X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lord Wolseley Reviews

265 Bulwara Road, Ultimo, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
714 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

We had a great time at Lord Wolseley. The staff is very approachable and helpful whether you need something for the room or directions/recommendations for the area. Liz especially was very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. Our room was very clean and comfortable.

  • 2nd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

Lord Wolseley feels like they've stopped trying: it needs a good vacuum and a visit to IKEA: many surfaces are very dusty, the towels are disgusting and the whole place feels very depressing; the ventilation is virtually nonexistent and so is the housekeeping; facilities are inconsistent across floors and rooms. This could be a great boutique stay if given a deep scrub and an IKEA/Kmart-powered spruce-up as the location is excellent and the property is the just the right size.

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

I really enjoyed having a single room and I didn't have any issues competing to use the common bathroom or shower, but we did have some ants and a roach in the room.

  • 11th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

Other than location (near Darling Harbour), this place was pretty terrible. We wanted somewhere nicer than a hostel and in a private room, our money would've better been spent on a hostel private. On arrival, we were told we'd have to swap room after 2 days, the kitchen (no oven, as advertised to be fair) was ant infested, the room was too hot to sleep on a warm day (the fan did nothing), there was building work outside from very early, the music from the pub below is loud until about midnight.


54%

Beds and carpets were really dirty, there were lots of ants and cockroaches in the room and rubbish under the bed. However, the hotel is in a good location and is cheap. We didn't actually stay here in the end.

  • 2nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

amazing place!.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The fan was very noisy, we couldn't sleep well, because of that. Due to the nearby contraction access to the hostel needs more time. We like the pub and also it"s very popular by the local guys.

Owner Comment (Hide)
The construction across the road will be finished before Christmas. Which room where you in? All the ceiling fans are brand new with inbuilt LED lighting. They make virtually no noise.

97%

Very nice hostel nice friendly helpful staff very clean


51%

Hi I was a local in Ultimo and recently moved to Perth - I chose to stay at the Lord Worsley because in the past I have loved The pub and the atmosphere - the room that they gave me had the refrigeration unit outside the window so even with the windows shut the noise was unbearable - the toilet was leaking so there was water all over the floor - the staff were very helpful so I left at 1.30am and found somewhere else to stay - it was an incredibly disappointing experience to say the least.

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, unfortunately the hotel was full that night so there was nowhere to move. In regards to the noise, In 5 years full time work I can recall one other guests complain about it - and he had me enter the room with him to listen to it and it was literally undetectable to my ears. Perhaps it was running loudly that night but no one else has mentioned it. In regards to a leaking toilet, nothing has been leaking lately so it was probably just water from the shower.

89%

I stayed in a private double room. It was good value for money. The room itself was very nice and clean and spacious. The staff are generally very friendly and helpful. Bar downstairs has a good atmosphere. The restaurant serves nice food at a reasonable price. Only cricriticisms would be that the WiFi wasn't always great, and that ongoing roadworks outside were very noisy, and created a lot of noise pollution in the morning. Otherwise a lovely place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. We have the fastest internet available in this area of the Sydney Metro at this time. Occasionally we experience dropouts and are working to diagnosis the cause of this issue.

83%

Liked it, a girl in the staff had really good vibes. Smiling all the time. That's awesome. The bar has nice beer and good food as well. :)

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot!

97%

The staff were awesome and extremely helpful. The value for money is fantastic, especially when you consider the location. I would definitely stay here again!


66%

Place was fine. We had a 6am fire alarm one morning and there were no staff around that could help (one guy in the kitchen that just kept on cooking and was little help) and no staff contactable despite trying the 3 contact numbers left multiple times.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic! Loved it!

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

The kitchen doesn't exist, too expensive for an hostel that is not in the center

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Most people prefer that we're no in the centre for obvious reasons. Also, we make it abundantly clear that we do not provide cooking facilities.

66%

Too loud underneath - some consideration to the fact it is also a hostel should also be made.

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great character

  • 8th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

The location is great and for the money you pay for it's good value. The room was nice and functional. There could be some improvements to the cleanliness of the kitchen facilities. Also you need to bring your shampoo, tea and coffee, milk supplies if you're after those things.

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Cleanliness wasn't great - old food down the side of the bed and strong smell of cigarettes in linen.

  • 5th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

We attended a function at the hotel and stayed the night because of that. I was not looking for any more than cleanliness convenience and comfort. I liked the place .

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback