Hostelworld.com

Lisbon Old Town Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I can really recommend the hostel, the staff was always nice and helpful regarding any kind of questions. Furthermore, they provide a decent breakfast and not this useless toast and peanut butter stuff:D! The location is pretty cool as well, I cant remember everything because we had a lot of beer and Mojito (1L=5€ in the city centre). Last but not least, the Hostel and the showers were really clean. Thanks a lot for everything and keep the good vibes up. Cheerio Team Dortmund

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place with a real good vibe. Really easy to meet people and the guys who work really go out of their way to ensure you have a good time. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá Ian, thanks a lot for the review, the good vibes here at Old Town Hostel are mandatory, compulsory and a guarantee that we give to all clients ;-) We just opened after almost 1 month closed for renovations so if you are still around with your bike, feel free to come and visit us. Big Hug from Lisbon, João Ferreira

23rd Dec 2016
10.0

My favourite hostel in Lisbon!!!! Great staff, very clean, ideal location, cheap beer........ and special treatment for loyal, repeat visitors, thanks Joao.....and a Happy New Year

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá Mike, you are the best like always. Thank you for being loyal ;-) Hope you had a great last week of 2016 in Lisbon and the best beggining of 2017. See you soon. Big Hug, João

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
9.7

Staff was friendly and accommodating. Super helpful on this trip when asked about things to do around the area. Close to public transportation and only a 14 euro Uber drive from the airport. The whole place was very clean, much cleaner than hostels I've previously stayed in. I was looking forward to the free breakfast however it wasn't much. Just coffee and bread but maybe I just came down too late to get anything more. Overall, my friends and I had a very positive experience and would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá M., I was checking the late reviews that were not answered and found yours. Thanks a lot for pointing out two things that everyone gives high value: the cleanliness and the personal care of our staff ;-) I think you got at breakfast almost in the very end, because normally we have also 4 types of cereals, milk, juices, jam and cheese for the bread and when our volunteers are in an artistic mood we have cookies or cake. Big Kiss from Lisbon and hope to see you and your friends again soon, João

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
10.0

Such a sweet hostel, the guys were amazing and so friendly! Had the best timeeeee thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá H., thank you for giving us such a good feedback. I can feel in your words that we have done a good job during your stay ;-) We will be here waiting anxiously for your next visit ;-) Kiss from Lisbon, João

4th Oct 2016
10.0

Love this place! The staff were incredibly helpful, and had fantastic input on how we should spend our time while in Lisbon (and they're good-looking too!). In a good central location. Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
6.3

I stayed in this hostel for 2 nights. The bathrooms on the 1st and 2nd floors were covered in mold. Our beds seemed clean but I witnessed the cleaning staff not changing the bedsheets for a bed of someone who just left. Instead they tucked in the sheets from its previous use which someone slept fully naked in. Ask for new sheets if you do stay in this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá R., thank you for taking some time to review us. About the lack of cleanliness of the bathrooms, we really have to excuse ourselves. This summer we had so much work that did not manage to keep up with that problem. Last week we approved a project of massive renovation/modernization of the bathrooms that will be done until the end of January 2017. Relatively to the issue of the bed sheets, I think that it was a miss understanding, because I fully trust the cleaning ladies and if you notice, we clean, dry and fold our own sheets in the hostel. Every day you will see us running around doing all those tasks to guarantee that everything is clean. Anyway, I will talk with the cleaning ladies to double check. Apart from that, I hope you enjoyed all the wonders that Lisbon has to give and come back a second time. Hug from Lisbon, João

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Sep 2016
8.9

The location to the centre was very good and the staff are very helpful, friendly and great with suggestions. The sangria nigh is worth a try if your staying on a Wednesday.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá H., I can feel in your words that we have done a good job during your stay. Thanks a lot for your review ;-) Kiss from Lisbon

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
14th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome location, near the metro and right smack in the city center. It's not a party hostel yet it's so easy to meet people, i'd recommend it to any solo traveler. Don't miss dinner when they offer it on some nights for some home cooked Portuguese Cuisine. Lockers are provided, breakfast is included too. The fact that you get all these in one of the cheapest hostels in Lisbon makes staying here quite a bargain.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá J., thanks a lot for taking some time to review us and letting the others travellers know that we promote some activities where people can meet and make good friends. We party and get wild but always in a respectful way. Probably that is why everyone fits so well in the atmosphere that we create. Hope most of the solo travellers like you to have the same opinion ;-) Also loved your last sentence. It is a massive recognition of the value of our work. Big Hug from Lisbon J.and please stop by more times. João

  • robertlydick6691
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
10.0

A very nice/clean/friendly place with a great location. The location was excellent. I had looked at a much cheaper place prior to booking this place -- when I read those reviews I notice the other place had bedbugs. I decided to look at all of the reviews for Lisbon and sort by best and highest rating. I booked this site due to this fact. It was a wise decision. A great place. A nice plaza a few blocks away and close to Metro.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Uepá R., nice that HostelWorld helped you to find us, and you helped us to keep the good rating that we have in that website for other travellers to find us too ;-) Thanks a lot for your positive review. Hug from Lisbon and hope to see you soon, João

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.