Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Light House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,305 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 8.9
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
91% 1305
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

A high recommend for the Lighthouse hostel. From arrival to departure, you will experience a cosy, comfortable place, with really friendly & helpful staff. The place is very organised, which helps everyone to be relaxed, and get along peacefully For me, the place is a little too hot (central heating), which affects my energy & sleep. But international visitors to relatively cold Edinburgh, will be grateful. Compromise between hot or cold people is difficult anywhere !.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jkaczynska2397
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing! Best hostel I've ever stayed in (and I stayed in many places). Warm, homely atmosphere. Not a party hostel, so you can get a good night's sleep. Access to chill out room and fully equipped kitchen. Few bathrooms though. Simple but abundant breakfast - cereals, jams, chocolate spread and peanut butter, orange drink. Tea, hot chocolate and instant coffee available all day. There's a coffee machine too - pods for 1 GBP. Very welcoming staff. Will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
8.3

The only slight downer was two very loud snorers/talker in sleep the first night. Otherwise very good - beds very comfy and warm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
9.7

This place was great! They gave us a tour of the hostel before showing us our room and explained the house rules along the way. They made us feel really welcome and their lounge is really nice too. I will defiantly stay here when I'm Edinburgh again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • ezequiel_zerimar4617
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
12th Nov 2016
8.0

Te Lighthouse is definitely an optimal place to stay if your major concern is being able to have good sleep at night. It is a lovely place, generally speaking, being the only drawback the lack of facilities and a reasonable policy for those who do not want to be literally 'sent' to bed at midnight by the locking of the kitchen and lounge, which are the only common areas of the building. Except for that, I had a great time over there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Nov 2016
9.4

Very lovely hostel, clean and friendly. Common space/lounge has fun atmosphere, but it may be difficult to find a quiet space for reading, etc. because there is only one room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
20th Oct 2016
9.4

I had a great stay here. A delicious dinner supplied by the hostel and some great conversation with other guests. Comfy beds and clean bathrooms. Just a side note because I didn't realise when booking, this is a Christian hostel so if this goes against your beliefs it may not be the place for you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Oct 2016
9.7

Incredible place to stay from the staff to the owner everything is great only slight downfall is the lack of showers if your in a hurry but otherwise amazing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Oct 2016
8.6

Felt like you were staying at a family-friends house! Great for single travellers. Social but not a party hostel. Nice free breakfast/kitchen. They could use more towel hooks in the bathroom by the shower, and the left bottles of shampoo/etc could be cleaned up/not on display. Great value for money. It got loud at night because i was by the window and could hear passerbys on the street (Saturday night), and it was hot. They clearly do everything with the guest in mind, which is lovely.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
9.7

I really enjoy my stay there, the staff are really nice, they even help me with my luggage! Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.