Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Loch Ness Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 524 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.5
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
6.6

One staffmember made a mistake in the booking (said we could stay another night but in the evening when we came back we found out there was no space, they didn't call us) so we had find another place to stay last minute. We had to drive through the whole town to find something else, had to try 4 B&B's before we found a place to stay (high season). The staff and owners didn't really make up for their mistake and didn't really care which was very disappointing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Jul 2017
6.0

The staff was nice, location is great, but the facilities could be better.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for the review. We're glad you mostly enjoyed your time here. We are sorry to hear that you did not find our facilities up to your expectations. We work very hard to keep our facilities the best we can in our little hostel. We don't have many of the luxuries of bigger city hostels, but then, they don't have the highlands! We hope you enjoyed your time in The Great Glen.. Best Wishes, Patrick, Nikki, and the LNB Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2017
7.7

Nice hostel with friendly staff but I was in a double room out the back and the bed was most uncomfortable, definitely needed a new mattress! Didn't sleep a wink. The room cost me £55 then another £3.50 for breakfast. One of the nights on our trip I slept in a B&B for £60, comfortable bed, tv in room, en suite and the most delicious breakfast served to me. So this room at hostel was way over priced. Slept in other hostels on the trip which had comfortable beds.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thank you for leaving your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable. We have not received any complaints about it previously but we will give a good check and consider replacing. We are also sorry you felt the room was overpriced. We charge £20 - 22 per person for dorm beds and feel that slightly more expense for a private room is fair. We keep our prices very competitive and are generally ower than most in the highlands. Sounds like you had a good deal on the B&B. We, however, are not a B&B. We offer a very different experience with a very friendly environment where we encourage people to interact and meet new faces from all over the world. We also provide an on-site, resident only bar and have very intentionally chosen not to have a televsion anywhere on the premises. We are happy to hear that you did find our team friendly. We wish you the best, Patrick, Nikki, and the LNB Team

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th Jul 2017
9.4

Wonderful hostel, particularl shout out to Milli who was so lovely and helpful to me during my stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for the awesome review. We're happy to hear you had a good stay! Milli sends a shout out back your way! We wish you the best in your travels, Patrick, Nikki and the LNB Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2017
10.0

An absolutely fantastic hostel in an idyllic location. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, with the owner Patrick going to great effort to provide a fantastic atmosphere through an in-house bar stocking a vast selection of local beers and whiskeys. Rooms are nice and clean and there are also good kitchen facilities. A nice breakfast is provided in the mornings. I cannot recommend this hostel highly enough it really is something special. I would absolutely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the kind review. We really appreciate your positive feedback and our staff thank you kindly. We really enjoyed having you as well and we hop you will come see us on your next highland adventure. I will personally make sure there are more new and interesting ales for your next visit! Best Wishers from all of us at LNB!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Jun 2017
9.1

Very cosy place with great staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the great review! Cosy is our main aim and we are so happy you felt it, too! Best odf luck in all of your travels! Patrick and Nikki

17th Jun 2017
8.6

This is an older house settled in the middle of Lochness. A great place to stop if you're traveling around Scotland. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful upon check in. The breakfast was delicious and it's a beautiful walk to Urqhart Castle. The room itself was outdated, but that's expected from an older house. Overall, a wonderful stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for the feedback. The hostel is built from an 18th century farm, so many of the buildings are very old underneath. We are sorry you felt the room was outdated. We are working hard to update each room, one by one, and we are making progress. We're very happy to hear you found the staff as awesome as we do! Also, we're glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We try very hard to make sure it is healthy and affordable as so many of our guests are outdoor enthusiasts and need the energy to start their day but also need to travel light! Thanks again and we hope you can make it back some day! Kind Regards, Patrick, Nikki, and the LNB Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.6

Staff were great! A little cold with having the rooms outside, but felt quite 'country' Really great atmosphere and friendly place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thanks for the nice review. It's great to hear you found the charm in our little country hostel! We're sorry to hear you found the room a bit cold. We're always happy to help make it warmer if anyone feels cold. Best of luck and happy trails! Patrick and Nikki

  • clivemetcalfe791
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st May 2017
9.1

Hard working staff keeping the place clean, very friendly and helpful. Found the opening welcome talk too much as I was tired when I arrived and would have preferred to crash out and get the information about the local area later. Good guitars to play which was greta for me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thanks for the nice review. We all enjoyed having you and miss your music echoing through the building! Our staff are very excited about he local area as it is such a beautiful place. Apologies if their enthusiasm was a little too much when you arrived. A big thank you from the whole team. Happy Travels, Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

Exellent Hostel, my 2nd stay and it just keeps getting better. The bar is great, had fun playing games while trying some whiskies. Tito and Milli where excellent staff, very friendly and helpful, good advise on what to do in the area and tolerated us playing guitar and singing haha. Having guitars around was a cool touch and we enjoyed playing some blue's music in the evening with the owner and his friend. Facilities are pretty good, what you would expect from a hostel! Great Atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello again and thanks for leaving your feedback! We're so glad your second stay did not disappoint. We really enjoyed your group and hops to see you back again sometime. Also, thanks for the late night jam! Haha! We all enjoyed it as well! Best of luck in all your future travels, Patrick and Nikki

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.