X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Long Street Backpackers Reviews

209 Longstreet, Cape Town, South Africa

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
208 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The sheets on the beds were very dirty. The blankets given to us to sleep with were also very dirty.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Good hostel in a great location but wifi is expensive and there were only 3 lockers in a 4 person dorm. Could have been cleaner and the dorm was quite cold.


100%

I have travelled many countries, and stayed in many hostels over the years and this was hands down the best hostel I have ever stayed in, so much so that I was devastated to leave! Long street backpackers is not just a hostel, it becomes a home away from home, a family away from your family. As a lone traveller, I arrived on my own to South Africa, but within an hour at Long street backpackers, the incredible people who work at the hostel made me feel so welcomed that I forgot I was on my own.

  • 2nd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The only hostel worth staying at in Cape Town!

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Beware that wifi need to be charged for R20 per day, but still very weak wifi signal in my room.


54%

Ii did not stay at the hostel... I booked a private room and they could only accommodate me with a dormatory...

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

It's a good spot, close to Long Street but also far enough away. It's walking distance from Table Mountain and Long Street. The staff are really cool and the bar is set up for people to meet. I met some really cool people there and always had fun. It's not a party hostel so you don't get the dickheads who go to those hostels but everyone seems up for a beer. The two issues are the wifi which is free but terrible and the boss who occasionally visits during the day and ruins the vibe a bit.


66%

excellent location, the rest right, anyway it could be better.

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This is hands down the best hostel in the world.. It has it all: Great vibe, great location and security, awesome staff and lots of fun.. Besides that, the room are quite comfortable, and they give you free towels and all that stuff. Best city in the world has to come along with best hostel in the world.. definitely go!


57%

...Do yourself a favor and skip this one. Slow ineffective reception, the security terminal on the gate is difficult to use when going in or out, place is filled with passionless and humorless staff. Lodgers are also just as bad as the staff/ if not worse!:- most being 18-20 who sound & act like they have just left the milk-bottle; especially true during evening times. Dorms were also ultra-basic and felt like an afterthought. There's plenty of party hostels on Long street, why settle for this?.


86%

A great location (right at Long Street, where everything happens in CT) and a super nice staff that does everything to help you out. However, have in mind this is a super party hostel, and even after midnight the music continues loud. I've stayed in other hostels that are very loud, but at night it is possible to sleep. At LSB it is really hard to sleep. Another problem is that in the reception everybody smokes. Overall, a good option despite the loud sound and smoke in the reception.


86%

I was really impressed with the overall quality of the hostel. Being as cheap as it is, I was concerned the facilities wouldn't be that great. However, my expectations were greatly exceeded! Thanks for everything!

  • 9th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A very fun place to stay! pretty clean and surprisingly nice for the price you pay. Super central and a great place to meet a lot of people.


100%

Awesome stay here! It's right in the middle of everything and the staff was helpful and great!


97%

Freaking awesome stay.Thanks guys!!!!!!

  • 28th Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff are all really great. There is a huge kitchen and balcony that overlooks Longstreet, plus a nice sized courtyard. The rooms are small and have only one outlet for charging electronics, the bathroom is not super exceptional either. You have to request blankets, that are huge wool things that clearly they can't wash. But it's a great place to meet people and its in a great location. I did stay at another hostel on long street though, which was alot cheaper and was was alot nicer.


49%

It was dirty and the staff made me feel unwelcome.

  • 7th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Great amazing service staff who go out of their way to ensure stay is pleasant!

  • 21st Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

great hostel! If you like parties and nightlife, this is the place to be... right on longstreet. the hostel was like a party all the time. recommended.


100%

Very friendly staff ,,basic but clean get wot u pay for . This is our second time there and would go back

  • 17th Jan 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(157 results)


← Back to search results

Please give us your feedback