X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1938 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One word – perfect!

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hahhahhahahaha beautiful! Thanks for staying and hope to welcome you back some day.

94%

Perfect relaxation! But have to improve wifi connection though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hahahahaha! Thanks, yes our WiFi is terrible! Glad you've relaxed to the max!!

91%

One of the coolest hostels I've stayed in, felt just like you were camping in an RV park, and the staff, breakfast, ping pong, hammocks and lake were excellent. Bathrooms were clean and showers awesome. Shuttle was easy to find, only downside to this hostel is it takes a while to get to downtown Amsterdam and you have to pay €1 for the shuttle plus pay for the metro. Regardless, I would highly recommend!


94%

Lucky Lake, though a bit out of Amsterdam, was a great place to stay! One morning we didn't even go into town and just decided to take a short walk to the lake for a swim. The staff was wonderful and so helpful! The amenities were clean and I never once felt unsafe, unclean, or unhappy about my choice to stay there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review! Thank you. It's so nice to hear that you've enjoyed the hostel and the beautiful surroundings. Happy travels.

94%

Amazing place!! Great staff that really cares about the place and about their guests. They keep the place clean in every spot. If you want to visit the city of Amsterdam, but also likes to escape from it again to just relax. In this hostel you can lie in the hammock, sunbade by the lake, rent a bike or simply take a walk in the beautiful nature. -I am a non smoker and there is plenty of room for us as well as there is for the smoking people:0)

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very nice review, thank you!!

91%

great place to stay ! even for a lady my age (48). my daughter, went to a concert at Amsterdam Arena, while I visited Amsterdam and went to cinema. thanks to the shuttle service of Lucky Lake Hostel (safe drivers :-) ) Amsterdam city and the concert hall were very easy to get to. And we were very happy to go back to the quiet and cosy hostel in the evening. A mother/daughter experience we will never forget. The many different nationalities were a plus for sure 😉

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review! It's giving me goosebumps, we're very happy you felt welcome here and had an unforgettable mother/daughter experience. Thanks for staying and maybe till next time.

91%

Great place. Love the caravans! Only think we found was being a metro rude out if Amsterdam meant you had it get theist metro around 12 to her back, which is pretty early if you want to explore or enjoy the night life of Dam. Hostel puts on a great shuffle service though. Overall a lovely quirky place to stay!!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review, we happy to hear you had a good time! The last metro is at midnight and the last train from central station leaves at 1am. The last shuttle back to the hostel is at 1.30am If you're coming for Amsterdams nightlife and partying, we might not be the best place to stay for you.

100%

Lucky Lake is by far the coolest hostel in Amsterdam! The staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful it was quite refreshing. They have decked out the hostel in pastel colours and cool decorations it was very pretty to look at. The smoking room was pretty awesome, super chilled. I didn't want to leave!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Your review makes us blush, smile, happy, dance, proud and so much more! Thank you!

100%

My favorite European hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
YES! That is awesome!! Thank you very much and safe travels

74%

Unique hostel, although inconvenient to get to from the city centre. The area itself was beautiful in that there was a stunning lake so close, and the town Abcoude was also very pretty. Would like to give this hostel another go to see it in its full capacity.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feed-back. We hope to welcome you back some day!

97%

We loved this hostel!! Originally apprehensive about how easy it would be to get there but staff made it so easy with regular shuttle buses. Staff were amazing - couldn't do enough for you. Really relaxed, friendly atmosphere. A welcome break after a day in the city. Good breakfast, on a bus! And we loved the ducks that waddled around everywhere! Would definitely come back again!


94%

The best hostel ever!

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoo, thank you!!

94%

nice greeny calm location - helpful friendly staff - tasty breakfast - clean camping hostel - cheap shuttle to Holendrecht metro station where you can take the metro to amsterdam central - well equipped kitchen - good dorms - suitable for youth that are eager to mingle - Go for it, i recoomend it.... Abdelmajid hmida from Tunisia/Oman.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tunisia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your very nice review!

91%

Lucky lake is a good place to stay! The staff are really kind and you can go easy to the city center with the shuttle provided from the hostel. The breakfast is good and the accommodations and common areas are very clean. I just loved my stay there.

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely! Thank you

97%

Even though it's kind of far away from the city center, I'd say it works in their advantage because you escape the busy touristy scene and really get to enjoy the authentic feel of the Dutch countryside. Will come back here if in the Amsterdam area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We feel exactly the same. The best of both worlds, thrilling and busy Amsterdam during the day and the calm and relaxed atmosphere of Lucky Lake and surroundings in the night. Thanks for your comment and safe travels.

89%

The place was amazing, beautiful lake and surroundings, really nice facilities, we really enjoyed our stay. Only negative point was some of the staff made us feel like an inconvenience, felt a little bit like the staff were on their own holiday and we were getting in the way (complaining when the phone rang, complaining when picking customers up on the shuttle bus, etc) that was only a small set back the rest o the staff were lovely and extremely welcoming.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you had a good time and also amazed that some of the staff members didn't behave properly. We apologize for this behavior. Thanks for your nice review!

94%

Fantastic place!!! Stayed 17/06-19/06. Great relaxing atmosphere away from the hustle

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying. Happy travels!

100%

Awesome place to stay! Easy and cheap to get into Amsterdam central. Beautiful place to stay and v smoker friendly :)

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU!!!!

77%

Lovely place and nicely decorated lounges. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free tea and coffee. Kitchen with necessity and utensils for cooking. Uni-sex bathroom and shower with individual cubicles. Strong hot water supply. The closest town is 40 mins by walking but bike rental is available in the hostel. As it's countryside, it's colder than in the city. The shuttle bus stop is easy to find with the clear instructions given. Need to pay for every shuttle ride except the first pick-up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely! Thanks, the shuttle bus is 1 euro per person per ride and the 1st ride is for free. Abcoude, the small nearby town is 15 minutes on the bike ans we rent bikes at reception for 1,50 euro per hour. Glad you've enjoyed our ever-lasting hot water, lounges and free stuff! Thanks for staying!

97%

Don't let the fact that this hostel isn't in a central location put you off. The hostel makes travel to and from Amsterdam easy. I stayed here for a Pearl Jam gig and they even arranged to pick a group of us up from the concert afterwards. Staff are great, very helpful and friendly. The atmosphere here is great too, it's more like a campsite than a traditional hostel, so plenty of opportunity to meet other people. If you're the old-school backpacker type then this is the place for you

Owner Comment (Hide)
Such sweet words, thank you!!!

(1357 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback