Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Light House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1,183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1,183 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.9
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.8
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
90% 1183
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rockinrobbo10000
  • Scotland, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
20th Aug 2016
9.4

Excellent stay at a friendly hostel with good facilities and excellent staff. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone who wants a laid back environment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
9.7

Lighthouse hostel was absolutely fab! The staff were so friendly and helpful, The location was great with only a 10 minute walk to princes street and the breakfast was great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
9.4

Came to Edinburgh because of the Royal Military Tattoo and was travelling alone. Didn't like the first hostel I booked so I booked this one and I'm so glad I did. Been welcomed by friendly volunteers and stayed in a four bed mixed room with a lovely family. You get three keys, one for the main door, one for your locker and one for the room. Hostel is really close to the castle and other attractions. A simple breakfast is included in price. I felt very safe and would come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
8.0

Light House hostel was exactly what it said it was - a friendly home away from home for weary travellers. It's in a good spot, about twenty minutes walk to Edinburgh Castle and there are also buses that will take you into the city centre. My only warning is that there aren't quite enough bathrooms, so you may need to wait a bit in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.6

Very clean hostel with everything neat and tidy. A short walk into the old town of Edinburgh, about 10 minutes. Not many showers compared to the number of beds but we just avoided the busy times. Free breakfast of cereals and toast was a nice extra.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Aug 2016
7.1

Light House Hostel was centrally located and not a far walk from the main area. The beds were comfy and rooms quiet. Breakfast was simple but good and staff were friendly and helpful. There were slippers at the entrance for guests to use which was a nice touch and towel rentals were free. However bathroom/shower facilities were very limited and not exactly convenient. Reception closes at 10pm which cause a bit of a rush/concern both when we arrived and left.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2016
8.6

I liked the no-shoe policy (given slippers to wear) and the relatively quiet atmosphere. Some of the other guests were kind of loud, but quieted down later...not really the fault of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
9.7

This is the cleanest hostel that I've ever stayed. The staff are so friendly and helpful. There are no locks at the dorm's door but they provide us with free medium size locker with key. The dorm is not very messy with stuff because you can store all your belongings in the locker even your cabin luggage!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
9.4

If there is a better hostel at this price, it must really be something. It is a 10/15 min walk from the centre but it has all the advantages of being in a quiet area, no nightly disturbances as happened during stays in Hostels in the Centre. genuinely really friendly and helpful, as were by fellow guests.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jul 2016
9.7

I loved the hostel!! Everyone is so nice and you feel very as home here. Totally recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.