Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Light House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,329 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
Light House Hostel Located at 20 Gilmore Place, , Edinburgh.
Light House Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh Edinburgh City EH3 9NQ 20 Gilmore Place
91% 1329
55.9416072 -3.2064351
Light House Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
8.9

Lovely hostel though is a little farther outside of everything than expected. Really easy getting to the airport though or to the bus/tram to take you wherever you wanted to go. Would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
10.0

It is just like a big family. You can make friend from all over the world there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
9.7

Light House Hostel, while not an actual light house, is a shining light of kindness, care, and courtesy to all who visit. Staff is phenomenal and the environment is something you will not soon forget! The accommodation and consideration is more than welcoming. Certainly a place that feels like home and will be missed!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

As a solo traveller I enjoyed my stay. All the staff were awesome and there was a really friendly atmosphere. Good facilities, clean and well organised. Highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.4

Bed to sleep in. It's everything I needed. Lockers in the room were big enough for a large bag, perfect. Outlets on every bed, easy to stay charged.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
8.0

Not enough bathrooms. One morning i had to wait for 15 mins as all the bathrooms were occupied. The bed was a little bit small and too soft. However, the kitchen was fully equipped and oraganized. Will definitely stay here again next time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Dec 2016
9.1

A warm and nice place to stay. The bathroom is clear, the kitchen is clear and well organised. For me, this hostel is not too far from the city centre, but here is a quite place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Dec 2016
8.9

This hostel is religious, if you do not like religion the atmosphere will be uncomfortable. Otherwise, a very well kept and comfortable hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Nov 2016
9.1

Cute, cozy little hostel! 10 to 15 minute walk from the major attractions of Edinburgh, and super reasonably priced. Feels very homey.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

A high recommend for the Lighthouse hostel. From arrival to departure, you will experience a cosy, comfortable place, with really friendly & helpful staff. The place is very organised, which helps everyone to be relaxed, and get along peacefully For me, the place is a little too hot (central heating), which affects my energy & sleep. But international visitors to relatively cold Edinburgh, will be grateful. Compromise between hot or cold people is difficult anywhere !.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.