X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Leo Hostel Reviews

A Lai Ke Zhan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Qianmen, Xicheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1119 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great place IF you are looking to meet people, drink, and stay up late; decent restaurant/cafe attached to it (service a bit slow, though) No one seemed to abide by the 'quiet at night' rule- people were yelling, playing music, and one guy was even playing the banjo in the dorm. No respect for others. 2 toilets and 2 showers were shared by 20-30 people which was terrible. Bathrooms smelled bc you couldn't flush TP. Helpful staff, though, and a great location. Cheap, too.


71%

The only location of the Hostel is also great because it is very central....


94%

Leo Hostel is rather cheap for Beijing. It's location is really close to Tiananmen Square so it is in the heart of the city. The downside of that is that the surrounding shops and restaurants are a bit more expensive than in the outskirts of Beijing. We got a free upgrade to a four bed dorm though we had booked a six bed dorm. The hostel atmosphere is great, there are enough places to hang out. The staff is very friendly and most speak English quite well. Beer is 10 Yuan, Cocktails 20-30 Yuan.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your comments. We have the best location in Beijing, we are the most sociable hostel in Beijing, and this winter.... we are the cheapest hostel (with free upgrades when necessary). Welcome to all! The local restaurants can be quite expensive, which is why many guests and locals prefer to dine at our Leo Cafe instead. We look forward to seeing you next time - remember there are cocktail specials on Tuesday and Thursday night ;) Regards, LH

80%

Leo hostel was quite nice to stay at. It's fairly big and they serve decent food in their nice bar. They also have plenty of separate rooms. This does mean, however, that there's no kitchen where you can cook your own food. They have a really nice movie room with a big screen and plenty of movies to watch. Also, their wifi a bit slow and not so stable. And they charge the insane amount of 20 yuan per kilo to do your laundry, but you can get it for half the price in a hostel down the street.


83%

Very well-located and affordable hostel with a great social vibe, with the cafe/bar being a good place to meet people. My only complaint was being woken up several mornings by the cleaning staff. I was in a room next to a bathroom, and I think it was the staff that spoke very loudly very early each morning. Additionally, when everyone but me in my room checked out, the cleaners came in and noisily made up the beds even though it was 9 (and check out ends at 12). All in all though, recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your great comments! We are definitely Beijing's most sociable hostel :D . We apologize for our cleaning staff. We have explained to them that some guests like to sleep late and also some guests arrive from different time zones. We have also added a sign on every door telling the staff and guests to keep quiet in the corridors at all times! If you have any problems during your next stay, please find the manager! Regards, LH ;)

69%

It was the other travelers that made my stay there a good one and feeling safe. The staff were accommodating and cheerful to me but I noticed that they sleep in empty beds and in the lounge if not on duty. 24 hour security is kind of false because anyone can walk right through and into the dorms where nobody's key can lock the rooms. But luckily my roommates were good people and no strangers came in. Showers could be updated since that is important.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. All dorm locks should work - if not, please tell reception ASAP! All dorms also have a sign asking the last one out to lock the door and there are also security lockers available. Thank you for letting us know about the staff sleeping problem! See you next time. Regards, LH

89%

Good place!

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Good comment!!

86%

Reading other reviews here, I was sceptical. But if you are a lively individual who is interested in meeting many new people and not being asleep by 11 every night (....) then this hostel is for you. The biggest dorms are the way to go as they are very cheap and literally identical to the smaller dorms available. Staff member Peter was an absolute lord and even necked a snake vodka shot with us.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your great comments! Although we are probably Beijing's most sociable hostel - please note that we also welcome guests who want to sleep before 11pm (bigger dorms can be busier, so it is best to book one of the smaller dorms ;). We hope to see you again - and perhaps make Peter drink more Snake Vodka! Regards, LH ;)

77%

We stayed five nights... Too long! Max three needed to do Tiananmen Square, forbidden city and maybe a Great Wall tour. Skip the gorge tour unless you're really a fan of damns, it's not good value for money. Our "tour" was more a "delivery service" - we were dropped at the entry gate with tickets where we were left to make our own way for a few hours until the diver picked us up. Don't be afraid to speak up if unhappy, we made friends who had a moldy private room and had to ask to be moved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your comments. Our Dragon Gorge tour does not advertise a tour guide - just transport and entrance ticket (including boat-ride) so you can explore by yourselves. If you would like a tour guide please try our famous Ancient-Secret Great Wall tour ;). If guests have a problem with their room, please tell reception, or manager "Noodles"! See you next time, regards LH :)

91%

The hostel was great. The atmosphere was good, and as there are so many backpackers around, you'll meet many people without any efforts. One bad thing was that Leo Hotel arranged a taxi for me and for another couple as well. The regular price for a taxi to the airport is about 20USD. However the next morning only one taxi arrived for both me and the couple. We now needed to pay around 40USD, which felt strange, furtermore the employee who made the booking refused to give us back some money .

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your great comments - Leo Hostel is the best hostel in Beijing for making new friends. We are very sorry for the airport transfer mistake - we have given the staff member (night-staff, half asleep!) a warning! When you visit us next time, please ask the manager for a discount on your room. See you next time! Regards, LH

69%

Great location, cool cafe/bar inside serving loads of Chinese and Western dishes. The hostel is in a cool hutong no more than 10 minutes walk from Tianamen. Awesome place to stay to meet lots of people from all over the world. I highly recommend taking their Great Wall tour. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm which was very basic. Lockers are tiny. Wifi is temperamental as seems to be the case all over China. Good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed our "cool cafe/bar" and our famous Secret Great Wall tour. The dorm lockers are big enough for laptops, phones, passports etc. If you need to store large things, we also have a luggage store room. Almost every bed can access a wifi signal. However, we are working on making the signal even stronger! See you next time for another great stay! Regards, LH ;)

97%

This hostel was by far, the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The staff were friendly and helpful. The bar was cheap and very good food. The location was perfect (difficult to find at first). The atmosphere was very lively and with a real travellers vibe. I would definately recommend this hostel!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your great comments. We hope to see you next time! Regards, LH :D

80%

Great hostel to meet other travellers, bar/cafe is always busy and sociable. Staff are OK, no different to any other Chinese hostel in terms of attitude towards customer service.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your comments. Our restaurant/bar is always a great place to eat, drink and make new friends. We hope to see you next time - please teach our staff better customer service! Regards, LH ;)

89%

Excellent hostel to stay in with a great social atmosphere so easy to meet people. The room door never really got locked but i just made sure all my valuable were in the locker provided. Finally, they have a movie room with every film imaginable so great to relax in after a long day of sightseeing!

  • 13th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. We have added a sign asking guests to lock the door if they are the last one out (we guess there are usually guests in the room). We are happy that you enjoyed the Leo Movie World - its free and is probably the biggest and best collection in China! See you next time for another great stay! Regards. LH :)

100%

Great staff and ample rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your great comments. We hope to see you next time for another great stay! Regards, LH :)

74%

Fácil de encontrar, cerca de un metro, lo que es extremadamente útil. Además esta ubicado en medio de un área de hutons muy pintoresca, bueno para salir a caminar, cerca de una oficina para comprar pasajes de tren. El personal habla inglés muy bien. Lo único malo es que en la zona de bar/restaurant ponen todo el tiempo la misma música y no se puede comer comida de otro lugar, sólo comprar ahí

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your comments. Yes, we have a great location in the historic hutong market streets and right next to the metro/subway.. Next time - please stay on a (*Tequila*) Tuesday, when the music is mostly in Spanish! See you next time, LH ;)

86%

Overall very happy with the Hostel, couldn't want more socially especially for a lone traveler. GREAT bar area that is the center of activity through the day and night meaning i could make a new group of friends whenever needed. Staff could have been a tad more friendly when checking in, asking without a smile or greeting whether or not i had a reservation (this place books out quick) but the pool table and darts board were great for concluding a long day exploring the Hutongs (alleys) close by

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. We are very happy that you enjoyed our sociable restaurant/bar. We will try to improve our service! See you next time - LH :)

91%

We were a group of 11 and had a nice time at this busy hostel. Some rooms are bigger than others, and beds are hard, but it's just fine. Facilities are ok and the staff is very nice and helpful. It's in an unbeatable area of central Beijing! Overall, a good choice!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your great comments. We look forward to seeing you next time for another great stay! Regards, LH :D

83%

Is an excellent option in Beijing, close to the Tiananmen square and main sights. The bathrooms are few for the dormitories, so sometimes you have to wait for taking a shower. The bar is pretty good to chill out and refresh with some beers. The tours to the great wall are highly recommended to book them with the hostel to avoid multitudes and touristic traps. Recommended Hostel in Beijing, clean and with good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your comments. Please remember that there are public showers at both ends of the hostel - so if you are waiting please try the other side ;) We are really happy that you liked our big, sociable restaurant/bar, and thank you very much for recommending our very popular Secret Great Wall tour - enjoy a wonder of the world... in peace! Take care and see you next time! Regards, LH :)

71%

Not very cheap but a great location to stay in Beijing right by forbidden city. Food was ok however it was a little frustrating when numerous things on menu weren't available. Rooms need some upkeep as the double room wasnt very clean. Also I recommend training the staff to talk in lower voices as they were extremely loud right outside my room at 6am every morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your comments. We are very sorry, we apologize on behalf of our restaurant staff - they should tell you if something is not available (which is not often). We will remind our cleaning staff to keep quiet at all times of the day. See you next time! Regards, LH.

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback