Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lord Wolseley

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 749 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 5.6
  • Facilities 6.6
Lord Wolseley Located at 265 Bulwara Road, Ultimo, Sydney.
Lord Wolseley
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2007 265 Bulwara Road, Ultimo
73% 749
-33.8767401 151.1968517
Lord Wolseley
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Aug 2016
10.0

Great place to stay in Sydney. I stayed only one night and stayed in the double bed ensuite room. The room was very clean and although there is a pub downstairs, I didn't hear any noise at all. The staff was super friendly, no problems with check-in and check-out. Walking distance to the city! Will book again once I'm back in Sydney. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
2.6

Gas left on overnight by bar staff according to cleaner! Our room directly over bar so very noisy until past midnight with music n shouting Secure outer door never locked. Room filthy n bedding damp. Towels n bedding stained. Kitchenette also filthy both of them. Bathroom window didn't close, shower door didn't lock...whole place was filthy. Didn't except the Hulton but economy shouldn't mean dirty.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.0

We stayed on a Saturday night in a double room with shared bathroom. The room was on the 1st floor directly above the bar and it was very loud - music blaring until 2 am or so. We've previously stayed in the en suite double rooms which are on the 2nd floor and over the restaurant, not the bar, and so much quieter. It's a cheap place to stay in a good location - in the morning you wake up to the sound of birds. I will stay here again but will book a room on the 2nd floor, not the 1st.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
6.0

It's a cool spot. But they hardly keep the rooms clean, and don't expect to be able to do laundry.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
8.6

Lord Wolseley is in a perfect location, 10 minute walk away from Darling Harbour. The pub downstairs is a good atmosphere and reasonably priced drinks. We ate once in the restaurant and the food was good! The bathrooms and showers weren't the cleanest but our room was fine, no heater though so it was very chilly at night! Overall a decent experience and would recommend for a few nights stay in Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
8.9

A really cheap place, a stonethrows away from the centre of the city, for a bargain basement price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
9.4

What a location for the price! A little green quiet pocket of the inner cbd literally steps from the light rail. Not flash facilities but comfortable and safe. A tv in the room. Beer on tap downstairs and a cafe opposite that serves a really awesome brekky. Thoroughly enjoyed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
2.9

Most awful hostel ever. Dirty,we found 3 cockroaches , 2 of them in the room. Noisy, there is a pub downstairs where you can listen the music until 6 am; I don't understand how they can pretend to have a hostel if u want play music until this time. Impossible to sleep, No reception.Just the cleaner and the girl working in the bar.So if you want to leave the luggages you have to leave them in the bar. Definite not cozy and just awful,its like if they don't care about you.They should close it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Still the same .. I ve been in this hostel six years ago and still the same ... But what i love more it s because it s not a backpaker with just young people who want be drunk .. It s above a zzzzzzzzzuper Pub with just local worker .. It s perfect if you want to talk with a real sydney worker or citizen .. As well the location is perfect maybe 10 min walk to the darling harbourg ... What else :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2016
6.9

Lord Wolseley is very well located. Our room was just above the pub court so it was a bit noisy before midnight. I booked a room for two people but we were actually three quite often. Billy has deciced to join us during our stay. Billy was the cute cockroach we met on our first night. I told Billy to get out and leave us alone but Billy was feeling sad without us cause his mom was busy doing naughty things with other occupants of the hostel so Billy came back and we loved him for who he was.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.