Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Loch Ness Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 510 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.6

Staff were great! A little cold with having the rooms outside, but felt quite 'country' Really great atmosphere and friendly place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thanks for the nice review. It's great to hear you found the charm in our little country hostel! We're sorry to hear you found the room a bit cold. We're always happy to help make it warmer if anyone feels cold. Best of luck and happy trails! Patrick and Nikki

  • clivemetcalfe791
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2017
9.1

Hard working staff keeping the place clean, very friendly and helpful. Found the opening welcome talk too much as I was tired when I arrived and would have preferred to crash out and get the information about the local area later. Good guitars to play which was greta for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thanks for the nice review. We all enjoyed having you and miss your music echoing through the building! Our staff are very excited about he local area as it is such a beautiful place. Apologies if their enthusiasm was a little too much when you arrived. A big thank you from the whole team. Happy Travels, Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

Exellent Hostel, my 2nd stay and it just keeps getting better. The bar is great, had fun playing games while trying some whiskies. Tito and Milli where excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, good advise on what to do in the area and tolerated us playing guitar and singing haha. Having guitars around was a cool touch and we enjoyed playing some blue's music in the evening with the owner and his friend. Facilities are pretty good, what you would expect from a hostel! Great Atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thanks for leaving your feedback! We're so glad your second stay did not disappoint. We really enjoyed your group and hops to see you back again sometime. Also, thanks for the late night jam! Haha! We all enjoyed it as well! Best of luck in all your future travels, Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th May 2017
9.7

This place was absolutely amazing ! Right off the bat we made friends with the staff and they took us out on hikes and showed us the castle; it was awesome. Coline and Maxi made this hostel our very favourite. The area is so pretty too, and close to town (though everything is close to town there). the beds were comfortable which was good and the breakfast in the morning was cheap and yummy. Would definitely recommend a stay here, and would love to go back. Miss you guys !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

What a lovely review and we thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience. It was great having you stay with us. The staff all say hi! It's so good to hear that you enjoyed the surrounding area... It's a beautiful time of year to be here and nothing makes us happier than when our guests enjoy it to the fullest! Safe Journey! Patrick and Nikki

  • firestronaut1857
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Apr 2017
9.7

Great friendly atmosphere, staff remember your name making it a more personal & welcoming environment, & often talk to you about your day. Very knowledgeable about the local area, things to do, where to eat. The huge chalkboard map was great & informative. Beds were comfy, hostel was clean, kitchen had everything you needed to cook, showers were very powerful & water was hot. Close to bus stop with bus services to Inverness and Fort William A home away from home, will definitely be returning.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thanks for the very nice review! We likewise enjoyed your stay and we're very happy to hear you had such a lovely time with us. We love our team and are very lucky to have them. They are very appreciative of your kind words. We look forward to your next visit! Happy travels until then! Patrick, Nikki and the LNB Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

The Hostel is very nice, it has a good atmosphere and the staff is very friendly. The kitchen has a good equipment and the hostel is very clean. It really is in the middle of nowhere and very calm. My friends and me stayed there and did some hillwalking and a cruise on the Loch Ness. The only critic is that we stayed in April and it was very cold in the room. The heater was not working very well and the house's isolation is very bad. All in all, I would reccoment this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving your thoughts with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Calm and in the middle of nowhere: That's what the highlands is all about! haha! We're sorry to hear you found your room cold sometimes. You were here during a very cold period (the lambs' snow!) but our rooms should have stayed warm for you. Had you informed us we could have taken a number of actions to really warm you room up a bit bit further. We're very sorry we didn't know. Your group was lovely and we really enjoyed having you stay with us. Happy travels wherever the road leads you next! Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.4

I spent one night in this hostel, I loved it, the staff is helpful and really nice, the rooms are quiet and everything is really clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love that you loved it! Thanks so much for the nice review. It really means the world to all of our team here at LNB! Happy and Safe Travels, Patrick, Nikki and the LNB Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.0

The bed was clean and comfortable, the floor hadn't been swept, there was lint all over. The kitchen was clean but the eating area was sticky on the floor. This was an older hostel, but I would still come back if I were to travel to Drumnadrochit again. The staff were very friendly, the map on the wall was very helpful and it was warm despite the outside temperature. The wifi was fast, it cut out in the wind but came back shortly after.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for leaving your feedback with us. While we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here and would return, we are very sorry to hear you found any problems with our cleanliness. Our team work very hard to ensure our very busy little hostel stays as clean as possible. Sometimes when dorms are busy, it may seem as if we have not cleaned the dorm. However, we clean every room, every day. Sometimes we cannot physically keep up with the mess made in dormitories without becoming a nuisance to our guests! haha! We are sorry if another guest's mess left a bad impression about our cleanliness. Our bar and common areas are also mopped daily, and some even twice a day. It's a shame to hear you found a sticky floor. Our team are lovely and we're glad they helped to make your stay all the better! Best wishes in all of your travels, Patrick and Nikki

13th Apr 2017
9.7

Just the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the ace review! We hope the last leg of your walk was a good one! Safe Journey! Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.3

We had a twin room out in the courtyard rather than in the house. First double bed we've had all week and was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and happy to help. Good hot and powerful shower. Everything was clean and with a games chest in the common area we had a riotous game of Jenga with some wine and beer from the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are lovely and we;re glad you found them so as well! The games chest is a true asset, though Jenga can get a bit out of hand! Haha! Thanks for staying with us and we would love to see you back should your walking bring you this way again. Best Wishes, Patrick and Nikki

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.