X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Living Mad Hostel Reviews

C/ Cabeza 24, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2617 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I only stayed in the Living Mad Hostel for a couple of nights and still I found it great. It's location is excellent, being just a very short walk from the Puerta del Sol and the entire centre. The breakfast was great, the rooms and facilities were clean and the people we met there were great. The hostel also provides a free walking tour and many other activities both for the day time and for the nightlife. My free walking tour was with Viviana, and she was the best guide one could wish for.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We are very happy to read that you had such a great time with us! :)

89%

Good place, secon time in the Hostel. Most important thing is the toilets are always clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Glad to have you back! :)

37%

Four person dorm is about 8x10 so extremely small and cramped. No room for two people to walk at once. The window to the room also opens to the hostel interior rather than to any fresh air. The owner says ask to have the air conditioner turned on, but will leave it on for maybe an hour before turning it off again, leaving you in an unbearably hot, sweaty room with 3 others. It's disgusting. The hostel is also located on some shady back road. Would never go back.


86%

The roof bar was so chill. Loved the music.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our rooftop, with 2 levels, is the best to enjoy the sunshine and good weather in Madrid while making friends! :)

94%

The Mad Hostel is located in a quiet street in the city center where you can feel relaxed and at the same time you're steps away from everything that's happening in town. You don't need to take metro or buses, most of the interest points are in a walkable distance. They have a bar beside the reception and a roof top bar wich is great to have a beer watching the sunset! Staff is great and international!


86%

Daniella at receptionist counter very friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review , we will let Daniella knows, you are right, she's great! :)

80%

Living Mad is in a fairly good location, but it was a big hostel that tried to fit a lot of people meaning my room was pretty cramped. There was a huge group of high schoolers there that weekend too, and they were sooo rowdy so I can't say it was that good. Things were usually clean, didn't really interact with the staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, sorry to hear that when you stayed with us some of our guest were noisy, we always ask all our guest to respect the rest of the people staying with us. We have smaller rooms if you didn´t feel very comfortable in yours. Kind regards Mad Hostel

51%

Staff were extremely rude and lazy! We had to wait 2 hours to be checked in even though we arrived after check in time. This is unacceptable. When arriving into a city from the airport the last thing we want to do is wait around to be checked in. We want to get changed and start exploring the city.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I'm very surprised as all our reviews are very positive about our staff. I am the manager and when you checked-in I was at reception, the receptionist was doing a check-in at that moment and offered you to leave your bags in reception or have a drink while you wait your turn to be checked-in, you refused both.The check-in was done 20 min after you arrived so your watch probably was not working properly. Maybe next time you want to book a 5 start hotel instead of a backpackers hostel.

71%

When big groups visited the hostel (such as student groups) it seemed as though there were not enough facilities and cleaning staff to keep up with demand. Otherwise, it was fine.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thanks for your feedback, we will pass it onto our housekeeping staff to see what we can improve as keeping our facilities always clean is very important for us.

100%

Overall great hostel. Great location, and loads to do. If your there to party however you may want to stay at their other hostel Cats. Either way you can join them at night for their great pub crawl.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thaks for your review, as you say we have choices for all tastes :), if you are a party animal you would like to stay at Cat's, if you prefer a more relaxing stay, come to Mad.

100%

Extremely friendly staff, nice atmosphere and good location.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great rating, all our efforts are always to make sure that our guests feel like at home. I hope you come back to stay with us! Kind regards Mad Hostel

77%

Clean, safe and in a great location. The rooftop bar is advertised a lot, so it was a bit disappointing that it wasn't actually open at all this time of the year. The rooftop terrace was nice though without the bar as well. Also 5 euros for a towel rent is a bit much especially when you find yourself standing in the shower with a towel that is not properly cleaned. Got a new one by asking. The shared dorm for six was quite small, but the beds were nice and had power outlets by all the beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, sorry to hear that you were dissapointed that our rooftop bar was still closed when you came, the opening is today, we hope you can come back to enjoy it this summer. The towels are rented for 5 eur, when you return the towel we give back 2 eur, did you return yours? We have dorms with less beds if you didn't feel very comfortable in yours. Kind regards Mad Hostel

74%

The shower room is too small! There are no area for place the things!!!!! Otherwise is okay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, sorry to hear that you found the shower room a bit small but there are shelves to put your clothes. Glad that the rest of your stay was good. Kind regards. Mad Hostel

100%

Staff and facilities were great. Samuel at the front desk was extremely helpful with anything I needed. Everything was kept clean and orderly. The building itself is great, and the roof area is very nice when it is sunny out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Great to hear you had a great time with us, we will pass your nice comments onto Samuel :)

83%

I really liked this place for two main reasons. It is located in an interesting area of Madrid Lavapies where you can find people from all the cultures. Inside the hostal the convivence with all the other foreigners is really amazing, especially if you are backpacking. It is close from Pthing laza Mayor and Sol. The only I will change is the key security system due to the problems must of the time some people have trying to open their own rooms and lockers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, sometimes the key security system is a bit tricky but our staff is always more than happy to help you opening the door and locker any time of the day as our reception is open 24 hours. Apart from that we can see that you had great time! We hope you come back to stay with us again.

86%

Hostel was pretty good, but a few small things annoyed me, the showers were difficult to stand straight in without turning off the tap and the beds were very small. Great location though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we are glad to read that you enjoy your time with us! Sorry to hear that you find our beds small, we have a room with a double bed maybe in your next stay you would like to book that one. We will bare in mind your comment about the showers for the next time that we refurbish the bathrooms.

94%

A group of girls and I stayed the weekend here, during one of our weekends off from Study Abroad. 6 of us stayed in a 6bed dorm room. It was nice and clean, and the beds were really comfy. Each of us had a good sized storage locker that we could put our backpacks in while venturing out for the day. The staff was really helpful when we asked for directions or a recommendation for where to go out/eat. We met some great people here, highly recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yuhu!!!!!!! Thank ou for everything, girls. Have a great life!

86%

Had a great time --- meet the love of my life!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
happy to hear that you found your lovely love here!!! Who was him? Greeeat!

69%

Definitely not a party hostel. If you're looking to have a good time in Madrid (nightlife wise), I recommend staying at their sister hostel, Cat's. Kitchen was way too small for comfort, couches were alright but the rooms were REALLY cramped. Showers were hot, but the bathrooms were always dirty. Probably wouldn't stay here again, but like I said their other hostel is fantastic.




View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback