Hostelworld.com

Living Mad Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2,992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2,992 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.7
Living Mad Hostel Located at C/ Cabeza 24, , Madrid.
Living Mad Hostel
Spain
Madrid Madrid Spain/28012 C/ Cabeza 24
83% 2992
40.4117315 -3.7024354
Living Mad Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th May 2016
9.4

Really cheap and nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th May 2016
7.7

A goog Hostel, the only bad things are: the kitchen that is incredible small for an hostel with so many rooms (and just with 2 cooking fire), and the fact that, could be noisy if some people stay talking on the stairs or on the sofa in the entrance hall. Common room (where you get the breakfast) too noisy (i mean for the volume of the music)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
5.4

I spent there three nights and couldn't close my eyes. There were huge geoups of people screaming, laughing and walking at around 3 o clock in the morning, the reception did nothing. At the next day I told the receptionist about the issue and he just said: yeah people complained the whole night. The breakfast is just cereal and some "pastries".

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I there, Sorry to hear that you had a bad stay... While it's true that we have big groups sometimes, we always tell them to respect other customers and keep quiet in the common areas. The receptionist usually tries to keep them quiet but in this case it seems that they wouldn't listen to us... Again, our apologies for that and we hope that you still come back one day! Regarding our breakfast, it's quite complete given that it's free of charge... 3 types of cereal, 3 or 4 types of pastry, spreads, coffee, tea, juices, etc. Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st May 2016
9.7

Thank you! We had a great time in Madrid. The staff was helpful, the rooms had spacious lockers and the whole place was safe. Good bathrooms with many showers and toilets. 4 different cornflakes/muesli, which was nice. Would come again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are happy that you enjoyed your stay! Hope we see you again :)

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
30th Apr 2016
7.1

I did not like the place. The 6 beds room was extremely tiny with no real window, so it was dark and with no fresh air. The shower cabins were also very narrow. The breakfast wasn't tasty at all. It's forbidden to drink or even to bring in your own alcohol into the hostel, so you have to buy it at their bar... The good things were the WiFi and the nice people I met there, who made the experience a little less painful :D

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

hi! Sorry to hear you didn't like our hostel. We have several rooms with 6 beds and all of them have windows. The one you stayed in has a window to an inner courtyard, but it's still a window :) However if you weren't happy you could have asked to be changed (if there was availability). Of course it's allowed to drink alcohol in the hostel! We have the cheapest drinks possible, cheaper than any bar in Madrid..3,5eur the spirits and 3eur the litre of beer. And 2x1 during happy hour. Having our own bar is quite normal not to allow drinks purchased outside. We are glad that you met nice people though :) Regards!

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Apr 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I stayed in! I was in a 5 bedroom room, with a nice bathroom and very safe and spacious lockers. Nice rooftoop, reception and common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you so much for your nice comment :)

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Apr 2016
5.1

The staff are the worst bar one

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Sorry but we don't understand your comment very well...our bar is attached to the reception and the staff is the same person. Please be more specific. Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • France, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Nothing bad to say. Great atmosphere at cat s bar, mad hostel is a little quieter which was great to rest. Keep up the good work

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for such nice review...and see you soon at both our hostels, hopefuly! Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2016
6.0

The entire hostel is built around centered indoor courtyard. It's very noisy at night , had trouble sleeping . Also, this hostel usually has groups of 50+ kids doing a school trip so keep in mind they are noisy ! Breakfast was free but only included cereal , juice, and bread. The bathrooms were left for days dirty without toilet paper , had to ask the girl at the front to have someone clean it because they were filthy. I wouldn't stay here for more than a night. Location was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are sorry that the group disturbed you, we do sometimes host big groups that come to Madrid, like every other hostel in Spain...As for the cleanliness, I have to say that what you say can not be true, the shared bathrooms are cleaned several times a day without exception, except during the night because our cleaning staff don't work 24h :) But our front desk does and they can help you with anything you might need, within our possibilities, of course. Regards!

9th Apr 2016
7.7

It is quite easy to find as instructed. Rooms were clean and came with big lockers. Showers were pretty hot and location was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your comment... see you again!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.