X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

London Backpackers Reviews

8/10 Queens Parade, Queens Road, Hendon Central, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2957 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Enjoyed my stay can't complaint for the price I paid. I would recommend and staff were friendly. The sweets at reception sealed the deal for me.


74%

Nice hostel with helpful staff!

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice stay at London Backpackers, I loved the beds with curtains, light, little shelf and sockets. The curtains gave a lot of privacy in the 18 bed shared room. Common area in the kitchen a bit small.


74%

Staff were helpful. Rooms were clean. The rooms had no air flow and were very hot and stuffy even when it wasnt warm outside. A fan would be have been appreciated.


83%

Great hostel and value for money! Paid only 12 pounds for a 12 bed dorm with breakfast included. Only thing I found is it was hard to sleep at night as the rooms were hot in the 30+ degree weather (a rare occurrence for London anyway). Loved the privacy curtains and personal light and power outlets above your head. Also if you are staying there for a city adventure I guess it's a little far out but I was just staying the night before my flight home and the local shops were good enough.


91%

Right next to the tube station - very useful! Facilities were great - lockers under the bed for use with your own padlock, or you can rent a larger one by the day. Each bed has a curtain around it, it's own reading light, and several plugs which was really useful. I ended up not using the kitchen after all but it seemed to be well equipped. Breakfast was good for a hostel - a choice of cereals, toast, jam, cheese & biscuits. Even had an iron which was great since I was going to an interview!

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I liked the light, USB ports, and power sockets at each bed. There were privacy curtains around each bed that were decent but didn't go all the way around. There weren't that many showers or toilets, and the showers had push-buttons so that wasn't so great. Wifi was OK but not great in the room itself. I liked that there was free breakfast and the proximity to the tube. It was very hot in the rooms during the heat wave. Overall it was a pretty decent stay for the price.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

Cheap accommodation, very small cramped room with graffiti design on walls, dark and gloomy. You literally just have a bed, fan and tele and that's it. Scary and noisy environment inside the hostel, feels like you're on the streets! i only stayed for a day not 3days that i paid for as unrefundable. Awful awful awful

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Hostel facilities especially in kitchen were horrible. All the fridges along with the freezer were super full. no space whatsoever for our food packet. we had to literally punch in our food that barely got a tiny place in the fridge. Also charging 1 pound for baskets for the self food was rude. Hobs 2 in a row made it very difficult to cook with other people. especially strangers. A man from the shop next to the hostel passed a lewd comment on me. My room smelt really BAD. Bathroom clean

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Really didn't like this hostel. Great location -- it takes one minute to walk to the tube station with good food and coffee shops nearby. Girls in my dorm were quiet and respectful, thankfully, but no one else there was. Groups of people were yelling and screaming outside the entrance and in the hallways all night long. Showers were filthy and the curtains didn't even close. There are only 3 showers/toilets for all the girls there. The kitchen is tiny and dirty. It's also very stuffy everywhere.


94%

The hostel is great, very clean and with great atmosphere. It is not near downtown, however is well located, close to stores/little supermarkets , restaurants and bars that are open late at night, and just 2 min walk to the Underground station, which is very convenient.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Really far away from the city center (3 hours of walking if you're wondering). A neat little hostel with free breakfast and good wifi. The beds all have 3 levels, I know that it's like that in all hostels in London and it is an expensive city, but climbing on the top bunk sucks. One more awesome thing: every bed has a personal light, two sockets and even two usb ports (loved it, no need for uk adapters). The showers were not so good, not that many toilets, but it is a cheap hostel, not bad.


60%

It was alright, the Wi-Fi worked and it was great to be able to rent a locker that even fit my guitar. But the bathroom was very uncomfortable to use, the shower curtains didn't even fit the whole gap. It is supposed to be a youth hostel, but there were a lot of older men hanging around. Felt a bit strange.


77%

The neighboorhood was really fun. We walked around a lot and it was a great way to see something we wouldn't have seen otherwise. But, it is really far from the airport and from the center of London. Just keep it in mind if you are pressed for time, we were and it was sad to lose

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

London backpackers had a great vibe, the building as a whole was super cool. The showers weren't the best but they were do-able. The only thing is the location was a little bit away from the center of London but the tube is right across the street which makes it easy to get into London.


83%

well this is a good hostel to stay in London, clean and close to the tube of Hendon Central. The staff is really good. I mean that we've been received for the check-in by a romanian guy who was really cool and helpful for informations and as well as very funny and pleasant to talk with . The only bad point concerning the hostel is the kitchen and the room to take your breakfast that are far too small. If you're lucky, you can sit down to take it !

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Good place to rest, but its very far from city center


83%

Was decent. Some staff were awesome and some were quite rude. 30 minute ride on the tube but only a 10 second walk to the station - not the nicest of areas though. Very clean. Would stay again for sure.


60%

I stayed in a 16 bed mixed dorm and this hostel was average. It did have everything you needed: a bed and a shower. There were three showers in the bathrooms but they were just open with shower cutains. There was a free breakfast which is always a plus, but I did find that there were lots of random fees or deposits, (I had to pay to store my luggage even though it claimed to be free). If you just need a place to stay and plan on being out during the day, it's perfectly fine.


83%

Staff was awesome! Had such a great experience here! some weird buzzing sound outside that could be fixed

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(137 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback