X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Leuven City Hostel Reviews

Ravenstraat 37, Leuven, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
873 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This was a very nice hostel near the center of the city. Just a 2 minute walk. Very nice staff who took the time to inform you about everything you want to know. The 2-persons room was nice and clean. Good showers The only negative thing this night was that there were a group of boys who made a lot of noise in the building. When i'm going back to Leuven i would definitly stay here!


97%

Generally very pleased with my stay for 5 nights. My only issue was not being able to get a cup of something hot to drink in the evening, as all kitchen appliances are shut of after 8pm! Other than this, brilliant place to stay.

  • 16th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Leuven city hostel is among the bottom of the barrel of all European hostels I've stayed in. The reception is open only from 9-11 am and check-in starts late between 4-8 pm. Who keeps the reception closed between 11 am - 4 pm??? The security is very good but the rooms themselves are small and choc-a-bloc with beds. I got the top bunk of a bed and I couldnt sit up without hitting my head to the sloping ceiling. I'm just 5'10"... The location is decent, a 5-8 minute walk to the city center.


94%

Keep some eggs too NA

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Space in the room but no lockers. Staff available to answer to questions. Good breakfast. Very quiet at night, maybe too quiet?! No beers available.


83%

It is the second time I stay in this hostel and it is still a very nice place. I like the way they organize the kitchen, with free breakfast, free coffee and eventually some nice foods for free.

  • 1st Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel looks really new and clean. The free coffee, tea and kakao from the machine is great. But I did not like the atmosphere there, everyone was studying silently behind their laptops in the common room, but maybe this was just today.


83%

Really nice place, but not for party goers.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely kitchen area, simple but nice rooms. Child friendly as well.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel was clean, except from a cotton bud found in one of the beds. Showers were excellent, staff were nice. Breakfast was a bit poor. In general, a good place to stay in this awesome city.


89%

Overall this was a very nice hostel - clean and well kept. My only complaint was the the woman working the front desk on weekdays brought her two young children in with her let them play in the lobby. My room was right next to the lobby so I was woken up every morning at around 6:30 am by their running jumping and screaming, which continued on until the reception desk closed. It was very annoying and aggravating.

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very helpfull staff!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

its too noisy,we couldnot sleep during our stay at all,because noise of the people in the corridor,doors of toilet,niose of beds.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I liked the small scale of the place, the warm atmosphere in the common room on the groundfloor and garden. A little grumpy reception first, was made up later because it was no problem to lend a towel which had a appeared to be a problem as they are not delivered standard with the room. Room on top floor under the roof was quite hot; opening a window was problematic as noise was coming from the streets: not the best of nights.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Could have more varieties on breakfast, but overall wonderful hostel, good staffs, very clean and excellent location.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Would be nice to have possibility for dropping of luggage besides check in hours in the afternoon. Think its a leck of security that code for front door and rooms are the same. So anay other guest could have walked into my room.


94%

Great price/quality. Clean hostel with central location. Spacious communal area, kitchen and garden. Would definitely stay there again!


80%

Nice hostel, good location. However, don't forget to bring your ID card or passport! We almost didn't get our room because we only had brought our driver's licenses, which wasn't sufficient. Luckily one of us had a photocopy of a passport online, so the problem was solved in the end. It wasn't a very nice welcome though.


100%

Very good hostel wit ressonable prices . Very close to the city center and a few minutes from the central station. Good facilities and clean rooms. The hostel offers free breakfast, which was good. But the best part is that they offer you coffee, tea and chocolate for free during all day.


97%

wonderful hostel, great staff, in the middle of the wonderful old city of Leuven. the hostel is clean but toilets seem a bit old.


« first « Prev 1 2
(28 results)


View all Leuven Hostels

Please give us your feedback