X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Liberty Fleet of Tall Ships Reviews

67 Long Wharf, Boston, Boston, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
69 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

On the whole this was a standard boat accommodation,this was cheaper than a hotel however it was a little more basic than expected even for a cabin which was extremely small (we had 2 suitcases). Showering was noisy due to buzzing extractor fan and there was no hot water. I booked online weeks in advance but their payment system failed which meant I had to get more cash out to pay on the evening we arrived. We were told to at ship for 8pm to check in but there was no ship to be found.

  • 14th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

We had an excellent experience abord the Liberty Clipper. When we get back to Boston, we will definitely be staying there again.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Beats being homeless, and that's about it.The staff was clearly fed with their jobs and unfriendly. The directions to the ship were unclear, which led to having to wander around the dock at 11pm. Plus asking about luggage storage is clearly inconvenient for them. For the price the conditions were not all too luxurious at all.plus one has to wander around the town until the ship returns in the evening as yooo get kicked out every morning at 10am.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The room is on a ship! As expected, everything is small and not fancy--but it is an amazing alternative to other options as far as the uniqueness. This is what we wanted! We did not want normal or big chain hotel experience. We loved the chummy feel of bunking with the crew on board. Coffee on deck in the morning was amazing. Only drawback was having to leave and not being able to board again until after 20:00--but no curfew was nice. Would stay again if ever in the area.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Great place to stay in Boston. Don't make the same mistake as us and arrive with HUGE suitcases (stupid of us), or you'll find them difficult to haul up and down steep ladders (yes, it really is a boat) and you'll battle to move around in your cabin. Super staff, Location amazing.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The idea of sleeping on a ship is fun and the cost is decent, but I would not recommend this place unless you are looking for the bare bones, just a bed to sleep type place. Everything is a bit cramped, and I was a little concerned that I could just walk on and off the ship with no one around to make sure I was staying there. The breakfast was good, staff friendly, and location great. Just keep in mind you are sleeping on an old ship, don't expect much.


40%

I figured other people just had the wrong expectations when leaving negative reviews. I was wrong. The location is great, the staff is not up to scratch. Unclean, blocked drains, no loo paper, staff got drunk and slept through breakfast service. Not great. On the other hand, you couldn't ask for a better location from which to explore Boston.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


63%

so hot and no airconditon and the fan was dusty and small so it was not useful. the crew was kind but the room was too small and the ship was not that clean. beside bed the light was off and they didn't chaged the light...

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
80%

A nice place where to stay in Boston, one of the most expensive cities in North America. Not exactly that comfortable, but OK for a short stay.

  • 21st Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I couldn't believe that I got back at 8.30 one evening, after a long day of walking around town, to be told that the ship was going out for another tour.

  • 20th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Booked this as was cheapest available - didn't end up staying. Turned up after overnight bus at 10am, previously thought boat left at 12pm so we would have access before then after allowed check-in time (10am), desperately needed to shower, was told we couldn't get on the boat until 8:30pm and that we should check out the public toilets instead. Booked "double bed room", but was bunk beds, staff blamed this on hostelworld. Cancelled booking and stayed in a hotel. They did refund the stay though.


80%

Difficult to have security on a working schooner, trips out during the day and no locks on the cabins. Staff very helpful, entertaining and enjoyable stay, great value for money.

  • 10th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

As long as you realise this is a CLIPPER and not a building it's a great stay! Excellent value for money given its location and the staff were extremely friendly but then I went drinking with them so I'm biased :)

  • 28th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really welcoming and friendly staff, location was beautiful and recommend to anyone who wants to stay in a great location on a budget with a different type of awesome accommodation! Just make sure your prepared for the day as the ship sails away during the day, but highly recommend to anyone and would definitely stay again if in Boston again!


91%

Beautiful schooner, a two mast ship. It's not a hostel, it's an adventure!


60%

Very noisey at night, so difficult to sleep, toilet in room and shared toilet were not working, no proper lock on bedroom door, but good experience, suitable for short stay, and very cheap!


94%

This was the cheapest accommodation I could find in Boston. The location on the wharf was excellent, right in the centre of things. Your are staying on a boat so facilities are always going to be basic and compact but the novelty factor of staying on a working boat makes up for it!


77%

It is romantic to sleep on a ship, but not very comfortable.


97%

Its was wonderful staying with them. You can go and see the seals and sealions for free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for staying with us on our ships! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us on our tall ship.

74%

It was very nice! The location is perfect! It is in downtown very close to the subway station. From the airport are 4 minutes. The only problem is the unavalaibility of your room during the day, but for two days it is more than ok!

  • 7th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(47 results)


View all Boston Hostels

Please give us your feedback