Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lodge In The City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.4
Rating 416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 3.5
  • Facilities 4.2
BOOK NOW
5.4
Rating 416 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.3
  • Security 5.9
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 6.5
  • Atmosphere 4.8
  • Cleanliness 3.5
  • Facilities 4.2
Lodge In The City Located at 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington.
Lodge In The City
New Zealand
Wellington 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro
54% 416
-41.2955384 174.7769075
Lodge In The City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
6.0

Great location but such a kip. Our room window didn't close, the room could do with a lick of paint, the curtains were too short & falling off the rail, the bathrooms were mank, old, leaking toilets. The showers were ok. The staff were lovely & helpful. Location was great. But I definitely will not be staying here again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Nov 2016
8.6

Nice staff, cool elivator and a big place. Also cheap snack&drink machine

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
6.3

Was really dissapointed with the toilet facility. Was not up-to the standard. Moreover this lodge needs some refurbishment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Nov 2016
4.3

It was agreed for an earlier check in that did not happen. Really poor facilities with just a couple showers per floor. Laundry facilities working all night making the place very noisy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Oct 2016
4.3

Kitchen is disgusting. And the general atmosphere was unsafe.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Oct 2016
4.3

Really run down place, horrible quality for the price we paid. Staff were friendly and the location was fine, but it felt more like an abandoned homeless shelter than a hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Oct 2016
4.9

Good location but that's about it... It's somewhere between a squat and a crack house as far as appearance and cleanliness go. I wouldn't cook in the kitchen as it looks like it hasn't been cleaned since the dawn of time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • jfmcnally1377
  • New Zealand, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
30th Sep 2016
4.0

The property was very dirty, mouldy pictures on walls, mouldy all through the bathroom, wall paper falling off the walls, carpet all stained. Just very dirty and will not be going back Best thing about it was the location as it is very central

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Sep 2016
2.6

This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The beds are uninhabitable. It was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever laid in. The bathrooms are disgusting and the whole building is dirty. Do not stay here! Spend the extra money for a decent hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • tristanhemi
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Sep 2016
4.6

I usually stay here on trip to wellington because of it location and affordability. However every time the place gets worse and worse. I book quite far in advanced to ensure a booking. Every time I book, the booking is always lost or not in the system even when I book on a reliable website and am charged a small deposit??? The staff almost/always go super quiet and don't say a thing. The bathrooms are a disgrace. I have stayed in many hostels in under developed countries that are cleaner :-(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.