X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
1871 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is really a fantastic hostel. I'm older than most people who stay here but there are some others in their 30's. The hostel is within a few minutes bike ride away from some beautiful countryside and villages and it's a five minute walk to the lake. The staff is really happy, friendly and upbeat and visitors appreciate it. The facilities are great but one mixed dorm is way too small. This hostel is based on such a creative idea and it's original in every way. I'd happily stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad that you like Lucky Lake and the surroundings. One of the dorms is not as big as the others, luckily we had room in another dorm and could give you some more private space. Thanks for leaving this beautiful review and we'll see you soon!

100%

So much love for Lucky Lake, the wonderful Lucky Lake crew

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You should see us, we are smiling from ear to ear! Thank you

100%

Lucky Lake is amazing. The staff is great. They have an awesome kitchen with a barbecue grill for use. It's a short walk to the lake where there is a beach bar. The hammocks and ping pong were my favorite thing. Everything was cleaned daily. There's a cute dutch town a bike ride away where you can buy groceries.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% what a joy!!!

94%

It's a good ways outside the city, but the location is unique and almost has a camping vibe. Very chill and would recommend since they have a shuttle too and from the city till 1 am or so that's really cheap and worst case w/ a phone they have a 35 euro cab service you can call to get back if you're out too late.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback. We're happy you had a good stay and would recommend us! Greetings from all of us and safe travels.

100%

Lucky Lake is at a beautiful location! The staff is so kind and caring and they made it feel like home. Great place to interact with other travellers because of the intimate friendly setting. I had the best stay there and will definitely be back. And despite the campground kind of set up- it was hella clean and no weird smells. It was absolutely wonderful. I highly recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely review and we're glad we smell good hahahaha! Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back some day.

100%

would rather stay here then a 5 star hotel .best place yet and the staff are top class place is spotless

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% wow! What an awesome review, thank you so much.

94%

We loved Lucky Lake hostel. The facilities are great. The rooms are spotless, beds are really reeeaally comfy! I didn't want to get up in the morning! The atmosphere is really nice. A great place to relax after being in the bustling city all day. Have to mention the staff who are friendly, helpful and really on the ball. They run a really tight ship and work really hard to make Lucky Lake as special as it is. Can't recommend highly enough!

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks for your awesome words. This is what makes us leaves our comfy beds every morning and get to work:-)

89%

I stayed at the Lucky Lake Hostel for a weekend in May. I chose it since it sounded so quaint and charming and off-the-beaten-path. and the hotel was all this and more. Absolutely lovely staff and a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The only catch is the location and the need to take the shuttle, but it worked quite well. A piece of advice- make sure you check the train timings and coordinate your return accordingly.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! You are right, if you plan your trip you save time waiting for the shuttle:-) We're sooo happy you liked Lucky Lake, it was great to have you.

94%

The best hostel I have ever stayed in! The staff are super nice and the surroundings are beautiful!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoo, that's great. We are glad you had a good stay.

97%

This place was amazing!! Definitely our favourite hostel ever. The caravans are so cute, perfect size for two. The breakfast bus was a cool idea, always had full stock of food. The kitchen and fridges were great, as well as the little shop to sell food since you are outside of the city. Being outside of the city wasn't even a problem, the shuttle was quick and it was so nice to be away from noise and regular hostels. You would be missing out if you don't stay here! An experience in itself!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a nice review. Thank you guys! Happy travels and take care.

91%

The hostel is in a great location far enough from hectic town center to enjoy the raw part of the netherlands. a 10 minute stroll down a well mapped route brings u to a lovely clean lake. there u can watch the sun set and a nice bar at lake side to finish the night off. be sure to go again . love u lucky lakes and thanks

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome! Thank you and lots of love from all of us at Lucky Lake.

57%

Location is terrible. 15 minutes to get the station plus about half an hour to get central area. First van (cost 1 euro and was hourly) was only at 8:00. Toilets and showers r in a separate area, what mean you have to walk in an uncovered way what's a bit worse when weather is cold and rainy. The idea of hostel is not bad, in good weather conditions.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We're very sorry that the hostel did not meet your expectations. We try to be very clear on the website and booking sites that we are not located in the city and that our shuttle service is €1 per person per ride. Some people get confused about the 12% deposit because it's called a deposit. This doesn't mean that you get it back, it's a commission and it's non-refundable. We wish you would have had a better stay. All the best Lucky Lake team

94%

It´s a really great place to stay in. The bad thing is that is really far from everything and you need to take the bus to go to it. Luckly there´s a bus to take us there, but anyways it´s something I would thing about it twice before going there.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. For some travelers it's a bad thing being outside of the city and for some it's a blessing. If you're coming to Amsterdam to party then we might not be the best place to stay, our last shuttle bus leaves Amsterdam Holendrecht station at 1.30am. If you like to relax after a busy day in the city, being in nature and outdoor, we think Lucky Lake can offer the best of both worlds;-) Again thanks for your comment and happy travels!

100%

I loved this hostel, everyone is so chill. I like that it's close to a lake and a village and a metro line. the breakfast was good. the staff is incredibly helpful and I like that they have the time and desire to talk with and play cards with and grab a beer with the hostel guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
YES! Lucky Lake staff is the BEST:-)

71%

It was cold at night!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're so sorry to hear you were cold at night. Now there is unfortunately nothing we can do for you but this is a message to other guests, please feel free to ask for extra blankets or a warm water bottle at reception. We will offer them to you for free.

97%

THE BEST HOSTEL. Everything about this place was awesome: the cute, colourful cabins and caravans, the sheltered outdoor kitchen, the insanely clean washroom, the sweet cinema room, the ducks hanging out around the park, the nearby lake, the convenient shuttle ferrying you out to the hostel, the delicious pizza sold at reception, the chill and helpful staff... It was soooo great!!!!!! The wifi wasn't always good in the cabins, but it was perfect at reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome review, thanks a lot!!

86%

It's a shame it is a bit too far from the city. But the place is great, and so is staff. A walk to the lake is a must-do! By far, the most beautiful hostel you'll ever see!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review! Being outside of the city has many advantages and we're glad you've explored the beautiful surroundings of Lucky Lake. It does take some more planning for guests being outside of the city but we hope our lovely place and staff make up for this:-)

83%

The free breakfast and helpful staff are great!

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Lovely thank you!

97%

THIS is a GREAT place. It's a little far away from the city center but the hostel implemented everything to make sure the journey is not an issue (bus shuttle from the closest metro station, taxi for 35€ from anywhere in the city, ...)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're glad you had a good stay. Thanks for your review.

100%

This is our second time staying at lucky lake and it was just as good as the first time! The staff is super rad, going above and beyond what anyone would expect to try and help. The location might be a little bit out of the way but if you're willing to go, you will be rewarded by a beautiful community nestled on a lake just outside of Amsterdam with easy access to the city. Our experience may be a little skewed since we stayed in a private caravan.

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(1316 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback