Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Loch Ness Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 497 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.9

The Hostel is very nice, it has a good atmosphere and the staff is very friendly. The kitchen has a good equipment and the hostel is very clean. It really is in the middle of nowhere and very calm. My friends and me stayed there and did some hillwalking and a cruise on the Loch Ness. The only critic is that we stayed in April and it was very cold in the room. The heater was not working very well and the house's isolation is very bad. All in all, I would reccoment this place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving your thoughts with us! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Calm and in the middle of nowhere: That's what the highlands is all about! haha! We're sorry to hear you found your room cold sometimes. You were here during a very cold period (the lambs' snow!) but our rooms should have stayed warm for you. Had you informed us we could have taken a number of actions to really warm you room up a bit bit further. We're very sorry we didn't know. Your group was lovely and we really enjoyed having you stay with us. Happy travels wherever the road leads you next! Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2017
9.4

I spent one night in this hostel, I loved it, the staff is helpful and really nice, the rooms are quiet and everything is really clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We love that you loved it! Thanks so much for the nice review. It really means the world to all of our team here at LNB! Happy and Safe Travels, Patrick, Nikki and the LNB Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2017
8.0

The bed was clean and comfortable, the floor hadn't been swept, there was lint all over. The kitchen was clean but the eating area was sticky on the floor. This was an older hostel, but I would still come back if I were to travel to Drumnadrochit again. The staff were very friendly, the map on the wall was very helpful and it was warm despite the outside temperature. The wifi was fast, it cut out in the wind but came back shortly after.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello and thanks for leaving your feedback with us. While we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here and would return, we are very sorry to hear you found any problems with our cleanliness. Our team work very hard to ensure our very busy little hostel stays as clean as possible. Sometimes when dorms are busy, it may seem as if we have not cleaned the dorm. However, we clean every room, every day. Sometimes we cannot physically keep up with the mess made in dormitories without becoming a nuisance to our guests! haha! We are sorry if another guest's mess left a bad impression about our cleanliness. Our bar and common areas are also mopped daily, and some even twice a day. It's a shame to hear you found a sticky floor. Our team are lovely and we're glad they helped to make your stay all the better! Best wishes in all of your travels, Patrick and Nikki

13th Apr 2017
9.7

Just the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the ace review! We hope the last leg of your walk was a good one! Safe Journey! Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.3

We had a twin room out in the courtyard rather than in the house. First double bed we've had all week and was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and happy to help. Good hot and powerful shower. Everything was clean and with a games chest in the common area we had a riotous game of Jenga with some wine and beer from the bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff are lovely and we;re glad you found them so as well! The games chest is a true asset, though Jenga can get a bit out of hand! Haha! Thanks for staying with us and we would love to see you back should your walking bring you this way again. Best Wishes, Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th Apr 2017
9.1

This is a great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

And you are a great guest! Thanks for taking the time to give us such a positive review! It is appreciated by the whole team. Best Wishes, Patrick and Nikki

  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
10.0

I spent 3 weeks backpacking in the UK, and amongst all, I enjoyed my stay at Loch Ness Backpackers the most! The owners, Patrick and Nikki (and Joli!) were genuinely interested in making my experience wholesome, and went out of their way to help me plan my day's activities. Shoutout to Nico and Tito, who made my stay more like a home than a hostel. Their warmth, humour, and assistance made me feel more like a friend and less like a customer. Thank you for an amazing time at Loch Ness!!! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
9.7

This is a small, laid-back hostel with friendly and welcoming staff. It is located near a supermarket and a few minutes walk to the centre of Drumnadrochit. Good showers, nice beds and overall, good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
8th Mar 2017
10.0

This place is awwwesome! Great staff, very clean and cosy. Beautiful location and staff were very helpful with advice and more than happy to share their experience of the area. Miss it already and will definitely be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Feb 2017
9.7

The staff is really what made my stay here so enjoyable. They bring you in and make you feel so welcome! The rooms are cozy, but the bathroom is a bit inconvenient being downstairs. But overall beautiful and friendly place to stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.