Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lemon Spirit Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 2071 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 2071 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
9.1

A brilliant hostel in an awesome neighbourhood just one block from the beach. The facilities are good and there is an awesome bar where you can meat other travelers. However, what makes this hostel absolutely amazing are the staff. Especially Tatiana who was extremely helpful when we had trouble with a withdrawal. Thank you so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
2.0

Everything was perfect, till you get shouted at like crazy in front of everyone. That feeling isn't worth anything.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Apr 2017
9.4

This hostel is very kosy and social. You feel at home from the first day. The location is close to the beach, supermarket, and restaurants. The rooms Are a bit tiny, But we only slept there, and spent little time there. They have many bathrooms there, and breakfast is as you usually get on hostell. I tried 3 different hostels in Rio, and this is definetly the hostel i enjoyed the most! The room and kitchen could have been more clean, But it really didn't matter.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jakesimmance
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed here for 5 nights, loved it! Was our first time in South America and Lemon Spirit really gives you a good feel for Rio. Also great demographic; I was here with my mate and we met loads of young people our age who we could go to bars with and go out with. 1 minute walk from the beach. Loads of nice bars/restaurants nearby. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.7

Best hostel we stayed at in Rio. Very clean (cleaners there for 11hours per day). Decent breakfast with fresh fruit. Best showers we have come across so far in SA. Bunks comfy (but noisy when someone rolls). Aircon at night works well. Staff friendly (night guy doesn't speak English but wasnt an issue). Very secure with locker below your bed. Wifi decent (sometimes dodgey in the rooms). Good atmosphere and really good tours offered. Side note laundry is really expensive in Rio, do it before you come

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
9.4

Location. Location. Location. The best part of this hostel. Fairly social set up, but the bar closes early. I enjoyed the free caipirinha night though! The staff was very kind and I would stay again. Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
10.0

Me and my friend stayed here for a long weekend getaway. It was my first time staying in a hostel and I was pleasingly surprised by how nice the staff were and how secure, clean, and organise everything was. I loved everything about it so I will definitely be back! I recommend this place with no doubt! Thanks to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
9.4

Fantastic place to stay for your first visit to Rio de Janeiro. In an ideal location, with fantastic staff, a special thanks to Panda, Tattiana and Nino. They were all extremely helpful, giving fair and impartial advice and really making an effort to ensure that you were comfortable at all times. This is the first review I have written and I feel that this hostel really does deserve a stellar review. Thank you very much Lemon Spirit and I shall see you again soon.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
20th Mar 2017
10.0

Love this hostel! Everyone who works there is so helpful and informative about Rio and the different things you can do. It's got a good balance of party vibes if you want it, or chill if that's not really your thing. The downstairs space is really communal and spacious and the hostel is clean. Great location too - you can practically roll out of bed on a hangover, and onto the beach! One thing I would say is - fans would be good for the rooms when the air con is not on as it can get a bit hot

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th Mar 2017
10.0

Great staff, extremely helpful. Decent beds and good common areas. Loved it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.