X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Loft Gallery Amsterdam Reviews

Spuistraat 6a, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
94 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Great location close to the main station and nice rooms. The only really negative thing were the bathrooms which have to be shared but are not being cleaned on a daily basis.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we want to assure you that common areas and especialy bathrooms are being cleaned on a daily basis. Unfortunately not all fellow travellers are cooperative. But thanks anyway :)

89%

Stairs... Way toooo many stairs! Apart from that, everything was perfect :)


86%

The hostel was generally very nice and we had a great stay there. Positives include: very friendly and helpful staff and a brilliant location. Great room. negatives include: The flat had a slightly weird smell (sort of sewage?) the bathroom was not cleaned everyday so was not great when we arrived. the bed was noisy and uncomfortable. stairs up to the bathroom were dangerous.

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Customer, We let you in before the cleaning time as agreed, so you could go sleeping, so that's why bathroom wasn't properly cleaned.

91%

I stayed at the Loft with my boyfriend, we enjoyed our stay! the communal areas were spotless - we had no troubles with the bathroom despite it being shared with others. There are quite a few flights of stairs, we had light hand luggage so it was not a big problem for us. I would stay again and def recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam!


100%

me and my boyfriend stayed in the Loft Gallery for two nights,the place was amazing,we had a double room for each other and the view from the room was great.it's true you need to climb up on the stairs cause there is no lift but it says on the website so we were prepared for that.there was a big kitchen with all the facilities needed.very quiet and clean place,great and helpful staff.we've enjoyed our stay a lot and i would recommend it to my friends.

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The only problem I had with this place was the low ceilings, overall a very nice place to stay.


69%

Improve the cleaning in the room Room smells cigarette even if you open de window all day long You have to notice that the loft is ont the 6th floor No wardrobe or something to put the clothes Ni mirror and bin in the room Room too lightly, the curtains don't stop the daylight

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer, we will definitely improve the cleaning, but regarding wardrobe and mirrors (there's one huge mirror in a bathroom btw)... We would be called 5 star hotel otherwise with 5 times higher price. But thanks anyway.

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Very close from the train station. First check in at the YH. The flat is at the last floor of the building next door. Our room was nice, with a wonderful view over the roofs of Amsterdam. A bit dusty but we ask for the cleaning to be done and it was much better. The bathroom is at the other side of the flat and there is only one for 5 rooms, but we manage not to queue for it. Very large livingroom and kitchen, nice balcony where we had dinner with view on a church


66%

Everything is similar to the description, apart from a "little" detail: the loft is at the 6th floor without elevator....96 stairs to reach it. A good training-holiday. Please write it on the description!

  • 1st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This hostel is very nice. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathroom is clean. The wifi signal isn't very good and there are lots of stairs (no elevator!!). Wonderful for an hostel. We recommend it to couple who want to be quiet in a romantic atmosphere. Amazing sight!


83%

Very good flat with a nice open kitchen. A lot of stairs though.


83%

I really, really loved to stay there. The balcony is great, the kitchen is really big, 2 fridges, only not enough dishes for 6 people, poorly no coffee machine as pictured on the fotos, the bathroom is really nice, but shared! The rooms are big enough. I would have wished to have some mirrors in the room, for the bathroom is the only place with a big mirror. Location is really good, ways to every sightseeing are short and you can reach everything by feet.

  • 3rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Amazing location with friendly staff made for a fantastic stay. Very nicely redone rooms and communal areas, six flights of stairs were pretty difficult to be walking up though. Being able to have our bags looked after for free on our check out day was a blessing. Overall a great place to stay and we would definitely consider returning.

  • 18th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

It was in bed&breakfast section but there was no breakfast, other than that that place can be considered as okay.

  • 8th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Customer, We are not offering or advertising any breakfast. We have supermarket almost next door and all facilities to cook some meal. Thnx

57%

The hostel is in a central and easily accessible location which is always appreciated. The space is as nice as on the photos, but that's only the COMMON area, the rooms are nothing like it. Small, extremely simple and basic. I find the presentation of the hotel misleading. The bathrooms are shared and in order to reach them, we had to go down one stairs, across the common area and up another set of stairs. Really annoying, especially if you consider that the common room is unnecessarily large

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear customer! You are the first one who didn't like our place :) Congratulations! :)

69%

The location was great and the place really nice and clean with a balcony/terrace in the common area. But there is only one bathroom/toilet for three rooms which is located a little bit too far form the rooms because you have to cross the common area and then climb another stairs. The room was clean and cute but the main problem was the poor quality of the beding, sheets and pillows.

  • 3rd May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

It could have an hairdryer on the loft.

  • 11th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location near the rail station (5 minutes walk). The private room with double bed we stayed was on the 6th floor. No elevator. The bathroom was far away the room. We needed to cross the kitchen to get to it. Confortable bed, but poor pillows,


86%

Really nice place to stay in Amsterdam. The stairs are not to bad, because you are rewarded with a fantastic view. There´s one bathroom to share, but we never had problems with that. Whenever we needed it, it was unoccupied.


80%

The hostel ist very close to the Railway station in an typical Amsterdam house with high stairs. The Loft ist at the 6th floor, but you have a great view from there! The flat looks as on the pictures. The kitchen was perfect for us, because Amsterdam has high restaurant prices. But, they have no toaster. :-P By the way I would recommend that place to couples! All in all totally worth the price!

  • 13th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Amsterdam Bed and Breakfasts

Please give us your feedback