Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Locomotive Light Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 636 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
Locomotive Light Hostel Located at Baross Ter 2, , Budapest.
Locomotive Light Hostel
Hungary
Budapest Budapest 1082 Baross Ter 2
82% 636
47.4993943 19.0794431
Locomotive Light Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
8.0

We booked a room here and our bus got in late and we got here at 9pm and the check in time mistakenly on our end was put in as 7am instead of 7pm which we were originally meant to arrive at 7pm. When we walked 25mins to our room from our bus they told us that our room was gone and they tried contacting us and thought we werent coming lucky they had someone with apartments that we could stay in and the man from the hostel took us to the apartment super lucky and thankful as it was our mistake!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Aug 2016
9.4

We were only here for a one night stopover but had a very pleasant stay. Atmosphere is a bit lacking so might not be great for solo travellers but bathrooms, kitchen and wifi are all great. Can't really comment on security as we were in a private room but our room had a lock and there's two locked doors to the hostel so strangers can't wander in. I'd recommend it but there are loads of super creepy mannequins about though so if you're scared of those like we are maybe go somewhere else haha!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charlotte_iona
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.1

This was such a nice hostel, just a shame we were only staying for one night! The staff were really helpful particularly with advice about the early morning train we had to catch. Great location for those travelling by train as it's right next to the station. Everything was clean, bed comfy and room very nice - we'll definitely stay here again if we come back to Budapest!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
9.4

Great hostel - booked a private double room with en suite which actually turned out to be located in a separate building, super close to the city centre (and 24hr tram stops). It was essentially a whole apartment, complete with kitchen, for just 20 euros a night for two of us! Only downside was that it was on a very busy road which could get pretty loud at night. The staff were lovely and even took the time to go through a map with us and point out all the best places to visit. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2016
8.6

Small non-party hostel, practical for people travelling by train. Nothing fancy, all basic traveller needs covered. Wifi works well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.0

Right next to the train station was really useful, so it meant we could just dump our bags and explore as soon as we arrived. The dorm itself was spacious, and the facilities were good too. Although it's about a 30 min walk to the river, the metro was cheap and a good alternative. It wasn't spotless, but was no means dirty either. The staff were very friendly and extremely useful - when one of our suitcases' locks got stuck, they got all of their tool box out to try and solve the problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th May 2016
7.4

The worst thing about this hostel is the dust! If you have allergies bring your medication, otherwise you will sneeze all night. The decoration is kind of creepy but we liked it. The staff were helpfull and informative (about restaurants nearby, sightseeing, etc). The hostel is walking distance to the restaurant and bars area but far enough to avoid the noise. The is an ATM, supermarket, restaurants and metro/train station just nearby so the location is very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
22nd May 2016
7.7

The person who checked us in was really awesome and friendly how ever later when another staff member was on he was very pushy about us checking out early and even came into our room in the morning and asked us to check out...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
22nd May 2016
8.9

Great location near the station, staff were kind enough to let me check in in the morning after a night train and hang around late for a night bus. They have drip coffee yay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 55 reviews
21st May 2016
8.6

Hostel staff was super friendly and very helpful with everything. Theres creepy dummies everywhere which is a bit strange though. A couple of minutes walk to the main train station and the underground lines so its super convenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.