Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Living Mad Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3776 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2017
10.0

Great place and they had AC!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Aug 2017
9.1

My stay there was very nice! I really recomend. There was only one problem that a guy entered in a female room and stole some things. I really didn't understand because each one has your own key. Maybe he was in the hostel also.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello!! Thank you for leaving your comments here. We are aware of the guy that sneaked in the girls dorm and unfortunately it seems that it was some one from outside the hostel and someone from the room let him in by mistake (she wasn't aware she was in a female dorm). It's really frustrating and the images are with the police...But as you said, the doors only open with a personal key, so this is a really unusual situation. However, Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us... Best regards!

8th Aug 2017
6.9

A confused key system and a slow attendance screw up the qualities. The rooms are tiny and internet doesn't work all the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for being so "objective"... Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Aug 2017
7.1

Very bad first impression . After whole day of travelling I got information that cannot check in because they change the shift (even it was normal check in time our ). After 15 minutes waiting I got information that still cannot check in. So I left my luggage and went out of hostel, cause it looked that will never finish. First impression was bad but when finally could go to the room everything was fine. Good location, a lot of facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, It's unfortunate that you arrived at 3pm in the middle of the shift changing...but it would be more unfortunate to have a receptionist working over 8 hours just in case someone arrives at any possible time. We know you are tired after walking all morning, but we do have human beings working, thank goodness :) We have a nice and confortable lounge room with plenty of seating areas, air conditioning and free tea, coffe, cookies and cold water just in case we make you wait for check in. Glad you enjoyed the facilities regards

  • praju77jogdand9661
  • India, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
30th Jul 2017
8.9

We stayed here for only a night. It was a pleasant stay. They have AC which is controlled by the reception so have to walk to get it on. Toilets are shared by the whole floor, even though the rooms can be private. Also, they charge per person two euros for storing the bags on your check out day. Breakfast is good. Private rooms are also provided with towels, shampoo, body wash, and blankets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for your comments. The AC in the rooms are always controlled by reception in big hostels...Imagine having the remote in the rooms in a hostel of 140 beds...They would collapse, the remote would go missing, and who knows how many other things. However it's not a long walk to reception :) There are two sets of bathrooms on every floor and some of them have their own private bathroom so it will always be easy to have a shower. Again, thank you and come back to Madrid :)

27th Jul 2017
9.7

One of my favorite hostels! They offer so many different activities throughout the week, the rooms and bathrooms were clean. Was able to do my laundry for a small fee, the kitchen was great and I was able to cook myself meals, close to the train station! Overall very good, would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your nice comments..I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, come back any time :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jul 2017
9.7

Mad Hostel is the perfect mix of chill out and party. Maria is the best ever, she was so lovely and helpful. All the staff are amazing. Will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Maria will be thrilled to hear your lovely comments...thank you very much and see you soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
7.1

Very dificult to open the the doors at room ,, and a waith more 35 minutes to check inn, the force to you deposit for the key room. I said let me go change a money. But the person said need money right now. O dont.give the key.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I am not sure why you decide to lie about your check in. It took you so long because you refused to pay the deposit, although you were holding a 20 euro note in your hand. After that, you tried to fool the receptionist telling her that you had paid already, and we had to spend half an hour checking the cameras to verify this (although the receptionist was sure that you had not paid). It turned out you hadn't... Trying to get your way around lying to us and to potencial guests is quite low and we honestly don't want to have that type of person staying with us...so please, do not come back.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
9.7

Stayed at the Mad hostel twice in one week - first time in a hostel. Staff were very friendly, bar and common areas were clean and nice. Got a lot of extras for free (e.g.: breakfast, dinner on some nights, wifi..) and it'seems possible to join events taking place at the linked hostel Cats (2 min walk away). Door system is a pain but once you're used to it, it's alright. Will come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey!! Glad to hear you enjoyed our free dinner in the rooftop bar... Don't leave it like this....come back to stay a third time with us :) kind regards and take care

  • luisqaf
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
10.0

The hostel is very nice, it's very spacious, the facilities are great and most of the time kept clean. The rooms were also comfortable, the staff was friendly and helpful. I really liked the stay at the hostel even though it was only for 1 day

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your nice comments! Clearly you need to come back to spend a few more days with us and enjoy all our activities :) See you soon

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.