X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Loft Hostel Reviews

Bankastraeti 7, Reykjavik, Iceland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
275 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel with a gray location. Expensive as hell but that's Iceland. Great roof top bar!!


94%

Location is amazing. Very handy. Would stay there again. Thanks for all your help.


94%

Awesome location with friendly staff. Would definitely visit the city again and consider Loft as a place to stay.


100%

All the staff were extremely helpful and patient with helping me find and book tours and buses. Always open to discuss their favorite things to do in the city and gave a local's perspective. The rooftop bar was also a great place to meet people!

  • 8th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great location and vibe. Lots of space in both the dorm rooms and bathrooms. On the pricey side but the added security and numerous facilities make up for it. Would stay again if in Reykjavik :)


94%

I had a fantastic time. So close to it all. Will definitely stay again.


89%

Good hostel with a polite staff. Beautiful deck and bar. The best thing about this hostel was the location. Ground zero for bars and restaurants. Have fun!


94%

A wonderful home away from home. Very central location. Everything you need. Staff were so friendly and helpful with booking tours and giving advice. The female dorm room was a bit warm, though.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff very helpfiul

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Super comfy beds!! it's next door to a pretty loud club though so be sure to bring ear plugs.


100%

Wow! Loft is in the perfect location for your stay in Reykjavik. The staff is very friendly and helpful and our double room was amazing. Comfortable, clean, spacious.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Location was smack in the middle of the shopping street, so it was convenient to buy anything at any time. The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfortable. As I've mentioned, as it's right in the middle of the action, be prepared for blaring music late into the night. Also, experience with the staff was a hit and miss--- the girl who checked me in was very courteous and helpful. However, the girl who was on early morning duty when I had to check out could work more on her people skills.


91%

I found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming. A great atmosphere for meeting people from all over the world, I made a few good friends at the hostel that I still keep in contact with. The location was perfect since it was directly situated in the town centre. The facilities were very hygienic and all necessary utilities were available. I recommend Loft Hostel to anymore wanting to stay in Reykjavik.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the feedback! We're glad to hear that your experience was enjoyable. Really hope to see you again soon :) Best wishes, Luke (head of reception)

100%

Fantastic place right in the middle of downtown Reykjavik. Everything you'd want to do and see is an easy walk from the hostel. Extremely comfortable beds and spotlessly clean rooms. Good breakfast. The bar and the balcony on the top floor are great places to hang out! I'd like to send a commendation for Anna at the front desk. She was so friendly and patient and knowledgeable. A great asset to the Loft Hostel team. This will definitely be my choice for a place to stay the next time I visit!


83%

+Staff were supper helpful in providing direction for local dinning and attractions, took time to reserve events/ tours/ pick up. -Was bit pricy for value, but is to expect in Iceland.


100%

We only stayed a night, but we walked all over downtown, the location was great! The staff was hilarious and we will definitely come back and bring some Canadian goodies for you guys! We did a 6 bed mixed dorm but we will probably get a private room next time for a new experience!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Awesome. Do recommend.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Fantastic location! Very close to downtown. Clean and stylish. Friendly staff. Good kitchen set-up. As far as hostels go it is a bit pricier but the location and nice facilities are worth it. Would recommend!


94%

Mostly good experience -- really good location, clean/well-appointed rooms, mostly nice/helpful staff, reliable free wifi. After an overnight flight and a long day I wasn't thrilled at 6PM to be assigned to a room with no available beds because two people hadn't checked out on time, but the front desk staff swapped me to a different room without too much of a delay.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Location is extremly good. Other travellers are also nice. Only downpoint is the staff, who don't care or are even bothered. A girl who let the hostel book a bus to the airport, was told 10 minutes for departure that they moved her booking to another bus. When she complained they couldn't care Less. Also don't book the breakfast it is not very good.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Reykjavik Hostels

Please give us your feedback