X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Little Bucharest - Old Town Hostel Reviews

Smardan Street, Number 15, Bucharest, Romania

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
65 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Definitely will be back, very clean, staff friendly and right in the middle of the old city.


89%

The views are amazing

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for stating an amazing thing about us. We also love the view and we are happy that you have enjoyed it too. We hope we'll see you again soon in Bucharest. Best wishes!

80%

Overall a good hostel with an excellent location. The doors to the rooms don't lock, but they do provide lockers. It's loud outside, so you'll want to bring earplugs. Bring cash - they don't accept credit cards.


86%

Fantastic location. Clean dorms. Would definitely recommend.


60%

Great location and comfy beds, but that's it. Staff (who don't have much tourism info) enforce noise rules in the common area. And while ear plugs can easily cover up street music and noise, they can't mask the loud late-nighters, whose sounds are amplified by the building's thin walls and creaky floors. There is no a/c which wouldn't be so bad if they offered fans. One fan was brought in on the last day but for six of us was not enough. Bathrooms were not clean. Don't recommend this place.


89%

Our private room was spotless with working AC, working shower and toilet. Wifi actually worked in the room, etc. best hostel we stayed in, in Romania. for cleanliness, comfort, and working facilities. Would be nice if breakfast was included like most other hostels in Romania but that was no big deal.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and for the kind words. Detailed comments like yours are very important. We hope we will have you again here with us! Best wishes!

97%

Pretty good hostel, only thing was bathrooms on the main floor could be cleaner. Staff were awesome, especially Robyn, she's so helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We like Robyn too, she's a great member of our team. We have addressed the bathrooms issue and we will pay more attention to them. Happy traveling!

100%

Best hostel ever, I'll be back once!!


69%

The hostel is good overall. But there are two issues: - Lift does not work - There is a street musician in front of the hostel. He plays his flute all the night and every night. He always plays the same lame melody from that Kill Bill movie. This is not the fault of the hotel, but we cannot close the windows as there is no air condition.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel is located right in the middle of the Old Town in an historical building, this being the reason for the elevator not working. We are sorry for the inconvenience. Also, we are sorry about the music from outside. This does not happen every night but when it does, we alert the police. Also, we now offer free ear plugs for our customers.

100%

We had an amazing time, the staff was super warm and helpful. The views are perfect, you are right in the middle of all the action in the old town. Super clean, totally recommend it!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest! Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and for the kind words. Positive reviews like yours are the reason for we to go the extra mile in order to offer our guests the best experience in Bucharest. Thank you again and we hope we will see you again soon! Best wishes!

97%

The hotel rooms are so big and clean. Awesome view of the city, and extremely well-located. It's in the middle of everything, and close to everything. I'd have liked that they offered dinner (not free, paying for it, of course), as most of hostels do, as when you get there u don't know really where to go eating, specially the first days and travelling alone. But anyways, the receptionists are so nice, kind and cute, and will help you with anything you need. The bathroom is okay, clean, but small

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive and detailed review and we are happy that you enjoyed your staying with us. We sometimes organize free dinner nights when we cook together with our guests but we not a restaurant, as many of the similar hostels aren't. Our staff is though well informed and they can recommend great places to eat around the hostel. Hope to have you again at Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel! Best wishes!

89%

Location in the Old town of Bucharest. A bit noicy if you try to sleep early, because the barstreet is just outside. That proves the location is good. Really helpful staff. Nothing going on when we stayed in the hostel, so not many people in the common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your opinion is very important for us. Because of the occasional noise from outside, we decided to offer free ear plugs. Now anyone can take them from the reception. During the day, many of our guests leave the hostel in order to discover the city and they stay our late because there are so many things to see and do in Bucharest. But during the morning and evenings, people gather in the common room for the free waffles, board games etc. Best wishes!

86%

Perfectly placed hostel for visiting the sights of Bucharest, located right in the "old town" area. Bars, restaurants and clubs less than a minut walk so convenient. It doe however mean the hostel is noisy, as the windows are large and face the streets, we thought it was worth it though. Staff friendly, generally well kept. Would reccomend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and thank you for the kind words. Regarding the noise from outside, we have decided to offer free ear plugs for our guests who need them. Thank you again for you recommendation and we hope we will see you again in Bucharest! Best wishes!

60%

If you are looking to get any sleep do not stay in this Hostel. Outside music pumps till at least 5am and the construction work starts at 7am. The noise really is unbearable and not even if you were in a coma you could not sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, we are very sorry that you didn't have a positive experience. We can assure you that the construction work that our neighbors did in the morning was an exception and was not in our control. We've made a complaint about that to the administrator and it won't happen again. Also, we've announced the police about the noise from the bar next to us. We apologize that your staying here did not meet your expectations. We want you to know that we work hard to make every customer happy.

80%

It's on a street that has no car access to it, but on the other hand it's smack in the center of the party in the old town. We arrived at 2:30am and music all around was full blast. It took a while to wake up the receptionist on duty even though I had warned them in advanced that we'd be arriving at night. The girl behind the desk in the morning though was super shiny and smiling. The room itself, the deluxe double room was actually something like a honey moon suite. Beautiful and spacious.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you taking the time to review Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel and for the kind words. Located right in the middle of the Old Town, you cannot bring your car in front of the hostel but there's an underground parking at 2 minutes walking, in University Square. We apologize for the waiting at your check-in, we've talked to the receptionist and it won't happen again. We are glad that you liked the double room and we hope we will see you again in Bucharest. Best wishes!

86%

stairs to hostel a big pain apart from that really enjoyed my stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We are happy to see that you enjoyed your staying with us in Bucharest. Thank you for taking the time to review Little Bucharest Old Town Hostel. Our hostel is located in a historical building and way to get to us on the stairs until the second floor may not be comfortable to climb for everyone but we are now working on repainting the walls in order to make the stairs more luminous and friendly. Best wishes!



View all Bucharest Hostels

Please give us your feedback