Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lisbon Old Town Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1,412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1,412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 9.0
Lisbon Old Town Hostel Located at Rua do Ataide 26A, , Lisbon.
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Portugal
Lisbon 1200-035 Rua do Ataide 26A
93% 1412
38.7090725 -9.1446697
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
9.7

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Super helpful on this trip when asked about things to do around the area. Close to public transportation and only a 14 euro Uber drive from the airport. The whole place was very clean, much cleaner than hostels I've previously stayed in. I was looking forward to the free breakfast however it wasn't much. Just coffee and bread but maybe I just came down too late to get anything more. Overall, my friends and I had a very positive experience and would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá M., I was checking the late reviews that were not answered and found yours. Thanks a lot for pointing out two things that everyone gives high value: the cleanliness and the personal care of our staff ;-) I think you got at breakfast almost in the very end, because normally we have also 4 types of cereals, milk, juices, jam and cheese for the bread and when our volunteers are in an artistic mood we have cookies or cake. Big Kiss from Lisbon and hope to see you and your friends again soon, João

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
10.0

Such a sweet hostel, the guys were amazing and so friendly! Had the best timeeeee thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá H., thank you for giving us such a good feedback. I can feel in your words that we have done a good job during your stay ;-) We will be here waiting anxiously for your next visit ;-) Kiss from Lisbon, João

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
6.3

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. The bathrooms on the 1st and 2nd floors were covered in mold. Our beds seemed clean but I witnessed the cleaning staff not changing the bedsheets for a bed of someone who just left. Instead they tucked in the sheets from its previous use which someone slept fully naked in. Ask for new sheets if you do stay in this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá R., thank you for taking some time to review us. About the lack of cleanliness of the bathrooms, we really have to excuse ourselves. This summer we had so much work that did not manage to keep up with that problem. Last week we approved a project of massive renovation/modernization of the bathrooms that will be done until the end of January 2017. Relatively to the issue of the bed sheets, I think that it was a miss understanding, because I fully trust the cleaning ladies and if you notice, we clean, dry and fold our own sheets in the hostel. Every day you will see us running around doing all those tasks to guarantee that everything is clean. Anyway, I will talk with the cleaning ladies to double check. Apart from that, I hope you enjoyed all the wonders that Lisbon has to give and come back a second time. Hug from Lisbon, João

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Sep 2016
8.9

The location to the centre was very good and the staff are very helpful, friendly and great with suggestions. The sangria nigh is worth a try if your staying on a Wednesday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá H., I can feel in your words that we have done a good job during your stay. Thanks a lot for your review ;-) Kiss from Lisbon

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome location, near the metro and right smack in the city center. It's not a party hostel yet it's so easy to meet people, i'd recommend it to any solo traveler. Don't miss dinner when they offer it on some nights for some home cooked Portuguese Cuisine. Lockers are provided, breakfast is included too. The fact that you get all these in one of the cheapest hostels in Lisbon makes staying here quite a bargain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá J., thanks a lot for taking some time to review us and letting the others travellers know that we promote some activities where people can meet and make good friends. We party and get wild but always in a respectful way. Probably that is why everyone fits so well in the atmosphere that we create. Hope most of the solo travellers like you to have the same opinion ;-) Also loved your last sentence. It is a massive recognition of the value of our work. Big Hug from Lisbon J.and please stop by more times. João

  • robertlydick6691
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
10.0

A very nice/clean/friendly place with a great location. The location was excellent. I had looked at a much cheaper place prior to booking this place -- when I read those reviews I notice the other place had bedbugs. I decided to look at all of the reviews for Lisbon and sort by best and highest rating. I booked this site due to this fact. It was a wise decision. A great place. A nice plaza a few blocks away and close to Metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá R., nice that HostelWorld helped you to find us, and you helped us to keep the good rating that we have in that website for other travellers to find us too ;-) Thanks a lot for your positive review. Hug from Lisbon and hope to see you soon, João

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Sep 2016
9.4

Wow! The staff was AMAZING! Very helpfull and they have our best interest. The location is also in the center! The only thing was the showers weren't really clean with a lot of mold and not enough space to change.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá S., happy to know you felt so good and welcome by the staff at Old Town Hostel. About the showers, we are sorry about the conditions they were in the end of summer. On good thing is that we are getting them completely modernised in the end of 2016 and beginning of 2017. Massive renovations in the hostel. You are more than invited to come and check it out next year ;-) Thanks a lot for the great review and hope to see you soon. Big Kiss, João

8th Sep 2016
10.0

Amazing stay in Lisbon! The staff are extremely helpful, they went above and beyond to make an app to explore the city. A little hot in the rooms at the beginning of September. Great location and overall stay! Electrical outlet and light per each bed. The 10 euro dinner at the hostel was an awesome idea for people to meet each other.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá M., it is extremely motivating for us to know how good the experience of our guests was at Old Town Hostel. Thanks a lot for the good review, especially for highlighting the App and the Dinner. It was a hard work to do the App, but definitely worth. We hope more and more people use it to improve their trip to Lisbon and surroundings. Really cool also that you mention the private electrical outlet and light that everyone has in the bed. You were the first one ever to mention it, even though it is so useful and not normal in most of the hostels ;-) Big kiss and hope to see you next time you visit Portugal, João Ferreira

6th Sep 2016
9.7

The hostel is located close to many tourist attractions, an underground station and very near to Lisbon's nightlife area. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the room was quite spacious. There are some nice common areas, with sofas, where we can relax and meet other people. I definitely recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá A., thanks for the really complete description of the hostel and for recommending us. Hope it helps to bring more and more Brazilians to Old Town Hostel, with their good vibes and big smiles ;-) Hope to see you next time you cross the Atlantic. Big Hug from Lisbon

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.6

The most important thing to know about the place is its ambience. People i meet there were super relaxed had really good conversation. The staff is super friendly, they really add up to the positive energy of the place. On the top of that is so well connected with all transport facilities. Its really in the heart of the city so you can walk anywhere easily. They frequently organize sangria nights and dinner evenings. Its worth of money and time to attend these activity. Its a place to be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá G., this is probably the most precise review we had lately. Thanks a lot for recognising the cool and friendly atmosphere that the staff creates and all the energy we put into it, whether by organising Sangrias and Dinners or simply by being ourselves. Big hug from Lisbon and when you are tired of cold rainy Holland, jump on a cheap plane and come for a sunny visit ;-)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.