Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lord Wolseley

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 757 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 757 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.8
Lord Wolseley Located at 265 Bulwara Road, Ultimo, Sydney.
Lord Wolseley
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2007 265 Bulwara Road, Ultimo
75% 757
-33.8767401 151.1968517
Lord Wolseley
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

We enjoyed staying there as it is a quaint old pub with a lot of character, set beside a very pleasant small park.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 41+
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

very nice place, close to the center but very quite area. the only thing to complain is the noisy AC outside room nr 4.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
6.0

Basic needs are met but that's all. The kitchen was closed on the Sunday night (my only night here) - I had heard the hamburgers are great here. Two of the three shared bathrooms on the top floor had blown light bulbs making it impossible to shower at night. Bathroom facilities poorly maintained - take thongs to shower in. Bedroom fan was covered in dust but Foxtel was welcome! Quaint but noisy. Wouldn't want to walk there on my own at night. Not well maintained, but its pub accommodation!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Sep 2016
7.1

As per other reviews, staying over the bar was a little noisy, but I sleep through most things so this didn't bother me too much. The view out the window was lovely and the natural light in the room was definitely a big plus. One shower doesn't seem to have lights and the other one is a little leaky, which didn't bother me much when I was using it, but it's not particularly environmentally friendly I guess. The toilet in that shower also leaked too. Overall I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.9

Very welcoming staff. Quiet at night. Extremely convenient location if you are crazy for sea food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
7.7

The atmosphere is great, location great. Just no coffee is really not a good thing

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Sydney. I stayed only one night and stayed in the double bed ensuite room. The room was very clean and although there is a pub downstairs, I didn't hear any noise at all. The staff was super friendly, no problems with check-in and check-out. Walking distance to the city! Will book again once I'm back in Sydney. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
2.6

Gas left on overnight by bar staff according to cleaner! Our room directly over bar so very noisy until past midnight with music n shouting Secure outer door never locked. Room filthy n bedding damp. Towels n bedding stained. Kitchenette also filthy both of them. Bathroom window didn't close, shower door didn't lock...whole place was filthy. Didn't except the Hulton but economy shouldn't mean dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.0

We stayed on a Saturday night in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was on the 1st floor directly above the bar and it was very loud - music blaring until 2 am or so. We've previously stayed in the en suite double rooms which are on the 2nd floor and over the restaurant, not the bar, and so much quieter. It's a cheap place to stay in a good location - in the morning you wake up to the sound of birds. I will stay here again but will book a room on the 2nd floor, not the 1st.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
6.0

It's a cool spot. But they hardly keep the rooms clean, and don't expect to be able to do laundry.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.