X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lete Youth Hostel Reviews

15/F, No.5 Building, International Village Apartme, Chengzhong District, Xining, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
190 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

The best things about the hostel were the friendly and helpful staff. Our room (the double private room) was spacious and neat. The negatives, however, were: the bathroom stank, and was never cleaned properly (eg. sink and mirror were never wiped), the water pressure was low, many common areas were not useable because they were full of laundry or had people sleeping there, and overall the hostel was grimy and not well maintained (eg. lots of unrepaired water damage, gross old carpets).


94%

My friend and I enjoyed staying at Lete - in a double room. The bedside lamps as well as the lockers are very useful. The colourful pockets for keeping small things made the room very cosy. The only thing I didn't like was the carpet on the floor. I prefer floor that are easy to keep clean. Computers for the guests to use - also very useful.


97%

A very nice and cleanly place to be. Those within the hostel were friendly.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Location is a bit difficult to find. The checkin staff was friendly. Food and drinks were good. Wifi was also good. The atmosphere at the travel agency upstairs was very tense. A fight broke out between the male and female colleague when we were there. Hopefully things have cooled down there.


97%

Superfriendly, helpful and english mastering staff. I highly recommend this hostel!


80%

Actually, I don't speak Spanish. Hostel was great. Room was clean and service helpful and efficient. Would totally recommend it. (we had an apartment for three on the 12th floor) Not sure how the other rooms are though.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel became worse during last 3 years.. Less clean, less toilets and showers work..


89%

Look for the little shop outside, it's a little left on the opposite side of the street when you go out of the hostel. This is a Muslim bakery, they sell the best kind of bread you can get in China. Try the dark ones, they are made of qingke barley (Highland barley). The hostel is very interesting in terms of room structure, a lot of staircases


97%

Great Place! Great views! Friendly staff and good breakfast.


94%

A very good hostel.It was very clean and well staffed.The food was well priced and the location is good with a useful travel service upstairs.It seems to be well run.


91%

An excellent hostel run by the swiss trained Jane. highly recommended.


54%

The front end staff were very dismissive. The tour agency was poorly managed (although all the signs stated that it was open, there was never anyone workings there). The kitchen closed obscenely early and we were forced to eat muesli for dinner. They insisted that we get a twin room when a double was available and we were clearly the only occupants in the hostel. This hostel has a lot lf potential. Great lounge and patio. Their service, however, leaves a lot to be desired.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We really didn't have the double room on that day! We have no reason not to give it to a customer cause the twin room and double room cost the same. This dear customer came one day earlier than the booking he made, so sorry we didn't have the double for him. Most of guests were out and our rooms and common area are very scattered so you didn't see many people but it doesn't mean we had no guest or bookings!

71%

Great place to stay while we waited for visa extensions in Xining. Staff was helpful in general, but it depended on who you got to talk to. Nice to be able to do laundry and have a place to hang it out to dry. Cleanliness of the apartment was ok but lacking in some areas. The kitchen smelled like death from the sink drain, not sure why, and the bathroom was clean "enough" but could have been a bit better. Nice sofa and big TV in the living room! Rooftop location has good views of the surrounds.


86%

This place was pleasant. The personal was very helpful. And breakfast very good with real coffee yummy


86%

Nice place, a little far from downtown and not so easy to find though. Clean, helpful, recommended!


63%

The staff is friendly, service minded and speaks good English. The location is calm but difficult to find without using a taxi. The room was Clean but small for 2 persons, The bathrooms should be renovated an the hot water insufficient. I dont now if I will recommend the hostel. to others...


83%

Most of the rooms with big windows with view, that is very nice The whole hostel is spacious.Excellent place to relax, The owner is very kind and can speak good english. Good wifi connection. Many travellers enjoy to stay in this hostel. Highly recommend!




View all Xining Hostels

Please give us your feedback