X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
395 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

If you want to stay at a place where the first thing you smell is urine when walking up the stairs this place is for you. They put you 10 deep in a room and only have two bathrooms. You don't get your own key instead have to leave it there at desk and hope no one will steal your stuff.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Even if we don't share your point of you, we are very sorry about your experience, but for sure : 1 key per room & 1 resident card per person, lockers & safes are at disposall just behind the reception desk.

57%

Our room was divided into 2 and to reach the top level you had to climb a ladder up. Not very safe especially when you have baggage. Beds were not clean, me and another girl in our room had beg bugs in our beds. Not ok.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the PERFECT LOCATION, VERY GOOD STAFF & ATMOSPHERE with our historic parisian lobby ! THE LOUVRE HOSTEL. P.S. : FREE FRESH LINEN & BLANCKETS are provided and changed on first request at the reception desk. Bed bugs can be imported from any traveler, lugage... even if you didn't notice anything at the reception desk, even if we didn't find any thing, as a security, your room we be fully treated.

74%

The best part of the Louvre Youth Hostel was its location. It was minutes away from the Musée de Louvre and the metro, and walking distance away from other Paris landmarks, such as the Champs d'Élysées. The free breakfast was great, and the facilities were nothing special, but clean and functional. The one downfall was security. There are no lockers in the rooms. There's a few behind the reception, but only about 8 work. If you're worried about valuables that's something to be aware of!

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
" AMAZING LOCATION + GREAT FREE BREAKFAST + CLEAN & FUNCTIONAL FACILITIES..." Thanks a lot for our SIMPLE & BASIC HOSTEL... THE BEST LOCATED : LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL ! P.S. : We well notice the little points, we are working to do better soonly, Regards

71%

Great location. Breakfast was very good but you can't take it out of the kitchen. When I got there at 12 they were overbooked so I had to wait until 2:30 for a room. Again, everything was fine and described well - very basic. BUT THIS PLACE HAS BED BUGS and I didn't notice until my face and arm were covered in bites. Be careful.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
SIMPLE & BASIC + GREAT LOCATION + GOOD BREAKFAST Thanks a lot ! THE BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL ! P.S. : a no limit free early french breakfast buffet, but for sanitary reason nothing can get out of our restaurant ; bed bugs can happen in any public place, you can catch them in any public place, and for sure in our hostel they are treated on the first notice.

69%

The hostel is just a tad expensive for what you get out of it. However, the location is prime and the staff were helpful. This place is really nothing more than a place to sleep. If you are in need of a place to stay, want to be within a 5 minute walk from the Louvre, and do not care about the offered amenities of this hostel, this is the place for you.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
ALL WE PRETEND closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM : A BED on a bunk bed in a dorm room to share with facilities to share on each floor, in THE 1st, THE OLDEST, THE BEST LOCATED with a PRETTY OLD SCHOOL YOUTH HOSTELLING SPIRIT... NO LIFT, NO LAUNDRY, NO KITCHEN, NO FREE WI-FI... BUT OPEN 24H non stop, with FREE FRESH LINEN change on 1st request, FREE CITY MAP, FREE EARLY FRECH BREAKFST BUFFET....

91%

I loved absolutely everything, except the facilities. I felt that the parts of a normal bathroom (shower, toilet and sink) were scattered (had to pee on first floor, wash hands on ground floor and go back up to shower). Another thing was that the curtain stick in our room was broken, so we had sunlight early in the morning. Apart from this, it was very clean (important for me), in the middle of town (another very important fact) and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast was good enough.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS a lot for the 1st, the oldest, the best located with a pretty old school spirit of youth hostelling & " CLEAN with FRIENDLY STAFF + GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST BUFFET ! " Hope to see you, The LOUVRE HOSTEL !

77%

The best location! It is what you pay for though, very basic facilities. It is clean and feels pretty safe although you do have to pay for lockers and there is one key for everyone in the dorm room. A lot of school groups were there as well so there was a lot of noise. Probably not the best for a solo traveller if you're looking to meet new people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THE FULL TRUE as we pretend : "the BEST LOCATION with VERY BASIC FACILITIES... lockers for 2 Euros, only 1 key per room, a lot of school groups... " Thanks a lot, THE LOUVRE HOSTEL !

51%

I didn't like the ambience especially the smell in the corridors. It smells like there's a toilet along the way. There's even trashes or bed sheets along the stairs that was there when we got there and when we checked out. Only one socket is available in the room and it is placed near the door. There is only one key per room and the door doesn't seem to get locked. The best part i think is the breakfast but still doesnt worth 40 euros.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the very good breakfast & hopefully you left with your smells ! For sure we don't share your point of view. Fresh linen is provided for free and changed on first request at the reception desk ; if needed multi-sockets and adaptators to buy at the reception desk ; our reality one key per room to share with your roomade... As we pretend, the 1st, the oldest, pretty old school & the best located hostel reserved for real travellers who are not so precious !

80%

Breakfast was awful. I think I used to get better food when I was in a public Elementary School in Brooklyn. The night watch people are great, friendly and all. People in the room were inconsiderate 2 out of 3 of my nights there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for our FABULOUS LOCATION & VERY GOOD STAFF...

57%

You should have wifi in the rooms and have more then one outlet in each room and safes in the rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we pretend : "THE FIRST, the OLDEST, pretty “OLD SCHOOL” & for sure THE BEST LOCATED of the city ! "

77%

Very nice location in Paris. The price is really cheap if you just need a place to sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS A LOT you fully understand : "a bed to sleep for cheap in THE BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of the CITY"... pretty OLD SCHOOL with just the necessary ! Thanks a lot, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

60%

Good location, great breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we pretend as you confirmed : "THE BEST LOCATION + A VERY GOOD BREAKFAST"... for the FIRST, THE OLDEST, PRETTY OLD SCHOOL & for sure THE BEST LOCATED !!! Thanks a lot, Regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

71%

Great location, you have to buy wifi, only one toilet for the whole floor

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS a lot for the GREAT LOCATION & VERY STAFF... for sure Wi-Fi 3 € for 2 hours, toilets & showers on both side of each coridor... JUST OPEN YOUR EYES ! Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL

51%

I suggest to deeply improve the atmosphere and the schedule for breakfast & check out

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we pretend : "THE FIRST, the OLDEST, pretty “OLD SCHOOL” & for sure THE BEST LOCATED of the city... FOR THE SERVICE of a 5 stars palace, the silence of a church FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE !" Respectfully, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

54%

If you are looking for a place well located, this might be the one. But the facilities ate very poor, just one key per room (I got locked out and had to wait about 40 min to access my room and personal stuff), no free wi-fi at all and the place is not the most clean ever. Breakfast is very very good though. Not a good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
VERY WELL LOCATED + VERY GOOD BREAKFAST... all we pretend for THE FIRST, the OLDEST, OPEN 24H NON STOP, with VERY SIMPLE & BASIC FACILITIES... just the necessary ! (ONLY BUNK BEDS, NO LIFT, NO KITCHEN, NO LAUNDRY, NO FREE WI-FI)... FOR THE SERVICE of a 5 stars palace, the silence of a church FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE !

77%

The people at the dining room were not kind at all. Not all of them but at least one of them was rude with the people.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATION, VERY GOOD STAFF, CLEANLINESS & VALUE... sorry for the lady not enough kind for you... Hope to see you soon, THE BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL

74%

Very friendly staff, breakfast is ok for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
VERY FRIENDLY STAFF + PERFECT LOCATION + GOOD BREAKFAST... Thank you, Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE HOSTEL !

60%

The only good thing about this hostel is being in Les Halles. It's central to everything you'd want to do in Paris. The facilities rivaled some of the worst of London and the place was not very clean. The showers and bathrooms we're cramped, moist and often didn't have toilet paper. If your traveling be aware that they can move you part way though your stay! Beds are hit or miss. The first 2 days were good, after I was moved the beds were hard.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"PERFECT LOCATION central to everuthing you'd want to do in Parist" with very simple & basic facilities... JUST THE NECESSARY : bun beds, no lift, no kitchen, no laundry... just a bed with FREE LINEN & a FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST BUFFET !!! Regards...

74%

Great location... Ask for a room away from the road, as the garbage man goes past every morning at 7am very loudly!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATION & CLEANLINESS + VERY GOOD STAFF... THANKS A LOT... P.S. : Sorry for the noisy employee of the city, but we don't have any control of them....

83%

The hostel, as promised is really a no-frills hotel. The hostel is really a stone throw away from Musee Du Louvre, which is really good. Check in took really long though, nearly an hour as the poor receptionist had to juggle checking us in and answering the phone at the same time We were given an 8 person bedroom. The room was clean, but one negative point is that there are only 2 charging ports, and one of them did not work so the 5 of us had to share one. The shower was slightly choked though

Owner Comment (Hide)
VERY GOOD LOCATION + CLEAN ROOMS... THANK YOU ! P.S. : Next time, for a 5 stars Palace service, you should find an other place... check-in can take time sometimes !

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback