X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2358 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Lovely little place. The lake is a 5 min walk away which is pretty nice. The decor is well thought out and delightful, and there is a free shuttle bus to Holendrecht station which runs really regularly. From there you can get into central for a few euros. There are lots of private rooms so lots of groups (sometimes a downside for solo travellers?), but the dorms are nice to stay in and I met a few cool people (bear in mind I wasn't in the hostel much).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review. We don't allow groups over 6 people. We're glad you met nice people during your stay and had a good time. Safe travels!

97%

This hostel is great. The calm relaxed atmosphere is perfect after a day in the city I would say that the out of city location is a great asset to have. The staff were twiddly and helpful. No complaints from me. I look forward to reworking someday.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're very happy that you liked staying with us! Thanks for your review.

100%

Beautiful area 25 mins from Amsterdam central, perfect for a quieter place (or not, depending on where you spend your time) to relax after exploring the city. Staff is super friendly too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% thank you!!

91%

Best hostel we have stayed in so far. All the staff are very welcoming and are more than willing to help you out with anything. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Lucky Lake. Thanks team.

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're very welcome! Thank you too!

91%

Beautiful retreat from the city. A little out of the way, but the hostel is incredibly accommodating to get travellers in and out of the city with the free shuttle. Would be ideal for those staying in AMS for more than a few days, as your time does get eaten up by getting into town, and there's plenty to explore around the hostel itself that warrants a full day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us.

94%

Beautiful place. Clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff.


94%

I had the BEST time at Lucky Lake hostel. I wanted so badly to extend my stay. It is exactly as described/depicted. I was in the Pink Lady dorm. The beds were soooo comfy, and the dorms beautifully decorated. The bunk beds were custom made! The kitchen facilities were great. I made my own food easily. I rented a bike and went into the tiny town - so great! The facilities were super clean & spacious. Good breakfast. It was great to relax there for a few days. 100% recommended. I miss it already!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a lovely review, thank you!

91%

Lovely adorable little place. Be warned it isn't that close to the city centre but this is actually the best part about it! They do a free shuttle regularly that meets the train and the train isn't expensive so it's very easy to get in and out of the city itself. The caravans are simply lovely and the breakfast is almost a buffet! Lots of bike and water activities around the hostel and the staff are just wonderful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sweet review, thank you!

91%

Loved: Staff, caravans. communal kitchen, regularity of shuttles to station, directions to find the shuttle, music at the hostel, lounge and sitting areas, hammocks... didn't love: imperfect/incomplete/slow wifi, but this isn't out of the ordinary in Europe. Great staff. Loved this place. Would go back in a heartbeat. And you can't assure perfect facilities in an outdoor place, but they do a really good job of keeping things working and clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your compliments. We're very happy that you had a good stay! Unfortunately we sometime do have slow WiFi :-(

86%

It is a very nice hostel, the staff is very friendly and it is easy to meet new people there with the attraction in the site. It is a bit like a campsite. The only desadvantage is the location it is a bit far from the city but at least there's a free shuttle that take you to a metro station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. It's good to highlight again that we are not situated in the city. Thanks for staying and we're glad you had a good stay.

94%

Such a cool place to stay! Staff were so nice :) defo would go back

  • 30th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay! We hope to welcome you back some day.

100%

Lucky Lake has been, by far, my favorite experience so far. I began traveling solo after a summer study, and Lucky Lake was such a relief. The staff was great, the location was perfect for me. I stay 4 nights and only went into Amsterdam twice because I loved Lucky Lake so much. Another girl in my hostel and I rode bikes to Abcoude and kayaked and standup paddle boarded through the canals and the lake. It was a beautiful and relaxed and I wish I would have spent more time there!!!!!!!!!!

  • 29th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU!! It makes us feel so happy that you felt happy here XXX

97%

Great place to stay! Felt like we were kids back at camp again. A little out of the way, but with the easy bus system and free shuttle it was nice to get out of the city each evening. Staff were great at answering all of our questions and accommodating our last minute requests. Also great activities available if you didn't want to head into the city. We rented a bike ride! They provided us with lots of easy info on the hostel rules and activities in the area. Would definitely visit again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very nice, thanks for staying!

89%

Great vibe. Lovely staff. Shower room floors are a little slippery

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay! Awesome! We hope you didn't fell.......

83%

This is a great place to stay. A little far away from the city, but with the free shuttle service it's quite easy to go around The hostel is unique, well kept and has a friendly staff. The local where the hostel is, is very pretty on its own and the area around the lake is awesome. Breakfast, rooms, everything is well maintained. Had no complains.


100%

You guys are doing just great! You have got amazing staff at the hostel who is generous and caring. It was a pleasure staying at Lucky Lake. Cheers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for this huge compliment!!

100%

2nd visit in 12 months and once again a fantastic stay! Cheers guys Mike

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! Thanks a lot and we hope to see you again soon.

94%

We had a fantastic stay at the Lucky Lake! The place is unique- warm, friendly, colourful and full of lovely Little Details. It is a great Location also because you can relax from busy Amsterdam and the free shuttle takes you to the Station from where it is a short train ride to the centre of the city. Lovely and helpful staff as well. Thank you so much!xx

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's heartwarming to read that you've enjoyed all we have to offer! Thanks for leaving a review XX

100%

By far the best hostel we have stayed in yet. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The facilities were excellent (smoking room, cinema etc) we loved hammocks. Although it's quite far out of the centre the free shuttle bus the hostel provides makes what could be an issue insignificant. It was actually nice to be out of the centre as the hostel is in a beautiful location. We were able to hire bikes and the BBQ. The hostel had a homely atmosphere and we were all sad to leave.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love your beautiful review, thank you!!!

69%

Wasn't really a party hostel. Very laid back and by midnight there isn't much happening which was a bit of a disappointment considering the location is not great and wasn't easy to go out etc. there is a shuttle but last one is at 1:30am which doesn't really help if you want to go out for a big night. In saying that the shuttle was pretty easy however doesn't drop you into Amsterdam centre, you still need to catch the Metro for 17 minutes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. You are right, we are NOT a PARTY hostel! The information on the website is really clear. We are situated outside of the city and we have a free shuttle bus going to a nearby metro station for there it's 17 minutes to Amsterdam central station. We're very sorry that you didn't read the information and were disappointed about your stay.

(204 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback