Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lodge In The City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
5.3
Rating 401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.8
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.1
BOOK NOW
5.3
Rating 401 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 4.8
  • Security 5.8
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 4.9
  • Cleanliness 3.9
  • Facilities 4.1
Lodge In The City Located at 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro, Wellington.
Lodge In The City
New Zealand
Wellington 152 Taranaki Street, Te Aro
53% 401
-41.2955384 174.7769075
Lodge In The City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Sep 2016
2.6

This was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The beds are uninhabitable. It was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever laid in. The bathrooms are disgusting and the whole building is dirty. Do not stay here! Spend the extra money for a decent hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • tristanhemi
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
24th Sep 2016
4.6

I usually stay here on trip to wellington because of it location and affordability. However every time the place gets worse and worse. I book quite far in advanced to ensure a booking. Every time I book, the booking is always lost or not in the system even when I book on a reliable website and am charged a small deposit??? The staff almost/always go super quiet and don't say a thing. The bathrooms are a disgrace. I have stayed in many hostels in under developed countries that are cleaner :-(

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
5.4

Communal areas are very rundown and not that clean - the washing machine randomly dissapeared overnight and all the floors and surfaces were just kinda gross in the communal areas - staff were very friendly though and the room itself was fine

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
7.1

Don't be scared by the old reviews, there is brand new showers very clean. The building is quiet old but it's a very good place to stay. Very good location and a lot of people to meet ! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
5.4

Staff on reception was unfreindli and shoking, I was think live strait when I arvai

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
4.0

This hostel was definitely the worst hostel I have stayed in during my 5 months in New Zealand. The rooms were quite small, pretty much closet sized. The bathrooms were disgusting. Half of the stalls were missing seats. And men were using the only women's restroom, eventhough there are more men's restrooms than women.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
5.7

3rd floor bathrooms- only 1 of 3 toilets was working, and smelt bad. Broken windows just lying unfixed. Most of the washers and dryers were broken, at many times there was only one washer and one dryer working for entire hostel. Don't know why they won't buy new ones. Window to room kept sliding open = noisy sirens. The lift looks like its about to break down at any time, take the stairs instead. Showers were either burning hot or too cold. Underequipped kitchen with no visible recycling.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
3.7

All of the bathrooms and cooking facilities in this hostel were very dirty and run down. The room smelt of mould. The bathrooms were practically unusable on our floor. The men's wouldn't lock and the seat was broken off the toilet. There was black mould on the ceiling and of the two shower cubicles, and one door was broken rendering it useless. They had a fish tank in the lounge area, but half the fish were dead. Do yourself a favor and spend a bit more for one of the other hostels in the city.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2016
5.7

Other than the friendly staff and cheap rates; Lodge in the City isn't somewhere I will stay again. It has a bit of a seedy vibe and is really run down. The stench of cigarette smoke and filthy carpet throughout; people loitering around the entrance; condom wrapper on the mattress and tired facilities weren't very welcoming. Light switches in a convenient place would be a good idea for those arriving at night. No doubt those "out of order" signs are permanent. Not a good look. Disappointi

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2016
8.6

Everyone was friendly and overall a good stay but one of the windows couldn't be shut (and it was windy and raining) and when we notified a staff member we were told it would be fixed but it wasn't. I imagine they were just busy though :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.