Hostelworld.com

Living Mad Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 3,050 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 3,050 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Living Mad Hostel Located at C/ Cabeza 24, , Madrid.
Living Mad Hostel
Spain
Madrid Madrid Spain/28012 C/ Cabeza 24
84% 3050
40.4117315 -3.7024354
Living Mad Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

Fine hostel. Bunk beds need an update though. No safety rail on the top bunks, and they were very squeaky. The entire bunk bed moved when either the top or bottom person moved. Besides the beds, it was alright.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.4

The doors were ridiculously difficult to unlock.. But apart from that everything else was great! Super great location, relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thank you for your review! The difficult locks keep bad people away from us :)

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
4.3

This was the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. The staff was unfriendly from the moment I arrived. The common area was dirty (stained upholstery) and the bathroom was dirty too. Also, they did not enforce the men's/women's bathroom separation so men were using the women's bathroom and showers. The shared room was small and incredibly noisy. It seemed like people were walking by screaming (including children) all night. The hostel staff did very little to ensure a nice stay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are so sorry to hear that you had a bad experience... It seems that there was a high school group during your stay and they could be noisy since they move all at once always together. Given the inconvenience, we decided not to take any more groups during the summer season... Howver, we are a bit surprised about your comment regarding our staff, since it's usually very well rated. If you can contact us and be more specific about our unfriendly staff, we would appreaciate it, since we always encourage everyone to give the best of themselves, and we are very proud of the team we have. Our bathrooms are clearly signaled as men and women's but we certainly cannot control every person's steps in the hostel.. Sorry that other guests couln't respect that. I believe that's not the hostels fault, though. There is little we want more than our guests satisfaction and that's why we organize a lot of activities to keep everyone happy, busy, and help them have the best experience. We appreciate your opinion, and hope you enjoyed Madrid. Kind regards

  • RichArseDavis
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.0

Nice place, friendly staff with good recommendations and helpful advice. Rooms were pretty small and mine was an especially squeaky bunk. Definitely needed some wd40. Unusual security system of rooms but you get used to it and they are pretty secure. Lots of plug outlets. Small kitchen but common room was fair and generally quiet but the hostel chose to do some heavy DIY work which was frustrating. Not bad just hope you get a big room and squeak-free bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Thanks a lot for your comments, We will efinitely have a look at those squeaky beds... About the DIY work, sorry about that but sometimes we need to do maintenance and try to do it over the quietest hours... Hope next time you stay with us again, we can give you a bigger room :)ç Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.6

The bad things are that it is very noisy and there isn't enough privacy in regards to the shower and bathroom area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello!! Thanks for your comments... We try to keep the noise away as much as possible, but summer nights keep people awake for longer... Good thing if you wnt to socialize though! Regarding the bathrooms, our shared bathrooms have individual cabins for shower and toilet, but if you want more privacy you can book one of our ensuite rooms. Hope you come back and stay with us again! Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Jun 2016
10.0

Very Nice place. The airconditioning making the rooms Bit cold, talk with the stuff ahead. Very kind, polite, lovely stuff. I liked ot as one of my best stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
7.7

Pros: good location, comfy beds, cold AC (when it works), relatively quiet (sometimes street is noisy), free breakfast (though extremely unhealthy), constantly being cleaned Cons: computers are slow/don't work, hostel is not very social, locks are hard to use, air quality was poor (everyone I know was sniffling), the hostel's recommended pub crawl/walking tour are both awful, they put a 50+ man in my mixed dorm of 20-something girls and he slept naked-- it was uncomfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for your comments.We are introducing fruit in our breakfast so not so unhealthy anymore...if you have any more suggestions we are happy to hear them :) We are surprised by your comments on our pubcrawl and tour, since they are the highlights of most traveler's experience....you can see it in their reviews! We would like to know why you think they are aweful...it's really important for us. IN regards to the man in your room, we have seen that he only stayed over the weekend and you stayed for 7 nights... On the weekends we are full and if he makes a reservation online we cannot kick people out unless they are harmful or do womething wrong. We do not discriminate people by age. We do not tolerate harmful behaviour but if this was the case you only had to talk to reception. Hope you had an overall nice stay and thanks again for your comments Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jun 2016
8.6

nice hostel, kind staff and atmosphere, will go back again if I have to

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
9.7

Great place, only stayed one night but had an excellent experience. Room was a little tight but bed was comfortable and had lots of plugs and a lamp which was nice. Location is really great. Easy to find and very central.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Wow, what a place! First impressions: easy to find, near the centre, well connected with the metro. Welcoming bar/lounge area and friendly, helpful staff. The rooftop terrace was amazing to relax after a day's sightseeing. The beds were comfy and the rooms were cleaned daily. There are two daily walking tours and a ton of other activities like pub crawls and tapas tours! I really can't make this any clearer: STAY HERE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

wow, thanks a lot for such a nice review! We hope to have you back :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.