Hostelworld.com

Lodge In The City

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.4
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 364 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.2
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.4
Lodge In The City Located at 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington.
Lodge In The City
New Zealand
Wellington 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro
56% 364
-41.2955384 174.7769075
Lodge In The City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
20th Apr 2016
3.7

This is without a doubt the worst hostel we've ever stayed in. I've never felt so unsafe in a hostel, it was the 'hood'. I truly am surprised that the building hasn't been shut down yet as the place is rotting. Shower cubicle leaking, mold all around, ceiling tiles falling off revealing mold underneath. Matrasses are as thin as the duvets and the pillows half of that. If you are a young female travelling alone, DO NOT VISIT. Keep all valuables on you. Spend the extra dollar on a better

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Apr 2016
3.7

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! It's cheap for a reason. My room has a hole in the ceiling and when it rained outside, it rained inside. Making the entire day smell of damp. There's nothing good about this hostel. I would be ashamed to even work here!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
10.0

Excellent Service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2016
4.6

The Lodge in the City was one of the worst places I have ever stayed. Very dirty. Rooms, showers kitchen everything was disgusting! The staff were friendly and the location of the building was great. I only paid $23 to stay here so I guess I got my moneys worth. Glad I didn't have to stay here longer.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Mar 2016
4.3

This was literally the worst hostel I have ever stayed in, and I've stayed in lots of hostels and i'm not fussy! Full of long term people and a few families, very weird vibe none of the facilities worked, my room was overbooked so when I came back someone was in my bed, really weird atmosphere, cheap but definately worth spending a few more dollars to avoid this place!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2016
6.3

A bit run down and grimey but it's very cheap and central. Book your parking space before you arrive as parking is very limited.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Mar 2016
4.3

I have stayed in many Backpacker Hostels and would have to rate this as the worst . Start with an idiot on check in counter who was nowhere to be found then had cues on people lined up as he didnt know what he was doing. I had pre booked but that made no difference. My room was filthy and smelt, stains on carpet throughout the hostel. Showers nearest my room were adequate but again filthy,, the toilet door didnt close past the half way mark. A poor example of backpacker accommodation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2016
7.4

General maintenance is virtually at the point where it is essential to maintain the basic level of supply.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Mar 2016
3.7

kettle didn't work, tv s didn't work, wifi is not free, building is in a state of disrepair and would hate to be there in an earthquake as i suspect it would crumble. The mattress on the bed should have been thrown out 10 years ago as springs were all poking out. doors all squeak so when people come in and out rooms people are all disturbed. after 12 months of backpacking this is in the top 2 worst hostels!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Mar 2016
6.3

Basic amenities were all there, but the atmosphere was terrible. It gave off more of a prison feeling than a hostel...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.