X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

LimeTime Hostels - V. Madalena Reviews

Rua Mourato Coelho 973 - Vila Madalena - Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
429 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

staff was very helpful, the nightlife was amazing, basically if you stayed downstairs it was ok, but the bedrooms were really small, even for a hostel and the shower light was not working.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff didn't have very good knowledge of things, for example, how and where to get the bus to Paraty which I figured was quite a big tourist destination. Providing breaky wouldn't go astray either. Apart from that, clean, nice neighbourhood and would have a good vibe in peak season I'm sure.


94%

Overall, this is a really wonderful hostel in a great location with an absolutely wonderful staff. The hostel is close to everything that you need, whether you feel like exploring V. Madalena itself or branching out and taking the metro to other areas (really close walk - max 20 min if you're a slow walker). The area is safe, the free drinks are awesome and it would be hard to complain about the cleanliness in comparison to other hostels. Carina is a sweetheart as well as the other staff!


77%

I liked almost everything about the hostel, the location was great. It is amazing getting a free caipirinha every night, however, the american bartender was very unfriendly and his drinks were okay... The other nights he wasn't there were the best.. I really like the spanish receptionist, love her.. The white brazilian girl working there, love her.. Carina is super amazing and just good vibes from her, loved her.. The brazilian guys sort of kept to themselves. Honestly I highly recomend staying


69%

Friendly people and very good location. Small rooms and bathroom was old and therefore not very clean. Atmosphere was a little less as the common room was also a public bar so you didn't really know who was staying at the hostel and who wasn't and you didn't have a chill space during the evening.


86%

I stayed on a Tuesday and Wednesday night (probably the quietest of the week) but Bebeto, the owner, and his staff still put in a big effort to make it a good night! Would recommend.


97%

Had a lot of fun here. The comedy night was great and every night they organize something at the bar. Locals hang out here but access to the rooms are limited to guests so it's very safe. Prices for food and drinks are the best in the area and so Is the hostel prices.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I've been to Sao Paulo a few times, and stayed at other hostels, but this was the best so far. The location is great, Vila Madalena is truly a cool spot to stay... The hostel have their own bar, not just like any other, but a real bar, where the locals hang out together with the guests. big party there before going out at night, and the prices are a lot cheaper than the other bars in the area. I thought it was easy to get around the city too... Will def come back...

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Location: On a tranquil corner, but I wish I had stayed closer to a metro station. Security: Gate to hostel is locked and only opened by staff member, on 24-hr watch. No locks to rooms but there are big lockers under beds. Rooms: Beds are really shaky; bathrooms needed to be cleaned more often.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry you thought cleaning was not good, we should work better on this. Rooms are ALWAYS locked, simply by closing the door. You need (and you had) a key to open the room every time. We care a lot for security.

100%

Great hostel in the best location! Heaps of great bars and restaurants around, make sure you try the vegetarian thali place next door. Staff are super friendly and helpful - they make the hostel amazing!


91%

Stayed here a few weeks ago. Loved it and São Paulo so came back after World Cup, didn't disappoint! The only downside was the bins in the room didn't get emptied whilst we were there and were overflowing!!


97%

Love it! Perfect if you like to party

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The street is very busy, so it is rather loud all through the night. I would recommend staying here; however, you might want to bring earplugs.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are on the main party street of the city, as advertised. It is a party with hostel, with a bar under the rooms. The only in town! So come here to have fun. The bar is open to the public almost every day, with different attractions each night, from Stand Up comedy to live bands or DJs.

34%

We were not happy to stay here, we choose this hostel because they pretend to be one of the cheapest (35 real per person per night) but when we already booked and got the confirmation it seems we payed the 3 double!!!!!! For us, the hostal doesn't have anything to go to, it was very dirty, loud all the time (with terrible music in the bar). If you are 18, and you only want to get drunk the whole day and do notthing more then that, then you can like it. I can defenitely not reccomend it!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)




View all Sao Paulo Hostels

Please give us your feedback