X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Light House Hostel Reviews

20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
594 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Great place - clean, centrally located, brilliantly well-equipped and organized kitchen, free cereal/toast/tea and coffee breakfast included. One of the nicest hostels I've stayed at. Free lockers were an extra nice touch. Towel hire is available and WiFi worked fine. Quiet and respectful atmosphere. Close to central Edinburgh but not located on a busy street. I'd definitely return. My only complaint is that there were only 3 toilets/showers that I could see, and they were often all occupied.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Clean and easy going hostel. Friendly staff. Would recommend and would return.


97%

great hostel. highly recommend and i will stay here again when i go back to edinburgh.


100%

Excellent hostel e staff.


89%

Very comfortable stay. Staff were excellent with good facilities. Hostel was extremely clean and was great value for money. The atmosphere was relaxed and quiet during the evenings. Location was very convenient only 20 minutes away from Edinburgh Castle and the hostel was fairly easy to find. Definitely recommended for a quiet stay in Edinburgh.


89%

The light house hostel is in a fantastic location to Edinburgh city central. It is very clean and has a homely feel, aided by the no shoes policy. Staff are very helpful and welcoming in the hostel. The kitchen facilities are amazing, good stock of breakfast and coffee are perfect to start your day. My only gripe is the shower/toilet facilities. There are 3 shower/toilets for the whole hostel so it can be tedious having to wait for either one.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We were fine during our visit. However, the problem is that there are only 3 bathroom for all of us, so sometimes we had to wait for that... The staffs were fantastic with us showing the hostel, and telling us how to get to the places we wanted to go.

  • 14th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I can not say how wonderful the staff is at this hostel! My daughter and I were sick during our stay and the staff went out of their way to try and make our stay as comfortable as possible! They were fantastic!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Had a lovely stay. Hostel is comfortable, clean, and staff were all extremely pleasant and informative with tips on places to go and things to do in Edinburgh. There was a wait for bathrooms in the morning, but this wasn't a big issue for us.


94%

The Light house hostel is a great place to stay. Besides the fact that the house and the staff are great there are so many extras! At first there a millions of good movies u can watch in the Lounge on a huge Screen - ist like Cinema, you can borrow Adapters and get a free light breakfast in the morning. As shoes have to be taken of in the entrance area the whole hostel is very clean. Only tiny Thing is: there are to few toilets in the morning. Thanks for everything!

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel was very nice and clean. The staff was very kind and helpful. It's a nice place to stay if you are staying with someone. Since I was traveling solo, for me the atmosphere is very important, and this hostel was not the best place for that, to meet people etc.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Lovely clean hostel, great communal space in the kitchen and living room. Staff were very friendly and helpful.


100%

Great hostel! Very comfortable and home-y vibe! I would definitely recommend it!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay! Comfy beds, full kitchen and awesome common area. Good place to meet other travelers too. This is not a party hostel which attracts people with a more relaxed vibe. A nice walk to all the major sights and can't beat wash and dry laundry for 5gbp. Thanks for a wonderful stay!


71%

We had a room at the front (facing the street). As it was so warm we needed to sleep with the window open - the noise from the traffic was horrendous. However the hostel does offer free ear plugs, which does help a little. Also not enough bathrooms/showers - only three in the entire hostel means you have to wait quite a while for one!


97%

Excellent hostel, couldn't ask for more!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

not enough toilets

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Bathrooms and showers were often in use, but cleaned daily and well maintained. Good cleanliness policy, friendly staff, toast and cereal breakfast included, all the basic needs without frills.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Ricky provides an excellent environment for any traveller. He is very welcoming and happy to answer any questions or queries with a smile. The hostel itself has some excellent facilities, a large kitchen and living area that make meeting other travellers very easy. Would recommend to anyone.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely perfect!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(87 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback