X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1888 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Definitely best hostel in the world. My girlfriend and I had awesome time here!!! Very clean, friendly and helpful staff. Nice location. We will come back for sure. Big push to everyone!!! Thank you so much for everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ooh yeah! What a great review. Thanks so much and see you next time!

97%

Absolutely loved staying here! So so so well done, the set up is amazing. Looks like a mini low budget paradise. Staff are very friendly and accomodating, the shuttle service is frequent and fantastic, decent selection in the mini store, free breakfast, short bikeride to the nearest town and bike rentals are cheap. The common areas are also fantastic, bathrooms are clean, kitchen is well stocked and easy to use. Love Lucky Lake.

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a beautiful review. Thank you for loving Lucky Lake!

97%

Brilliant place: at first I was worried it would be too far out but the Dutch public transport is so good it's not a problem. Very relaxed, the local lake has swimming areas. A nice diverse group of people staying. comfortable beds, and the 6 bed dorm I stayed in was really light and spacious. Really excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Excellent review:-) Thanks a lot we're very happy you had a good stay!

97%

The location is amazing, good vibe, is perfect if you want to relax. Well organize with transport and all information. It take only 30-40min to be in amsterdam central.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

All things are good except the location , far away from city center. Good breakfast.You need to pay 1 euro each time for the shuttle. It will be perfect if it is free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feed-back. As written clearly on our website we are located outside of the city. You will have to calculate a bit more time and money to get to Lucky Lake, the compensation for this is the beautiful surroundings, a relaxed stay and meeting wonderful people. Drink a beer in one of the hammocks or play a game of ping-pong or Foosball after a busy day in the city and re-charge your battery for the next day:-)

100%

This is without a doubt the best hostel I have ever stayed at. The staff could not have been more helpful. The location and rooms were perfect! I will definitely recommend this hostel to all our friends!

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're jumping of joy! Thank you!!!

97%

The staff are really kind and the atmosphere of the place is amazing!! The bathroom and the kitchen are pretty clean and the breakfast is very good! I surely recommend this place to my friends and I will come back soon!! thank you for everything lucky lake we had great time there!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
See you soon and thanks for your nice review!

100%

This is really a fantastic hostel. I'm older than most people who stay here but there are some others in their 30's. The hostel is within a few minutes bike ride away from some beautiful countryside and villages and it's a five minute walk to the lake. The staff is really happy, friendly and upbeat and visitors appreciate it. The facilities are great but one mixed dorm is way too small. This hostel is based on such a creative idea and it's original in every way. I'd happily stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you like Lucky Lake and the surroundings. One of the dorms is not as big as the others, luckily we had room in another dorm and could give you some more private space. Thanks for leaving this beautiful review and we'll see you soon!

100%

So much love for Lucky Lake, the wonderful Lucky Lake crew

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You should see us, we are smiling from ear to ear! Thank you

100%

Lucky Lake is amazing. The staff is great. They have an awesome kitchen with a barbecue grill for use. It's a short walk to the lake where there is a beach bar. The hammocks and ping pong were my favorite thing. Everything was cleaned daily. There's a cute dutch town a bike ride away where you can buy groceries.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% what a joy!!!

94%

It's a good ways outside the city, but the location is unique and almost has a camping vibe. Very chill and would recommend since they have a shuttle too and from the city till 1 am or so that's really cheap and worst case w/ a phone they have a 35 euro cab service you can call to get back if you're out too late.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We're happy you had a good stay and would recommend us! Greetings from all of us and safe travels.

100%

Lucky Lake is at a beautiful location! The staff is so kind and caring and they made it feel like home. Great place to interact with other travellers because of the intimate friendly setting. I had the best stay there and will definitely be back. And despite the campground kind of set up- it was hella clean and no weird smells. It was absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review and we're glad we smell good hahahaha! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back some day.

100%

would rather stay here then a 5 star hotel .best place yet and the staff are top class place is spotless

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% wow! What an awesome review, thank you so much.

94%

We loved Lucky Lake hostel. The facilities are great. The rooms are spotless, beds are really reeeaally comfy! I didn't want to get up in the morning! The atmosphere is really nice. A great place to relax after being in the bustling city all day. Have to mention the staff who are friendly, helpful and really on the ball. They run a really tight ship and work really hard to make Lucky Lake as special as it is. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for your awesome words. This is what makes us leaves our comfy beds every morning and get to work:-)

89%

I stayed at the Lucky Lake Hostel for a weekend in May. I chose it since it sounded so quaint and charming and off-the-beaten-path. and the hotel was all this and more. Absolutely lovely staff and a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The only catch is the location and the need to take the shuttle, but it worked quite well. A piece of advice- make sure you check the train timings and coordinate your return accordingly.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! You are right, if you plan your trip you save time waiting for the shuttle:-) We're sooo happy you liked Lucky Lake, it was great to have you.

94%

The best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff are super nice and the surroundings are beautiful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoo, that's great. We are glad you had a good stay.

97%

This place was amazing!! Definitely our favourite hostel ever. The caravans are so cute, perfect size for two. The breakfast bus was a cool idea, always had full stock of food. The kitchen and fridges were great, as well as the little shop to sell food since you are outside of the city. Being outside of the city wasn't even a problem, the shuttle was quick and it was so nice to be away from noise and regular hostels. You would be missing out if you don't stay here! An experience in itself!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a nice review. Thank you guys! Happy travels and take care.

91%

The hostel is in a great location far enough from hectic town center to enjoy the raw part of the netherlands. a 10 minute stroll down a well mapped route brings u to a lovely clean lake. there u can watch the sun set and a nice bar at lake side to finish the night off. be sure to go again . love u lucky lakes and thanks

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! Thank you and lots of love from all of us at Lucky Lake.

57%

Location is terrible. 15 minutes to get the station plus about half an hour to get central area. First van (cost 1 euro and was hourly) was only at 8:00. Toilets and showers r in a separate area, what mean you have to walk in an uncovered way what's a bit worse when weather is cold and rainy. The idea of hostel is not bad, in good weather conditions.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We're very sorry that the hostel did not meet your expectations. We try to be very clear on the website and booking sites that we are not located in the city and that our shuttle service is €1 per person per ride. Some people get confused about the 12% deposit because it's called a deposit. This doesn't mean that you get it back, it's a commission and it's non-refundable. We wish you would have had a better stay. All the best Lucky Lake team

94%

It´s a really great place to stay in. The bad thing is that is really far from everything and you need to take the bus to go to it. Luckly there´s a bus to take us there, but anyways it´s something I would thing about it twice before going there.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. For some travelers it's a bad thing being outside of the city and for some it's a blessing. If you're coming to Amsterdam to party then we might not be the best place to stay, our last shuttle bus leaves Amsterdam Holendrecht station at 1.30am. If you like to relax after a busy day in the city, being in nature and outdoor, we think Lucky Lake can offer the best of both worlds;-) Again thanks for your comment and happy travels!

(140 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback