X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lodge In The City Reviews

152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

57%

Rating
333 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 60%Staff
  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 45%Cleanliness
  • 43%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

23%

I wouldn't let a dog sleep there! Left after one night. You've been warned.

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

The toilets and showers wvery dirty, the ceilings were moldy.ere. In the first floor, the male toilet door could not be locked.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Bathrooms and showers were really dirty, staff was really slow at check-in so that a long queue formed (also we had to wait more than 20 minutes for employee to get back to reception). Paying $60pp for a twin room seemed pretty expensive.


40%

We stay 2 night in the place. Never again. Dirty!!! Shower, toilet, kitchen... Everywhere!

  • 27th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

A bit doggy as expected. But judging from its price, it is a good place for temporary stay.

  • 25th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

Horrible Hostel, the toilets and showers are dirty and the matraz was very old .... I was also locked into a toiled for 15 min 😠!

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The kitchen was dirty and had nearly no equipment. We ended up eating out pasta with spoons because there was only one dirty fork in the sink.. The showers were generally good but unfortunately the ceiling was covered in mold! The staff was neither friendly nor unfriendly but their English was quite hard to understand and the impatience didn't help at all!! At least the lodge was located right next to the town center and was compared to the others in Wellington quite cheap.

  • 20th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Whole place had a sketchy vibe. One of the showers on the second floor had heaps of old moldy shoes and beer cans in it, no joke. The location is OK, and if you are short on cash you can stay there until you find a job at least...


49%

Not bad value but the whole places smells super bad and the staff are the most unhelpful I've ever come across. Location is OK though


66%

The place was quite grubby especially the communal toilets and showers :(. The facilities as a whole were shabby. The door locks to several rooms were not working properly. The staff were helpful in rectifying entry problems. The location is very close to the center of town and fairly close to the airport.

  • 3rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


31%

Can honestly say from all my travels this is by far the WORST place I've ever stayed. Should really be shut down, not sure how they pass health and safety. Bathrooms are decapitated, it's surrounded by extremely noisy night clubs making sleep a real challenge and staff are unhelpful. Coming from Christchurch I can say that this building is not structurally sound, if Wellington was to ever get a big shake-and it will at some point- this is going to be a death trap. Please do not stay here!!!


34%

Terrible spooky hostel. The staff isn't helpful at all and doesn't know much about Wellington and what to do. The room smelled like feet and we were not given linen, we had to ask for it. The bathroom isuites the worst part, it looks like taken out of a horror movie. Honestly, I don't even understand how this place is legal. Don't stay here, you can get way better for the same price.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Very cheap but the building and facilities are old. Short walk from the city centre. Good if you want to spend little money and you're not too concerned about the comfort.

  • 23rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

A bit more cleaning would be great and the next time you spend some money, you could really improve the coziness and buy some additional items to make the stay more comfortable. .. also, neon green is no nice wall color and i would really prefer not having pigeons on my dishes in the kitchen!

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I really enjoyed staying here as we met heaps of nice people. The staff were friendly and helpful.One complaint not enough women only facilities also The place itself does need alot of maintenance done to it but if you over look that it was a good time.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Not that bad, many people so common room is dirty bud atmosphere of backpacking is nice :) in twin room could be done for one night


94%

I have been in dozens of hostels in NZ and Australia and it is the first time that at check out time somebody of the staff asked if I had a good stay . I really appreciate that and yes I had a great time there , the atmosphere is really good . For those who like to stay up all night , you need to know that the common rooms are closed between 12 am and 5 and there is no free wifi .


69%

Dont expect much, but at least its cheap. if you just want a cheap bed go for it.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

No great at all

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The staff is super friendly and the atmosphere is very social so that you can easily get to know heaps of people. Also the facilities and the location were pretty good. We also liked it that you could bring your own alcohol ;)

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback