X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
571 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

It is a very well situated hostel in the very centre of Paris. I would recommend it if you want to explore the city and not enjoy the hostel atmosphere. There is no lounge area, no free wifi, it makes it hard to meet fellow travelers. It's not he typical hostel experience you would expect in Europe. The staff was pretty not helpful. Very basic hostel if what you want is just a bed and a shower. Zero amenities, atmosphere.

  • 15th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

Going into booking this I knew the hostel did not have extra frills, but it wasnot even clean which I found very off putting. The lockers were 2 euros nd charged you every time you opened them, which meant people did not want them and had to leave stuff out, which wasn't great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You make the cheapest choice of 22 Euros for a bed in a dorm room to share + A FREE EARLY BREAKFAST in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... We've got upper class rooms, with a upper service & a upper price... Next time ask for it, regards to your wallet & our avaibilities, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

74%

No free wifi wich was very disappoint, but excellent location and nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the EXCELLENT LOCATION & NICE STAFF... As informed on the micro website & 2 times by mail : Wi-Fi in the lobby since 3 Euros for 2 hours ; FREE WI-FI in our bars just at the corner of the hostel... Hope to see you soon, The Louvre Youht Hostel

71%

Basic and cheap hostel to sleep over night. You can ask for additional blankets at the reception. Rooms were ok. Staff is great and helpfull and they speak English too (this is Paris, remember). Breakfast is included in price and it's great so i would recommend that you to use it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"BASIC & CHEAP with a GREAT & HELPFULL STAFF + a GREAT EARLY BREAKFAST" for the first, the oldest & THE BEST LOCATED hostel of Paris... Thanks a lot, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

86%

Only one power station in one room, so it's a bit hard for 8 ppl to share it.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
86 % rated for LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL, the first, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED of Paris, a few meters closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM... We wish to see you soon back in LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL ! P.S. : Multiplugs to sale at the reception desk if needed...

80%

Security can be increased maybe? Locks on doors or multiple keys or a cupboard for each room.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
80 % rated for LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL... THE BEST LOCATED with SIMPLE & BASIC FACILITIES, in the SAFEST district of PARIS... Thanks a lot, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL P.S. : Security can be always increase... We well notice your proposall... but for the moment : 1 RESIDENT CARD per person + 1 key per room to share with your roomade...

86%

perfect location and price for travellers. breakfast was good.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
86 % RATED thanks for the "PERFECT LOCATION & PRICE for travellers" + A GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST, Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

80%

This hostel is exactly what it says it is: basic. So for what we were expecting, it was completely spot on. All we needed was a place that was in central Paris, and the location really cannot be beat. There are only a few bathrooms per floor, showers are separate (and push operated), there is a sink in the room, there are no lockers in the room but for 2 euro you can rent one downstairs. The breakfast was awesome!! There was no communal atmosphere. For what we needed (2 nights central), perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
80 % RATED for a "BASIC & CENTRAL hostel with a UNBEATABLE LOCATION"closed to the Louvre Museum + a AWESOME FREE EARLY BREAKFAST.... Thanks a lot, Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

69%

Fantastic location so close to the big attractions.. definitely a barebones kind of hostel but they do make that very clear! Staff were pretty blunt. Only downside was the lack of security, anyone can get in to the building and the room key is shared between all the people in it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for our "GREAT LOCATION" close to all main big attraction... as informed, as confirmed a SIMPLE & BASIC HOSTEL with one resident card per person, one key per room to share with your roomade, Regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL

69%

cheap and good location

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATION & CHEAP with as you rate A VERY GOOD STAFF, ATMOSPHERE & VALUE... for our SIMPLE a BASIC HOSTEL Hope the see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

77%

Perfect location, good price. Very basic, if you jut want a place to sleep while you explore the city for 1-2 days, book it. There is no internet, but there is free breakfast with cereal, tea, juices, toast, buns and more. Dont exoect any luxury, but the rooms are clean, toilets are good. Not so many power outlets. Check in starts at 14, beware of that if you arrive early. Big minus is the luggage room, it doesnt have a door and anyone can come in

Owner Comment (Hide)
77 % RATED for a "PERFECT LOCATION in a OLD, CLEAN & BASIC HOSTEL + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST BUFFET... without any luxury..." exactly what we prented... Wi-Fi since 2 Euros only in the lobby, FREE WI-FI in our bars at the corner of the hostel + A FREE OPEN PLACE for lugage & lockers for 2 Euros per use, Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL TEAM

71%

Great hostel in Paris and has a best location ... The internet is a little bit expensive... And the beds is unconfortable, in fact they should be more cheaper or changes his beds ..

Owner Comment (Hide)
A GREAT HOSTEL with the BEST LOCATION... Wi-Fi in the lobby since 2 Euros... FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corder of the hostel... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL : P.S. : We already change 70 % of our beds... the last ones soonly... Regards

71%

If this is your last option for staying in a place in Paris with an Offordable price go for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATION + VERY GOOD ATMOSPHERE, CLEANLINESSE & VALUE... for the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS with SIMPLE & BASIC FACILITIES + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... thanks a lot & don't pretend to much, for what you paid just read what you rent... Hope to see you soon in the best located hostel of Paris, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL

60%

Good for a few days only. NO WIFY, badrooms poorly cleaned. VERY GOOD LOCATION.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY GOOD LOCATION : strictly RESERVED for "FLASH PACKERS"... A BED in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST.... Wi-Fi in the lobby since 2 Euros, FREE WI-FI in our bars, just at the corner of the hostel.... P.S. : Rooms & facilities are cleaned 2 times per day... but we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade... SORRY...

91%

The only thing I have to complain about is the bathrooms . The was dirty and the smell was bad.

Owner Comment (Hide)
91 % RATED... thanks a lot for the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS, with is FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... Sorry for the bathrooms, we clean them 2 to 3 times per day, but we can't have any guaranty on the cleanlinesse of your roomade... Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE HOSTEL !

71%

Hotel was basic and clean as I expected. The emails telling me many times how basic it was gave me low expectations. So I was actually happy once I got there. Only problem was the window in the bedroom didn't close so it was freezing. I went and got 2 blankets but the cleaners took one of them. Also only having one powerpoint in a dorm room doesn't work. There needs to be at least a power board put in.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
BASIC & CLEAN with the BEST LOCATION of PARIS + A FREE EARLY BREAKFAST... all we pretend... Sorry for the window... our team is 24h at your disposall to help even to close a window ???? Mutliplugs to sale at the reception desk, Regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL

63%

Good location but better hostels could be found very few km away. Wifi sould really be added, the "old school" of hostelling is an excuse no longer acceptable.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
ALL WE PRETEND : A BED in the 1st & BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS, OPEN 24H non stop since 1948 + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... As confirmed by you : PERFECT LOCATION + VERY GOOD CLEANLINESS & FACILITIES + GOOD STAFF... NB : Wi-Fi since 2 Euros in the lobby, FREE WI-FI in our bars at the corner of the LOUVRE HOSTEL.... Regards, The LOUVRE HOSTEL...

71%

Great location and it was good for one night but any longer than that would have been bad. No wifi at the hostel made it very difficult to plan for the trip

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the "GREAT LOCATION"... the BEST ALL OVER PARIS CITY : in the 1st district of PARIS a few meters closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM.... As informed : SIMPLE & BASIC FACITLITIES... in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS with Wi-Fi since 3 Euros in the lobby or FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner... Hope to see you soon & best regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL

63%

The one key per room didn't seem to be very efficient and left me feeling a bit insecure about myself.

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATION + VERY GOOD STAFF & CLEANLINESS... One resident card per person + 1 key per room our reality.... Lockers at disposall for 2 Euros per use, if needed, Regards, The BVJ

97%

I had a wonderful stay. The room was clean, breakfast was fantastic and location was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all... You fully understand what we pretend to be, what we are : A SIMPLE & BASIC HOSTEL... THE BEST LOCATED... with a good FREE EARLY BREKFAST... stricly reserved for STUDENTS, TEACHERS, SCHOOL GROUPS & YOUTH TRAVELLERS who are not so precious !

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback