Hostelworld.com

Light House Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,104 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,104 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.5
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.0
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
92% 1104
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2016
9.1

Good value, comfortable and friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
9.4

Cutest hostel ever! The location is awesome. It's very clean, they give you little slippers when you arrive so you can leave your shoes in the mud room (for a place where it rains so much, this is smart!) It was like staying in a house. My one complaint is that there's not many showers, so I did have to wait a bit every time I had to take a shower. Other than that, I'd stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
8.6

Very quiet, clean, staff is friendly. Main problem is the shower/toilet are in the same room so it is difficult to pee because someone usually seems to be showering. They provided big, large lockers to everyone and free breakfast which was nice. 15 minute walk from all of the tourist spots.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • James95821
  • Malaysia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
10.0

It's is very clean enough. Staffs are very friendly. It's a good idea that let all the people gather together , get to know each other.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th May 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel with a helpful staff, comfortable beds and a good location within walking distance to everything in Edinburgh. I wish there were electrical outlets in the bathrooms, and the mandatory slippers were a bit small for me, but these are minor issues. Would recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • crystalshakes
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th May 2016
9.7

The light house is a great hostel! After about six weeks of travel and coming from the worst hostel I've stayed at yet, it was such a breath of fresh air! It's clean and homey.. The staff is great too, you can tell they actually like their jobs. Do yourself a favor and stay here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
8.6

Overall this was a good hostel. I liked that it was quite small and had a homely feel. This hostel had a great kitchen, well stocked to cook anything. I didn't like the no shoes policy. It's also about a 10-15 minute walk from the main attractions and over 20 mins from the train station, but it's accessible by bus if you don't want to walk!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2016
9.4

I've never stayed in a Hostel before, but this one was pretty easy to get to in the heart of Edinburgh. It was close to all the sightseeing. Staff was friendly and accommodating, nice facilities, and very clean. Overall very pleased.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jayminbeck
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th May 2016
9.7

Comfiest bed I have ever slept in while staying at a hostel. Such a good night sleep! Large rooms, large bathrooms, good kitchen & free breakfast. So good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
9.7

Wow ! It was like stepping into my home, remove your shoes. Splendid ! Excellent staff, thank you Rick, Katrine, Wilcox and the rest of the crew. A 15 minutes bus ride from the main bus station and not far from the main attractions of Edinburgh. Very homely atmosphere, comfy lounge for the weary traveller and a practical kitchen. The beds are comfortable and enough clean toilets. Yummy breakfast ........I really enjoyed my stayed and relaxed alot. Terima Kasih dari Malaysia.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.