X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lemon Spirit Hostel Reviews

Rua Cupertino Durao #56, Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1795 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

My Favorite Hostel in Rio

  • 8th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location, great staff who are always happy to help and there is always something happening in the evening. Perfect place to meet people and have fun!


69%

Facilities and location was excellent. However what let this place down was the staff, and this was unanimously agreed amongst the guests that were staying here. The staff seemed like every request was a chore and clearly showed they did not want to help - even if it was just calling a taxi! Atmosphere was non existent, so don't expect a party hostel. Overall, this place had the potential to be fantastic, but was overshadowed by the rude, unhelpful staff...


100%

The hostel is great! Location is very good, in a upperclass neighbourhood and a walking distance from Ipanema. The staff is very attentive and help you with anything you might need. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean. Chilled atmosphere.


100%

Fab hostel! Great location only one block from Leblon beach, and on a lovely street. Staff are friendly, the rooms are big and there are lots of separate showers and toilets. They had lots of excursions on offer everyday, and tickets for parties every night.


83%

Nice area in rio and good place to stay, friendly staff and social atmosphere


89%

The staff is awesome, so friendly and welcoming. They all speak excellent English and are super helpful. The hostel is not very cosy and somewhat quiet. They also play music, pretty loud, all the time which, if you're like me, is a little annoying. Very good atmosphere for hanging out during the night.

  • 24th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Perfect location and super safe.

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent in all aspects. Staff were amazing and helped with everything making the experience in Rio incredible.

  • 21st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent


71%

Safe place for travelers as it has a proper security system. Great place to meet people. Staff at first do not look accomodating but they are helpful when asked. I just cant help comparing it to other staff in other hostels who are vey approachable and have 24 hours english speaking staff, this hostel doesnt. Location is great but.


100%

Loved my stay here! Great hostel, comfy beds, awesome staff and so close to the beach! Great kebab place for falafel wraps just round the corner too!!


100%

Great atmosphere, perfect location


83%

Very clean hostel. Not the best vibe. We stayed in nicer hostels in Rio for a cheaper price.


100%

Staff was SUPER friendly and made me feel very welcome. Breakfast was my favorite. Natalia was very pleasant and happy to answer questions! Tiago was very knowledgeable!

  • 6th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This the perfect hostel in Richmond. Granted, it delivers the usual things expected from a top rated hostel. However the people running it truly created a wonderful experience for me. My thanks and shout outs go to the Lemon team. Lucas for his unlimited Caprinha making, Renato for his pearls of wisdom on a daily basis, Thiago -to the man that knows everything that has to offer in riot and the best dance moves in riot. And finally to Natalia who was an amazing host and friend.

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Love this hostel! It was a great location and fun group of people! Thiago at the front dest was also very helpful!

  • 2nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the best hostel I've been to. Never been anywhere in my life where the atmosphere gets people talking so well. Nothing forced in any way, you can chill reading a book alone or grab a beer and pull up a chair with a group. And the staff are so helpful it just makes life a breeze. Much less intimidating than other hostels, that I left my booking with other hostels in the area after 2 nights and booked back in here. I wouldn't even consider staying somewhere else if I returned to Rio.


100%

We really enjoyed our stay at a Lemon Spirit, the showers were hot which is always a bonus and you get your own locker under your bed big enough to fit in a rucksack! All the staff were really friendly and helpful , one of the best hostels we have stayed in so far, would highly recommend lemon spirit !

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We stayed for five nights in a mixed 6 bed room and loved it! One of the most social hostels either of us had been to. Great opportunities to meet people and do things together. The staff was super friendly and breakfast was superb!


(50 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback