X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
489 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

My friend and I stayed here for just the one night, primarily because of the central location and value for money , but we were pleasantly surprised with the hostel, especially after having read some negative reviews and the honest hostel description. Certainly it is basic, but it was immaculately clean, with friendly staff, nice dorms and clean linen, and a great free breakfast. There's no wifi, but the hostel points this out. All in all, a positive experience - recommended :)


100%

Great hostel for the price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% SATISFIED....THANKS A FOR FOR OUR "GREAT PROPERTY"... with a PERFECT LOCATION + OPEN 24H NON STOP & reserved for real youth travellers who are not so precious : SIMPLE & BASIC facilities, bunk beds in a single sex dorm room to share with free fresh linen changed on 1st request, private facilities to share on each floor, 5 flors, no lift, no public kitchen, no laundry in the hostel but a few meters closed, no hair dryer, Wifi since 2 Euros, for free in any bar, museum, garden at the corner !

43%

totally bad hostel, This is the most bad hostel I have never seen. The staff is not nice, not helpful. The room is dirty, and all the things is not user friendly. only one charger in room. And no lift, no room key for person ,I am very angry to stayed in this hostel for 2 night. never come back to this hostle, really really bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
It seems YOU MAKE THE WRONG CHOICE !!! Staff was just the miror of you you are : SORRY... and next time PLEASE READ YOU RENT : as presented, as confirmed "THE BEST LOCATED hostel closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM... where you rent A BED in a single sex dorm room to share, with BUNK BEDS ONLY, a resident card per person, one ley per room and NO LIFT, NO PUBLIC KITCHEN ACCES, NO PRIVATE LAUNDRY, NO FREE Wi-FI... multiplugs, adaptators, charger to sale at the reception desk... Regards,

77%

Clean with a great location. Museums galore and it is just a few blocks from a quite major restaurant/shoping area. Not touristy, so be sure to know french or be patient. We would deffinatly stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for our CLEAN & GREAT LOCATED hostel... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

83%

Very well located (walking distances to grocery stores, several subway lines, coffee places), the rooms are basic but it's a good quality price ratio. The atmosphere is quiet there (the common area are not designed in a way you get very social) but if you stay in dormitory, you get to meet nice people. Incl. breakast. Although very early, it is quite good for the price.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... with as pretend " basic rooms" + A GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

31%

Do not stay here!!! Here are some reasons why: Staff are rude and unhelpful especially the receptionist! You have to pay for Internet and it can only be used in the lobby Showers are on a 30 second timer, are not on your room and there are 2 dirty showed for the whole floor Only 1 power point in a room for 8 people No lockers in room to keep items safe Toilet light didn't work and staff wouldn't replace it Difficult to find as the street is not on Paris maps Rooms are old and dirty


83%

Yes,good location and breakfast, the room is clean. But the bathroom is dirty ,need to improve

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for all : GOOD LOCATION + GOOD BREAKFAST + CLEAN ROOMS... even if the are cleaned times per day, we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade... SORRY Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

77%

Although we knew that the hostel doesn't have a free wi-fi, it was complicated due to some unexpected events that took place in Paris during our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
VERY GOOD SECURITY, LOCATION, STAFF, CLEANLINESS & VALUE... for BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL ! Thanks a lot, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL ! P.S. : As presented, as confirmed Wi-Fi since 2 Euros for 3 Hours,

74%

I wish the breakfast was better. Overall a good place location wise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the GOOD LOCATION, just a block, closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM... For A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST, with tea, coffee, chocolat, hot milk, orange juice, apple juice, fruit salad, yogurt, 2 types of chease, 3 types of biscottes, 2 types of terrines, 2 types of cereals, oranges, apples, cake, fresh daily bread of the baker, 7 flavours of jam, honey, nutella... SORRY we can't do better ! Regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

86%

Location was fantastic, service was adequately good, rooms are as advertised, very basic.

  • 4th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS A LOT for your review : exatly what we pretend a FANTASTIC LOATION + SIMPLE & OLD SCHOOL YOUTH HOSTELLING SERVICE + BASIC & FUNCTIONNAL ROOMS... Hope to see you soon in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

80%

Very nice location compared to its price, and breakfast included. But one has to pay seperately for wifi if use. One of the reception was bit rude also.

  • 2nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS A LOT for our GREAT LOCATION + FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL, P.S. : Wi-Fi in the lobby since 2 euros for 3 hours, FREE WI-FI in all bars just at the corner of the hostel...

86%

For student bit costly

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Rated 86 % satisfied : costly from 19 till 49 Euros... BUT THE FIRST and the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS, in the saffest district of the city.... a block closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

80%

This place had a great early breakfast: fruit, cheese, cereal, and of course French baguettes. The service was friendly enough and amenities were just fine. As the site says, it just provides the basics and it did me perfectly well! The only bummer is that you have to pay a small fee to use the wifi and you can only use it in the common room of the hostel.

