Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Life is like a BOX of Chocolates

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 379 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 10.0
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
10.0

Box of Chocolates Hostel is by far the best hostel I had stayed at. The entire hostel was super clean and accommodating. It almost felt as if I was staying at a modern hotel. Great area too. Thank you for making my stay at Taipei that much better.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jan 2017
8.9

This hostel was very well kept! The staff were super nice and friendly. It was in a super safe area and the location is very convenient which is a 2 minute walk to Guting Station. It was clean and spotless and worth the stay. If I ever go back to Taipei I will stay at this hostel again for sure.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
6.9

We stayed for 3 nights and liked that the location was very convenient. However, the quality of stay was not ideal as there were only 3 beds left in the girls' dorm. We were forced to take beds on the upper bunk. What was unacceptable is that there is a dangerously positioned sprinkler at the ceiling of each bed which we hit at least once a day. We suggest that the sprinklers either be relocated or a protective cushion be placed over.But we would still like to thank the host for her hospitality

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • colorful7837
  • Taiwan, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
24th Dec 2016
8.3

Everything is good, the host is really nice. Except there's a water mist fire suppression above one of the upper bunk and it's dangerous. (right above where the stair is) My brother accidently hit himself with it and bled, at first we thought it was just a small scratch but no... He now has a scar on the back of his neck.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Dec 2016
10.0

A really amazing hostel to stay at in Taipei! Nikita is an amazing host - she is so friendly, well-travelled, accommodating and it is easy to get lost in late night conversations with her because she's lovely to talk to! The place itself is great too - convenient location with access to nearby 24 hr McDonalds (great for the late night chats) and clean. Great attention to needs of guests, even to the littlest details like own light, curtains and even an universal power socket that takes all plugs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.7

We had a fantastic stay at Life is like a Box of Chocolates. Nikita was a wonderful host. When our flight was delayed a few hours, we notified Nikita via email and she responded right away to let us know that she would be available when we arrived at 3am. She also gave great recommendations for food and sights. The bed, room, and bathrooms were all very clean. While we were there, the atmosphere was pretty quiet. We really enjoyed our stay here, and we'd come back if we're in Taipei again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Dec 2016
10.0

What a wonderful place to stay in Taipei. Warmest welcome by Nikita. It felt like home, with kitchen, pantry and no wait at all for showers and bathrooms, even when fully booked. Also other guests were very interesting-shared stories- and no wonder they are back for a return stay. After a visit to the southern part of the island, I checked in again at the hostel and it was like coming home. I definitely recommend it and will be back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Sep 2016
9.4

The place was clean and comfortable, and the manager provided a little food (very helpful during the monsoon!) and drinking water. The bathrooms are communal and the sinks are just in the hallway, so there isn't total privacy, but the room was very comfortable, with AC and a soft bed. English maps were not available, unfortunately, but the manager gave us all the help we asked for in finding local sights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.