Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lucky Family Hostel

  • No. 12 Xinsi Hutong, Dongsi Shier Tiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 867 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 867 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jessicamdicarlo3286
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
7.7

It was easy to get around the city from here. Would have liked it much better if there was a nice common area. The current one is dark and indoors. The hostel was good as a place to come and go from, but never I hung out there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2017
5.1

The room was secure, although the free luggage storage was not. The location is pretty good to visit any site in Beijing. The staff did not speak English very well, which made it hard to communicate. There was a lack of atmosphere or community there, not sure if it was because I wasnt Chinese but I did not see many other guests. The rooms could also use some cleaning. Overall it was a decent place but I would not go back and wouldnt say it was anything extrordinary

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • ahcarr20107368
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
8.9

Staff was lovely and very helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2017
9.1

We stayed at Lucky Family Hostel for 5 days and we had a great time! The staff is very friendly and helpful with anything we asked (English of most staff members is good). They have two small common rooms to hang out in and cheap beer on tap, as well as selling cheap dinner, coffee and teas and other things. We stayed in a twin room which was quite spacious and had an air-conditioning and our own bathroom. The location is very good: in a nice quiet hutong and super close to the metro!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
7.7

The locker in my room could be yanked open. Other than that, friendly staff! location great as it is just 2 min from the subway. The street surrounding is filled with resturants, and there is a gym just 2 min away as well!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Apr 2017
7.7

I arrived very very early in the morning but the reception was still open- which was great! The stuff was really helpful and friendly. The location in the Hutongs was really nice and with the directions provided it was quite easy to find. However, the matrasses are really thin which makes it quite uncomfortable to sleep, although I am used to Chinese beds. The bathroom ensuit was not in a good condition although cleaned on a daily basis

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Apr 2017
10.0

The owner is a really nice and funny guy. He gave me free sigarettes! There are 2 crazy ladies near the hostel though. 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2017
6.9

Great location, easy to find. Very friendly staff, some of whom speak a lot of English and have great knowledge of how to get to various attractions. Bed was the hardest I've slept on in China and for me, personally, led to a lot of back pain. My girlfriend was fine with it. Very loud metal staircase outside our room (206), which people traversed all hours of the day. Ensuite has no separate shower bit, so very hard to not tread water all over the room. Cleanliness left a lot to be desired.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Mar 2017
5.4

Great location. Nice staff. Bathroom was disgusting - I had to ask for it to be cleaned. Students live in the dorms so every morning we were woken up with ongoing alarms & then they took ages and were so noisy (hairdryer every morning at 6am)We suggested to the manager that students should be in a separate dorm, I hope this has been actioned as it really ruined our stay. Manager wanted to store our bags in the corridor(!) as store room was 'full', after a long discussion they made room for them

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Mar 2017
7.4

The hostel has an excellent location, close to the subway. The staff is very helpful and friendly and some speak a good amount of English. It was nice to meet the other guests in the common room. The dorms could have been cleaner, especially the floors and the bathrooms. However, the bedding was clean and the beds were comfortable. Highly recommend this hostel, book in advance as it's pretty popular!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.