X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

London Backpackers Reviews

8/10 Queens Parade, Queens Road, Hendon Central, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
2164 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 67%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

31%

Very noisy! Vacumcleaning from 08:00 AM (I was there in holydays, come on!) with the most noise vacumcleaner I have ever seen and heard (if it is not possible to o it from 10:00 AM I strongly recomend you to go for a more silent machine model. Door's rooms have a "bombastic" mechanism to close, to make sure that all the building is waken up in every single "explosion". Those explosion mechanisms are heard during all night and day, but are more frequent from 06:00 AM (guests going for breakfast?

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The owner AJ was a complete legend. I made many friends while staying there and will catch up with many of them on my travels through Europe! The facilities were great and were cleaned daily! I was pleasantly surprised! Big ups to AJ and his crew! :P Kris. B.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Great place for students to spent their vacation and meet some nice people from all around the world. The location's good though a bit too far from the city. But it's compensated by tube station of Northern line that is next to the hostel. The staff is very helpful and gladly answers all the questions. I recommend it to anyone who's looking for cheaper way to visit London.

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • weronikako
  • Poland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I realy like the improment .The reading light ,the cage boxes under the beds, and the new charges fore your phone and camera including usb charges.And i allso like the new curtains

  • 19th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I really enjoyed London Backpackers. The beds all had their own power points and lights, as well as curtains for privacy. The common rooms were always full of people and the staff were helpful. The only downside was that as far as I could tell, there were not a great deal of bathrooms for the amount of people, and it was far from the centre. Having said that- it was directly opposite to a tube station so that wasn't a huge problem. All in all I thought it was great!


89%

Pretty good place located near the cultural hub of Camden. Right next to a tube station so getting into central London is a breeze. Has excellent links to the night bus as well and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are packed tight and can be a bit hot but for the price you pay you can't exactly complain. Would stay here again in the future.


91%

I stayed in 3 hostels during my stay in London and must say this was by far the best one! I booked a single room for 2 nights. Everything was clean, the breakfast was good as in they never ran out of things like in another hostel -.- The wifi was also quite good and the location too cause the tube station is literally directly across the street. Only negative thing was the constant loud banging of doors so if you can't get asleep to noise (i listened to music) that could be a problem.


100%

Nice, helpful staff & great atmosphere :)

  • 12th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Hygiene in bathroom and toilets was not good, very dirty and also the room. In the evenings, very very noisy, place to stay. All the rules that was set out on check in - seemed to be broken. Positive note, staff were very friendly on check-in. But would not recommend and definitely not value for money at all.

  • 10th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

All good here, just stayed one night just for a place with a bed. Arrived late in the evening, around 11.40, and there was a member of staff on. Beds all had their own curtains. Only thing was that I was on the bottom bed of a triple bunk which isn't a problem apart from that the storage for bags was underneath and in a metal cage. This means 2 other people were getting at their stuff right next to me which got a bit loud when I was trying to sleep. Also a little too warm at night.


91%

Good place, nice and clean. Worth the money, absolutely

  • 9th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It will be nice if we can access the kitchen anytime we want. Even if it's at 2 o'clock in the morning.

  • 7th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Cameroon
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Just do not classify maximum score in cleaning because it never changed clothes from my bed. And the service also does not give maximum note because you have to pay for everything (welcome to London).

  • 6th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We really enjoyed our stay. it was so so cheap and didnt feel cheap at all. they had thought of everything... adapters, locker, pass keys for the night, helpful maps, you really will find great help here. my only caution... the kitchen wasnt very big for the amount of people staying, and some of the cleaning staff were a little rude. also, hendon central is easily 20-30 minutes out of the city so factor the extra cost for oyster card into your budget. would stay there again.


89%

i enjoyed my stay in this hostel, first place i stayed in when i arrived from south africa. i therefore booked again from the 28 aug - 4 sep 2013. 8 days. the free breakfast is also very good especially when you want to visit many places...you have a early start to the day. i have stayed in seven hostels already in aug and this was the best. noel moses


74%

The facilities in the dorms were great: the shelf, light and power points on each bed, and the lockable cage for belongings. My complaint is that it was very noisy in the dorm room. I did not see any advertised lights out or quite time policy, and in my dorm the lights were on and there was loud talking until well after midnight. A "quiet time" from 11pm to 7am or something would be helpful for those who need to sleep.


49%

The staff was not as helpful and kind as expected, the atmosphere was horrible: hardly anybody answered my greetings and no one seemed to be interested in socalizing a bit. The toilets were too small, the wc too close to the showers. The breakfast was quite good, though.

  • 3rd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

I thought that there could be more toilets and shower stalls installed at this hostel. It was inconvenient for tired travellers to have to wait for their turn to take a shower. There were too many people and too little facilities! It was ridiculous to have about ten girls brushing their teeth at two sinks in the mornings! Location was good because it was literally just around the corner from the tube station, although it is quite a long tube ride from any of the main stations. Staff were nice

  • 30th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

I chose this hostel because it was cheap, had female-only dorms, curtains on the bed and places to lock your luggage. It met all of my expectations. There are a lot of people that live there, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, they're a good resource for what buses and underground trains to take and can recommend places to visit. There's not a heck of a lot within walking distance, but getting a day pass on the tube will take you all over London for 8 pounds.

  • 26th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


43%

located very far from central London room are very small, not ventilated, too many people for a very small space facilities on different floor than rooms, and are not very clean staff was nice and friendly wifi didnt work most of the time breakfast included was standard toast, coffee/tea and cereal Patrons smoked inside the building, although it was said smoking was not allowed most patrons were rude and inconsiderate, the only time it was possible to sleep was between 4am-6am

  • 23rd Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1446 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback