Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lucky D's

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sweetboxer
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
8.0

I stayed here whilst training at the wild card gym and had a good time. The staff are friendly and helpful especially the Irish lad. The atmosphere was great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
8.0

Nice central location. The room was clean, nice beds. Lots of common areas to relax (reading room, tv room, kitchen). I didn't stay long, but I'd stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.9

Numerous events are (co-)organised by the crew and we participated to the NYE pub crawl, which was fun and rather well set up! The hostel is among the cheapest, although not cheap, and the location is just great for downtown strolling. You'll need to ride or have a car though to reach the shores but it's a short trip. Breakfast is included and well designed, hostel facilities are good enough and the hostel was cleaner than at first sight. Hostel crew is nice and open and made our stay enjoyable!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are so glad to hear you had a great NYE with us. We always strive to get our guests involved in one of our many activities and make them feel part of the Lucky D's Family. We hope you will come and see us again.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Dec 2016
10.0

Stayed here for New Years. We had so much fun, the place was perfect for what we needed. Great location for going out in the Gaslamp Quarter, everyone who was staying at the hostel and the staff were outgoing, fun, and welcoming. Building is on the older side but they do a good job maintaining it and keeping it clean. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to leave us such positive feedback. It is great to hear our staff are doing an amazing job interacting with guests and also keeping the hostel clean. We look forward to seeing you again.

  • zanaduet
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Bravo great team!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel so welcome.

  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
10.0

Very good experience, I will recommond people to come if you don't drive. The public transit is very convenient to access most of the attractions. My friend and I like this place and the staff there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you had a great time. The downside to being in the heart of downtown is it can take some time to find parking. But the public transport around San Diego is world class. We hope you come and see us again soon.

  • Winniebago
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
9.1

The staff were very welcoming, they put on a perfect Christmas spread for the guests and even came out for drinks with us. The rooms were simplistic but comfortable and the hostel was very clean. The location was perfect for tourists and the price was good value

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the awesome review and for joining in with our christmas dinner. We aim to make everyone feel at home and during the holidays this is extra important. We hope you will come see us again.

18th Dec 2016
8.3

Pros: Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, good kitchen, comfortable beds, free breakfast, plenty of showers and bathrooms. Cons: Lockers a little small (could fit a backpack, but not a small suitcase). Also, I was there in winter, and the rooms could get cold at night. In terms of cleanliness, it was a mixed bag: On one hand, charts in every room note that they're cleaned multiple times a day. On the other hand, my room smelled a little bit of mildew.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad you enjoyed all the amenities we had to offer. We are sorry you were put in a room with a smaller locker. The majority of our rooms have large lockers that can easily fit a large suit case and carry on. We would have been glad to move you to one of those rooms.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
10.0

Awesome place, very clean, very fun decor. Loved how nice and accommodating staff was when I had an airhead moment and booked the wrong night. Will definitely stay again when passing through.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you much for leaving some great feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff could resolve the booking error. Do come and see us next time your here! Kind regards, Polly

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.1

Staying here was a very unique experience a warm welcome was followed up buy meaningful inquiries as to how my research was going at the nearby San Diego City Central Library. The interest in my research was most welcome. I especially liked the interaction with "volunteers" from around the world and travellers from distant lands. The "volunteer" program was a unique, positive experience in multilingual, multiculturalism. Overall, this visit was an excellent "hostelling" experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the multicultural living experience! We hope you can come and see us again soon! Kind regards, Polly

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.