X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
816 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nice Staff; Spartan amenities but completely enough if you are aware of it before arriving (which was my case). Very Good Location; Showers were clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
NICE STAFF + VERY GOOD LOCATION in CLEAN HOSTEL : THE LOUVRE HOSTEL... THANKS YOU !

74%

For the amount I paid it was great. Location was amazing and the bedroom was very clean. Shower/toilet was relatively clean considering quite a few people have to use it. It was very loud though so I would recommend guests use ear plugs! The fact that there is one key for the room and the last person leaving the room has to lock up wasn't communicated properly to all guests so got quite confusing and maybe not the safest way to do it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
AMAZING LOCATION + VERY CLEAN BEDROOM & FACILITES.... EAR PLUGS to buy at the reception desk & as informed : 1 resident card per person + 1 key per room to share with your roomate in the LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL : the 1st, the oldest & THE BEST LOCATED of PARIS with VERY SIMPLE & VERY BASIC FACILITIES, strictly reserved for real open mind youth travellers who are not se precious....

66%

Not that bad as you can read on the hostel description. Not worse than other average hostels. No locker, only 1 plug per room and no free wifi is a disadvantige and I don't understand why the owners don't care about this little improvments. Anyway, beside this you will surive in this hostel. Location is great and breakfast is good as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
GREAT LOCATION + GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST BUFFET in the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... thanks you ! Just to remind you choosed the cheapest bed, in the cheapest room : for indivudual plugs & USB connection, free wi-fi in the room, private lockers for each bed... we've got BUT YOU HAVE TO ACCEPT TO PAY A BIT MORE to be UPCLASS !

63%

+ GREAT location. Clean bedrooms, sink in rooms, breakfast and linen included - security (no lockers at all, except little ones for valuables which u have to pay for, luggage storage is just in a room off the lobby - not secure at all, anyone can enter!). Bathrooms were dark and gross, toilet smelled. Wifi worked for me 3x and I was there 4 nights. Not enough powerpoints - one powerpoint for a whole room?!

Owner Comment (Hide)
GREAT LOCATION + CLEAN BEDROOM + FREE LINEN+ FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST ... lockers at disposall just behind the reception desk, 1 resident card per person, 1 key per room to share with your roomate, Wi-Fi in the lobby for 2 euros per 24h, FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner, facilities are cleaned from 2 to 3 times per day but we can give any guranty on your roomate... remind you choosed the cheapest bed, in the cheapest room, for more services, pay a bit more to have the service you wish

91%

Thanks to all of the staff. Very nice people. Breakfast is really good and plentiful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
91 % RATED for the 1st, the oldest & THE BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS with a REALLY GOOD & PLENTIFULL FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... THE LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL is fully reserved for real open mind youth travellers who are not so precious !!!

86%

Location is literally perfect

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT LOCATION with VERY GOOD STAFF, ATMOSPHERE, CLEANLINESS & FACILITIES... we hope to see you soon in the 1st, the oldest & the best located hostel of PARIS : THE LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL, with very simple & very basic facilities... just the necessary, strictly reserver for real open mind youth travellers who are not so precious !

80%

Really sweet and simple. Felt safe at all times, would definitely stay here again! The only annoying thing is that check out is so early and check in is so late. But the staff let us keep our luggage in the hostel before our check in and after our check out which was helpful!

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
SWEET, FRIENDLY, SIMPLE & SAFE... for the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... THE LOUVRE HOSTEL, strictly reserved for open mind youth travellers who are not so precious !

89%

The staff and the building is veru nice and friendly, but nowadays, to have just 1 spot to charge the phone/camara in a 8 people room I think is not enoough. I also think that a little kitchen would be great. But the breakfast was very good and the people also very nice. I will recomend to other friends if they want to visit Paris some day.

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A PERFECT LOCATION... in a NICE BUILDING... with FRIENDLY STAFF... + a GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST BUFFET... THANKS A LOT for the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS, with VERY SIMPLE & VERY BASIC FACILITIES, where you'll find just the necessary... & strictly reserved for real open mind youth travellers who are not so precious !!! For more service, it's possible, just pay a bit more, to be up-class in a private room with private facilities regards to avaibilities !!!

69%

Superb location, literally across the road from the Louvre. Cheap for Paris too, but you have to pay for wifi and towels. One working plug socket in an 8-bed dorm. Showers are pretty dirty and there's not much atmosphere. Staff were really friendly and helpful, let us keep our bags there for the afternoon after we checked out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You choosed the cheapest bed, in the cheapest room with a " SUPER LOCATION... FRIENDLY STAFF... FREE LUGAGE ROOM "... towels for 5 Euros... wi-fi since 2 Euros per 24h... next time choose a more expensive private room with private facilities... you will have the service you pretend !

69%

Solo young female traveller exploring Paris for 3 nights. Louvre Hostel has an unbeatable price and location compared to other hostels in Paris. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here, though I am a more flexible, easygoing traveller and I could see how someone who expects more than a bed and clean water would be gravely disappointed. No wifi (except in the lobby and it's 2 euro per day) and very limited social interactions. Hostel Louvre is basic and extremely simple, worth the €20.


