Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Light House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2017
8.3

Good place for a short stay. The staff is very friendly and the facilities are just as described. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2017
9.1

Feels like staying at a home instead of a hostel - lovely, cosey hostel with charming decorations. It's also superbly clean, the no shoe policy really helps keep the floor clean and the noise level down which is great. The shower is nice and hot too - a little slice of luxury!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2017
7.7

Note that the things which are stated free in the description are in fact only provided upon cash deposit, therefore if you want several locker keys (10 £) plus towels (5£) plus adaptator : Prepare a sufficient amount of cash. There are not many showers and you are not supposed to make noise after 10pm so it is not convenient for the night owls. The building is rather old and everything is noisy (doors, floor). Also there is a religious vibe in the hostel, not reflected in the description.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Sep 2017
9.1

Cons: 3.5 bathrooms (long line for common bathrooms outside dorm), floors squeak badly, metal bunk beds squeak a lot, after 10 you have to be on your tippy toes Pros: VERY friendly staff, great kitchen area, clean, lockers in the room, charging area bear beds, nice big bathrooms (once you get in it), close walk tô everything, and again, very friendly staff members.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • steffywhoelse
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Sep 2017
10.0

The staff is absolutely friendly and sweet, always welcome to help. Facilities were top notch, the showers were provided with shower gels and shampoo and even tooth paste, which is not very common compared to the many hostels I stayed at before. Every bed had their own little reading lamp and power sockets. The atmosphere was great, it's a cute house with nice wooden floors, the kitchen was often packed with people dining together and chatting. Would stay here again when in Edinburgh!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Sep 2017
10.0

One of the best hostels I have stayed in during the past month travelling in UK. Friendly and chatty staff. Very homely atmosphere. Great kitchen facilities. Really clean and well kept hostel. The no-shoes policy with slippers was kinda cute.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2017
10.0

Really enjoyed my short stay at the Lighthouse hostel. It was a perfect locstion for my cousin and I to stopover whilst doing the John Muir way.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2017
8.6

The location is not too far from Edinburgh Castle, I'd say around a 15 minute walk. The hostel is clean, the bathroom that I used was always tidy with new towels everyday. The bed was relatively comfy, and my locker was quite big so I could fit my on board sized suitcase inside easily with my backpack. I just feel there could be improvement with the staff who seemed to not be around often, and the girl I had when I moved in seemed a little bit off and not very welcoming.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2017
8.0

Overall the Lighthouse Hostel was a pleasant place to stay. We didn't have any trouble with loud people or roommates. It is a good location also. The walk from there to the Royal Mile was a fairly pleasant one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Aug 2017
9.1

An average hostel. It is worth it for the low cost of lodging. It is very clean though, which was nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×