Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Light House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
91% 1155
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
10.0

Had an absolutely fantastic stay. Very clean, great location, and staff were so friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
8.9

We enjoyed our stay here. The employees were especially helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Great, quiet hostel for rest and relaxation. Great common areas. If you are looking to meet a lot of people, I wouldn't say this is your best bet, but if you want a wonderful, comfortable, relaxing environment, this is great! I little walk to the city centre, which gives it a peaceful neighborhood vibe. Staff were very sweet. Beds were very comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
10.0

I really liked my stay at the Light House hostel: it's the coziest hostel I've ever been to. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, the common room (equipped with an home cinema projector) and the kitchen are modern and spacious: you really feel at home here. What really impressed me is the level of cleanness and the modern furniture.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jun 2016
9.7

A really nice, clean building with friendly and non-intrusive staff. Bathrooms were not overcrowded and I never had to wait for a shower. The location is good, it's a bit of a walk from the city centre but it's very close to a bus stop too. Really good overall

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Jun 2016
9.1

very nice and clean hostel, lovely common room, friendly staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I've had the pleasure of staying at! Particularly for those who like a homely, clean, comfortable, chilled out environment with other adult travelers. A beautiful old building in a great location with lots of modern features and thoughtful details. We slept well, even in the ten bedded dorm, and it was extremely good value for money with a lovely owner, helpful staff, fresh clean white bed linen, an excellent projector for watching films, and free breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

The Light House Hostel is a very sweet and welcoming hostel with great location, friendly staff, great atmosphere. We really loved our stay there ☺

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Very bright, clean, spacious and friendly. Only reservation is blatant religious stuff on walls in entrance/reception area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Pretty good hostel. The room had some space the spread out a bit, the lounge was nice, and the beds were comfy. Not enough bathrooms though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.