X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2135 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

The best hostel I've ever stayed in! Love the common areas. You are going to meet so many cool people there. The smoking room was also very nice. The whole place’s got a friendly and cool vibe.


91%

It was just really great! The staff is very easy going and you have a free shuttle and can always call them. It's very nice to get out of the hectic city of amsterdam especially if you have been to amsterdam before and want a more relaxed stay. You can go kayaking or to another city like utrecht. The atmosphere is just great and it's really one of a kind.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

What an amazing place to stay! Stayed in Amsterdam for 3 nights to explore and stumbled across Lucky Lake and so pleased we did. We stayed in a 2 bed cabin and it was ideal for what we needed. The facilities are superb, clean and spacious kitchen area, clean and spotless bathrooms and toilets, great reception area, suoerb armosphere and having breakfast on a bus was fun. The staff are amazing and really helpful, always ensuring everyone and everything is going ok! Highly recommend!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU!!!

100%

Great place to stay as it was very chilled out, good vibes and colourful. Nice to be away from all the activity in the city.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
NICE thank you.

91%

Definitely coming back!

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What an amazing place!!! We stayed three nights and wish we could of stayed more. The best hostel we have ever stayed in. Staff so friendly and helpful. Free table tennis. Kayaks to hire. Breakfast is also really good! Food items from reception reasonably priced. best 3 days of our travels so far!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're always welcome to come back :-) Thanks for leaving a lovely review. Safe travels!

94%

This was a simply incredible hostel! The little campers you sleep in are cozy and adorable, the lake is beautiful, the location is a little off the beaten path but it is, without a doubt, worth the extra half hour it takes to get there. The staff was friendly and accommodating when our flight was delayed so we got in after midnight. I would highly recommend it!

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sweet! Thanks for recommending us.

100%

A very unique place with great vibes and great people. Go here for a dose of nature and some chill time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Whoohoo! 100% thanks we're very happy you liked Lucky Lake:-)

97%

I bounced from hostel to hostel through Europe for just over a month and this one was hands down the absolute best one! I had an amazing experience at this place and would highly recommend it. Very chill environment, beautiful country side to bike through, free ping pong and foosball, great people, kind and helpful staff, this place had it all.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
O wow what a fantastic review. We're very pleased that you think we're the best hostel you've stayed at, thank you.

91%

Fantastic place, friendly staff and ridiculously comfy beds. Only downside is distance from the hostel to the city centre, but the hostel itself is so great that you quickly forget about this. Nearby lake is also stunning, especially at sunset. Highly recommended.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic! thanks for staying.

100%

Wow. What a great place. Stayed for two nights in the city center and two nights at lucky lake. Super nice staff, great rooms, all we needed was some better weather. Great place to unwind after being in so many big cities.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes!!! Thank you for your appreciation. It's so nice to read such a nice review. Safe travels.

94%

The best place to chill and the staff were very cool and helpful. The view around the hostel was amazing and big thanks to the free shuttle, it makes things a lot easier. Definitely a must try place for teens

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome, we hope to welcome you back some day!

83%

Honestly, when choosing a hostel, location is everything, and that is a big thing Lucky Lake didn't have. It is a fifteen minute shuttle ride to the nearest station, and another 20 minute train ride into the city. I also struggled with fact that the trailers only have tiny source heaters, and Holland is COLD! We shivered the whole first few nights there. Positives, the staff is great, the hostel is unique and quirky, and people very friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
In spite of our location we're happy to know that you did like the hostel;-) On the booking site it's pretty clear that we are located outside the city. It takes a bit more effort to go to the city and back, in return you do get to stay in a relaxed and beautiful area. We're sorry to hear you were cold, wish you would let us know so we could provide you some extra blankets. Thank you for leaving us a truthful review.

83%

I really had a great time a Lucky Lake ! It's clean and the staff is really nice. The only negative point would be that the wifi wasn't working on our cellphones (me included a bunch of other people) but there's some computers you can use and you're kind of far from the Amsterdam centre but it's really easy going to that point. The problem is you have to come back by midnight in you don't want to pay a cab 40 euros so you can't come back really late and the night life in Amsterdam is great.

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you had a great time. Unfortunately we're having some some troubles with the WiFi, sorry about that. The last shuttle is at 1.30 am so party people have 2 options, the taxi for €40 or party the whole night and come back in the morning. Thanks for leaving this review. Party people, be aware of this please :-)

100%

Great trip. Luck lakes was amazing.

  • 14th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% wow thanks!

80%

An ideal place to stay if you want to avoid the sometimes noisy heart of Amsterdam Very reliable shuttle service

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely, thank you.

94%

It was brilliant, we really enjoyed our stay here!! Only about a 5minute walk to the lake, facilities on site are great and the staff were really friendly and helpful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your lovely review!

100%

It was a really pleasure to stay at the lucky lake: Its a kind of hippie campsite with fanciful caravans, comfortable beds and an especially, warm athmosphere. With uncomplicated shuttle plus metro it takes no more than 30 minutes to get to the town center. So we could "enter" Amsterdam and could have a peaceful camping at the same time - perfect combination!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow this is great! Thank you so much for staying it was a pleasure having the 4 of you:-)

71%

Good if you're looking for a more serene weekend in Amsterdam. This hostel is in the suburbs, so it is difficult if you want to stay out in the central area of Amsterdam without having to pay for a taxi or risk missing the shuttle bus. The free shuttle was a nice touch.


89%

We went in familly during a week end to visit Amsterdam so we spend so much time in the "camping"; but the few hours we spend there were very appreciated. People from Lucky Lake Hostel are very friendly. The rooms, bathrooms and other accomodations are cleans. Special mention for the decoration of the caravans! That's a funny & cool place for living. To go to Amsterdam downtown, it's not complicate with the shuttles and metro (30min). Definitively a hotel to recommend !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your recommendation. We're glad you had a good stay.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(72 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback