X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Light House Hostel Reviews

20 Gilmore Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
606 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Excellent hostel, couldn't ask for more!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

not enough toilets

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Bathrooms and showers were often in use, but cleaned daily and well maintained. Good cleanliness policy, friendly staff, toast and cereal breakfast included, all the basic needs without frills.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Ricky provides an excellent environment for any traveller. He is very welcoming and happy to answer any questions or queries with a smile. The hostel itself has some excellent facilities, a large kitchen and living area that make meeting other travellers very easy. Would recommend to anyone.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely perfect!

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff were great but it's a bit of a walk to the centre compared to other places. The lounge and outside closes at 12 which is really early and you either need to go out or to sleep. Limited bathrooms and toilets as well.


74%

No atmosphere at all! Outside/kitchen/lounge all close at 12am so you either go out or to bed. Limited toilets and showers. Average location too


97%

I can't stress enough how appreciative I am to the staff, particularly Ricky. He is a gentleman and will go out of his way to make your stay the best it can be.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

This is a very comfortable small hostel with attentive staff and excellent cleanliness. A good spot.


97%

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The lounge is cozy and the entire hostel gives me a comfortable feeling as a shared flat. The only drawback is the amount of shower rooms: there are only three shower rooms in the building to be shared by up to 24 guests. So during rush hour in the morning or evening a long queue would be expected. Overall, this hostel is highly recommended and I enjoyed my stay there.


94%

The whole family enjoyed a few great World Cup matches in the cozy chill-out room and had great fun cooking in the well-equipped kitchen. All in all tidy with excellent service - a welcoming hostel indeed!


97%

Totally a very excellent hostel I've been visited. The owner and the staff are very nice and the hostel provides a great deal of Edinburgh travel information which is very useful. The price are reasonable and rooms are very clean. Kitchen provides free breakfast and snacks and enough toilet. All at all, it is a very budget hostel choice. :)

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I honestly recommend Light House Hostel as I had really good time there. Friendly staff (greetings for Emma), looking after the guests. Interesting chats during the breakfasts. I like cleanliness policy. If any opportunity to come back to Edinburgh I will definitely come back to this hostel.


83%

A little ways away from the High Street, about a 20 minute walk. But very clean and organised.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

incroyable

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very nice and helpful. Everything was clean and well organized and managed. The Hostel was in walking distance from the main tourist attractions/city center. We took a cab from the train station because we had heavy back packs but it too was with in walking distance. Definitely would recommend and use this hostel again.


97%

very pleasant hostel with friendly host, very clean and made us feel just like staying at home


97%

The owner of the hostel is really attentive and helpful, he gave me lots of tips on Edinburgh. The hostel is clean and quiet, it might not be a perfect choice for party goers, however, for me, who expected a night's good sleep, it is a outstanding choice.


100%

It is a really nice and sweet hostel. The beds are a bit short for tall people. If you come by car it is really hard to find a free parking place. In the neighborhood is a hotel which offers a car park which is not that expensive. You can rent an adapter from English plug to e.g. German, Swiss and Italian plugs which was very helpful.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Rickie was great!! He went out of his way to make sure we were taking care of. Ordered taxi for us. The hostel was very clean and well taking care of. We had a wonderful stay. I do wish it was located closer to a bus stop but there's nothing you can do about that.


(87 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback