X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1885 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great Hostel! helpful staff, super clean rooms, short walk to the lake - you can even rent kayaks and dingy boats. It's a bit like camping in a way but its really nice. Washrooms are clean and theres lots of hot showers. Wifi is So/So depending on where your room is but usually works at the check-in office. All around it was a fun laid-back place to stay while still very organized. good cooking facilities and Shuttle is easy enough. Bikes to rent are in good condition too :)


97%

amazing staff,amazing atmosphere ,nature,breakfast..we're missing "lucky lake"

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sweet! Thanks and maybe we'll welcome you back some day!

89%

Had a fantastic 2 nights at Lucky Lake Has a great vibe and atsmophere which sums up Amsterdam it's so close to a beautiful lake where you can bike ride and kayak which was fantastic The staff were super ffriendly made you feel right at home shuttle bus to the city centre is really easy and cheap its a great stay to see different sides of Amsterdam!!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic review, thank you!

97%

Awesome place to stay outside of the main part of the city, but very easy to get to. Everybody there was awesome, can't wait to come back!! :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome :-) We're glad to hear that you found it easy to get into the city from Lucky Lake Hostel, perfect!

97%

Awesome vibe, gorgeous location on a lake. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. I spent two full days just at this hostel, didn't even bother with the city because it was so nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wahahaha! That is just so funny! Thank you very much for appreciating Lucky Lake.

97%

Had the most amazing stay at Lucky Lake! The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The location was easy to get to via the shuttle and very peaceful. It was lovely to come back to after the craziness of Amsterdam. Thanks Lucky Lake!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you too for enjoying our hostel and leaving this lovely review!

100%

This is an amazing place, I went to chill out and almost immediately I felt relaxed and in holiday mode! Staff really friendly, nothing too much trouble! The site has a great location near the lake and only 15 mins to city by Metro. Bike hire, great fun to visit nearby typically Dutch villages. I would definitely stay again.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. We hope to welcome you again, maybe with your daughters next time :-)

94%

Phenomenal hostel, everyone is great and the facilities are great! Free breakfast every morning was a huge plus. Only downside is that it is far from the city center, but it isn't too hard to get to since they shuttle you to the closest tube station. Definitely recommend!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great review! Thanks for staying.

94%

Lucky Lake is a fantastic place. Before we had even left we were planning on when we could visit again. We stayed for 3 nights as part of a holiday around Europe. We had planned on going to explore amsterdam every day but found that we ended up not being able to drag ourselves away from the beautiful surroundings of the lake. A perfect place to relax and unwind.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just perfect! Thanks guys, see you soon!

100%

only one Word.... A MAAAZZZ ING

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU :-)

89%

WE TOTALLY LOVED THE HOSTAL, AND WE FULLY RECOMMEND IT. THANKS A LOT!

  • 29th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's great! Thank you too!

100%

Just brilliant! Especially the shuttle-service to the metro to get to Amsterdam :-)

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% that's awesome! Thank you

100%

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Lucky Lake for 3 nights and it was awesome. We both absolutely loved it and will be going back over the summer as we've decided to spend more time in the Netherlands. The hostel itself is just ace - such a nice setting and atmosphere. It takes about 45 minutes to get in to the centre of Amsterdam so if you're looking to be in the thick of things the whole time, this might not be ideal, but we loved the fact that we could go and chill out by the lake instead.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just lovely! You are very right, if you want to party and stay out till late, we might not be the best place to stay. Thanks for your review and see you soon!

100%

All time favorite hostel experience. We recommend this place to everyone we meet on our travels. The hostel staff are awesome and friendly people from all over the world (with great music taste). The free breakfast really goes above and beyond, serving the usual along with eggs or pancakes. The outdoor kitchen is well equipped and the smoking room is comfy with good vibes. The whole colorful caravan theme is genius and perfect for a visit to Amsterdam.I would not miss the chance to stay at LL!


100%

Wow what an amazing stay I had! I will be sure to bring my friends here in the near future, couldn't have asked for a nicer bunch of people really. Wonderful location by the lake too! I wish I had stayed longer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
WoopWoop 100% Thanks and we hope to welcome you back with your friends next time. Take care!

97%

The greatest stay I've had at a hostel. We stayed in a private room so it really didn't feel like a hostel at all. The man we accidentally disrupted when we arrived at around 1 in the morning was incredibly helpful and so nice. All of the staff is fantastic. This hostel has an amazing atmosphere and made our Amsterdam experience. It's location is out of the city but so easy to get there with the shuttle and metro. It's a perfect, quiet contrast to the busy city. It was perfect.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oohh thank you.

83%

Great out of the way place. Great views. Awesome lake within walking distance. As mentioned In Their description it is a ways from the city center so you must rely on their shuttle to get to and from the train station that takes you to the city center, but they run frequently. Staff was great, Informative and super accommodating. Super clean showers and plenty of hot water. Negatives were the wifi could have been better and one mattress was made out of bed cushions, but was comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feed back. Our WiFi could definitely be better, it's very slow. It works best in reception. We also have a computer there with a faster connection so if you really need to go online feel free to use it. We made an extra bed for you and that's why it was made of cushions, glad it was comfortable any way:-) We're glad you had a good stay! Safe travels and greetings from all of us.

100%

Definitely best hostel in the world. My girlfriend and I had awesome time here!!! Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Nice location. We will come back for sure. Big push to everyone!!! Thank you so much for everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ooh yeah! What a great review. Thanks so much and see you next time!

97%

Absolutely loved staying here! So so so well done, the set up is amazing. Looks like a mini low budget paradise. Staff are very friendly and accomodating, the shuttle service is frequent and fantastic, decent selection in the mini store, free breakfast, short bikeride to the nearest town and bike rentals are cheap. The common areas are also fantastic, bathrooms are clean, kitchen is well stocked and easy to use. Love Lucky Lake.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a beautiful review. Thank you for loving Lucky Lake!

97%

Brilliant place: at first I was worried it would be too far out but the Dutch public transport is so good it's not a problem. Very relaxed, the local lake has swimming areas. A nice diverse group of people staying. comfortable beds, and the 6 bed dorm I stayed in was really light and spacious. Really excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent review:-) Thanks a lot we're very happy you had a good stay!

(1320 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback