Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lord Wolseley

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
9.4

We loved it so full of history and atmosphere... The meal we had was also awesome.. Great location too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
14th Jul 2017
10.0

This place is great. Really nice old pub/hotel with good wifi, clean rooms, handy location, great value and really top quality staff. Will definitely be staying here again next time we come to Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • sarahscott00953107
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
4.3

We were expecting to have wifi and a television in our room included in the price. The television in our room did not work and staff were unhelpful when we inquired about it. The wifi was appalling, did not work for either myself or my partners phones in the room or in the bar. There was no locker or safe in the room to lock our valuables. Additionally we felt a few members of the staff with whom we spoke to were very cold and seemed reluctant to talk to us. Location was good.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

We loved our stay here! Pity it was only for 1 night. It was nice and quiet, despite being part of the pub. The building is lovely, and within walking distance to a lot of different places.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • languageloony
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
8.0

The hostel was very clean with a maid cleaning each day. Not many places to hang out other than the bar or restaurant on the first floor. Security is a little lax as anyone can come in through the bar and up to the rooms. The hostel is close to Darling Harbor, convention center and Chinatown. One thing to know is that the check in desk is the same as the bar area. Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
9.7

Great location. About 15min walk from central station. Great atmosphere. Heaps of food places around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
10.0

Besides being an older, read-loud and squeaky, building, this place is like an excellent value. We got in too early to check in but were allowed to leave our bags while we took a tour of the city. The thing that really made this place was the staff. Roslin (sp?) and everyone downstairs were kind and welcoming. Loved them instantly. The pub downstairs attracts locals and travelers alike, always a good sign. Didn't try the food from next door myself but my travel partners indicated it was good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
8.0

Cool spot, great location, great staff. Wifi was my biggest issue here. I was on the top floor and the wifi did not stretch up there. I had to go into the pub or the stairway to use internet which was an inconvenience. Despite that, I would probably stay again if given the chance.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th May 2017
9.1

Lord Wolseley rules! Staff are very friendly and helpful. Location is great - looks out over a quiet park, but still close to Darling Harbour and Central Station. The pub on the ground floor is a nice place for dinner. Will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th May 2017
10.0

This Hostel has the best location! Additionally is extremely clean (beside the fact that is an old hostel). The bar downstairs has a lovely atmosphere as well and heaps os locals to have a nice conversation.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.