X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Loft Gallery Amsterdam Reviews

Spuistraat 6a, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
141 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The room was clean and spacious, the stairs are definitely kinda rough if you are at the top. The bed was comfy and everything but when we went to ask for a recommendation the guy just googled it. I could have done that, I was hoping for an insider recommendation. Still a great stay though and in an awesome location.


83%

Yes, there were 95 steps up to our loft, but you'll find that everywhere in Amsterdam. That's how most of the old flats are in Amsterdam. We knew going in that this was going to be the case and were pleasantly rewarded by the view we had from our loft of the city below. Our room was cozy, the kitchen was super convenient, and the front desk staff were helpful.


77%

the Hostel is really nice in a good place, you have great restaurant around the place and it's close to everything in the center. I wish they had more facility like hair drier and the wifi in the room we get was bad except that everything was nice. The sharing place is great if you want to save some money and cook your own meal

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

The rooms for this hostel are on the 6th floor and there were lots of curved stairs. This was fine for us so long as we remembered everything before leaving to go out!The room we stayed in would not have been suitable for a tall person they would be bent over double in some places. The room was basic but for the money we paid it was fine. It would have been nice to have had curtains and in The shared bathroom if there was hand soap and a hand towel. The stairs going up to bathroom were narrow


100%

Best place I ever stayed in Amsterdam.


80%

Good, quite hostel to stay at. Warning: lots of stairs to climb (7 floors), but the view and the accommodation is worth it! The facilities are great and the staff were helpful.


86%

Really nice apartment, had so much fun here, sad to go home. Only downside is the shared toilet, stairs not s problem for us :)

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

This place was awesome. I stayed here because I thought a loft would be cool and it was. The room I was in didn't have any curtains but I was right up the top so it didn't matter. The only thing is there is one bath/ shower room to the whole floor. There are a lot of stairs 6 levels and my room and bathroom were up more stairs not so much fun. But real cool place and you just get the bed room all the rest is common area. Did not find breakfast either. Cool location


97%

extremely gorgeous place! pictures dont do it justice i was very shocked when we got taken into the room, beautiful place only fault being theres so many stairs to conquer ! but they can't do much about that over all amazing stay

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely hostel, felt more like someone's flat tho. It's much more cleaner and intimate than your standard hostel and the location is amazing! Will definitely stay there again next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • 20th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The apartment was lovely, a lot of stairs but the minute you see the views, it's so worth it. The location was perfect, 5 mins walk from all of Amsterdam. The staff were lovely and explained the history of the building which was quite fun. I would definitely recommend the Loft Gallery to anyone.


63%

The kitchen and living room in the loft were lovely. Centrally located, close to the train station. There were a number of red light establishments on the road, which we had not anticipated and for us was not really a plus! The bed was broken and the slats fell out every time you turned in the night!! But the staff were helpful and friendly (during the day).

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have replaced this bed, our apologies :)

69%

The hostel was in a great location which explains the price but the room was very dusty. All in all though it was a nice place thoguh and the stqaff where very friendly. Can not stress enoguh though that if you have to climb lots and lots of stairs....like a alot

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location. Bars and cafe's very close and short walk to Red light district and Dam square. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was very nice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

great room just all the steps

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A great room with a wonderful view and the best location you can imagine, really near to the Amsterdam Centraal Station. The only negative points are: the shared bathroom is used by around 5 rooms and needed quite a long walk to get there, the luggage storage they offer after leaving is not secure. It is a small room where all the people put their bags on a big pile. But this stay really was enjoyable, a very special atmosphere on the top of this building looking over the roofs of Amsterdam

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Small comment: Bathroom is only for 3 rooms, not for 5. Storage is attended all the time and locking up every time :)

86%

We really enjoyed our stay here! Couldn't have been in a better location and it was particularly good to be near the station. Near a few nice streets of places to eat. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam!

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

really enjoyed it, everyone was friendly. However stairs were difficult at the end of the evening!

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was written in our booking confirmation that we would have been able to leave our baggage in the hostel after checking out. However, we asked at the reception and they told us it wasn't possible without giving us an explanation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we probably didnt understand each other, it is possible to leave your luggage free of charge before and after your stay.

91%

Stayed in July of 2014. Nice place (lots of stairs to get to the rooms) in a great location. Close to everything. Mosquitoes were an issue, but everything else was great. Beds were comfy and there was a nice balcony. Would definitely stay here again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback