Hostelworld.com

Lodge In The City

Prices
map
reviews
5.6
Rating 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.4
BOOK NOW
5.6
Rating 389 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.6
  • Security 6.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 6.0
  • Atmosphere 5.0
  • Cleanliness 4.1
  • Facilities 4.4
Lodge In The City Located at 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington.
Lodge In The City
New Zealand
Wellington 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro
56% 389
-41.2955384 174.7769075
Lodge In The City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Jun 2016
4.0

This hostel was definitely the worst hostel I have stayed in during my 5 months in New Zealand. The rooms were quite small, pretty much closet sized. The bathrooms were disgusting. Half of the stalls were missing seats. And men were using the only women's restroom, eventhough there are more men's restrooms than women.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
5.7

3rd floor bathrooms- only 1 of 3 toilets was working, and smelt bad. Broken windows just lying unfixed. Most of the washers and dryers were broken, at many times there was only one washer and one dryer working for entire hostel. Don't know why they won't buy new ones. Window to room kept sliding open = noisy sirens. The lift looks like its about to break down at any time, take the stairs instead. Showers were either burning hot or too cold. Underequipped kitchen with no visible recycling.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
3.7

All of the bathrooms and cooking facilities in this hostel were very dirty and run down. The room smelt of mould. The bathrooms were practically unusable on our floor. The men's wouldn't lock and the seat was broken off the toilet. There was black mould on the ceiling and of the two shower cubicles, and one door was broken rendering it useless. They had a fish tank in the lounge area, but half the fish were dead. Do yourself a favor and spend a bit more for one of the other hostels in the city.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
5.7

Other than the friendly staff and cheap rates; Lodge in the City isn't somewhere I will stay again. It has a bit of a seedy vibe and is really run down. The stench of cigarette smoke and filthy carpet throughout; people loitering around the entrance; condom wrapper on the mattress and tired facilities weren't very welcoming. Light switches in a convenient place would be a good idea for those arriving at night. No doubt those "out of order" signs are permanent. Not a good look. Disappointi

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2016
8.6

Everyone was friendly and overall a good stay but one of the windows couldn't be shut (and it was windy and raining) and when we notified a staff member we were told it would be fixed but it wasn't. I imagine they were just busy though :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd May 2016
6.6

I have stayed in several rooms due to their not so updated booking system. Rooms are cramped and there is no place to put your things, not enough plugs. Squeeky bunkbeds are with century old mattresses, so you can feel every spring... Not possible to sleep at all. Toilets and showers are old and often out of order. The crowd living in there is usually sociable because there is no free WiFi 😊

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
8.6

I was a bit upset that I had to pay for WiFi, only minimal but still. This changed when I entered the lounge room with tv and movies on it. This is a far better way to entertain yourself as you interact with people and aren't looking down at phone or laptop. I felt welcome there and gave a sense of home being there (even if it was just for one night). Thank you to the guests. Staff were helpful too, even signing out at 4am.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
3.4

I have lived in wellington on and off for about 17 years and over that time i have stayed at lodge in the city several times so they should have my details on file yet when i got there the other night i had forgotten my ID, so the arrogant staff on the front desk would not book me in and turned me away.I spent 2 hours wandering the city to find accommodation LITC are more than happy to take the money off my credit card without providing a service and i will never stay there again ever

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
6.3

Ohhh Lodge in the City. A seedy haven, like an island of misfit toys, a band of crusaders who binge-drink into the wee hours amongst tattered amenities. Great location, weird people, amazing people, it's a must-stay in Wellington for at least one night of memorable madness.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Apr 2016
3.7

This is without a doubt the worst hostel we've ever stayed in. I've never felt so unsafe in a hostel, it was the 'hood'. I truly am surprised that the building hasn't been shut down yet as the place is rotting. Shower cubicle leaking, mold all around, ceiling tiles falling off revealing mold underneath. Matrasses are as thin as the duvets and the pillows half of that. If you are a young female travelling alone, DO NOT VISIT. Keep all valuables on you. Spend the extra dollar on a better

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.