X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
1069 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 56%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great value for money, everything you need for the basic accommodation. Not far from the local attractions and the metro station. Also just a short walk away from rue st Denis which has some good Irish bars fora social night out!

  • 6th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
85,7 % rated, for a great value for money : everything you need for a simple and basic accomodation... just the 1st and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation, to provide the cheapest bed + a free early french breakfast buffet, in the best district of Paris, just a few meters closed to Louvre Museum... Hope to see you soon, The Louvre Hostel

57%

Rooms were fine, bathroom was awful, one toilet and one shower per floor, (over 20 people) bathrooms were filthy. Everything else was fine.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great location, fine rooms in the 1st and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, since 1948... 4 more showers and 4 more toilets, just on the other side of the corridor...

89%

Awesome breakfast and staff- only downside was that the rooms got freezing cold at night and there was no soap in the bathrooms. Would stay again, however.

  • 5th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
88 % rated for an awesome free early french breakfast and great staff in the 1st, and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation, since 1948 to provide the cheapest bed + a free early french breakfast, in the best located district of Paris, a street closed to Louvre Museum... PS. : to provide the cheapest bed - soap to buy if wished at the reception desk

100%

For an error of hostelworld, our check-in was scheduled too early and when we arrived our beds were busy. So, Hocine very kindly solved our problem and we were able to rest from out tiring travel. The hostel has the best free breakfast I have ever eaten and it's really close to the Louvre, pont des arts and many metro stations, you can reach anywhere in Paris from there! The staff are very smiling and helpful. Once again, thank you BVJ Louvre and a specially thanks to Hocine.

  • 4th Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100 % rated for the best free early french breakfast you have ever eaten... smiling and helpfull staff,in the 1st and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the first non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris : to provide the cheapest bed + a free early french breakfast, in the best district of paris, a street closed to Louvre Museum !

37%

It was by far the worst hostel I've ever been in. Firstly this paris trip was a gift for my girlfriend as a pre-wedding gift. I was low on budget but I thought I order a private double bed room so that would be bearable. the room first they put us in was a private room but the beds were dormitory beds. Then we found out that there were anyy double beds in the hostel at all. Secondly, it was not clean. The bathrooms were terrible and there blankets on the beds were obviously has been used before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We fully remind, your were wishing a delux room in 5 stars palace, with a king size bed, room service... for a sweet honey moon in Paris. Why not. But you choosed a basic private twin room with 1 bunk bed in a hostel, with simple and basic facilities to share on each floor... Please read what you rent. As clearly notice on the micro web-site, as confirmed 2 times by mail : Intended since 1948 for students, teachers, school groups, and youth travellers from 15 till 35 years old... for a 5 stars Palace, the silence of a church or a romantic honey moon.... Honestly you made the wrong choice. You should find a an other adress !!!"

60%

Pros: The staff were really friendly and polite. The breakfast was great. The beds were comfortable. The location was the best thing about the hostel. It was a 5-10 minute walk to the Louvre and in a very safe location. Cons: Despite being comfortable, the beds were small. They said they had lockers which they did, in the lobby and there were only a few, 4 of which were broken. No lift and I was on the fifth floor. On the night before check out 180 school kids were staying there and were loud

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Friendly and polite staff, great breakfast, confortable beds, safe location a few meters closed to Louvre Museum, for the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organization in Paris ! As informed 5 floors, no lift, lockers at disposall behind the reception desk... Sorry, but for the silence of church you shouldn't choose a youth hostel. In any case, all our crew is at your full disposall 24h non stop if needed...

83%

Security: good that there was always someone on the desk, but it's a bit annoying that you have to pay for lockers and anyone can walk into the room where baggage is stored. Excellent location and staff were helpful and friendly.

  • 23rd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent location, helpfull and friendly staff, good security in the saffest district of Paris, for the 1st and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organization in Paris, since 1948 ! Hope to see you soon for a bed, simple and basic facilities + a free early breakfast in the Louvre Youth Hostel !

66%

We asked for blankets twice because there was no heating in our room but the staff did not grant us the request. The room had no heating.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We fully remind, you asked twice for extra blankets, heating was fully working... just don't leave the window open !

89%

I read the comments beforehand so I knew what I was getting into. My room was on the 3rd floor. There is no lift. No fancy, comfortable beds, or luxurious bathroom. No problem. My only complaint is that I wish I knew more about the nonprofit. It is so interesting to hear about that but I didn't leave knowing anything about it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
88,6 % rated for the 1st and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organization in Paris, since 1948... to provide a cheap bed + a free early french breakfast in the best district of the cities...

89%

Nicely located Hostel. Good location for some nights. Locker is available for 2€ PER USE this should be added in the description. Don’t expect too much from the facilities. Breakfast is included and very nice!

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
88,6 % rated for a nicely located hostel (just a few meters cloed to Louvre Museum) with simple and basic facilities + a very nice early french breakfast.... in the 1st and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris since 1948...

83%

exactly what we needed

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
82,9 % rated for the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris since 1948, to provide the cheapest bed, with simple and basic facilities + a free early french breakfast, in the best district of Paris, a block closed to Louvre Museum....

74%

Misleading advert of double beds when actually they were bunk beds, still not an issue (unless you want romance), breakfast was brilliant. However to be honest for its location in one of the most expensive cities in the world you cannot complain. The facilities are suitable for the needs, you don't need luxury because luxury is all around in Paris. Perfect stay for a couple of nights, get out there and explore that city, its Paris that makes it. Merci!

  • 18th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
A perfect stay for a couple nights, with an amazing location, a brilliant breakfast and suitable facilities for the needs... in a twin room, with 1 bunk bed (as informed), in the 1st hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organization in Paris since 1948.

89%

Everything was great but the only problem is the fact that there is no internet. You have to pay 2 euro for internet but we tried to buy eveday but they said it was finished. The rest was really good. Thanks!

  • 16th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Every was great and very good in Louvre Hostel, the 1st hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris since 1948 ! As informed twice, to provide the cheapest bed, you choosed, on the best location in Paris : Wi-fi acces as an option, for 2 € per day. Next time, choose an all-inclusive bed in Louvre Hostel, you will get all included !

77%

Helpful staff.

  • 10th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
77 % rated for the 1st and the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, since 1948... Hope to see you soon, The Louvre Hostel !

80%

Nice Hostel only problem is if you do not have your own internet they sell you a 24hour pass on top and it only works in the lobby

  • 7th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
80 % for a nice hostel. As informed, as the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organiszation in Paris, to provide the cheapest bed + a free early french breakfast buffet, on the best located hostel of Paris : wi-fi as an option for 2 euros per day. Next time, choose, an all-inclusive bed, you'll get all the options included (wi-fi, lockers, shampoo, towel... adaptator, multiplug, usb connection, chargers) Regards, The Louvre Youth Hostel

69%

Location was absolutely amazing! The convenience alone made this hostel worth it. The rooms are very bare, the showers are extremely small, the water pressure is non-existent, and as far as cleanliness goes, it was average. The free breakfast was definitely a plus, and the price for a bed is good for the city. Definitely not the greatest hostel, but if you value location over anything else, this is your place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Amazing location, very good value for money, with free early french breakfast included... for the 1st hostel of Paris, the best located... where you'll find the bare essentials (a bed + a free freekfast in the best located hostel of Paris) manage by the 1st non profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, since 1948 !

54%

Pretty much the only good thing about this hostel was the location. There was one fellow at the front desk who was extremely creepy and persistent in his creepiness, and he made me feel pretty uncomfortable about my whole stay. Also, anyone could have pretty much just walked into my room at anytime as it was hard to lock the door when people were coming back at different times, I couldn't understand why everyone didn't get a key. It was not a very nice place overall.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the perfect location, the good value and cleanliness for the Louvre Hostel, the best located hostel of Paris. As informed, to provide the cheapest bed : one resident card per person, one key per room to share with your roomate... And we are very sorry about what you felt, witch is not shared by other residents...

77%

Everything is just like the hostel says it is. Not a five stars hotel, but a simple hostel with the basic things we need. The girl from the reception is sooo nice and helpful. The location is just the best. And for the money I had to pay I really can not complain. Excelent breakfast and good free maps of the city. Just thanks for everything!

Owner Comment (Hide)
the best location, excelent free breakfast, nice nice and helpfull staff for a simple hostel with the basics things we need : a cheap bed in the best located hostel of Paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation in Paris, since 1948 !

69%

the bedrooms are nice, although the matresses arent comfortable and the showers arent clean or hot. the breakfast is good with options of food. Another bad thing is the wifi, which yoi have to pay 3 euros for 24h of use and it only works in the hall next to the reception. Also, the "room" to keep your bags isnt safe at all and anyone has free access to them. The location is excellent and the staff is kind. THE worst thing really is the owner whos a douchbag, rude to US, & doesnt speak english

Owner Comment (Hide)
thanks for the nice bedroom, good free early brekfast, perfect location + excellent staff for the 1st non-profit youth hostelling organisation without any owners since 1948 ! as informed, you choosed the cheapest bed in the cheapest dorm without wi-fi, lockers, towels... next time, read what your rent and choose what you wish a bit more expensive : an all inclusive dorm room with private shower, towels, soap, lockers and wi-fi included in louvre hostel !

71%

Pros- the staff were really nice and helpful. The location was perfect and the rooms were clean. Free breakfast was pretty good as well. Cons- doesn't have that fun atmosphere one looks for in hostels, especially if they are a solo traveler. Check out time is at 9:30 so you have to be out of your room fairly early. Overall, it was an ok stay. I would only stay there again for the location benefits.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"really nice & helpfull staff + perfect location + good free breakfast"... all we pretend for the best located hostel in paris, manage by the 1st non-profit youht hostelling organisation in paris since 1948 ! atmosphere : you make the one you wish !!!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(129 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback