X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Light House Hostel Reviews

20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
1014 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Great stay in a well located hostel. Congratulations for the community dinner on Thursday with Cristina giving interesting insights about the name of the hostel, religion and purpose of life. Rooms are big enough to be comfortable, bed sheets perfectly cleaned, lockers with a good size and given key, walking distance to the Edinburgh Castle and just few steps to the bus stop coming from the Airport. It is nice the policy of no shoes inside the hostel, reminds me home.


80%

For the price it's very well. Just 2 things: the hostel is a little bit far of the center and the room are mix, like every hostel but I was the only girl with 5 boys. You don't feel very good. Apart that, it's very well!

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Was a really nice hostel. Pleasant feel and relaxed atmosphere. Would stay again.

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Thank you Light House hostel team! It was a great time in Edingburgh and had an stas with you. The breakfast was very tasty, the room was comfortable, the shower etc. was clean. I enjoyed the community and the evening medition was very relaxing!! It was a great time. :)

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Overall, it was a fantastic stay at the Light House. Very great value for the entire stay. Locations is a bit of a walk to the main street - but it is in a well-appointed neighbourhood. Staff was awesome and atmosphere cozy.


94%

the staff was apparently enjoying the community and helpful whenever possible. The atmosphere made me want to go back... not only because of edinburgh which is wonderful , too.

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic hostel - probably the best I've stayed in anywhere in the world!


83%

It was a great location, staff was awesome, the only real negative was that there aren't enough bathrooms.


97%

Well it is a very friendly, kind and respectfully

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is such a lovely place to spend your time in Edinburgh. I stayed there for ten nights and everything was excellent. The staff and the two owners are very kind and helpful. The facilities are awesome and I really enjoyed the home cinema. The atmosphere was really nice and I love the comfortable living room. A simple breakfast is included and the prices are very good. I strongly recommend this hostel for everyone wo wants to stay in Edinburgh. All the best!! Kind regards, Melf R.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fabulous! Good location and all main attractions are walkable from this hostel!

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

The Light House Hostel is an amazing place where it's possible to rest after a long day spent on walking. the staff is friendly and even guests are polite and sociable. For the money I spent, It was the best hostel where I stayed in the UK til now.

  • 5th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Both the people staying and the staff were very friendly.

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff were very kind and helpful!

  • 4th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome and hospitable. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! I felt right at home ! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • 30th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel was amazing but the kitchen and the living room have to be opened after midnight

  • 22nd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

A friend recommended that we stay here and we are so glad we did! So cozy and homely, a great place to unwind. Loved how it smelt of chai and the staff were warm and welcoming. Thanks a heap!


91%

Good hostel with the facilities you are looking for. The internet was a bit of a pain because you have to switch wifi in every floor. Also it is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of town. Other then that there aren't any complaints. Quite cheap for the UK so I would recommend it.


94%

Staff here were super lovely and helpful, especially Beth! Thanks so much for a wonderful stay.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

I liked the hostel. A staff who is from Switzerland is very friendly, sincerly.(i know her name) My first impression was pretty good. Hostel is very good. The kitchen is quite good. Eventually i liked that and i suggest strongly anybody who wants to stay in Edinburgh.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(70 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback