Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lodge In The City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.3
Good 499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.0
BOOK NOW
6.3
Good 499 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.0
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 4.6
  • Facilities 5.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Aug 2017
8.0

No dramas there, plenty of common room space, good if you on a budget and don't expect hotel quality.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jul 2017
7.1

It was pretty disappointing that we booked a a full dorm for myself and 9 friends and when we arrived we found out we had been split up between two 10-bed dorms with 4 in one dorm and 6 in the other. We came to Wellington to all spend time together so it was a real shame that it worked out this way. We ended up having to book an extra room so we could be by ourselves and had to pay extra for this. Just very disappointing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jul 2017
3.1

really dirty place, does not have a nice feel to it. very bad value for money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
3.4

This hostel was filthy, couldn't even use the kitchen it was so dirty, sofas all torn and just generally smelly shared areas. The 2 bathrooms on our floor were broken so had to go to the other floors and que to use the toilets / shower. There was only one working washing machine. When we told a member of staff about the issues she said there was nothing she could do as she couldn't fix the toilets etc and it wasn't her fault.... seriously. Then on the last day the lift broke. Save your money

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
6.3

Great location, security and staff, bit dated and old but get what you pay for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2017
4.6

The kitchen is a health hazard ... absolutely disgusting with little or no cooking supplies Rooms stink aswel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
4.6

Dirty bathrooms and pretty grim overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2017
6.0

I only stayed here for half a night because my flight only arrived at 1 am. I'm glad I didn't have to stay longer though, because the room was super messy (I think most people in there were long terms working in Wellington) and it was incredibly hot. But the worst was the bathroom: it was really hot in there and it smelled of mold! The staff was friendly though and it isn't far from the city center.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th May 2017
4.9

Kitchen was in a really bad state with dirty ovens, hobs, floors and appliances. Reserved and paid for car park space then on arrival there wasn't one available yet we were the ones told to keep checking for a space and that it would be towed away if there was an empty space and our car still wasn't parked in it. Staff very rather unfriendly and not very helpful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd May 2017
6.9

This hostel was adequate and friendly enough but could be cleaner. Ok for the price and staff were helpful and friendly. Worst things were the noise from the street and other guests but it was ok but not sure I would go back necesssarily.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.