X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

London Eye Hostel Reviews

73 Lambeth Walk, London, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

64%

Rating
739 Total Reviews
  • 63%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 57%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

34%

Very dirty hostel. Miserable and terrible shower, kitchen - very dangerous to eat. No atmosphere, very expensive. Nobody is going to change - endless stream of tourists.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Its cheap, its a bed and a shower, free wifi and a kitchen. I had a late flight so was grateful for 24hr reception. Its only half hour walk from victoria train and bus station and 5 min walk to London eye 2 min walk to the Big Ben.


49%

The London eye was the most disgusting place i have stayed on my Eurotrip, and it wasn't the cheapest either. the dorms were absolutely foul, i cant believe its even legal to pack that many people into a windowless, breezeless room, it smelt putrid, wifi was rubbish. 2 toilets on the bottom floor for at the very least 12 people, and they were alsofilthy. after the first night i cancelled my booking for the next 4 days and gtfo of there.


66%

rooms were tiny and the mattresses were like gym mats. there was no room to put bags or suitcases so i had to sleep with it at the end of my bed. chargers at each bunk was good but mine did not work at all. toilets on my floor did not lock which caused awkward moments. also there was no toilet paper a lot of the time :( good atmosphere though and the location was pretty good too! overall i wasnt unhappy with my stay but it wasn't the most comfortable of hostels. you get what you pay for!


34%

The hostel is the worst I have ever stayed in. It is incredible dirty and located in a scary alley. The inside wasn't more comforting. Some people were clearly high and it was not the average age you usually meet in an hostel. The room was super small and they stacked in there 15 bed and there was NO WINDOW!!! Is that even legal? The toilets and showers were constantly wet and dirty. Worst place ever!!!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. All our rooms have windows. I do not understand how you could not have seen it during the 4 nights you stayed with us. We have cleaners each day to ensure that we are a clean hostel. Our location is perfect. We are only 15 minutes walk from BIG BEN and WESTMINSTER ABBEY as well as the LONDON EYE. Our nearest underground train station is only 5 minutes walk from us and from here you can be in PICCADILLY CIRCUS AND OXFORD STREET IN LESS THAN 15 MINUTES.

57%

It's very conviniently located near a metro station, but when we arrived people warned us that the neighborhood wasn't very secure to be around night, as 2 girls we where a little scared of that but nothing really happened nor we saw anything not-secure. Instructions to get there from airport could be much simpler! "Breakfast included" means bread+jelly+butter Wifi wasn't really working, toilets had a bad smell and showers aren't very clean nor they have hot water.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Although this location was ideal, this was the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. The beds were not comfortable, the rooms were messy, the bathrooms were disgusting, and the smell was so bad it was hard to breathe. The location is not reason enough to stay in such a disgusting place.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Sometimes some guests can be messy. We ask guests to try to be tidy but cannot check on all guests all the time. Our cleaners clean the showers and toilets every day and are checked by the staff on duty 24/7. If you find the toilets or showers not clean please let us know and we will clean them for you. Thanks

63%

I've stayed in a lot of hostels and the London Eye is well-located, but an average hostel, with poor aspects. To make your customers feel the love a bit more: check in before 1500 really not possible? Cleaner in rooms changing beds at 0830. Put anything in the showers (beyond the last unbroken hook) to keep your clothes off the floor. Fix the toilet tap so the whole thing doesn't turn (i.e. so you can use it). Free up the door to Room 2 so it doesn't make loads of noise to close it.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your email. You can arrive any time at teh LONDON EYE HOSTEL however our cleaners may be busy cleaning your rooms if you arrive before 2pm. Therefore we have 2 large luggage rooms where we can store your bags while you either relax in our lobby using our dfree computers or FREE SUPERFAST wifi. Or maybe you would liek to explore London and return later..... Our cleaner do not start work at the hostel until 0900 and have instructions not to enter rooms until after 10am.... Thanks

71%

Great location, clean beds, serviceable facilities. Not overly spacious, but it's cheap enough to make a one night squeeze well worth it.

  • 2nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

The hostel was really what you'd expect. I was in a 12 bed room, and the door was right in the lobby. No windows and very poor lighting. There were only two showers and toilets for both females and males on the first floor. Not to mention the showers did not stay on for more than 30 seconds or so. But, in the end they use very comfortable mattresses.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was alright. Nothing above average. It's an alright deal for your money, but there are ones that are the same price in better locations.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Very unfriendly staff, feels like we bug them when asking anything 2 showers and one sink for five rooms of 12 people ? Come on... Lockers too small for big luggage

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Worst hostel I've ever been. Fifteen people in a 6x6 metres room...

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

Was not a welcoming atmosphere.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

The bathrooms were absolutely disgusting!! Mildew and mold everywhere. The shower water barely worked. The rooms were small with no air flow and half the lights on the beds didn't work. We talked with several other travelers that said this was the worst hostel they have ever stayed at. The location was horrible, it was at least a 10 minute walk to any bus.The worst part was the lobby, every time we walked through there were people there that would not stare and not smile. Gave us a weird feeling

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Rooms way to cramped and bodyheat unbearable. Stayed in similar hostels in London 20 years ago and nothing has changed with this hostel. Terrible place

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

superfast internet, good kitchen, normal breakfast, courteous staff, large communcal area. Decent hostel.


51%

Very full and hot rooms, with peoples luggage taking up all of the floor space. The WiFi doesn't reach the rooms. The included breakfast is a very simple toast and cereal arrangement. The surrounding area is quite a seedy/rundown community. I would only go again if it was the last reasonably priced option in London, but you can do much better.


69%

Pros: Location People that you can meet there Place to put the bags for a while after check out Cons: Wi fi did not reach the bedroom Not really clean Small toilets Sockets to plug the charger wasnt working


60%

There wasn't really a bathroom: it was 2 toilet cubicles (1 without a lock), 2 shower cubicles and a ridiculously small sink on our floor. The hostel is in a really good area of the city but it's down a windy lane that wasn't easy to find. My pillow case had a number of stains dotted on one side. On the positive side, the staff-member at the reception was very friendly and welcoming. It was also a really nice atmosphere to arrive to see a group of guests gathered together watching a movie.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(112 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback