X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
716 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 65%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Really cheap but despite this a surprisingly good accommodation

  • 26th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

there's free breakfast everyday, and the location is the BEST thing-these are the two good features of the hostel. somehow I could connect to the free wifi nearby without paying or entering the password (you have to find it out yourself), so net connection wasn't a big problem. the showroom in the room was weird because I couldn't select hot or cold water, and sometimes it was just too hot for me. I wasn't disappointed because of the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
All we pretend : THE BEST LOCATION + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... As informed on the micro web site, as confirmed 2 times by mail : WI-FI since 2 Euros for 24hours in our EIFFEL lobby... FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner of the hostel ! HOPE TO SEE YOU SOON, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

77%

It was a nice room, a lot of space for four persons, very comfortable but the bathroom was really dirty. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the GREAT LOCATION + NICE & COMFORTABLE ROOM... Sorry for the shower, even if the are cleaned 2 to 3 days per day.... we can't be behind each traveller, and for sure we can't give any guranty on the way of life of your roomade : SORRY... Hope to see you soon in the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... with very simple & basic facilities... just a few closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM, in the 1st district of PARIS !!!

83%

Exactly as advertised and I was quite happy. Literally 5 min walk from the louvre, with several good cafes just around the corner. No free WiFi, but if you get the code from the cafe the signal reaches to the main hostel door. The staff were nice and helpful, most times remembering my face and passing my key before I even asked. If you just need a bed and shower in Paris, this place is perfect. Not great for socializing, but good for the utilitarian traveler.

Owner Comment (Hide)
83 % RATED for a BED, a shower + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST in the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS !!! REMIND : you'll find just the necessary : BUNK BEDS, 5 FLOORS, NO LIFT, NO AIR DRYER, NO LAUNDRY, NO BAR, NO ALCOOL, NO PUBLIC KITCHEN ACCESS... Strictly reserved for students, teachers, school groups & real open mind youth travellers who are not so precious !!!

83%

Breakfast was basic. Rooms were very hot but if you left the window open it was very loud outside. Kelaf at front desk made checking in amazing and didn't hesitated of help. Kind of sucked that there was only one washroom on our floor. But the location was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the GREAT BASIC BREAKFAST in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS with FRIENDLY STAFF ! N.B. :5 more showers on the other side of the corridor, Regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL

60%

Great location, shower was terrible and Luke warm!

  • 14th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the GREAT LOCATION... THE BEST of PARIS... in the 1st district... a few meters closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM !!! For our SIMPLE & BASIC hostel... where you'll find just the necessary : BUNK BEDS, 5 FLOORS, NO LIFT, NO AIR DRYER, NO LAUNDRY, NO BAR, NO ALCOOL, NO PUBLIC KITCHEN ACCESS... Strictly reserved for students, teachers, school groups & real open mind youth travellers who are not so precious !!!

74%

The location is really convenient, and the area itself is really nice. I was a little confused at arrival, because the outside of the hostel isnt marked. The staff was very helpful and nice. The free breakfast was great each morning (big bowls of coffee!). My only complaint is a lot of the downstairs lockers didn't work properly/ there weren't enough. Luckily, the staff was kind enough to hold my things at the front desk for the day.


83%

Very good location

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
83 % RATED for a VERY GOOD LOCATION, in the 1st district of PARIS, just a few meters closed to THE LOUVRE MUSEUM ! Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

74%

Many compliments: Great location. Great service. Great people. It was noisy though: It was very loud on 2 of the nights there, especially around 4 and 5am, it sounded like someone was cleaning which made it difficult to sleep. Bathrooms: are very small. As I am tall it was hard to close the door. They also didn't have toilet paper for a few hours and were dirty quickly. No free wifi isn't really good enough or today's day and age though I don't think.

  • 12th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for our SIMPLE & BASIC HOSTEL... & for sur THE BEST LOCATED of PARIS... a few peters closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM, Regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

83%

this hostels is pretty close to the Louvre museum, just 5 minutes and to the station as well. It's totally okay for staying for 1, 2 or 3 nights. Rooms are okay and bathrooms as well, little bit small, but we could hold it :)...perfect value for money and with breakfast! Just one thing, that you have to buy wifi for 2 euros per 24 hours.

Owner Comment (Hide)
EXATLY WHAT WE PRETEND : THE BEST LOCATED a few meters closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM, with simple & basic facilities & a FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... As informed, as confirmed by mail : Wi-Fi since 2 Euros per day, or FREE WI-FI in our bars just at the corner of the hostel ! REMIND : strictly reserved for students, teachers, school groups, real open mind youth travellers from 15 till 35 years old, who are not so precisous !!!

60%

Not many facilities but staff were good, especially Adel.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the GOOD LOCATION + GOOD STAFF ... for the 1st, the oldest & THE BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... with VERY SIMPLE & VERY BASIC FACILTIIES... Regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

86%

My room was shared with another 3 people and was cool. I don't care about the size, for my was good, toilet, sink. everything ok. One thing that you can add is that you can offer soap and shampoo to the people. That's all.

