X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Living Mad Hostel Reviews

C/ Cabeza 24, Madrid, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2780 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The air conditioning unit in room 221 (I think) drips water like crazy, and the lock on locker 2 in the same room doesn't work with the keycard

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, did you informed reception that the air con was dripping and the locker didn't work? Should they have known they would have either changed you to another room or fix the issue. Regards, Mad Hostel.

89%

No wifi connection to our room, so that was kind of annoying, but otherwise pretty good hostel, great crew and good atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, we have wifi in all rooms, did you told reception about this issue?

77%

Nice good hostel, only the wifi sucked

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, we have wifi in the common areas and in the rooms, did you told reception if it wasn't working?

80%

Hostel had great atmosphere. Staff were the best. And the pealla night on the roof top was unbelievable, sorry I don't remember he's name but the food he made was amazing. A/C was fantastic in the room. Roof top bar was great, especially at 9pm for happy hour. Having the sister hostel cats made the experience even better!!! Only down side was it took a while to get the door system down, kitchen was small & poorly equipped, and showers weren't the best

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi ! Sorry that you find our locks system a bit tricky, our staff is always happy to help you and also is explained step by step on your room card. What did you found missing in the kitchen? We are working to give more privacy in the showers. Regards, Mad Hostel

89%

This hostel was a great way to hang out and meet new people. It's more low key than the company's other hostel, Cat, but the two work closely together so it was easy to have the party and low key experience. The tours were really fun and interesting and a great way to meet other travelers, especially the tapas tour! The staff went above and beyond to help make sure we were having a good time. I would definitely recommend this hostel to a friend.


83%

All was pretty standard for a hostel. Bunk beds and lockers - but the lockers were secured with an individual key card. The kitchen was small, but I didnt use it. The bathrooms were cleaned daily. A hook on the back of the shower doors would be great. Chilled atmosphere, with great rooftop bar. They put on a good walking tour which helped me get my bearings. There is aircon, super effective, but ours did break, however was able to change rooms.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff was great! The rooms were clean but small.. Bathrooms could've been cleaner but it wasn't awful. Great atmosphere, very easy to meet people and the tapas tour was awesome!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, apologies that you didn´t find the bathrooms as cleaned as expected, our housekeeping team check them regularly, probably you got there after other guest who wasn´t as respectful as you.

83%

Had a nice stay here. The terrace was very nice and staff were friendly


100%

Nice hostel, and the events are connected with another hostel nearby so there are many people to meet and fun things to do.


83%

The receptionists was really friendly but one that seamed a bit rude and stupid. The ostel is great as well as the position is fantastic (you don't need to get metro or bus bucause all is near to the ostel). The style, the design, the furniture isn't really good but there are some comfortable sofas on the zero floor and also a huge and nice terrace on the roof where you can relax yourself and easily meet people. However rooms are really small!! 6 squared metres for 4 bed are really few!!


100%

Rad place with a great rooftop terrace with bar and food nightly. Rooms are a little tight and double check bathrooms before going into the wrong one. Great spot though


86%

This hostel is cleaned and functional, but quite big and a bit impersonal. The bar closes too early. The staff was really friendly.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, our rooftop bar closes at 11pm as we have neighbours and the noise will disturb them, although the bar in reception is open 24 hours! :)

91%

It was a short stay, but I realized that is a nice hostel to stay longer .


94%

Excelent lockers and the hall is great! Everything cool!


83%

Great for meeting people (Huge lobby, rooftop terrace, pub crawls). Perfect central location. Can easily walk to the museums, squares (puerto del Sol, mayoral), retiro. Cons: lot's of children running around and staying at the hostel. very noisey at night until 2 am every night.people sit outside talking and in the common areas on each floor. If you're into socializing and a nightlife this is probably the place for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, apologies that while you stayed was a bit noisy, we have a night porter to ensure that during the night the hostel remains quiet. We will investigate what happened that night.

77%

An average hostel, but to a "Hostelworld Recommendation" I was expecting a better one. In general, the hostel is good, just dont have all best facilities I was expected. Good breakfast included.


83%

it was nice place , cheap , good breakfast , good wifi

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Feels like a college dorm, but that's what I had expected


89%

The breakfast was good, the staff were always willing to chat and answer my vast variety of questions, and it was conveniently located. The walking tour offered by the hostel was good and my guide, Carlos, had some interesting stories.


100%

Great place, will be good over summer also as rooms have aircon. Impressive building


(101 results)


View all Madrid Hostels

Please give us your feedback