Hostelworld.com

Light House Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,076 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,076 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 8.9
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
92% 1076
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Apr 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel! Super friendly owners and a really great vibe, the staff are so lovely and they hang out with everyone else! The hostel even holds weekly BBQs which is an awesome idea. Free breakfast and the lot - really happy, wish I could have been there longer! Really interesting quirky interior as well :D

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.7

highly recommended. Very clean (slippers in the whole hostel!!!). Friendly staff. Just 15 min walking from the castle.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.6

Easy to find, door answered by a friendly guy who offered me slippers, a tour of the hostel and a locker key. Kitchen a decent size and well equipped, bathrooms fine. Beds a bit old and creaky, the climb up and down required care. I stayed in 6 bed "deluxe ensuite" room - quite noisy as bathroom used at night! Only downside was room was too hot. I left at 7am (earliest check out), basic bread/cereal for breakfast was out but I didn't have any. Overall for £14 was a decent, fairly quiet stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

The best hostel I have stayed in till now! Just ten minute walk from the city centre and the rooms are spacious and clean. Each bed has his own locker with key and you don't have to pay extra like in most hostels. Plenty of sockets! Very helpful and friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.4

Awesome place in an authentic neighborhood, but not far from more popular sights. Also super cool general layout, and was great for meeting new people! Not to mention clean and comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
5.7

Room was cold, without enough outlets or individual lamps. There was only one barhroom/shower per floor (3 floors), considering there are 4 rooms per floor with more than 4 guests at least in each of them. Also, staff though they were friendly, they did not know a lot about what to do around the hostel or like how long it takes to get to the airport.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • smartiecookies
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
29th Mar 2016
9.1

Thanks so much for a wonderful stay at lighthouse.My partner and I stayed here for four days whilst we looked for somewhere to live as we are relocating to Edinburgh.All the staff were so supportive and Ricky the owner even witnessed the signing of our lease!The breakfast is wonderful and so generous.Facilities are great - the lounge and kitchen are very comfortable,excellent wifi,communal computer with Spotify/TV/movies,instruments.Very homely hostel.We will be back to visit and hang out!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2016
9.4

Comfortable. Feels like home. Clean beds and bathrooms. Basic breakfast is enjoyable. Location is a little far away from the action but that can be a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the city. Still within walking distance of many places to eat.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
6.6

Location was not as central as promised. Large area of black mold above top bunk. Staff was friendly and helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Very clean, free breakfast and towels. Perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.