Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lucky D's

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.0
Lucky D's Located at 615 8th Avenue, , San Diego.
Lucky D's
USA
San Diego California 92101 615 8th Avenue
85% 1229
32.7116780 -117.1574020
Lucky D's
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Awesome place, very clean, very fun decor. Loved how nice and accommodating staff was when I had an airhead moment and booked the wrong night. Will definitely stay again when passing through.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you much for leaving some great feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff could resolve the booking error. Do come and see us next time your here! Kind regards, Polly

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.1

Staying here was a very unique experience a warm welcome was followed up buy meaningful inquiries as to how my research was going at the nearby San Diego City Central Library. The interest in my research was most welcome. I especially liked the interaction with "volunteers" from around the world and travellers from distant lands. The "volunteer" program was a unique, positive experience in multilingual, multiculturalism. Overall, this visit was an excellent "hostelling" experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the multicultural living experience! We hope you can come and see us again soon! Kind regards, Polly

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
15th Oct 2016
8.6

Basic breakfast like most US hostels. Bagel fruit tea coffee. Lots of street noise but can get free ear plugs at reception. Clean rooms and bathrooms. Mattresses probably old. Mine was quite dipped. Kind of far walking distance but not as issue if you have time to wonder around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback! We have just finished replacing all the mattresses in the hostel. It can seem a little far to places like balboa park but we have always have public transport information at the reception if needed. We hope you come back and visit soon. Kind regards, Polly

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
9.1

For the money you are paying the hostel was class, right in the centre of the Gaslamp region you couldn't ask for anything else! Staff are friendly and approachable. Will definitely stay there again next time I'm in San Diego!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We really do hope you get the chance to visit again! Kind regards, Polly

15th Oct 2016
9.7

Very great spirit, great location and awesome staff. The place was clean and really great! definitely recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! We hope you can return soon! kind regards, Polly

  • frakk47
  • Hungary, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
9.4

Absolutely fabulous

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Come and see us again soon! Kind regards, Polly

23rd Sep 2016
6.6

The big guy at the desk, please punch him the face :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Sep 2016
10.0

Such a warm, homely atmosphere created in this hostel by the staff who are resident there. Francy & Looci made me feel right at home ☺ There is always an event being organised by the staff. Lots of chill rooms in the hostel. Take the purple blueberry bagles at breakfast. They are amaze.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the great feedback! I will pass this onto Francy and Looci! We hope you can come and stay with us again soon! Kind regards, Polly

15th Sep 2016
4.3

Bathrooms frequently out of toilet paper, spoiled drinks found in the community fridge, dark hallways, and a not-so-friendly staff, except for Lena who was very friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the feedback. The bathrooms and fridges are cleaned out often, on busy days the toilet paper can go a little quicker but we are more than happy to restock it any time if you notice it's gone but our staff do check regularly throughout the day. I am sorry the staff were not friendly,this is unlike them but I will pass the good feedback onto Leina. Kind regards, Polly

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.4

Very nice place, rooms with only 4 people, very clean, has laundry service, great breakfast, very nice stuff. We stayed there for a few days and were very sorry to leave. Really loved this place. The location was also very good, about 1-2 blocks from a lot of restaurants and bars.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are so glad you loved us so much! Come back for another visit again soon! Kind regards, Polly

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.