X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lisetonga Hostel Reviews

Rua Ary Barroso casa 15, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
301 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

They were very welcoming and helpful in my first days in Rio. There was also a good community of people there, which is a good sign. I would go there again!

  • 19th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel was well designed, pretty with a good hangout space and basic but clean and comfortable dorms. The hostel was not immediately near much in the way of bars or restaurants but was close to the beach. However, atmosphere was pretty meh -- the hostel staff, one woman in particular, wasn't keen on making it a fun spot and had an attitude when we asked questions about the city. It's a nice hostel but not good if you want a lot of action it for them to suggest fun stuff to do or tours.


80%

I spent almost 2 weeks there, such a great place


94%

Otimo custo beneficio, equipe otima tambem.


94%

Chill as hell, great hospitality, lots of great places to hang out. Rooftop hammocks ftw

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Hostel muito bom, pessoas agradáveis, limpo, seguro e ótimo para uma boa troca de culturas... Por ficar em cima de um morro pacificado com muito policiamento tem uma pequena ladeira para subir porém existe o serviço de motoboy por R$ 2,50... Poderiam aceitar cartão para pagamento da hospedagem... Café da manhã não está incluso, a parte R$ 10,00

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a good value for money hostel. It's in Leme next to Morro da Babilônia, however, the neighborhood felt very safe - bear in mind this hostel is on a hill. Although it was clean and nice, there aren't enough showers for everybody. Breakfast is fine and there are plenty of restaurants and supermarkets around. The beach is at a walk-distance and the subway is a 20-minute walk. Noisy neighborhood - there was a very active Christian community singing out loud - don't forget your earplugs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for staying with us. Thank you very much for your feedback. We just want to clarify that there is 6 showers and 5 toilets available. It is extremely rare to need to wait. Safe travels and nice to meet you ;)

94%

Un lugar 100% recomendable!

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

man fühlt sich wie zu hause. Ganz in der Nähe der Copacabana, aber nicht mittendrin, also bekommt man ein wenig einheimischen Flair mit und hat es trotzdem nicht weit zu den touristischen Attraktionen.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is fantastic. Is very clean. The house has a very nice decoration. Absolutely no complaints. The starf are very helpful. Room was good and clean. Everything you could want in a hostel and more I find there. The atmosphere was awesome.

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Preis Leistungs Verhältnis stimmt. Die Mitarbeiter waren nicht besonders hilfreich. Das Hostel ist ziemlich gut ausgestattet und relativ sauber. Wenn man die Erfahrung machen möchte am Rande einer Favela zu wohnen, ein guter und sicherer Ort dafür.


100%

I love the place :) Is very friendly and very nice atmosphere :) the price are cheap. Breakfast if very good if you are in time. They finish at 10:00 (different fruit / jam / cheese ) :) good. The room are big :) we love the room 4 bedsroom Bratislava with a balcony. Caipirinhar are good and cheap just 6 reais (2 euros) guauuuu :) near to the beach. I will come back !


77%

Good location just 5 mins walk from copacabana beach and 10 mins walk to the bus stops on princessa isabella avenue. Breakfast was nice good idea with the toasty maker. They have a parrot and a mischievous kitten. Main areas were kept clean although our room in the basement smelled and the beds were not very comfortable. Staff were always friendly and helpful.


100%

El hostal esta muy bien ubicado, y la gente que trabaja alli es muy amable. No importa el idioma que hables, siempre hay alguien que te entiende :) recomiendo que reserven en el cuarto bratislava porque tiene una terraza dentro del cuarto.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

El ambiente en el Hostal es nuy agradable, buen desayuno y la habitación muy linda con un balcón para tomar el aire. Excelente ubicacoón !!!

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Terrible! Location, staff, cleaning etc. Worst hostel we have stayed on. Mostly because of the staff and that they didn't let us use the air condition at daytime. They turn it on(if you ask) at bedtime and came running into the room from 6am-8am to turn it of. It was so hot we couldnt sleep without! There were ants everywhere, and the owners had 3 cats there all the time. They were in our rooms, on the foodtable, kitchen, bathrooms and so on. The kitchen was so(!!) dirty and the bedrooms too.


49%

Ich verstehe wirklich absolut nicht, wie das Hostel an eine 90%+ Bewertung gekommen ist. Einen Schlüssel zu unserem Zimmer haben wir, trotz 3 Nachfragen, nie erhalten. Es konnte also jeder einfach so, wie er will, in unser Zimmer spazieren, was leider auch mehrfach passiert ist. Eine Open Air Disko gegenüber verhindert das Schlafen komplett von Freitag bis Sonntag. Es ist so laut, als ob direkt neben dem Zimmer permanent Flugzeuge starten. Es gibt noch sehr viele andere Negativpunkte.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

We stayed at Lisetonga for our last night in Rio. The hostel itself is impressive with cool decorations and common area. For us, its situation at the top of a huge hill was a bit of a deal beaker. It's not easy to come and go during the day. Our stay was a bit colored by the fact that the A/C was out, but it sounded like it really was an uncommon occurrence. Bc the A/C was out, we slept with the windows open and were woken up a lot by the noise of people yelling in the street.


60%

Creo que era necesario asear el hostal más de 1 vez por día, al ser tanta la cantidad de pasajeros. También sería bueno ver de qué forma dejar guardada la comida y los objetos de baño, que eran robados por los demás pasajeros del hostal con frecuencia (por ejemplo, cajas pequeñas con llave para ser guardadas en el refrigerador). En la página del hostal señala que las piezas tienen aire acondicionado, pero no se especifica que tenía un horario, y realmente hace calor cuando éste se apaga.

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola Maria, Dormiste en un cuarto de 5 personas. De los cuales 4 noches durmieron solo tu y tu amiga. El cuarto es aseado cada dia y estamos convencidos que limpieza de los quartos es un esfuerzo comun de nuestros visitantes y nosotros. No se supone que alguien dejaria objetos personales en baños compartidos, no lo hagas en tu proximo viaje. Existe diferencia entre Hostel y Hotel y a tu edad entiendo q ya no te guste compartir cuarto. Pero para eso hay que pagar un poquito más :) Saludos,

83%

Das Hostel liegt auf einem kleinen Hügel an der Copacabana. Die Lage ist deshalb OK. Das Frühstück war recht gut und man kann nette Leute hier kennen lernen.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback