X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2125 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place to stay as it was very chilled out, good vibes and colourful. Nice to be away from all the activity in the city.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

What an amazing place!!! We stayed three nights and wish we could of stayed more. The best hostel we have ever stayed in. Staff so friendly and helpful. Free table tennis. Kayaks to hire. Breakfast is also really good! Food items from reception reasonably priced. best 3 days of our travels so far!!


94%

This was a simply incredible hostel! The little campers you sleep in are cozy and adorable, the lake is beautiful, the location is a little off the beaten path but it is, without a doubt, worth the extra half hour it takes to get there. The staff was friendly and accommodating when our flight was delayed so we got in after midnight. I would highly recommend it!

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

A very unique place with great vibes and great people. Go here for a dose of nature and some chill time.


91%

Fantastic place, friendly staff and ridiculously comfy beds. Only downside is distance from the hostel to the city centre, but the hostel itself is so great that you quickly forget about this. Nearby lake is also stunning, especially at sunset. Highly recommended.


100%

Wow. What a great place. Stayed for two nights in the city center and two nights at lucky lake. Super nice staff, great rooms, all we needed was some better weather. Great place to unwind after being in so many big cities.


94%

The best place to chill and the staff were very cool and helpful. The view around the hostel was amazing and big thanks to the free shuttle, it makes things a lot easier. Definitely a must try place for teens

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Honestly, when choosing a hostel, location is everything, and that is a big thing Lucky Lake didn't have. It is a fifteen minute shuttle ride to the nearest station, and another 20 minute train ride into the city. I also struggled with fact that the trailers only have tiny source heaters, and Holland is COLD! We shivered the whole first few nights there. Positives, the staff is great, the hostel is unique and quirky, and people very friendly.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

I really had a great time a Lucky Lake ! It's clean and the staff is really nice. The only negative point would be that the wifi wasn't working on our cellphones (me included a bunch of other people) but there's some computers you can use and you're kind of far from the Amsterdam centre but it's really easy going to that point. The problem is you have to come back by midnight in you don't want to pay a cab 40 euros so you can't come back really late and the night life in Amsterdam is great.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great trip. Luck lakes was amazing.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% wow thanks!

80%

An ideal place to stay if you want to avoid the sometimes noisy heart of Amsterdam Very reliable shuttle service

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely, thank you.

94%

It was brilliant, we really enjoyed our stay here!! Only about a 5minute walk to the lake, facilities on site are great and the staff were really friendly and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review!

100%

It was a really pleasure to stay at the lucky lake: Its a kind of hippie campsite with fanciful caravans, comfortable beds and an especially, warm athmosphere. With uncomplicated shuttle plus metro it takes no more than 30 minutes to get to the town center. So we could "enter" Amsterdam and could have a peaceful camping at the same time - perfect combination!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow this is great! Thank you so much for staying it was a pleasure having the 4 of you:-)

89%

We went in familly during a week end to visit Amsterdam so we spend so much time in the "camping"; but the few hours we spend there were very appreciated. People from Lucky Lake Hostel are very friendly. The rooms, bathrooms and other accomodations are cleans. Special mention for the decoration of the caravans! That's a funny & cool place for living. To go to Amsterdam downtown, it's not complicate with the shuttles and metro (30min). Definitively a hotel to recommend !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your recommendation. We're glad you had a good stay.

97%

I love Lucky Lake! The location was not a problem at all they have a shuttle that goes to and from Holendrecht station (30mins from Ams Centrale), the place is so clean, there is a beautiful lake 5mins away from the hostel, the breakfast is great (vs others I have tried), the staff is helpful (I even asked them to print stuff for me). This place is just amazing.

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I fell inlove with this place. Just amazing.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Amazing review, thank you!

94%

Me and my girlfriend had such a great stay at lucky lake. I would recommend it to anyone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay!! Thanks for recommending us!

100%

Just perfect! Everything is super clean and they have a great free breakfast! This place is definetly one of a kind and everyone should stay here! Go to the lucky lake website and check it out!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Whoop Whoop!!! Thanks, we're really glad you had a good stay.

100%

Completely in LOVE with this hostel! It deserves more than a 100%! The location was beautiful and the free shuttle was a huge help (yes it's about 30 minutes from the city, but I won't deduct points from it because you should be aware it's away from the main part of AMS. But it's totally worth it trust me) the workers were super friendly and very helpful. And it was VERY clean. Can't wait to return! Please check this place out! You won't regret it! Already miss it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are soooo happy that you liked staying here. Thank you so much for leaving this lovely review. See you soon!

97%

Wonderful stay. Very appreciate of the kind staff and the atmosphere was fantastic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving a great review!

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(65 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback