Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained


531 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 69%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 59%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


Great location and it was good for one night but any longer than that would have been bad. No wifi at the hostel made it very difficult to plan for the trip

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the "GREAT LOCATION"... the BEST ALL OVER PARIS CITY : in the 1st district of PARIS a few meters closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM.... As informed : SIMPLE & BASIC FACITLITIES... in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS with Wi-Fi since 3 Euros in the lobby or FREE WI-FI in our bar just at the corner... Hope to see you soon & best regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL


The one key per room didn't seem to be very efficient and left me feeling a bit insecure about myself.

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECT LOCATION + VERY GOOD STAFF & CLEANLINESS... One resident card per person + 1 key per room our reality.... Lockers at disposall for 2 Euros per use, if needed, Regards, The BVJ


I had a wonderful stay. The room was clean, breakfast was fantastic and location was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for all... You fully understand what we pretend to be, what we are : A SIMPLE & BASIC HOSTEL... THE BEST LOCATED... with a good FREE EARLY BREKFAST... stricly reserved for STUDENTS, TEACHERS, SCHOOL GROUPS & YOUTH TRAVELLERS who are not so precious !


They need to increasing plug points in the room. Only one charging point in the entire room for 8 people. Location is good and convenient. Close to Louvre museum.

Owner Comment (Hide)
80 % rated for LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL... the best located of Paris... Thanks a lot for the perfect location & atmosphere, very good value, staff & cleanliness... We hope to see you soon in the LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL, Best regards, The LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL... P.S. : We well notice your point on plugs, we are working on it...


I liked a lot of this hostel, but a didn't like paid to use wifi. Becouse others hostel, i didn't pay for wifi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
86 % RATED thanks a lot for the PERFETC LOCATION, STAFF & CLEANLINESS... Wi-Fi since 3 euros in the lobby... FREE Wi-Fi in our bar just at the corner of the hostel, Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL


Great hostel. Clean, friendly staff, great location


I was in 8-bed dorm. The room has more space between beds than 4-bed dorm. Breakfast ends at 9.15am which is quite early since most of the time people are so tired from travelling and wanna get more sleep. Also the cheak-out time is 9am, which is too early too! The location is good. It is near metro station and in a walking distance from Lourve museum and also Notre Dame catherdal. By the way, what is bad about this hostel is its bathrooms. They dont even have a space to put ur stuff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the VERY WELL LOCATED HOSTEL walking distance from LOUVRE MUSUEM, NOTRE DAME CATHEDRALL... As informed, as confirmed 2 times by mail : FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST from 7:15 till 9:15... check-out on the day of departure before 9:30 am... if wished just pay a daly use to stay longer in your room, if not a FREE OPEN SPACE FOR LUGAGE with lockers is 24h non stop at your full disposall, Regards, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL


It was comfortable with clean rooms and adorably French. But it's bare minimum--don't expect anything extra. If you value a hot shower with good water pressure, this place isn't for you. It's just a few minutes from the Louvre and Sienne, but use the metro if you need to get to/from Gare Nord. I would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the CONFORTABLE PLACE + CLEAN ROOMS in our SIMPLE and BASIC hostel & for sure the BEST LOCATED... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !


There is only advantage about location in the city center. Others are worst than others hostel in the world, even in small city. They should renovate all things in the hostel, especially bathrooms (shelf is necessary in bath room), restrooms, plugs and WIFI. So they can increase rent rate in appropriate cost that should be acceptable. All of guests who lived in the same room with me said that in the similar way "this is the worst hostel where they ever stayed".

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS, with simple & basic facilities.... FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST.... Wi-Fi in the lobby for 2 Euros, FREE WI-FI in our bars at the corner of the Hostel.... Hope to see you soon in a better mood... The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !


It´s like the enjoy by giving a bad service. Yes, the write all the conditions of the hostel, but still would be not that hard improve a little theyr service to give a better experience to the travelers. The location was good but considering the bad service i would rather to walk 15 to the Louvre Museum than stay again in this hostel.


Before booking bare in mind that check out is before 9:30 and breakfast is before 9:15. I got to breakfast 9:18 and didn't even want to give a mandarin. This place is in the best location but they just offer a bed to sleep, don't expect anything else.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. As informed on Hostelworld micro web site, as confirmed 2 times by mail we serve free breakfast from 07:15 till 09:15 ; regular check out on the day of departure before 09:30 am or pay a daily use as an extra charge ! Hope to see you soon in the best located hostel of Paris ! The Bvj Louvre Hostel, Paris


try to train your staffs to be able to introduce the city or help the guests to point the direction to some places.


My friend and I stayed here for just the one night, primarily because of the central location and value for money , but we were pleasantly surprised with the hostel, especially after having read some negative reviews and the honest hostel description. Certainly it is basic, but it was immaculately clean, with friendly staff, nice dorms and clean linen, and a great free breakfast. There's no wifi, but the hostel points this out. All in all, a positive experience - recommended :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
97 % RATED : thanks a lot for the CENTRAL LOCATION + VALUE FOR MONEY + HONEST DESCRIPTION of our BASIC LOUVRE Youth Hostel "immaculately clean, with friendly staff, nice dorms and clean linen, and a great free breakfast." & as INFORMED with Wi-Fi since 3 Euros in the lobby... FREE WI-FI in any bar, museum, public garden, a block closed to the LOUVRE Youth Hostel... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE YOUTH HOSTEL reserved for real open mind Youth Travellers who are not so precious !


Great hostel for the price!

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% SATISFIED....THANKS A FOR FOR OUR "GREAT PROPERTY"... with a PERFECT LOCATION + OPEN 24H NON STOP & reserved for real youth travellers who are not so precious : SIMPLE & BASIC facilities, bunk beds in a single sex dorm room to share with free fresh linen changed on 1st request, private facilities to share on each floor, 5 flors, no lift, no public kitchen, no laundry in the hostel but a few meters closed, no hair dryer, Wifi since 2 Euros, for free in any bar, museum, garden at the corner !


totally bad hostel, This is the most bad hostel I have never seen. The staff is not nice, not helpful. The room is dirty, and all the things is not user friendly. only one charger in room. And no lift, no room key for person ,I am very angry to stayed in this hostel for 2 night. never come back to this hostle, really really bad

Owner Comment (Hide)
It seems YOU MAKE THE WRONG CHOICE !!! Staff was just the miror of you you are : SORRY... and next time PLEASE READ YOU RENT : as presented, as confirmed "THE BEST LOCATED hostel closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM... where you rent A BED in a single sex dorm room to share, with BUNK BEDS ONLY, a resident card per person, one ley per room and NO LIFT, NO PUBLIC KITCHEN ACCES, NO PRIVATE LAUNDRY, NO FREE Wi-FI... multiplugs, adaptators, charger to sale at the reception desk... Regards,


Clean with a great location. Museums galore and it is just a few blocks from a quite major restaurant/shoping area. Not touristy, so be sure to know french or be patient. We would deffinatly stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for our CLEAN & GREAT LOCATED hostel... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !


Very well located (walking distances to grocery stores, several subway lines, coffee places), the rooms are basic but it's a good quality price ratio. The atmosphere is quiet there (the common area are not designed in a way you get very social) but if you stay in dormitory, you get to meet nice people. Incl. breakast. Although very early, it is quite good for the price.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS... with as pretend " basic rooms" + A GOOD FREE EARLY FRENCH BREAKFAST... Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !


Do not stay here!!! Here are some reasons why: Staff are rude and unhelpful especially the receptionist! You have to pay for Internet and it can only be used in the lobby Showers are on a 30 second timer, are not on your room and there are 2 dirty showed for the whole floor Only 1 power point in a room for 8 people No lockers in room to keep items safe Toilet light didn't work and staff wouldn't replace it Difficult to find as the street is not on Paris maps Rooms are old and dirty

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are not made for you SORRY. PLEASE NEXT TIME JUST READ WHAT YOUR RENT : a bed + a free early breakfast in the BEST LOCATED HOSTEL of PARIS closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM, with WI-FI since 3 euros for 2 hours in the lobby & FREE WI-FI for drink in our bars at he corner of the hostel ; sure with 5 till 8 showers per floor on both side of each corridor we choosed to save water ; mulitplugs, adaptators, chargers to sale at the reception desk ; lockers just behind the reception desk for 2 Euros per use


Yes,good location and breakfast, the room is clean. But the bathroom is dirty ,need to improve

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for all : GOOD LOCATION + GOOD BREAKFAST + CLEAN ROOMS... even if the are cleaned times per day, we can't give any guaranty on the way of life of your roomade... SORRY Hope to see you soon, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL !


Although we knew that the hostel doesn't have a free wi-fi, it was complicated due to some unexpected events that took place in Paris during our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
VERY GOOD SECURITY, LOCATION, STAFF, CLEANLINESS & VALUE... for BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL ! Thanks a lot, The BVJ LOUVRE HOSTEL ! P.S. : As presented, as confirmed Wi-Fi since 2 Euros for 3 Hours,

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)

View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback