Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Loch Ness Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 462 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
Loch Ness Backpackers Located at Coiltie Farmhouse, East Lewiston, Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness.
Loch Ness Backpackers
Scotland
Loch Ness Inverness IV63 6UJ Coiltie Farmhouse, East Lewiston, Drumnadrochit
80% 462
57.3294518 -4.4714570
Loch Ness Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
10.0

Just taken over by a young motivated couple who are giving this hostel a new lease of life. The staff Anouk, Anna and Anastasia were so welcoming and went above and beyond including taking us on outings to Lochness and the surrounding area for free. Very friendly, homely hostel in a great location. An amazing place to have some time away from the crazy rat race in the City. Cannot wait to come back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And we are all the more motivated thanks to reviews like yours! Thansk so much for taking the time to share your experience with the world. it means a lot to the entire team. Escaping the rat race is exactly why we are here! haha! So glad you found the freedom from the city for which you were looking. A special thanks for mentioning our team... They are lovely and their contribution to life here is immeasurable. Happy Travels form all of us here at Loch Ness Backpackers! Patrick & Nikki, and the whole monster team!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
10.0

Had a good chat to Anouk and Anastasia really nice staff members. Every one working there were really nice and very helpfull. Easy to get along with them. Nice to have clean facilities thanks for the stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the ace review! Anouk, Ana, and all of the team really appreciate your kind words! We all work hard to make our hostel special and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best wishes on all of your travels, The Loch Ness Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
8.9

One thought about the shower/toilet unit. The two wash basins were really there to wash hands after the toilet, which was a bit awkward for shaving in the morning. Maybe more basins, and mirrors above them? Otherwise I really loved my short stay. Norman Hodghton

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks so much for your thoughts. We think some more mirrors could certainly be a bonus and appreciate your saying so. Thanks again for staying with us and we are happy to hear you had a nice stay! Best Wishes and Happy Travels, Patrick & Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.7

The owner is really friendly and always up for a chat. He helped me out in a pickle too - i locked my bag and he helped cut it off. Nice quiet atmosphere for a good night's rest. Kitchen very spacious with heaps of tables for dining. Only about 5min walk from town centre. Would recommend a stay here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for leaving us such a nice review! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to provide some relaxation and a cosy place to take it easy! Nay bother on the lock! Hacksaw magic! Haha! We really enjoyed having you here and hope the local wild mushrooms you happened on left a great taste in your mouth of the Highlands! Do come and see us again soon! Safe Travels, Patrick & Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2016
8.3

Freindly and helpful staff. Clean hostel and common areas. Breakfast was good. Dorms and shower room could do with a bit of updating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the feedback! We are aiming to roll up our sleeves and tackle the dorms and bathrooms this winter, and thanks to feedback like yours, we are super motivated and excited! Thank you also for the kind comments about our staff. Best wishes on your travels! Patrick & Nikki

2nd Sep 2016
9.4

This hostel has been under new management for the past two weeks and the new owners and crew are doing a fantastic job! I nearly extended my trip to Loch Ness just so I could hang around the hostel longer. The location and atmosphere offer a fantastic break from the hustle and bustle of the city. It's within walking distance of everything you need. The staff were super welcoming and helpful the entire time and I felt well taken care of, and not just another customer passing through. Will return!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there and thanks for the ace review! We enjoyed having you around and we really hope that the road brings you back our way some day. We hope your thumb continues to bring you luck! May the road take you where it "Will!" Happy Travels, Patrick, Nikki, and the LNB Team!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Sep 2016
10.0

Fantastic, new management felt like an old friend returning from afar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks very much for your kind words - we are really enjoying our new role running this hostel, and reviews like yours give us confidence that we're moving in the right direction. We have lots of exciting plans for the next few months! We look forward to seeing you here again soon! Nikki & Patrick

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Aug 2016
10.0

An excellent place to be. The staff and management are just plain awesome. The location is amazing with its breath taking view. My stay was so comfortable I had a feeling that I was home. Well, in my opinion, the Loch Ness Backpackers is nothing less than one of the most hospitable places in the Scottish Highlands.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the kind review! We are new owners and have only been in for a short time. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and that you were a part of our wee highland family for a couple of days! Best wishes and safe travels from all of us here at Loch Ness Backpackers! Regards, Patrick & Nikki and the LNB Team

26th Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel, very cozy and good atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so happy to hear you found our hostel cozy! We aim for our guests to feel welcome and warm, so we are delighted to receive your awesome review! It means so much to us to hear your feedback, so thanks for taking the time to share. Best wishes on all of your future travels! Patrick & Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • France, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.9

My sister and I stayed from 26 to 28/08/2016. We came for the Glenurquhart Highland Gathering. We weren't disappointed! Taken over within the last 2 weeks by a young couple with LOTS of ideas, this hostel is on it's way to becoming something great! Excellent breakfast, other points to be revised, we look forward to coming back soon to see the changes! A little bit far from the town center, however, this hostel is between the town and Urquhqhart Castle and right on the Great Glen Way! Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thank you so much for the nice review! We are super excited about it all, and we are glad you felt our positive vibes! I hope you enjoyed the Highland Games here in the village and that the rest of your trip with your sister was awesome. Safe travels and best of luck! (And, go Lions! hehe!) Patrick and Nikki

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.