Hostelworld.com

Light House Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,130 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
91% 1130
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.1

Pretty good hostel. The room had some space the spread out a bit, the lounge was nice, and the beds were comfy. Not enough bathrooms though.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel in a nice area. Excellent price for clean, spacious dorms, and really nice common areas. I was really impressed by how many things are included in the breakfast. Yes, it's simple, but it's much more than in most hostels. I'll definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
9.1

Perfect quality

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
9.7

Excellent hostel not far from the city centre. I walked to the university in 5mins and from there to the station. The beds are clean and comfortable and the kitchen immaculate. The staff were very friendly. The only thing I missed was an extra bathroom because it was crowded in the morning. But I'll definitely recommend it to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.1

Well located, very clean and the staff was very friendly!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jun 2016
8.6

I enjoyed my stay. It's nice and clean and comes with a complementary breakfast, which was nice. They do require you to wear slippers inside, which was a little weird, and it is a little out of the way, but overall it's a good place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jun 2016
8.9

It was friendly , calm and nice place. Stuff are very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
31st May 2016
9.1

Relaxed and friendly hostel and staff. Easy to find. I liked the location, out of the centre, but near great cinemas and cheap places to eat and easy to walk everywhere. Relatively clean and quiet for a hostel. Good sized lockers in the dorm room. Mattress sagged in the middle and was uncomfotable. No access to lounge before 7am, so nowhere to sit if you are up early or waiting for breakfast and don't want to wait in the room when others are asleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th May 2016
7.4

Hostel was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Although the location was away from the city centre, it was a nice walk to and from the city (so it was not a major issue). Facilities were clean (esp the toilets, which is quite rare for hostels!) . Only issue I had was there were 2 girls in my room who were drinking at night and was quite loud and disruptive. Would appreciate it if the hostel had some rules against drinking alcohol in the rooms past a certain time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th May 2016
9.4

One of the nicest hostels I have stayed in so far. Free breakfast!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.