X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Louvre Youth Hostel Reviews

20, Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, Paris, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
316 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 66%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 55%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Excellent location - blocks from the Louvre and other main tourist spots. Wifi is not free, but there are several nearby cafes that have wifi if necessary.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"Excellent location - blocks from the Louvre and other main tourist spots." THANKS A LOT, WE DON'T PRETEND MORE for THE BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL of THE CITY : simple, basic, with just the necessary... Our CAFE just at the corner of the hostel got FREE WI-FI aslo... Regads

51%

Literally a street down from the louvre and a major RER station châtelet les halles. Come prepared knowing that its a no frills hostel then you'll be fine. Still, actually arriving at the hostel was jarring. No room security- 1 key per room so anybody can enter. no wifi signal in the room, only lobby must pay for it! Nice view out of the room's little French balcony onto the street. delicious cheap bakery a few shops down. great for those on a budget.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
PERFECTLY LOCATED... EIFFEL LOBBY... FRENCH BALCONY... a SIMPLE, BASIC youth hostel with JUST THE NECESSARY... all we prented (as a full security even if we are in the saffest district of the city, we've got a 24 hour staff, camera control, resident card acces.... for the respect of your roomade Wi-Fi works only in the lobby since 3 euros for 2 hours, or FREE WI-FI in our bar at the CORNER...) Regards

71%

best location ever! Right by the louvre. Showers sucked, but that is expected from a hostel. Bed were actually comfortable. breakfast sucked, but the

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
" THE BEST LOCATION EVER + CONFORTABLE BEDS " THANK YOU, + A FREE FRENCH EARLY BREAKFAST with : tea, coffee, chocolat, hot milk, orange juice, apple juice, yogurt, fruit salad, 2 types of cereals, biscottes, american bread, cakes, fresh french daily bread of the baker, 2 types of terrine, butter, 7 flavours of jam, honey, nutella.... sorry we can't do better,

66%

The location and staff were outstanding, it's just a shame that the hostel is in quite a poor state and not having wifi in the rooms is quite annoying.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT STAFF & LOCATION... 4 rooms 1 suite already reniew... after comments from few people on naughty night internet user : FREE WI-FI only in our bar just at the corner... Hope to see you soon, Regards

89%

I loved it here and would recommend it and even stay there again!! Awesome location and met amazing people there! No evavator was a little annoying and the showers were a littlw fruatrating but i didnt care! I was walking distance to everything and the staff were so helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
"AWSOME LOCATION + AMAZING PEOPLE + HELPFULL STAFF ..." THANK you.. as pretend... as confirmed "THE FIRST, THE OLDEST, THE BEST LOCATED and a bit old school..." Regards

69%

It's a good hostel. Sure you don't have the ameneties of a hotel, but you're not paying for one...

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the "GOOD HOSTEL" & the BEST LOCATED of the city...

43%

Had 3 reservations for 7 people, but emailed them asking if we could be in the room. They said they would do that. We got there, and they were trying to split our groups up. Finally, after a while of waiting, they put us in a 9 person room and gave us our key. The key didn't work. We went downstairs, and they gave us the master key to the whole place--makes you feel safe right. The light over the sink was out, and there was one plug for 9 people. You also have to pay for wifi. Don't stay here.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS TO CONFIRM that we gave you, what you asked ! 1/ For sure we just rent beds in rooms to share, 2/ For sure we negver guaranty the type of room, 3/ For sure a double key is not a master, 3/ For sure Wi-Fi works only in the lobby and is charged 3 Euros for 2 hours, 4/ FREE Wi-Fi, only in our bar, just at the corner, JUST REMIND : for a 5 stars Palace service, you make the wrong choice !

63%

An expensive hostel compared to the others I stayed at during my trip, and you could ONLY PAY CASH! :C The location was really good, close to the Louvre and shopping! However, with only one key to the dorm and nowhere to store your luggage safely, security was not their forte. The personnel spoke poor/no English, which I feel is unacceptable at a hostel with international guests. The beds and facilities looked clean and served their purpose. The free breakfast was okay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
"THE LOCATION WA REALY GOOD, close to the LOUVRE and shopping... with clean beds and facilities and a GOOD FREE EARLY BREAK FAST"... we don't pretend more... Regards

80%

There is no free wifi in the hostel. They do have paid wifi, which is kind of expensive, that doesn't work well in the rooms. There were only two electrical sockets in the room and charging phones was a really compatitive sport. Apart from that, my stay was very pleasant. The staff was polite and helpfull. The accomodations are basic, but nice. The breakfast was decent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK FOR THE "PLEASANT STAY" in the BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL (...) "THE POLITE & HELPFULL STAFF" (...) "THE BASIC ACCOMODATION with a decent FREE EARLY BREAKFAST" as we pretend ! For sure as we present on the micro-web site, as we confirmed by mail, Wi-Fi works only in the lobby and is charged 3 Euros for 2 hours + FREE Wi-Fi in our bar just at the corner, Hope to see you soon, Regards

49%

This hostel is not like any other I've ever stayed, and not in a good way. The staff was very serious and not welcoming. They were extremely strict about coming in and out. The atmosphere was completely different from typical youth hostels. The day I checked out there were about 50 young children throughout their lobby staying their from a school trip or something. There wasn't wifi available, either, which travelers often need at their hostels to plan for future travels. Overall disappointing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
As we present on the micro-web site, as we confirmed by mail : our hostel even is THE BEST LOCATED, is steak a very simple and basic place intended for students, teachers, and youth travellers from 15 till 35 years-old. For the service of a 5 stars Palace, the silence of a church, or a romantic honey-moon… Honestly, you make the wrong choice ! SORRY

86%

I wish there were elevators. I had my room all the way to the top and it gets very tiring carrying your luggae up there. Otherwise, great!

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for 86 % statisfied in the BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL of PARIS, but steal very SIMPLE and very BASIC with JUST THE NECESSARY : OPEN 24H NON STOP, NO LIFT, NO KITCHEN, BUNK BEDS ONLY...

77%

great location, 24 hour reception, nice breakfast included. Quite a huge building, showers not on every floor. All in all a good stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the "GREAT LOCATION + 24 HOUR RECEPTION + NICE FREE EARLY BREAKFAST" for a "GOOD SHORT STAY" in the real city center, in front of LOUVRE MUSEUM Regards

60%

The hostel is in an excellent location and close by to many convenient sites in Paris. I was disappointed by the "key system" where only one key is assigned to a room and the first person within a room who comes to the hostel gets the key. If they are no where to be found and they haven't opened the door you will hunt for them, or keep checking at the front desk. Also, the "luggage room" has no security whatsoever as it is just a big room. There are lockers that don't fit regular luggage.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK you for the "EXCELLENT LOCATION close by to many convenient sites in Paris" LOUVRE MUSEUM, KING ROYAL PALACE GARDENS.... As we pretend, a FREE OPEN SPACE FOR LUGAGE just behind the reception desk, and lockers for values for 2 Euros per use, Regards

60%

Could a place without kitchen and friendly staff being called a hostel?

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
AS PRETEND : OPEN 24 H NON STOP, NO LOCK OUT, NO CURFEW, a SIMPLE & BASIC PLACE intended for students, teachers and youth travelers from 15 till 35 years old, with BUNK BEDS, NO LIFT, NO KITCHEN, FREE CITY MAPS, FREE Wi-Fi in the lobby or in our 24H NON STOP SOFT BAR, FREE OPEN SPACE for lugage... for a 5 stars Palace service, the silence of a church or romantic honey moon... you made the wrong choice ! Just forget us.

60%

The rooms were clean and comfortable and clean although the showers dribbled and my windows didnt shut. The location was excellent especially for the price, if your looking for a central no thrills place to lay your head in Paris then this is the place for you.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU for our "EXCELLENT CENTRAL LOCATION + THE CLEAN & CONFORTABLE ROOMS" We don't pretend more, Thank you...

54%

Very expensive for a very basic hostel with unclean facilities and no atmosphere. The bathroom was flooded with dirty water all the time and just in general wasn't a place I wanted to be. The staff was overall unfriendly (did not help me disprove the stereotype that all french people are) and the wifi and lockers weren't free. However, the location was of course fabulous, very close to the Louvre. The breakfast in the morning also was worth getting up for.


51%

The atmosphere was unfriendly. An employee watched as you went into the breakfast area which was is included. Very akward. The shower handle needed to be pressed down for continous water flow or it would shut off. Wifi was not free. For the price it should have been a better quality all around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
For sure, all we pretend THE BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL in front of LOUVRE MUSEUM, but steal simple & basic. As worte, we've got a "WELCOME GUY" at the entrance of our restaurant where you must present your resident card for the FREE EARLY BREAKFAST served from 7:15 till 9:15. For sure, we choose to save the BLUE GOLD, and you have to press the button to have water. Wi-Fi in the lobby since 0,80 Euros per hour. FREE WI-FI in our bar at the corner of the Hostel. Regards

77%

Perfect location!! What can I say, if you want to see almost everywhere in Paris, this hostel is just for you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS for the PERFECT LOCATION ! All we pretend : THE BEST LOCATION, simple basic with just the strict necessary : BUNK BEDS, NO LIFT, NO KITCHEN, FREE LINEN, FREE CITY MAPS, WI-FI in the lobby since 0.80 Euros per hour or free wi-fi in our bar at the corner...

40%

I am normally not a negative person, and rarely leave a comment after my visit to a place. I'll sum up my remarks and you'll judge yourself: - One key for a room of 6 people. - Very small showers and toilets - no Wifi, you have to pay 3€ for 2 hours, 5 for 4 hours(not in the rooms, only at the hall/reception) - Lights are switched of at the hall/reception at 10PM - groups of sometimes 50 to 80 persons come to the hostel. Feeling of a train station. - No room service. Never again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
YOU MADE THE WRONG CHOICE, as we pretend "FOR a 5 STARS PALACE, 24H ROOM SERVICE, THE SILENCE OF A CHURCH : FORGET US" 1/ As you wrote, up class for the same price in a room of 6 people instead of a dorm of 10. How can you complain ! 2/ Please read what you rent, THE BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL 2 min' away from LOUVRE MUSEUM, Wi-Fi in the lobby since 0.80 Euros per hour, or FREE WI-FI in our bar at the corner of the Hostel.

63%

Pay for wifi, breakfast is over early, checkout is 9:30, which can be quite early some days, 1 key per room, overpriced, in an overpriced section of town. Although I still haven't found that other, reasonably priced section of town.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
AS WE PRETEND, AS OUR REALITY is : - THE BEST LOCATED YOUTH HOSTEL, in THE BEST DISTRICT of the city, just a few meters closed to LOUVRE MUSEUM, - FREE EARLY BREAKFAST from 7'15 till 9'15, - WI-FI IN THE LOBBY since 0,80 Euros per hour, - CHECK OUT 09:30

« first « Prev 1 2
(26 results)


View all Paris Hostels

Please give us your feedback