Hostelworld.com

Loft Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 515 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 9.4
  • Facilities 9.3
Loft Hostel Located at Bankastraeti 7, , Reykjavik.
Loft Hostel
Iceland
Reykjavik 101 Bankastraeti 7
93% 515
64.1469495 -21.9343757
Loft Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
10.0

Very clean facilities and a very friendly and helpful staff! They helped me book by tours as well as my ride to the airport. The Loft is also VERY central to everything in Reykjavik. I can't stress how amazing this place is! Definitely must stay here if you find yourself in Reykjavik :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2016
7.4

24/7 staff is very helpful. And the location cannot be beat- right in the heart of downtown Reykjavik. My only caution is: it's a bustling hostel with an active nightlife. The plus side is really cool live concerts and everything is on site (and the lower floors with bedrooms are soundproofed from the bar upstairs). The downside is the lack of low key common space to relax after a long day of travel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
10.0

Great calming ambiance in the heart of Reykjavik. Very helpful staff and this place attracts amazing people from all over! Bar on the rooftop terrace. Excellent time well-spent and highly recommended to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.7

Wonderful right in the heart of the city. Weekend nights got a little noisy with bands upstairs so something to think about but both nights I was there music was over not late 1130. Maybe? Great rooftop bar to have drinks or coffee.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
10.0

Loft is THE BEST! For my first solo adventure, I was really nervous, but Loft made it easy to meet people (rooftop bar!) and feel safe (a girl tried to sneak a boy into our room and the hostel employee kicked him out within one minute). Incredible location. Excellent staff. Great happy hour. And if you're on the second floor, it's actually incredibly quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
10.0

Stayed for two nights in a six bed female dorm. The room was on the second floor so it was very quiet at night. Great location close to many restaurants and bars in Reykjavik and an easy place to get picked up for tours as well! Staff was very helpful with any questions! Tips: If you want a cheaper breakfast then what the hostel offers there is a coffee shop and grocery store across the street.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2016
8.9

Great hostel in a brilliant location. Rooftop bar and inside bar were lovely, everything was clean and functional. also very spacious for a hostel - our 4-bed room had two bunk beds when there would have been plenty of room for three bunk beds and to charge the same. As it's Iceland it wasn't cheap, but it was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.3

This is a perfectly located hostel. Employees were very friendly and helpful. I stayed for only 2 nights in a 6 bed room. The bunk beds are stable and easy to climb into with clean bedding provided and the bathroom was clean although not much counter space or hooks. Security cards are needed to enter the hostel front door, floor and room. However several times the front door was wide open late at night. A basic breakfast is available but costs 1500k. A very loud band prevented early rest.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2016
10.0

Loft Hostel was amazing! It's clean, the location is perfect, they are incredibly helpful with booking tours and answering questions, and the bar and patio are always lively! The beds are comfortable and they provide clean sheets and a really nice comforter. There is a high turnover (so many people travelling to Iceland right now!) so you will have people coming and going at odd times of the day and night but it's nothing you can't handle. I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hagemank8652
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st May 2016
8.9

Great security - you need a key card to get into the room area and room, clean sheets and comfortable beds. The bathroom in the room smelled a bit funky, but that probably because of the other guests. The security drawers in the room didn't close well, so i couldn't lock up my valuables. Also, they mention that they have ear plugs, they aren't kidding - take them up on it if u can. Everything else was great, the common room was awesome, great music, staff nice, and it was great having a bar.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.