute. We also had a night train the day we checked out and they let us keep are stuff in there all day till we left. And also have us the fastest way to get to the train station we need .

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We`re so happy to read that you loved your stay with us! For the Bathroom we modify one of them for a better using. We try to add small touches around the hotel to give a true boutique hostel feel. Thank you again and we look forward to future visit! Take Care.......

100%

The hostel was great, staff is really nice and helpful, the atmosphere is really good. We've got free beer/wine and shot coupons at arrival, and free ear plugs. We had a 4-bed-room with own bathroom and toilet. The rooms were clean, they cleaned the bathrooms every day. Breakfast was the same every morning, but the croissant and the orange juice was delicious! Totally worth for the price!

  • 18th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We`re so happy to read that you loved your stay with us! We`are also glad you find our rooms comfy and we love sharing with our staff all the good comments about their service. We try to add small touches around the hotel to give a true boutique hostel feel. Thank you again and we look forward to future visit! Take Care.......

71%

Really enjoyed our stay for five nights (extended from 3). Our view of sacré cœur was amazing from our dorm on the top floor of the hostel, and also made an excellent landmark for getting back at the end of a long day. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our ensuite bathroom was alright at best, with a shower that had very little water pressure and had a button you needed to press repeatedly for any water at all. Overall a great place though, with easy access to the metro. Would stay again.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt everything was great. We are truly grateful that our hospitality and our location is ideal for our guests. Your comment that our helpful staff was able ensure that everything went smoothly for you proposal is most appreciated. We are so glad that we were able to help! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you

94%

I will be returning soon to Le Village! The staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming (hey Joao!), my room was clean with a cozy atmosphere (not to mention the fantastic view of the Sacre-Cœur in beautiful Montmartre!), and the spirit of community here is strong. Free breakfast, free wifi, two free drinks at the bar next door and free luggage storage after checkout so you can explore the city without dragging all your bags around! Love love love!

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make Le Village Hostel a leader in excellence. Thanks for Joao, he will be happy to read your comment. Take Care....... & see you soon

89%

We really enjoyed our stay at Le Village and would definitely stay here again. Montmartre is a great district with awesome restaurants and bars that's away from the tourist hustle and bustle. It allowed us to see more of Paris while still being really close to the metro/train. The free breakfast, free sheets and free lockers were convenient and the staff was helpful and accommodating. Definitely a good find!

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to read that our staff here, especially Benoit, were able to help you out throughout your stay with us. Service is our main priority, and we`re glad you appreciated our helpful staff. Thank you again and we hope to see again soon! Take Care......

97%

I, along with four other friends of mine spent three nights at the hostel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were perfectly willing to make adjustments to improve our experience. They were also extremely prompt to respond when we had any issues or needed any help. The atmosphere of the hostel is definitely great and I would recommend it to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt everything was great. We are truly grateful that our hospitality and our location is ideal for our guests. Your comment that our helpful staff was able ensure that everything went smoothly for you proposal is most appreciated. We are so glad that we were able to help! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you

89%

It's pretty expensive for a hostel but I think this is normal for Paris. Overall I'd recommend. Pluses - Great staff - Free breakfast is quite good - Close to the metro - Fast internet Minuses - The beds are comically squeaky which is not good if you roll around a lot

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for sharing your kind review following your visit. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt everything was great. We are truly grateful that our hospitality and our location is ideal for our guests. Your comment that our helpful staff was able ensure that everything went smoothly for you proposal is most appreciated. We are so glad that we were able to help! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you

(146 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback