Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Light House Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1472 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.5
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
10.0

My bed in the dorm was very soft and the large amount floor space in the centre made it easy to walk around. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils and equipment for cooking as well as a large fridge to use (you put your food into a plastic box and label it). The hostel was very clean and well kept and there were four toilets across the 3 floors (two of which had showers). The no shoe policy made it homely and they provide freshly washed slippers and compartments to keep shoes. Very happy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
2nd Jul 2017
9.4

Friendly and helpful staff, cant wear shoes in the hostel which is a frustrating. Great facilities, a some street noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved my stay at the Lighthouse Hostel. The atmosphere was cozy and warm and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I was worried that the location would be too far from the city centre to be conveniently walkable, but that was not the case. It was the perfect distance where it was out of the fray but still comfortable to walk. Also, there was an awesome pub just down the street with late night food! I cannot recommend this hostel more highly, I will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
10.0

My cousin and I stayed for two nights at this hostel and we absolutely loved it! The staff are incredibly welcoming and helpful, facilities are clean and the location is perfect for getting into town! I would recommend this hostel to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
9.4

One of the best hostels I've seen. Cozy, tidy, lots of sociable and kind people, helpful staff and inviting atmosphere. Bathrooms were clean and included soaps, beds comfy, showers hot, breakfast is basic but decent, fully equipped kitchen. The staff really want you to enjoy your stay, even cooking dinner for guests once a week! It's a Christianity-affiliated hostel but I felt very welcome there. Only drawback is the wait time for the showers/toilets, but that was OK. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.0

We had a great room and the staff was wonderful, but finding an open bathroom seemed to be a challenge.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
9.1

Great value for money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2017
9.7

Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at. I fell in love with the sense of community, and I admire the charitable values of this organization. While here, I enjoyed meeting new people and having a fantastic dinner complete with some of my very favorite foods. I loved the gospel message that was shared by one of the hosts. While the location is slightly far from the center of town, I most certainly recommend this location to anyone visiting Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
10.0

Ideal place to stay for a couple of days in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
8.9

The staff are excellent and go out their way to make you comfortable. They make the Light House a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.