X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1894 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

We loved this hostel!! Originally apprehensive about how easy it would be to get there but staff made it so easy with regular shuttle buses. Staff were amazing - couldn't do enough for you. Really relaxed, friendly atmosphere. A welcome break after a day in the city. Good breakfast, on a bus! And we loved the ducks that waddled around everywhere! Would definitely come back again!


94%

The best hostel ever!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoo, thank you!!

94%

nice greeny calm location - helpful friendly staff - tasty breakfast - clean camping hostel - cheap shuttle to Holendrecht metro station where you can take the metro to amsterdam central - well equipped kitchen - good dorms - suitable for youth that are eager to mingle - Go for it, i recoomend it.... Abdelmajid hmida from Tunisia/Oman.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your very nice review!

91%

Lucky lake is a good place to stay! The staff are really kind and you can go easy to the city center with the shuttle provided from the hostel. The breakfast is good and the accommodations and common areas are very clean. I just loved my stay there.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely! Thank you

97%

Even though it's kind of far away from the city center, I'd say it works in their advantage because you escape the busy touristy scene and really get to enjoy the authentic feel of the Dutch countryside. Will come back here if in the Amsterdam area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel exactly the same. The best of both worlds, thrilling and busy Amsterdam during the day and the calm and relaxed atmosphere of Lucky Lake and surroundings in the night. Thanks for your comment and safe travels.

89%

The place was amazing, beautiful lake and surroundings, really nice facilities, we really enjoyed our stay. Only negative point was some of the staff made us feel like an inconvenience, felt a little bit like the staff were on their own holiday and we were getting in the way (complaining when the phone rang, complaining when picking customers up on the shuttle bus, etc) that was only a small set back the rest o the staff were lovely and extremely welcoming.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you had a good time and also amazed that some of the staff members didn't behave properly. We apologize for this behavior. Thanks for your nice review!

94%

Fantastic place!!! Stayed 17/06-19/06. Great relaxing atmosphere away from the hustle

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying. Happy travels!

100%

Awesome place to stay! Easy and cheap to get into Amsterdam central. Beautiful place to stay and v smoker friendly :)

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU!!!!

77%

Lovely place and nicely decorated lounges. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free tea and coffee. Kitchen with necessity and utensils for cooking. Uni-sex bathroom and shower with individual cubicles. Strong hot water supply. The closest town is 40 mins by walking but bike rental is available in the hostel. As it's countryside, it's colder than in the city. The shuttle bus stop is easy to find with the clear instructions given. Need to pay for every shuttle ride except the first pick-up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely! Thanks, the shuttle bus is 1 euro per person per ride and the 1st ride is for free. Abcoude, the small nearby town is 15 minutes on the bike ans we rent bikes at reception for 1,50 euro per hour. Glad you've enjoyed our ever-lasting hot water, lounges and free stuff! Thanks for staying!

97%

Don't let the fact that this hostel isn't in a central location put you off. The hostel makes travel to and from Amsterdam easy. I stayed here for a Pearl Jam gig and they even arranged to pick a group of us up from the concert afterwards. Staff are great, very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere here is great too, it's more like a campsite than a traditional hostel, so plenty of opportunity to meet other people. If you're the old-school backpacker type then this is the place for you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Such sweet words, thank you!!!

91%

The staff are so awesome! Super friendly and really helpful. There's a super laid back atmosphere, a lot like camping. One of the best breakfasts I've had at a hostel too. Honestly the only issue with this place is that it's a little far out of town, but with the shuttle and a quick metro of train it's easy enough to get in and out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Mmmmmm we have good breakfast, that's true:-) Thanks for your feed back and we hope to welcome you again some day.

97%

Super friendly staff, awesome breakfast, beautyful location close to a lake, the caravans are totally cosy !!! See you again !!

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely! We're looking forward to welcoming you back.

97%

This place is amazing. I didn't want to leave. The only negatives are that it s a 15 min metro and a 10 min shuttle ride away from the city, but in a beautiful location, and that the wifi is terrible. Otherwise it's heaven. Seriously.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hahaha heavenly:-) Thanks for your review, it's great to hear you really loved it here. Sorry about the WiFi it's terrible we know unfortunately it's not something we can easily change, believe me, if we could, we would:-)

89%

Amazing place for its atmosphere

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Not your average hostel, really fun place to chill out, staff were lovely. The only disadvantage was that it was a little outside Amsterdam central, but the hostel have a shuttle bus that runs every 30/60 mins for only €1 that brings you to the metro station and from there its probably 15-20 mins on metro into Amsterdam central. Breakfast was great too! Really enjoyed my stay here wish id stayed longer. Will definitely be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS! We hope to welcome you back soon.

94%

Very nice place to stay, relaxed and fun

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you've enjoyed your stay at Lucky Lake. Thank you for staying.

100%

Amazing stay! Scared that it would be too far from the city but transportation is made super easy by the friendly staff :) but once you're here, the city holds less appeal. Perfect for those seeking a country retreat with the city as an option. Would definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review! 100%, feeling happy, thank you!

97%

Lucky Lake was by far my favorite hostel I've stayed in in Europe! Great atmosphere, lockers included, and great, modern facilities (bathrooms, kitchens, etc). Only downside is how far it is from the city of Amsterdam, and the slight inconvenience of having to pre-book a shuttle to the nearest tram stop. I would prefer a free shuttle service, but 1 euro for the trip is not bad.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Maybe next season the shuttle will be free/included in the price, we're thinking about it:) Thanks for the feedback and safe travels.

100%

I had a great time staying at this hostel. The atmosphere, staff, and facilities were incredible. The journey to the city center was easy and cheap thanks to the cheap shuttle provided by the staff, and the hostel's surrounding area is beautiful. The bike rentals are cheap, and the ride to the nearest (beautiful) town is easy and fast. The facilities were surprisingly clean and functional for a countryside hostel in Amsterdam.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thanks for your nice review!

97%

We loved the concept with the individual cabins. The breakfast was great. The reception services were great as well, and we were happy that, in comparison to other hostels, there were enough showers etc.!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great, thanks!

(1327 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback