X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

LoLHostel Siracusa Reviews

via Francesco Crispi 92/96, Siracusa, Syracuse, Italy

Reviews & Ratings Explained

93%

Rating
854 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 95%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The area around the train and bus station is not so nice (a bit dark and dirty), but the hostel is a welcoming, secure and well organised place with a very good free breakfast and a courtyard. 15 Min walk to the old city (on the island) and 15 min. to the Greek theater. You get a very helpful map which explains all the sights and directions. Recommendation!


100%

great location. exceptional advise regarding the sights in the area. comfortable quiet room


94%

Very nice hostel. The owner and the staff very friendly! Totaly recomend it. The thing is that the place is huge and quite empty so its hard to meet people. But however one of the bests hostels ever.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear HJ, thanks for your nice review. However, there were more than 50 people in the house while you were here and as far as I could see, you have made a lot of new friends, so, actually it was not so difficult to meet people ;)

100%

The lady at the check in desk was very friendly and helpful - really genuine and and pleasant to talk to! The staff always had a smile on their face. My double room were clean, spacious and comfortable and bathroom was large enough. I highly recommend this lovely hostel!


100%

We had a wonderful time here, we liked it so much we extended our stay. The breakfast is great, unlimited freshly made croissants, coffee, cereal...Air con in all the rooms, free lockers and towels. Free luggage hold and wifi. The staff was great, especially Anika, very passionate and accommodating. They give you all the info of where to go, and eat. Great location and awesome kitchen facilities. Supermarket nearby. It was our second time here and were definitely coming back! We loved it. :)

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Excellent hostel with very friendly staff! Great location, within walking distance from Ortigia and the archaeological sites, and only a few steps from bus and train station. The staff is welcoming and will help you with all your requests. The hostel is very clean and the dorms are comfortable. The atmosphere is nice and relaxed. I had the chance to meet interesting travellers. Sheets, towels, lockers, air con, free luggage hold and breakfast with croissant included. How can you ask for more?


100%

Fantastic stay here and very enjoyable. Staff are excellent and create a personlised map for you of the area when you arrive. The kitchen failities and breakfast aevery good. Atmosphere was very realxed. Everything is clean. One of the best hostels we have stayed in by far.


94%

One of the best hostels i've stayed at, lovely, helpful, informative staff. Just a bit quiet and lacking in atmosphere when i was there but not much you can do about that.


89%

It was a good experience. Facilities are great and the location is a little bit away from the downtown, but as it is very close to train and bus station it is great to arrive/depart. The only thing is that we stayed in a shared 8 room with one bathroom, the proportion is ok, but after the third bath the floor was wet and we didn't have any mop to clean it. We asked for one and then we returned it, but half an hour later it was a mess again. We suggest a sign to inform and a mop for each room.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for your suggestion and for you comment, but we don't like hostels full of signs and warnings. Leaving the bathroom as clean as possible in a hostel should be a must for any polite person and leaving a mop in each room woud be hygienically worse if guests are not polite.

97%

Really nice hostel, dorm was lovely and airy. Amazing shower! The people working behind reception were really helpful. Location was great, easy to get buses/trains and walk to Ortigia and the park. Would love to stay again!


80%

Loved Siracusa, and this hostel was great - right near the station, not far from the beach, with clean rooms and facilities and very helpful staff. Hostel was pretty big, so not particularly easy to make friends if you are travelling alone, but I could not fault the place otherwise


91%

Although the room was not ready at the time we arrived in the hostel, but the lady in the reception was really kind and nice. She recommended us all the good places to eat and also she advised us to visit Hypogeum which was we barely found in our travel guide book but really really worth to visit if you happen to be in Syracuse. i would recommend this place to anyone.


89%

The staff is amazing and it is in a great location. The rooms were pretty spacious and I stayed in an 8 bed. The bathroom was a bit dirty but that could be from the 8 girls! Breakfast was great as well. Freshly backed croissants.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi, thanks for your nice comment. We clean the rooms from 10.00 to 16-17.00 and after the cleaning they are immaculate. Then you checked in at h. 23.00 with the hostel and your room full so it is normal to find the bathroom a bit overused.

91%

That's probably the best place to stay in Siracuse for those who don't want to pay much and still be in a good hostel. Don't be afraid of multirooms,they are safe and you can meet interesting people out there. Staff is VERY helpfull. It was the best thing in this hotel. I was also very surprised by the breakfast. Its usualy very poor but not in this case.


94%

Quite honestly and possibly the best hostel i have been to, a few more sociable people would have been great though. So close to the transport its not even funny!


100%

We went to several hostels in Sicily (Palermo, Catania and Siracusa) and The LoLHostel is by far the best we experienced : 100m from the station, nice and helpful staff, clean dormitories, pleasant beds, awesome breakfast, the cleaning is excellent and the air conditioner is, compared to the price we paid, an extraordinary bonus.


74%

Very close to the bus and train station and very easy to get to ortigia. Not the most welcoming hostel I've stayed in, staff weren't really enthusiastic. If it had been my first time travelling I'm not sure I would have felt comfortable in this hostel. Good facilities though very clean and modern layout. Appreciated the bar and the 24 hour reception!

Owner Comment (Hide)
I think that on August 12th, with 50 check-in a day, 10-15 minutes for map and information to each guest (70 per day) and an average of at least 5 extra-questions from each guest during the day (no pity), what you can expect from the receptionist in the peak of the season is professionality and a decent service, not necessarily an "enthusiastic" attitude, which will come back after August 18th and until next August 10th, as you can see from the other reviews ;)

97%

This place is perfect. Close to one of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Great location in Siracusa, facilities were fantastic and it had a great atmosphere to meet other travelers with the use of the hostel bar. Thankyou for a great stay!


100%

Lol Hostel is a great place where to stay : clean, quiet, not far from old town Ortygia, free wifi, nice breakfast, a bar with very cheap (but very tasty) coktails... Special mention to the staff which is very friendly ! They welcome you and write for you on the map all the places you must go. You can go to that place closed eyes !

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Wow what a lovely new hostel with great spaces to sit and relax. We were greeted by lovely receptionist who gave us a map with lots of ideas marked on the map. Luggage store age was great. Breakfast very fresh and delicious


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Syracuse Hostels

Please give us your feedback