Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

London Waterloo Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1715 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • esthergorton
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2017
6.3

I arrived late, was told my bed sheets hadn't been changed and when I asked for more sheets was told "your only here for one night it's okay". Not impressed, could have been a one off though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
8.0

The place was only a 15-20 minute walk from major sights of London (Big Ben and the Eye) and it is in a nice neighborhood that I felt comfortable walking around in even late at night. The staff was very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2017
3.7

My friend and I did not have a good experience here. The staff was alright but weren't the most welcoming in comparison to the other hostels we stayed in on our month long backpacking trip. The sheets smelt and the bathrooms were unclean. The area that the hostel was in didn't feel unsafe but it didn't really feel safe either. We ended up having to leave after the first night (we were going to stay three) due to some complications and the hostel would not refund us two of those nights.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. All guests have fresh bed linen on the bed. Had you mentioned this at the we could have changed this for you. We have cleaner every day. They try to keep the hostel as clean as bosible but please remember that teh showers are used every day by many people and not everyone has teh same hygiene standards. Had you said anything to our staff we would have had the shower cleaned. The hostel is located in a residential area and is quite safe to walk around day and night. What more, there is a police station only 2 minutes walk from the hostel. In regards to the refund you asked for, however you gave us no notice that you had to check out early and we therefore followed our terms and conditions. Thanks again for your review.

15th Aug 2017
5.4

Problems with Wi-Fi, plug at bed, shower our of order. One staff member did not seem to have an answer for any of these problems aside from stating that it is an issue they've had for a while

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you or your review. The WIFI has no problems and is working well. I suspect that you did not follow the instructions correctly, if you had spoken to the staff about this we would have been able to get you into it for 100% sure. One shower was out of order as the light was not working. It has now been repaired and all showers are now working well. In regards to the plug at the bed. This is usually down to the fuse in the plug. We have spare fuses and we can fit a new one in only a few minutes. Thank you for staying with us.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
6.0

For the price, it was fine. Definitely no bells and whistles. The room was incredibly small for three people in three stacked bunk beds. Very loud/noisey all night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review although you are being a bit unfair. We provide free for all our guests: FREE Breakfast is made up of toast with butter and jam as well as your choice of 5-6 cereals, tea, coffee with chilled orange and apple juices. FREE Super-fast Wi-Fi throughout the entire building FREE LUGGAGE STORAGE FREE TOWELS FREE LOCKERS.. FREE INTERNET CAFE WITH PC FREE TEA AND COFFEE 24/7 FREE EARPLUGS On top of this we are only a 15 minute stroll to BIG BEN and the London Eye. Our closest underground train station is only a 5 minute walk from us. Thank you again for your review.

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.7

The hostel was in a great central location, a short walk from buses and the underground. They recently opened their new kitchen which was great and you get nice breakfast (cereal, toast, coffee, tea...) The staff was amazing throughout our whole stay. They stored our luggage for free before check in time and also after we checked out and couldn't take it with us right away. They were very helpful, friendly and created a great atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pesce11
  • Pakistan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2017
7.1

Accept wifi connection problem, other things are ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. We have Superfast wifi with an average speed of 37mgps. Please let our receptionist know if you are having problems as 99.99% of the times we are able to fix it for you. Thank you for your review. Richard

  • pyper
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

Great spot in the city and awesome breakfast. Great for one night

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jul 2017
7.4

This hostel was fine for one night, but wasn't super clean. The free breakfast is a plus, and you also get free use of towels which was great for me. If staying there longer, the kitchen was fine. It's about a 10 minute walk to Elephant and Castle tube station. I wasn't very impressed with the security - no lockers for you valuables etc. The rooms have a code to get in and out of, which was fine, but anyone can walk into the hostel from the street which was a bit of a worry for me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We do have lockers and they are free to use...They are not in bedrooms as lockers in dorms are not really safe as if left alone a thief have all day to open them as most dorms are empty all day. Our lockers are under CCTV 24/7 and are located in public areas. We have never had a theft. The reception desk is in the lobby and the receptioniast see all people when they arrive. The main door is locked at midnight and we have a door entry system that allows guests only into the hostel as this is managed by the receptionist. Thank you for your review

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Jul 2017
4.3

Staff regularly disappear for a smoke with no notes. Poor breakfast and only one sink to wash up your pots from breakfast. My plug didn't work. 3 tier bunks lead to a very cramped room, and banging your head upon waking. Wi-fi was poor. Lacked some obvious facilities like a drying room or many bathrooms. Not in the nicest area, it may be close to attractions but you pass through some not so nice areas. Received an email from them saying only post great reviews which is incredibly dishonest

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. I do wish you would have said to our staff that you were not happy about the hostel as 99.99% of the time we are able to solve any issues guests may have....However I doubt if we would have been able to fit a 2nd kitchen sink for you. Our kitchen has been newly refurbished only 2 months ago and one sink has always been plenty for our guests. You are the 1st to mention it. If the socket in your bed did not work a quick work with the receptionist would have been enough to fix it as usually it is only because a fuse needs replacing which we can do ourselves and have in stock. In the email we send out to guests we ask for any comments/issues to be sent to us by email so that we can address them as this is the best way to find out what we are doing right and what we can improve on. Thank you

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×