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS A LOT : EXACTLY WHAT WE PRETEND !!! A BED + A GREAT FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... and steal with VERY SIMPLE & BASIC FACILITIES !!!!

29%

Do not go to this Hostel. Very dirty, unhelpful staff, the rooms are very small and cold, the shower rooms are disgusting. My cousin's backpack was stollen, since there's only one key for each room and the door is always unlocked - which allows anyone to go inside of the dorms. No lockers - there's only a few, you have to pay to use them - and if you're lucky, because they re all broken. The only good thing about this place is the location, which is pretty near the louvre.


26%

Pésimo hostel. Como puntos a favor puedo decir la ubicación a pasos del museo de Louvre y tiene desayuno incluido. Puntos negativos: 1.- sucio 2.- sin wifi gratuito, hay que pagar aprox €6 por 2 horas de conexión 3.- Staff (salvo recepción) poco amigable y sólo Frances parlantes 4.- Las habitaciones tiene 1 enchufe para 8 personas 5.- Existe sólo una llave por habitación, teniendo que recurrir a "el último cierra" 6.- Cero seguridad 7.- Duchas extrañamente con agua caliente (en invierno) 8.-ETC

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY GOOD LOCATION... and don't complain about all you where full informed... JUST READ WHAT YOU RENT... and please next time find somewhere else ! The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL ! P.S. all we pretend a bed + a free early breakfast in the BEST LOCATED hostel of the city with ONLY BUNK BEDS, NO FREE WI-FI, NO LIFT, ONE KEY PER ROOM, ONE RESIDENT CARD PER PERSON, HOT WATER in all our shower, adapatator & multiplugs to sale at the reception desk, etc..

83%

They don't lie when they say it's just a basic hostel to sleep, but it's useful given that you're just going to sleep there! Besides they warn you about the lacking stuff and features, so you have to be prepared.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
RATED 83 % SATISFIED for the 1st & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS, in the safest district just a block closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM... As informed, as pretend : SIMPLE & BASIC... you will find just the necessary : A BED in a single SEX DORM ROOM TO SHARE with BUNK BEDS, simple & facilities to share on each floor... A FREE EARKY BREAKFAST, NO LIFT, NO PUBLIC KITCHEN ACCESS, NO PRIVATE LAUNDRY, NO AIR DRYER... WI-FI since 3 euros for 2 hours... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

54%

Need clean it clean product, seems to be cleaned with water. Wi-fi in all biulding. (We are in 2015, and it is a big capital). The door is not automatic like all hostels I've ever been in Dublin, Oslo, Iceland ... Anyone can join. The stair need to be fixed. There is only one outlet per room should have at least one for each bed. Or an extention for everyone to use. No map of the city in the biulding. My bedlight was broked I stay 3 days and ... I just enjoy the breakfast and the location.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANS for ENJOYABLE FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST in THE BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS but PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE "OPEN YOUR EYES & READ WHAT YOUR RENT" : a big city map just at the entrance of the hostel + free city maps to take away for free at the reception desk ; WI-FI since 2 euros for 3 hours in the lobby or FREE WI-FI in any bar just at the corner ; 1 resident card per person & 1 key per room ; multiplugs, adaptator, charger to sale at the reception desk... The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !

57%

Just one power socket by room (and there's 8 people on the room), no free WiFi, the shower works with taps instead of keeping open. The location is really good, but I don't think the location is everything for a hostel. Oh, the breakfast was good too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the VERY GOOD LOCATION + GOOD BREAKFAST : all we pretend for the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED of the city ! Best regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL. P.S. 1/ multi sockets for sale at the reception desk, 2/ as informed on the micro web site, as confirmed by mail : no free wi-fi in th hostel, only in our bars at the corner of the hostel, 3/ Sorry, we choosed to save water !

57%

The Hostel is very basic, the beds (at least in my room) are old, no common rooms, kitchen or WiFi. The breakfast is nice, but nothing special. The location is very good, but I would recommend better hostels, since you can take the metro and go easily to central Paris.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the VERY GOOD LOCATION + NICE BREAKFAST... all we pretend for the 1st & the BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL of the city. BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL is very simple, very basic, you will find just the neccessary ! Regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL P.S. : As informed on the micro-web site, as confirmed by mail : only bunk beds, 5 floors, no lift, no public kitchen access, no laundry, no free wi-fi ! ( " JUST READ WHAT YOUR RENT ! " )

66%

Stayed two nights (booked the other separately) and the bathroom was obviously not cleaned in the time I was there. Visible dirt on floors. No place to lock bag or even small items. Good breakfast with variety of options included. Seems to be worth it for the location as other hostels in Paris were pretty expensive. No real common area (just cafe tables and chairs downstairs, no bar or lounge).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the GOOD BREAKFAST & PERFECT LOCATION.... for our simple and basic hostel where you'll find just the necessary ! Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL ! P.S. : lockers are just behind the reception desk for 2 Euros per use & bathroom are cleaned 2 times per day, but we can't give you any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade,

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(68 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback