Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Light House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,233 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.8
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
90% 1233
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
7.4

We enjoyed our stay but our women only room had 2 men in it! The staff were friendly and so were the other guests.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Sep 2016
9.4

I only stayed two nights but the staff was friendly , the room clean and the other travelers were nice. Location is good, too. Would recommend it and stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Outstandingly thoughtful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I have been to in the UK! The hostel is clean, beds are comfy and the staff are welcoming. Great kitchen and living room created a friendly atmosphere with the guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
10.0

My second stay hear & just as good as the first time. There is such a lovely atmosphere & the staff are all so friendly & helpful. It is a reasonable walking distance for everything in central Edinburgh and there are good shops, restaurants, cinema, etc all close by. Excellent kitchen means you can cook proper meals if you want to. Will definitely be visiting again. For anyone driving I used the Park & Ride at Hermiston - 24 hour free parking & the bus costs £1.80 into the centre.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Sep 2016
10.0

Absolutely lovely stay. Lovely people, comfy bed, nice simple breakfast, coffee and tea, good shower, well equipped kitchen if needed and all nice and clean. Thanks so much!! I'll come back again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
9.1

Everything is great. Although the location is a bit far away from the centre(about 20 mins by walk), it's still acceptable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Sep 2016
9.1

Great staff and cool people staying there. Only downside is the limited number of bathrooms and an okay location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2016
9.4

This is a really great hostel, staff are amazing and it's in a prime location 15 minutes from Edinburgh old town. Atmosphere there is like a big family home rather than you're traditional hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
9.7

One of the best hostels I have stayed at to date! Staff was so friendly, outlets for each bed, SO CLEAN, multiple bathrooms and showers, and nice clean kitchen with breakfast included. Loved it.. God bless Light House Hostel❤️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.