X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2219 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Put this place on your bucket list !!!,!,!,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wahahahaha! Thanks! And 100% as well :-) We're glad you've had a good time.

100%

the most peaceful and nice little countryside vibe place around. highly recommend. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% thank you!!

100%

Best hostel ever! The staff is amazing, the rooms are super clean and comfortable, the breakfast (in the bus!) is great and you might even have little cute ducks as company. It is very easy to reach Amsterdam with the shuttle and it was no problem at all for me to be a bit far away (on the contrary, it was kind of great to be somewhere quieter). The atmosphere is also great and I made lots of friends there whilst traveling solo. I'm already planning to go back there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, this is great!! You make us smile:-) See you soon.

89%

Absolutely loved this hostel and the vibe it had going! As someone who doesn't smoke, I was worried about how I'd fit in at a hostel in Amsterdam but I met lots of cool people - smokers and non smokers alike - and wish I could have stayed longer! By far the best hostel experience I've had in Europe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow this is great, thanks for staying and leaving such a wonderful review. Safe travels!

100%

Best hostel in Europe!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay!!! 100% thank you for your awesome review.

71%

Our room was freezing when we got there late at night (my flight was delayed) so the first night was horrible because it was literally freezing even when the heater was running the whole night. The second and third night was manageable because we asked for extra blankets. The free breakfast was really great. I wish that the reception would stay open later than 11pm..

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear you were so cold! Normally the room get warm pretty quick with 2 people in the bed and the warm blankets and heater. Hope you did feel cozy in there despite the cold. Good thing you enjoyed breakfast, the most important meal of the day:-) Safe travels and take care.

91%

What a fun, quirky little place this was. We had a great time staying there. Everything we could possibly need was provided for us, from hairdryer to pots and pans. The shop was well stocked with a good variety of things and our room was great value for money. The highlight has to be the movie caravan. Such a great idea and a great way to pass an evening.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! This makes us soooooo happy:-)

86%

Alternative style hostel south of Amsterdam. Nicely decorated and with good opportunity to meet up with people. Common room was mostly outdoors, so only with good weather you can hang out with others. A warm summer night will be really nice though at this hostel. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for recommending us!

100%

I couldn't ask for more! One staff member, Rose, went out of her way to assist me in my travel plans, even getting me last minute information from the internet 2 minutes before I was due to leave. I made good use of the lake, on-site cinema and Dutch pancakes for breakfast. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks for a great stay.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just lovely! Thanks for staying and hope to see you again XXX

94%

I believe that Lucky Lake hostel is almost a reason per si to visit Amsterdam. Despite being away from city centre, the space itself is magical and great for a good night sleep away from a busy noisy city. I went soon after the beginning of Spring so the nocturnal weather was not the most inviting for guests to hang around on open air socializing but the facilities are great. Nuria and the rest of the staff were very helpful and hard working. This hostel is well worth my money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow thank you!!

91%

Amazing hostel for spring and summer! Excellent breakfast! The only point not so good is the distance to the city center. But I definitely recommend it. If possible, allow a full day to stay in the hostel and enjoy the atmosphere.


97%

Really cool hostel and amazing staff. We had such a wonderful time there. Even though the location is outside of Amsterdam, the free bus-services and the team made up for that big time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's awesome! Thank you for staying.

89%

This is really a superb hostel that it likes a family. Staff are so good and helpful during my stay. I also enjoy the environment and atmosphere in Lucky Lake Hostel. It is highly recommended for everyone when you are travelling in amsterdam,

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We're very happy you felt at home:-)

91%

The staffs are really friendly and provided useful information for us. Clean bathroom, bed , reception and lounge. The decorations are stylish as well. Nice staying for a single traveler.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice! Thanks and we hope you'll stay in many more friendly and clean hostels during your travels, enjoy!

97%

We really loved this hostel. Staff were awesome and always wondering if they could help us with anything. The free breakfast was great where we could make our own pancakes, Dutch pancakes, and eggs on alternating days. We stayed in a cabin that had very nice built in bunkbeds and a table to sit around. We made use of the beautiful location by walking to the nearby lake and renting bikes to go into the nearby town. Highly recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Such a lovely review, thanks!

94%

If I could've stayed longer, I would've. The staff are really helpful and nice. I didn't feel alone at all. The free breakfast was a big big plus. The cabin where I stayed was clean and warm. The shower rooms and toilets were kept clean. The overall atmosphere was cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Very sweet review! We're very happy that you felt at home and hope to welcome you back some day.

83%

Apart from the location ( 20mins from centre to Holendredcht and 10-15mins to the hostel by shuttle bus) and the super weak wifi, everything else is great: staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms arr clean, the atmosphere and environment are great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are working on our WiFi and it should be as fast as a rabbit soon:-) As we're not situated in the city you'll have to calculate some time for travelling however we hope our hostel and our great staff will make your stay unforgettable. Thanks for leaving us a review.

97%

a little cold this time of year but still loved it just like last time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! We hope to welcome you back when it's a bit warmer:-)

94%

Great place, location is not a bummer due to their reliable shuttle service. The only thing we regret is that we couldnt enjoy it as much due to the cold weather.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Oh we're sorry about the weather. In Holland you'll never know what you get. Glad you've enjoyed your stay. Happy travels!

91%

I just loved to stay at Lucky Lake! The atmosphere is friendly and the staff is very polite and always prepared to help you. The place is quite calm and the breakfast is very complete. I would definitely stay there again.


(124 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback