X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2290 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Me and my boyfriend visited Amsterdam to celebrate an anniversary, i emailed lucky lake to ask if they could do anything special for us and said i would pay. When we arrived there was a bottle of prossecco and chocolates in our room and for no extra charge! I was very impressed and would like to thank the staff for going that extra mile for us! We had a great stay! The shuttle bus is really handy, the cinema is great, the showers are clean and the breakfast is lovely! Overall amazing

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so happy you had a good stay. You're very welcome for the small gifts so you could celebrate your anniversary! All the best!

100%

Myself and my girlfriend both agree that we weren't disappointed by this place at all. The whole experiance was 10/10. The staff were extremely nice and helpful but left you to enjoy yourself, the facilities were cleaner than most hotels! And the money we paid didn't feel like it was enough for the service that was provided! Amsterdam is a beautiful country and there's loads to do, if you're looking for a mega relaxed cheap but amazing experiance go here!! You wont be disappointed :).

  • 26th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% we're doing a little celebration dance, thank you!!

97%

Everyone was so friendly and welcoming. I will definitely be coming back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you've had a good stay!

97%

Super friendly staff, comfy beds, clean showers, great shuttle service. Perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU!!!!

97%

Very helpful and friendly staff. Wonderful cozy smallest cinema! relaxing rural landscape at a stone's throw. easy to reach from Amsterdam. Great place to stay to chill out away from the city hustle n bustle. colorful and informal settings. highly recommend it!

  • 25th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yes! Thanks for your recommendation.

97%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed so far! This is not your "typical" hostel. The beds are inside a hip truck. There are enough space in the hostel to walk around and chill out with your friends. The lake there are beautiful. Though the location is 10 mintues away by car from the metro but there is a shuttle bus which is conviniece. Breakfast was ok. Bed was very comfy and clean. The bathrooms are also clean. Staffs were friendly. I would definetely go back there again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely review, thank you.

94%

This was a really cool place to stay, great if you want to get a mix of city and countryside during your trip.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Exactly how we feel :-) Thanks for leaving your review!

91%

This place is so cute. If you are okay with not partying until 2am or so you should try this place. It is so relaxing and peaceful here.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for pointing out that we are not the best place to be if you like to party all night! We're very happy you've enjoyed your stay!

89%

The best hostel I've ever stayed in! Love the common areas. You are going to meet so many cool people there. The smoking room was also very nice. The whole place’s got a friendly and cool vibe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you.

91%

It was just really great! The staff is very easy going and you have a free shuttle and can always call them. It's very nice to get out of the hectic city of amsterdam especially if you have been to amsterdam before and want a more relaxed stay. You can go kayaking or to another city like utrecht. The atmosphere is just great and it's really one of a kind.

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for leaving this cool review, we appreciate it:-)

94%

What an amazing place to stay! Stayed in Amsterdam for 3 nights to explore and stumbled across Lucky Lake and so pleased we did. We stayed in a 2 bed cabin and it was ideal for what we needed. The facilities are superb, clean and spacious kitchen area, clean and spotless bathrooms and toilets, great reception area, suoerb armosphere and having breakfast on a bus was fun. The staff are amazing and really helpful, always ensuring everyone and everything is going ok! Highly recommend!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANK YOU!!!

100%

Great place to stay as it was very chilled out, good vibes and colourful. Nice to be away from all the activity in the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
NICE thank you.

97%

I stayed in 3 hostels while in Amsterdam and this one definitely outweighed the rest. The staff were nice, the scenery is beautiful and it's not too far from the city. Plus the whole "camp site" thing going on is super cool and unique. Had the best couple nights there ever and I'll definitely be at this hostel when back in Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay! You made our day! We hope to welcome you back some day:-)

91%

Definitely coming back!

  • 19th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What an amazing place!!! We stayed three nights and wish we could of stayed more. The best hostel we have ever stayed in. Staff so friendly and helpful. Free table tennis. Kayaks to hire. Breakfast is also really good! Food items from reception reasonably priced. best 3 days of our travels so far!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're always welcome to come back :-) Thanks for leaving a lovely review. Safe travels!

94%

This was a simply incredible hostel! The little campers you sleep in are cozy and adorable, the lake is beautiful, the location is a little off the beaten path but it is, without a doubt, worth the extra half hour it takes to get there. The staff was friendly and accommodating when our flight was delayed so we got in after midnight. I would highly recommend it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sweet! Thanks for recommending us.

100%

A very unique place with great vibes and great people. Go here for a dose of nature and some chill time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Whoohoo! 100% thanks we're very happy you liked Lucky Lake:-)

80%

The thing is, it was raining the whole time and the majority of the hostel is outside! Terrible wifi if any wifi at all and it was super far from the city center-and the last metro from the city center back to the hostel is early, at 12:30am. I am sure it is a beautiful hostel when the weather is nice and the the staff were sweet! Also they had a life-saving shuttle bus from the metro stop to the hostel. It was either that shuttle bus or a 40 euro taxi.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fortunately we had the chance to improve our WiFi and it's working good again now. Sorry we couldn't change the weather:-) As written clearly on the booking site, we are situated outside of the city. The last free shuttle bus pick up is at 1.30 am after that the only option is taking a taxi back to the hostel for 40 euro. If you're coming to Amsterdam to party, we might not be the best place for you to stay. Thanks for appreciating our staff and leaving this review!

100%

Best hostel I have ever stayed in, great atmospher everyone I met were friendly and the staff were 100% welcoming and would answer any question you had for them.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% whoop whoop! Thank you

97%

I bounced from hostel to hostel through Europe for just over a month and this one was hands down the absolute best one! I had an amazing experience at this place and would highly recommend it. Very chill environment, beautiful country side to bike through, free ping pong and foosball, great people, kind and helpful staff, this place had it all.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
O wow what a fantastic review. We're very pleased that you think we're the best hostel you've stayed at, thank you.

(170 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback