Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lucky D's

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1288 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
7th May 2017
7.4

Lucky D's in located right in the Gas Lamp district and is close to the red line train. I was able to store some of my items in a small storage for the day, prior to checking in. They have larger storage lockers in the actual hostel room. The facility offers activities in the evenings. The dorm room is a shared, two bunk bed room, pretty small, but nice to have only 4 beds. There is a laundry room which is available for guests, as well as a fairly large kitchen facility.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Hope you enjoyed your stay, safe travels.

  • cheryl198620035903
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2017
6.0

Staff who work here live here so it feels like the over rule the place, specially the girls who were also so loud at breakfast time. The noise coming from the the bar directly below is just unbelievable, you can feel the vibrations from the sound system on your feet. We had to wait for the bar to close before we could go to bed. It's just a party hostel for kids. If you want to party all the time it's good if you want a bit of both or just sight seeing not good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

On weekends it can get a bit noisy at times with a local hotspot just below us—we provide courtesy earplugs at the front desk, and they do offer all of our guests a 15% discount, should they be open to joining in on the fun. As far as sightseeing, we try to offer a range of opportunities for our guests to explore the city and its surroundings; currently we are in the process of developing these even further, starting with our upcoming weekend biking brewery tours! But thank you for the feedback, we appreciate when people take the time to keep us informed of all aspects of their stay. Hopefully you’ll give us another go next time you’re in the area!

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Apr 2017
9.1

Good place to stay. Make sure you use the free earplugs supplied! The street is very noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Glad you enjoyed yourself! Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Had an awesome stay, would absolutely reccomend it😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the lovely feedback! Safe travels, come see us again next time you're back stateside.

6th Apr 2017
9.7

For staying right in Downtown San Diego and only two blocks away from Petco park, a Starbucks, many restaurants and a bargain grocery store.... this place was great!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for the great review! We pride ourselves on our great location in the heart of the Gaslamp Quarter, and it makes our day when guests love it too! Come stay with us again next time you're in town.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Apr 2017
8.3

Amazing ! Very clean . People were nice. Wish they would've had the activities that they say in the website like trips to Tijuana and shuttles to the beach. But other than that I'm a happy camper .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, thanks for the feedback! We stopped doing trips to Tijuana many years ago, but can link you up to great tour opportunities to explore our neighbors across the border. Would you mind letting us know where you saw this listed? Thanks again for a great stay! Safe travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
9.4

Great place, amazing location, staff was nice, facilities were great. Parking garages all around, nice people, would recommend to anyone!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback, we loved having you here! Come see us again next time you're in San Diego.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
8.6

Of the half dozen hostels ive been too this is by far the best. Super cool trendy young vibe going on. If you are traveling alone you could definitely meet some new people with their Karaoke night and happy hour!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the great review, we loved having you here! We keep a full social calendar here and have a different event planned for every night of the week, though Sunday night Karaoke is a real fan favorite! Above all, we believe it's the guests and staff who are responsible for the great energy around here. Thanks for the response, come see us again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
6.6

The location was great, the staff were all nice, but the room was not clean. You could tell that the room was not used for months, and the bed sheets were dusty. You could see the dust on the floor, and the room smelled like an old attic (it's a hostel after all). The communal bathrooms were clean tho; they were cleaned three times a day. I think I just got unlucky and got the worst private room. I paid about $97 including deposit and I think with that money I could've stayed at a decent hotel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So glad you enjoyed our location and team members! The rooms are cleaned every day by our staff, and the bathrooms are cleaned three times a day as well; we try to keep the windows open for fresh air and sunlight, and occasionally it can get a little dusty from all the construction nearby. We take the cleanliness of our hostel very seriously and are extremely gratified when guests take the time to let us know if something is not quite up to snuff, so we can hope to remedy the situation as quickly as possible. Thanks for the feedback!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
8.3

I only stayed one night. It was a nice hostel in a great location. Friendly staff, good rooms and facilities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Our location is definitely the best for seeing all of our beautiful city. I hope you are able to return with a little more time so we can show you around some more. Best, Michelle

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.