X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lemon Spirit Hostel Reviews

Rua Cupertino Dur�o #56, Leblon, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1287 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent hostel in one of the best locations in Rio.

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Very warm, welcoming and helpful staff, a fun and vibrant environment/ambiance, a good breakfast and great location. Enjoyed my stay there!

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Friendly and helpful staff, well located hostel in a nice area close to the beach (a short walk to post 9 on Ipanema), found it very good for meeting other travelers, good breakfast too!

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.The always have good activities for everyone in the evening. The location was really good as well, one block from the beach, one block from shops and restaurants. And we felt safe in walking in the area and staying in the hostel. The only problem we had was organising transfers to and from the airport. Make sure you give them very clear directions as to which terminal to pick you up from and leave extra early to catch your flight!

  • 20th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Hostel was lovely, staff really helpful, offered lots of trips and tours and situated in a really nice area. Only complaint would be we were in the 4 bed on the roof and it was quite noisy and cramped with a sliding door that didnt lock or really close properly,


89%

the location is great! it is not the cheapest place to stay, but i think the price is worth it! the staff is very friendly and willing to help you! Rodrigo the Barman makes GREAT caipirinhas!! i definetely recomended it!


77%

Great place. Good atmosphere. Helpful staff. Many offers for backpackers. Not the cheapest place to stay, but still a very good choice!

  • 13th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

I stayed a wk here&absolutely loved it! It was my first hostel experience&having now stayed in lots of hostels, Lemon Spirit is still my fav! It was so easy to meet other travellers, so many activities, a great bar, really nice atmosphere&a safe location. I also really liked how the staff know your name! I will def be back!


83%

Great location one block from the beach and right in the centre of Leblon. Really clean, cleaners working non stop. Spotless common areas and bathrooms. Buses to downtown, bus station and airports just outside but takes a while to get anywhere in the city. Hostel offered some tours, we did the Favela tour and football match in the Maracana and found them very good. Stayed in a 6 bed dorm and room was a bit cramped. Big lockers under each bed.

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, very close to the beach. Staff were friendly and helpful.


97%

The please is really clean and the stuff is very nice. The location its perfect. For sure I would recommend this place.

  • 5th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

A fun hostel with a great staff. Perfect for meeting other travelers, we did the favela party on Sunday night and had a blast!


74%

Directions on their website are very clear, however if you lack Internet connection and need to actually speak to someone in reception, chances are nobody will pick up the bloody phone.


89%

I really liked this hostel, the atmosphere is great, good service, great location. Definitely recommend it!

  • 2nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Security and location: Excellent, the hostel is located in the best and safest neighborhood in Rio. Staff: Average, the staff is ok, not as good as I was expecting from rews. the reception is only open till 11pm and afterwards the person that is present doesn't have any idea about the hostel. Atmosphere and Facilities: Good. Value for money: breakfast is poor for 100reais a night, the second day jam ended and till Saturday there wasn't anything.Cleanliness: Average, bathroom ok, rooms very poor.


100%

Very clean and safe. Lounge promoted an atmosphere that encouraged travelers to get to know each other. Enjoyed the free caipirinha!


83%

All good, except for one thing: due to wintertime in Rio ( wtf?!), it was quite cold- asked for an extra blanket and had to pay extra for that- ?!. Also raising prices ( a lot) just due to the pope visit is quite a ripp off- what do I have to do with the pope coming into town? I know all the other hostels are doing the same, but still it's a tipp off.. Else the staff, especially cleaning ladys and Vanessa are super sweet, breakfast is ok, location perfect, close to the beach in a very safe area


94%

Very convenient location, a block away from the beach, in Lebron, which is the wealthiest part of Rio. Staff is very helpful regarding places to go at night, food, etc. If you need to get there you should contact the hostel for a ride, which should be cheaper than if you took a cab.


94%

It's a very good hostel. In general everything works pretty well and the atmosphere is excellent. I'd come back for sure.


97%

Incredible location, very nice staff. Cleaning ladies are around all day, which makes a huge difference. Social areas are great to meet people. Not bthe cheapest, but maybe the best option around.


(739 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback