Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lete Youth Hostel

  • 15/F, No.5 Building, International Village Apartme, Chengzhong District, Xining, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.4
Good 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.4
Good 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 6.1
Lete Youth Hostel Located at 15/F, No.5 Building, International Village Apartme, Chengzhong District, Xining.
Lete Youth Hostel
China
Xining Qinghai 810000 15/F, No.5 Building, International Village Apartme, Chengzhong District
64% 254
36.6094949 101.7847144
Lete Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2016
4.9

We arrived two houres later than we were expected and our room was not available for nearly the hole time we booked. Toiletpaper would be nice. One bathroom including one toilet for about 10 People is not enough. Even a budget accommodation can offer a more comfortable stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
5.1

the hostel has so much potential but it is managed poorly. Nothing is done with all the great opportunities that this location offers. The roof of the shared area leakes, there is a bar but no drinks or no one to serve, no food,...... Positive thing is that is was clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
6.6

- spacious family room fits four people (two adults, two kids in two beds), there is even a small terrace - big but smelly bathroom - clean sheets, but bring own towels - friendly staff but not enough people to create "hostel atmosphere" (nobody to prepare coffee, food etc.) - place has to be aware not to appear completely run down - good walking distance to muslim quartier with a lot of shops and restaurants, market atmosphere - well organized ride to the airport

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
4.3

While the furnishings in the room were comfortable, the bathroom was not clean did not have reliable hot water. We had to ask for toilet paper on a daily basis. There was no working wifi in our room and we had to use our computers in the common room where the staff talked loudly about the travel plans of their guests, including us. We decided to move to another hostel after three nights, and we were glad we did. Staying at Lete felt like staying with a relative who wasn't very happy to have us.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
4.9

Staff at reception were rude and unhelpful. When asked if they could provide an invoice, one person said it was not possible and another person then said it is possible but that I first needed to provide 4 different documents and when I asked him to help me to write down those 4 documents, he told me directly that it would be a hassle. This incident made me feel that they really don't care about their guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Jun 2016
4.9

The staff at the hostel are rude, unhelpful and unprofessional. The receptionist didn’t speak English and didn’t know any transport info to the popular spots apart from their own car rental service. He also complained that ‘foreigners are so difficult to deal with’. After we checked out, the receptionist called and told us we blocked their toilet and that we needed to pay extra. After I refused, he threatened to post our personal information online. Worst staff I have ever seen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
6.6

After 4 years of staying here: The Lete is not what it once was. It was never deluxe, but it appears to be under new management for the last 6 months and things haven't improved and, unfortunately, draw ever nearer dilapidation. It's still one of the few places you can stay in a palatable private room for under 200Y, but the cleanliness, facilities (like hot shower water), and the now all-Chinese vibe leave much to be desired. Lete succeeds sheerly from a lack of competition, but it does the job

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 45 reviews
4th Jun 2016
5.7

I think this hostel has seen better days... It's located in a residential area, far away from the city center. Staff was sweet, but they are teenagers with very, very poor English. They asked for help for translation to another guest (since they only had an electronic translator) but still, they didn't know anything about places to eat or things to do. It took me like 3 hours to find the place since address was really confusing. On the bright side, hostel is cozy and views are great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.