69%

Given the location and the cost, it's hard to complain about the hostel. Equally, it isn't amazing either. If you're just looking for a place to sleep it's more than satisfactory. However, it didn't feel like the cleanest hostel and there is only one key to each room you have to return to reception if you're the last guest out so the room is unlocked for the vast majority of the time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Regards LOCATION & PRICE it's HARD TO COMPLAIN ! All we pretend, a bed, in a single sex dorm room to share, with very simple & very basic facilities + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... in the 1st, the oldest à THE BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS !

57%

Some staff were more helpful then others. The breakfast was a bonus. The room I had was spacious although barely any charging points which made it hard. Wifi only worked downstairs. Not a great atmosphere at all if you're travelling alone. The bathrooms were just like any other in a hostel. Great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
GREAT LOCATION... SPACIOUS ROOM... WI-FI in the lobby (2 euros for 24h)... FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner of the hostel... & for sure we can't feat every day with every body !

57%

After you make a reservation, you will receive an email regarding how basic this hostel is. Read this email thoroughly and expect nothing more. cons: lockers cost 2 euros per use. there is one key per room. first one in gets it from reception, last one out gives it to reception, which I found to be rather confusing and annoying and non-secure. street is very loud at night no free wifi, 2 euro per day and it only works in the lobby. minimal facilities, no toilet seats, sinks ensuite ...

Owner Comment (Hide)
EXACTLY AS PRESENTED on the MICRO WEB-SITE, exactly as CONFIRMED by MAIL 2 TIMES : you choosed the cheapest bed, in the cheapest room we've got in the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS...

29%

Some of the male staff were extremely rude. There was only 1 key for a 10 person dorm which inevitably caused problems. The lock was dodgy and took about 10mins to lock each time. Wifi costs €2 per day and only worked downstairs. There were no elevators for the guests to use and I was on the 4th floor and had to carry my suitcase up an uneven wooden staircase. There's only 2 toilets per floor and 2 showers per floor and they were always filthy and out of toilet paper. No social atmosphere at all

Owner Comment (Hide)
YOU EXTEND 5 times in LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL, the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS ! For sur, as presented on the micro web-site, as confirmed by mail 2 times : Wi-Fi in the lobby since 2 euros for 24 hours, FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner of the hostel... 5 floors, no lift, but 7 showers & 7 toilets on each floor : JUST OPEN YOUR EYES, READ WHAT YOUR RENT & DON'T EXTEND if you dislike !

31%

The worse hostel of all my trip in Europe - There are not lockers in the rooms!!! - The security boxes cost 2 euros every time you have to open them!!! - Cannot drink alcohol in any place!! - There are so many rules that is impossible to have fun. - Many people studing at the hostel. - Internet only in lobby and not free. - Very rude staff

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

the hostel is very basic but is in the best location, there were sockets at every bed but none of them worked so with only one plug socket in the room maybe they could be looked at. would have been nice though to be able to drink in the lobby which I think would have created a better atmosphere in the hostel, Overall it was on ok place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
A GOOD PLACE TO STAY... but for sure FULLY FORBIDEN TO DRINK in the LOBBY... only in our bar just at the corner of the HOSTEL !

80%

Stayed for two nights in this hostel and it does exactly what it says it'll do. Excellent location - two minutes from the louvre. The only fault I could give it was one room key between eight people. It meant that the guy with our key locked the room and then showered for half an hour leaving us stuck waiting in the lobby for him to finish.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
EXACTLY AS PRESENTED : EXCELLENT LOCATION.... THE BEST... with VERY SIMPLE & VERY BASIC FACILITIES.... For sure, 1 resident card per person, 1 key per room witch you share with your roomate... SORRY for the long shower of your roomate ! Regards, The LOUVRE HOSTEL

60%

I found the location excellent- you can walk to any of th major destinations. However the staff wasn't very friendly and ththe facilities weren't cleaned often. A good place for a quick night or two to see Paris.

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
EXCELENT LOCATION + FRIENDLY STAFF... even if facilities are cleaned from 2 to 3 times per day we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your roomate.... SORRY !

31%

Really poor for France. This place is embarrassing for Paris Worse than hostels in South East Asia

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
SORRY, you have to respect rules. You must present your resident card each time we ask it at the entrance of the hostel ! Killing us on line with an abusive & raciste language, just because you refused to respect our rules... SORRY WE ARE NOT MADE FOR YOU, we prefer to forget your attitude in PARIS !

74%

The location of this hostel was perfect; it is central to many of the big attractions, plus lots of bars and restaurants. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. The facilities weren't great; it was not super clean and it was very loud at night, so I would recommend ear plugs. Overall though, a great hostel due to the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
GREAT LOUVRE HOSTEL with A PERFECT LOCATION + A FRIENDLY & HELPFULL STAFF... in a VERY SIMPLE & VERY BASIC HOSTEL.... where you'll find just the necessary.... facilities are cleaned from 2 to 3 times per day but we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your roomate : SORRY !

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(123 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback