X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Light House Hostel Reviews

20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
553 Total Reviews
  • 95%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Bathrooms and showers were often in use, but cleaned daily and well maintained. Good cleanliness policy, friendly staff, toast and cereal breakfast included, all the basic needs without frills.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Ricky provides an excellent environment for any traveller. He is very welcoming and happy to answer any questions or queries with a smile. The hostel itself has some excellent facilities, a large kitchen and living area that make meeting other travellers very easy. Would recommend to anyone.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely perfect!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I can't stress enough how appreciative I am to the staff, particularly Ricky. He is a gentleman and will go out of his way to make your stay the best it can be.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This is a very comfortable small hostel with attentive staff and excellent cleanliness. A good spot.


97%

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The lounge is cozy and the entire hostel gives me a comfortable feeling as a shared flat. The only drawback is the amount of shower rooms: there are only three shower rooms in the building to be shared by up to 24 guests. So during rush hour in the morning or evening a long queue would be expected. Overall, this hostel is highly recommended and I enjoyed my stay there.


94%

The whole family enjoyed a few great World Cup matches in the cozy chill-out room and had great fun cooking in the well-equipped kitchen. All in all tidy with excellent service - a welcoming hostel indeed!


97%

Totally a very excellent hostel I've been visited. The owner and the staff are very nice and the hostel provides a great deal of Edinburgh travel information which is very useful. The price are reasonable and rooms are very clean. Kitchen provides free breakfast and snacks and enough toilet. All at all, it is a very budget hostel choice. :)

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I honestly recommend Light House Hostel as I had really good time there. Friendly staff (greetings for Emma), looking after the guests. Interesting chats during the breakfasts. I like cleanliness policy. If any opportunity to come back to Edinburgh I will definitely come back to this hostel.


83%

A little ways away from the High Street, about a 20 minute walk. But very clean and organised.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

incroyable

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very nice and helpful. Everything was clean and well organized and managed. The Hostel was in walking distance from the main tourist attractions/city center. We took a cab from the train station because we had heavy back packs but it too was with in walking distance. Definitely would recommend and use this hostel again.


97%

very pleasant hostel with friendly host, very clean and made us feel just like staying at home


97%

The owner of the hostel is really attentive and helpful, he gave me lots of tips on Edinburgh. The hostel is clean and quiet, it might not be a perfect choice for party goers, however, for me, who expected a night's good sleep, it is a outstanding choice.


100%

It is a really nice and sweet hostel. The beds are a bit short for tall people. If you come by car it is really hard to find a free parking place. In the neighborhood is a hotel which offers a car park which is not that expensive. You can rent an adapter from English plug to e.g. German, Swiss and Italian plugs which was very helpful.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Rickie was great!! He went out of his way to make sure we were taking care of. Ordered taxi for us. The hostel was very clean and well taking care of. We had a wonderful stay. I do wish it was located closer to a bus stop but there's nothing you can do about that.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

one of the best hostels I ever stayed in! very nice!

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

So relaxing after mistakenly booking a party hostel the night before. Felt just like home. Although it is somewhat outside the city centre, it really is a short walk to sites like Edinburgh castle, and all other facilities are within even shorter walking distance. Unfortunately the breakfast had only two spreads on offer, marmalade or jam, which is fine if you're an avid fan of either but if you aren't there is no other option. If looking for good coffee, try Vittles around the corner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your good review and suggestion for more breakfast spreads. We have now added chocolate spread, peanut butter and lemon curd as well as the strawberry jam and orange marmalade. There are also now 4 kinds of cereal for breakfast. We hope you will come and stay with us a gain soon!

97%

Amazing hostel. I've been in a few hostels around the UK. This is by far the cleanest and best run hostel. Ricky the owner is amazingly friendly. He will give you a quick overrun over the city map and help you with anything questions you have. The hostel itself is clean, bright and cheery. Location wise it's pretty central. About 15-20 walk minutes to get to the downtown core. Bathrooms are clean and kitchens are great. Beds are ultra comfortable too! Great prices.


97%

This is an excellent hostel. Walking distance to the main areas, clean and friendly. Helpful. Ricky was awesome! If you don't mind waiting for a bathroom at times, you will have a very nice stay here.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(78 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback