X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Livingstone Backpackers Reviews

559 Makambo Road, Livingstone, Livingstone, Zambia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
75 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

They helped us with so much! They had all the best recommendations and bookings. Great vibe. Very safe.

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The Double is bad value for the money.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome hostel, really well equipped kitchen for travellers, big open spaces to chill out in the sun, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, hot showers, great tours desk and easy to get to the falls.


86%

We planned to sleep over one night but then we stayed there for seven nights. We liked the atmosphere and although there were lots of people it never felt overcrouded. David at the gate was always very helpful and we made lots of friends there.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great place to stay in Livingstone! Nice rooms and definitely value for money. Walking distance to shopping centre and restaurants. Great pool and lounge area.

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Manager is excellent.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The staffs are friendly but their informations are not always correct. however this is nor serious problem.


89%

I had a wonderful stay at Livingstone Backpackers. The staff are genuinely friendly and always smiling, the breakfast is simple but served fast, the pool area is good with lots of sunbeds and the whole hostel is just run really well.


66%

Not so nice, everything was shabby. Looks and feels like no money is ever spent on improvements.


97%

Perfect hosts, we felt as though we were personally invited. Great food available around camp fire, peace and quiet and lovely atmosphere. So looking forward to passing through again in the near future. All in all, EXCELLENT!!!!


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Best hostel in Livingstone with great "hostel feeling". Loved the pool and the mango tree. The breakfast takes some time to arrive, but it's really good. Also they can organise trips to the Devil's Pool for you as well as rafting at Zambezi River and other things.


66%

- there are no mosquito nets on the windows. My room was full of mosquitos, I was bitten many times and could not sleep.


57%

Overall stay was pretty disappointing. No water and no internet. Understand these things happen but not showering for 3 days isn't helpful to anyone. If the advertised services aren't provided the should provide a discount. Offered free bottled water after almost 3 days. The rooms are extremely hot, it seems that there aren't enough fans for the whole place even though it wasn't full. It was often difficult to get a drink from the bar as there didn't seem to be any staff working.


89%

Nice atmosphere, very cosy


86%

The main reasons that I felt the facilities were kinda average was beocz there are not lockers or cabinets to lock up your back packs and belongings. I had to carry my passport/cash and valuables on all the trips/excursions as a security measure. Nevertheless overall the hostel is situated in a centralised location to the town centre, cab parking lot, close proximity to souvenir hunters and most of all the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I enjoyed the hostel atmosphere. I wish that the Internet was more reliable. It was difficult to get the vouchers. The hostel was very clean and had a great laid back vibe.


66%

They can improve to make the room for better air circulation and the tap water more drinkable by eliminating the chemical odor.


100%

for me one of best backpackers (jollyboys camps) place seen : central but out of main road, full of only useful information and not plenty seesighting cards, chalet or camping affordable price, 10 min of supermarket , self catering well , free deposit to aeroport (here in zambia is very useful....) and victoria fall for free (really pratical), staff do there best .. a great base for continue adenture to tanzania or more with a internet connectionaffordable price ... THANKS TO JOLLY BOYS CAMPS


86%

We missed moscito nets

  • 5th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice pool area

  • 29th Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Livingstone Hostels

Please give us your feedback