Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lord Wolseley

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 832 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

We loved our stay here! Pity it was only for 1 night. It was nice and quiet, despite being part of the pub. The building is lovely, and within walking distance to a lot of different places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
9.7

Great location. About 15min walk from central station. Great atmosphere. Heaps of food places around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
10.0

Besides being an older, read-loud and squeaky, building, this place is like an excellent value. We got in too early to check in but were allowed to leave our bags while we took a tour of the city. The thing that really made this place was the staff. Roslin (sp?) and everyone downstairs were kind and welcoming. Loved them instantly. The pub downstairs attracts locals and travelers alike, always a good sign. Didn't try the food from next door myself but my travel partners indicated it was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
8.0

Cool spot, great location, great staff. Wifi was my biggest issue here. I was on the top floor and the wifi did not stretch up there. I had to go into the pub or the stairway to use internet which was an inconvenience. Despite that, I would probably stay again if given the chance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.1

Lord Wolseley rules! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great - looks out over a quiet park, but still close to Darling Harbour and Central Station. The pub on the ground floor is a nice place for dinner. Will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
10.0

This Hostel has the best location! Additionally is extremely clean (beside the fact that is an old hostel). The bar downstairs has a lovely atmosphere as well and heaps os locals to have a nice conversation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
9.7

A really lovely little old fashioned hotel... great value. Super staff and a friendly atmosphere. Very close to Darling Harbour and the light rail train. Fun pub below used by locals. I would stay again- thanks to the hotel and staff - Nigel from Perth WA

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
10.0

Great hostel, extremely friendly staff. The place is located in a really nice area of town right near Chinatown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • blissrelease
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd May 2017
10.0

Absolutely top notch. Rooms were cosy and had a nice view of the city/street. Wasn't loud at all, even on Friday & Saturday. Food was epic. Ate three burgers in as many days (plus booze! Try the Grifter). Staff were beautiful souls, so happy all the time and up for chats. Incredibly welcoming. Kitchenette was always clean and just what I needed. It's a home away from home now :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2017
7.4

Great location. In a historical house built in 1881. The 1st floor is a bar - one of the earliest bars in Sydney. Friendly & helpful staff. But I have to say that the cleanness is just so-so. A lot of dust on curtains, and you can see that the duvet inner & mattress have turned yellow in some places.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.