  • 10th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
86 % RATED for the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... with very simple & very basic facilities... For the price you paid... we can't do better ! Regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

77%

good basic hostel at a perfect spot. Only thing is that they can clean the shower and toilet a bit more often. Very friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the PERFECT SPOT : a GOOD BASIC HOSTEL + FRIENDLY STAFF... Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL P.S. : Facitlities are cleaned from 2 to 3 times per day... but unfortunatly we can't be behind each single traveller, and we can't give any guaranty on their way of life !

37%

dirty bed dirty bathroom no charge not good breakfirst no free wifi very noisy in night that can't sleep lost my shoes

Owner Comment (Hide)
YOU RATE A GOOD STAFF + A GOOD ATMOSPHER... for the first, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM... in the best district of PARIS.. then you kill us because you loose your chooses !?§* NOT FARE !

94%

This is a no frills hostel but is perfect for a short stay in Paris. Great location, very clean and a great place to stay if you just need somewhere to rest your head. Great value for money, I was pleasantly surprised!

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
94% RATED... for a GREAT LOCATION a GREAT & CLEAN PLACE in the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED hostel of PARIS ! Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

37%

It was overpriced for what you got and you have to share a room key with 7 other people. You do not have a secure bagging area. Hot room and hot shower on a hot day. No kitchen or free wifi. Rude staff and basic breakfast but do not take a yogurt for later as you will get yell at by staff. At 35 euro for a Monday night you really are only paying for a bed near the lourve and not even a secure one at that. I read other comments and soap for washing your hands after going to the toilet is extra.

Owner Comment (Hide)
PLEASE DON'T LIE, READ WHAT YOU RENT & SORRY WE CAN'T CHANGE THE WEATHER YET !!! You choosed to pay a balance of 29 Euros, to get a BED in the 1st, the oldest & THE BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS ! As informed on the micro web site, as confirmed by mail : LUGAGE ROOM behind the reception desk + LOCKERS for 2 Euros per use // NO PUBLIC KITCHEN ACCES // WI-FI only in the lobby since 2 Euros per day // FREE WI-FI in our bars just at the corner of the hostel ! Please FORGET US !

54%

Lockers can't fit a bag bigger than a backpack. Breakfast was so so. Just not the best hostel I've seen. It was blazing hot and just pretty loud there. Stayed multiple days. Crazy amount of noise. Confused by the key system, but no deposit. Not a lot of electrical plugs in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
For the silence of a church... the control of the weather... JUST FORGET US ! REMIND : lockers are behind the reception desk for 2 Euros use, & made for small backpack... For sure they can't fit with gorgious lugage !!! As a FREE EARLY BREAKFAST : tea, coffee, chocolat, milk, fruit salad, apple juice, orange juice, yogurt, 2 types of chease, 2 types of cereal, butter, 7 falvour of jam, honey, nutella, 5 types of biscot, american toast, cake, daly bread of our baker !

94%

It is a good place to walk around, good localization and opportunity to meet new people to hang out or change information. Moreover, the breakfast allows you eat healthy to face all day of visiting and walking in Paris! The only inconvenient is paying Wi-Fi and even though you just can use downstairs. Oh, and speaking of stairs, be ready to work out because don't have lift/elevator and maybe you can stay in the 4th or 5th floor!

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
94% RATED... for a GOOD LOCATION + A GOOD FREE EALTHY EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... in the 1st, the oldest and the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS ! As informed 5 floors, no lift... wi-fi since 2 Euros per day in the lobby or FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner of the hostel ! Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

66%

The staff was kind and willing to help. For the price, it was not worth it in my case. I was assigned to the top floor and I was the odd man out with a huge group of young girls. I was last in so I was supposed to sleep in a bed in the tower and had to climb a steep ladder to, where it was at least 10 degrees hotter, one small window on the other side of the room. I made friends with girls on the floor below and slept there instead. This room should cost way less.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the KIND STAFF.... but please read what you rent : the cheapest bed... in the 1st, the oldest & the best located hostel of PARIS... with 5 floors, NO LIFT but a great view on the parisian roof & the Modern Art Museum... Regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL !

43%

This was by far the worst/overpriced hostel I stayed at during my Europe holiday, the toilet/shower was disgusting and beds wafer thin. The location wasn't even that great as it took 5 minutes to climb the 5 flights of stairs and a ladder (like an actual ladder not a bunk bed ladder) to get to my bed. Save your money and stay somewhere else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the GREAT LOCATION... PLEASE READ WHAT YOU RENT : in the 1st, the oldest & the BEST LOCATED of PARIS, a bed in a single sex dorm room to share with very simple & very basic facilities + A FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST // as informed, as confirmed 5 floors & NO LIFT ! ATTENTION : strictly reserved for students, teachers, school groups & real open mind youth travellers from 15 till 35 years old, who are not so precious

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback