Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lucky D's

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,187 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Lucky D's Located at 615 8th Avenue, , San Diego.
Lucky D's
USA
San Diego California 92101 615 8th Avenue
83% 1187
32.7116780 -117.1574020
Lucky D's
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Aug 2016
6.9

お部屋や設備は文句なしです。無料の朝食も美味しくいただきました。スタッフもフレンドリーでした。ただ、夜の騒音は酷いですね。夜ゆっくりしたい人、翌日朝早い人には勧めません。深夜3時くらいまで、バーと若者の大声、騒音で走る車の音がうるさく、朝6時頃にはゴミの回収の音(小さな音ではない)で起こされ、寝不足の毎日でした。そんな雰囲気なので、部屋のゲストも大きな声で喋ったり。他のホステルは、静かにするように張り紙とかありますが、ここは楽しさ優先という感じでした。

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.1

Reading the previous reviews I was worried about staying here. This hostel is perfect except for the heat in the rooms. Previous complaints also state about noise but this is solely because of Windows needing to be open for air circulation. Hostel offers a usb fan for a $20 deposit which doesn't help things. A couple of big fans or AC and everything would be great. Staff, facilities and location are all fantastic. Would stay definitely again, and maybe buy a $15 fan from Walgreens for the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
9.4

Lucky ds has one of the most social common room I have been in. All the staff are great although could do with being more commanding when trying to get a rowdy drunk common room full of people out. Its like a family there and everyone is invited.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • loocisohma8713
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.1

I only stayed one night here but I would have stayed longer - if only they'd had a vacancy! Really liked the vibe of this place. Good kitchen & social areas, the activity list looked good. Breakfast was defo better than most places. The girly wash room with shampoo, hair dryers etc is a great idea, perfect for those travelling light! Good cleanliness. Bad points: Not many bathrooms considering the amount of guests (2 per floor) and they should probably think about extending check out to 11.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for a lovely review. Hopefully you can make it back some time to participate in a few of our nightly events. Safe travels. Michelle

  • azw2008
  • Saudi Arabia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2016
6.3

The room was dirty and very hot. Location was very good. Sometimes you have to wait for 30 min to use the bathroom. I would not come back to this place unless they have A/C's

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry that you found the room dirty. We take cleanliness very seriously and hate to hear that we did not exceed your expectations. Unfortunately our historic buildings has some limitations such as the small bathrooms and no A/C. But the lack of these facilities allows us to keep our nightly rates low. Michelle

5th Aug 2016
6.6

Excellent location, helpful staff, nice common areas(some more thorough cleaning required). This is a big place with lots f rooms, but not enough showers and washrooms. My room was cramped, dirty, and very very hot at night. Outside of the window were a number of large very noisy air conditioner condensers- sleeping was difficult. The bed was very uncomfortable- very thin mattress.Goid for young party minded folks.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. We are in the process of replacing all the mattresses and hope to be finished by the end of the year. Our historic building has some limitations but we do our best to try and make up with our fun atmosphere and friendly staff which I am happy to hear you appreciated. Michelle

  • katemstone1967
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 40 reviews
27th Jul 2016
10.0

I have never seen a hostel with it's own cash machine! They've really got everything you need, great location, comfy beds, fun activities. Staying anywhere in the Gaslamp district is noisy so if you're a light sleeper, consider staying in a different part of the city.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for such a lovely review. So nice to hear that you think we have everything! There is definitely a lot of things on our wish list that we are trying to add or improve on as we strive to be the best we can be. Best of luck with your future travels. Michelle

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.0

Overall great place. The one shower I used was a bit small, but great kitchen & community rooms. I'd stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our historic building is definitely has some "quirks" but glad you were able to manage and appreciate our many common spaces. Hope you were able to join us on one of our nightly events and get to see some of San Diego with the Lucky D crew! Michelle

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Jul 2016
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay here. Though we had a little problem with a bunk mate whom broke the bed(yes, that is possible). The only true issue we had was finding 8th street from the trolley station, since you have to walk a bit up on 5th street in order to find 8th.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are a hidden gem! Sorry you had difficulties, we will look at rewording our directions on our website. I know you enjoyed our nightly events. Was great seeing you out each night. Safe travels. Michelle

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Very noisy at night specially on week end since there is a club in the same building. Cleanliness ok. Budget hostel if youre mainly in town to party, otherwise would recommend going somewhere else.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Our central city location does mean that it can get noisy. We try to help out with our free earplugs and the cheap drinks with your room key at the bar downstairs. It is nice being so close to everything though. Hopefully you were able to get out and enjoy the city! Michelle

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.