X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

67%

Rating
354 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 54%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Great location... Ask for a room away from the road, as the garbage man goes past every morning at 7am very loudly!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATION & CLEANLINESS + VERY GOOD STAFF... THANKS A LOT... P.S. : Sorry for the noisy employee of the city, but we don't have any control of them....

83%

The hostel, as promised is really a no-frills hotel. The hostel is really a stone throw away from Musee Du Louvre, which is really good. Check in took really long though, nearly an hour as the poor receptionist had to juggle checking us in and answering the phone at the same time We were given an 8 person bedroom. The room was clean, but one negative point is that there are only 2 charging ports, and one of them did not work so the 5 of us had to share one. The shower was slightly choked though


71%

There is a paid wifi and no free wifi. There is just 1 socket for room. Be very aware about this.

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATIOn + VERY GOOD VALUE for money... THANK YOU ! Wi-Fi since 0,80 Euros per hour in the lobby or FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner of the hostel, Regards

80%

This hostel is exactly as it says in the description.. The basics. Proper old school hostel. The location is amazing and the rooms are clean. Breakfast is big and full of choice! Maybe the best I have seen. I would recommend to any real travelers who are not precious about the little things. Maybe look at investing in a toaster because without a toaster, toast is just bread. Chur.

Owner Comment (Hide)
BASIC + PROPER OLD SCHOOL HOSTEL + AMAZING LOCATION + CLEAN ROOMS + BIG FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST with a lot of choice.... RECOMMANDED for REAL TRAVELERS who are not precious ! All we pretend since 1948 ! Hope to see you soon...

80%

Location is amazing! Breakfast is so good, coffee, cereal, toast, baguettes, fruit. Showers could have been cleaner, and no WiFi.all in all it was a good valur for the money. Not a place to meet people, but value for your money is there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
AMAZING LOCATION + GOOD FREE EARLY BREAKFAST + VALUE for YOUR MONEY : thank you ! But for sure : A VERY SIMPLE & BASIC hostel with JUST THE NECESSARY (BUNK BEDS, NO KITCHEN, NO LIFT... WI-FI since 0.80 € per hour in the lobby or FREE WI-FI in our BAR at the corner !!!)

71%

Great location. It is a very simple place to stay. The breakfast was great and it is a short walk to the louvre and the metro. Staff gave good advice about where to go and places to eat. The only downsides were that there is no free wifi and the showers were average. It's not a social hostel so it wouldn't be good if you're travelling alone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
GREAT LOCATION + SIMPLE HOSTEL + GREAT BREAKFAST + GOOD STAFF.... Hope to see you soon The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL

63%

10 per room is very small and have only one socket. So ten girls take turn charging pads and cell. Stairs are tiring...


74%

Saying this hostel is in a great location doesn't even begin to cover it. You're literally in the middle of everything that there is to see in Paris! Hotels in that area cost a fortune, so it's really great to be able to stay around the Louvre Museum paying a hostel rate. The staff is okay... they weren't too nice but definitely weren't rude-- they were just French. The facilities weren't all that impressive, but if you're staying for a short period like myself, it'll be all good.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS A LOT for our "GREAT LOCATION... literaly in the middle of everything that there is to see in Paris !" ... just a block closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM with our parisian staff... Hope to see you soon in "the BEST PLACE for SHORT PERIOD..." Best regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL CREW !

54%

루브르박물관 옆이라 위치는 좋습니다. 무료와이파이 불가능하구요 리셉션에서 따로 2시간씩 구매해야해요. 2유로인가할꺼에요. 엘레베이터는 있는데 고장난척해서 사용못하구요. 조식은 포함이에요. 조식은 먹을만해요. 지리적위치와 저렴한금액빼면 최악이네요

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

No lift. Not even light along the staircase. No wifi at all but have to pay. Very basic shower. Everyone in the room have to share one key so if someone locks the room and out then you are done. Breakfast is very basic , toast and juice. The fruits are rotten. Good thing is at good location and free luggage storage (although not guarded at all)

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
From 19 Euros a night in the law season, AS PRESENTED AS CONFIRMED by MAIL : THE FIRST, THE OLDEST & THE BEST LOCATED, with a FREE OPEN PLACE FOR LUGGAGE, lockers for 2 Euros, Louvre Youth Hostel is a very simple and basic place with 5 floors, no lift, no kitchen, FREE FRENCH EARLY BREAKAST with chocolat, tea, coffee, milk, 2 types of cereals, yogurt, fruit salad, cakes, 3 types of biscotte, fresh bread, 7 flavour of jam, nutella, honey, 2 types of chease... Sorry we can't do better !

63%

The only really good thing about the hostel is the location, just behind the Louvre. The beds were very uncomfortable but the room was clean, the bathroom was also ok and the breakfast better than in other hostels I've been. Another crappy thing is that you pay more than 30 euros for a night and they don't even supply free wifi, you have to pay for it if you want to use it. Also there's only ONE KEY per room, so everyone in the room have to share it.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU FOR " BEST LOCATION" ... CLEAN ROOMS & BATHROOMS ... BREAKFAST BETTER in OTHER HOSTELS... FREE Wi-FI in our bar just at the corner... Our standards with schools groups, make it mandatory to keep record of all the IP addresses and of all the online activity. This is why the company in charge of the Wi-Fi service has to charge you for the Wi-Fi. SORRY. Hope to see you soon in the BEST LOCATED hostel of the city... a bloc closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM

49%

Facility was bad..I didnt recharge my phone in the room

Owner Comment (Hide)
THAK YOU for the VERY GOOD LOCATION, GOOD CLENLINESS, GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY... sorry if you didn't find the plug... next time, just ask at the reception desk... we'll help you... Regards

69%

If location is what you're looking for this hostel is great, close to the metro, and enables you to visit the whole of Paris by foot. If you are a traveller who likes to save money by not eating out, it's not great, the hostel has no kitchen facilities, not even cutlery, for you to be able to prepare something. Breakfast is good, however the staff there are horrible. I had experienced 3 women working there, one of which was very nice and chatty, the other 2 rude, unhelpful, and intimidating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
A PERFECT LOCATION, GOOD BREAKFAST... THANK YOU ! Hope to see you soon, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL

86%

Excellent location, courteous staff, clean rooms with bed and linen. bathroom and toilets were good too. Decent breakfast. No issues for security and opened 24 hours. My stay was with 9 bed room and it was not cramped space. Male and female rooms are separate, but sharing common bath rooms. Only thing i suggest is to operate lift. difficult to carry luggage if one get top most floor.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
EXCELLENT LOCATION, PERRFECT STAFF, CLEAN ROOMS, GOOD FACILITIES.... THANK YOU... Hope the see you soon, THE LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL

54%

The staff was not so helpful, except at the reception. at breakfest they were awful! Toilletes were dirty and there were only two plugs to charge cellphones from 10 people in the rooms. although the location was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS FOR THE HELPFULL STAFF & GREAT LOCATION 2 blocks away to LOUVRE MUSUEM... facilities are cleaned 2 times per day, but for sure we can't gurantee the way of life of your roomade... SORRY... Hope to see you soon, Regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL

74%

The staff were friendly and the location was awesome. The breakfast was also great...included coffee/tea/hot chocolate, fresh oranges, toast, pound cake, cereals, juice, yogurt, cheese... The blankets and the bathroom facilities seemed a little old but at least they were clean. The building itself was old and my room didn't have electiricity for the night for some reason. I would still recommend this hostel though, for the excellent location and the breakfast.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the FRIENDLY STAFF, AWESOME LOCATION, GREAT BREAKFAST, CLEAN FACILITIES... for the FIRST, the OLDEST and the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of the city... Hope to see you soon, Regards

60%

The location is fab. That's it. Nothing better than location.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
"THE LOCATION IS FABULOUS"... thank you, it's all we pretend for the first, the oldest and the BEST LOCATED youth hostel of the city, with just the necessary : BUNK BEDS, NO LIFT, NO KITCHEN, FACILITIES TO SHARE on each FLOOR... BUT : - OPEN 24 H NON STOP - FREE LINEN, BLANCKET & PILLOW - FREE CITY MAPS - FREE FRENCH EARLY BREAKFAST - LOCKERS FOR 2 EUROS PER USE, - WI-FI 2 Euros for 3 hours, - FREE WI-FI in our BAR at the corner !

63%

The location is very good, just next to Louvre and Line 1 metro station. The shower room is terrible, no place to hang the towel. ABOVE ALL, THE MOST TERRIBLE IS I GOT BED BUG THERE!!!!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS FOR THE VERY GOOD LOCATION next to LOUVRE and Line 1 metro station... SORRY, but we decide to kill the bed bugs friends you bring...

83%

Excellent location - blocks from the Louvre and other main tourist spots. Wifi is not free, but there are several nearby cafes that have wifi if necessary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"Excellent location - blocks from the Louvre and other main tourist spots." THANKS A LOT, WE DON'T PRETEND MORE for THE BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL of THE CITY : simple, basic, with just the necessary... Our CAFE just at the corner of the hostel got FREE WI-FI aslo... Regads

51%

Literally a street down from the louvre and a major RER station châtelet les halles. Come prepared knowing that its a no frills hostel then you'll be fine. Still, actually arriving at the hostel was jarring. No room security- 1 key per room so anybody can enter. no wifi signal in the room, only lobby must pay for it! Nice view out of the room's little French balcony onto the street. delicious cheap bakery a few shops down. great for those on a budget.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECTLY LOCATED... EIFFEL LOBBY... FRENCH BALCONY... a SIMPLE, BASIC youth hostel with JUST THE NECESSARY... all we prented (as a full security even if we are in the saffest district of the city, we've got a 24 hour staff, camera control, resident card acces.... for the respect of your roomade Wi-Fi works only in the lobby since 3 euros for 2 hours, or FREE WI-FI in our bar at the CORNER...) Regards

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(44 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback