X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2006 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 81%Location
  • 97%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Not your average hostel, really fun place to chill out, staff were lovely. The only disadvantage was that it was a little outside Amsterdam central, but the hostel have a shuttle bus that runs every 30/60 mins for only €1 that brings you to the metro station and from there its probably 15-20 mins on metro into Amsterdam central. Breakfast was great too! Really enjoyed my stay here wish id stayed longer. Will definitely be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
THANKS! We hope to welcome you back soon.

94%

Very nice place to stay, relaxed and fun

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're happy you've enjoyed your stay at Lucky Lake. Thank you for staying.

100%

Amazing stay! Scared that it would be too far from the city but transportation is made super easy by the friendly staff :) but once you're here, the city holds less appeal. Perfect for those seeking a country retreat with the city as an option. Would definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review! 100%, feeling happy, thank you!

97%

Lucky Lake was by far my favorite hostel I've stayed in in Europe! Great atmosphere, lockers included, and great, modern facilities (bathrooms, kitchens, etc). Only downside is how far it is from the city of Amsterdam, and the slight inconvenience of having to pre-book a shuttle to the nearest tram stop. I would prefer a free shuttle service, but 1 euro for the trip is not bad.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! Maybe next season the shuttle will be free/included in the price, we're thinking about it:) Thanks for the feedback and safe travels.

100%

I had a great time staying at this hostel. The atmosphere, staff, and facilities were incredible. The journey to the city center was easy and cheap thanks to the cheap shuttle provided by the staff, and the hostel's surrounding area is beautiful. The bike rentals are cheap, and the ride to the nearest (beautiful) town is easy and fast. The facilities were surprisingly clean and functional for a countryside hostel in Amsterdam.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, thanks for your nice review!

97%

We loved the concept with the individual cabins. The breakfast was great. The reception services were great as well, and we were happy that, in comparison to other hostels, there were enough showers etc.!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great, thanks!

91%

By choosing this hostel, you have already made it a personal obligation to travel rather more frequently, by shuttle and metro, something which you have to factor into your expenses. However, the location is compensated by its quirky and creative design, atmosphere and great staff. It is a good place to meet other travellers or to just relax in the hammocks with a good book! There are plenty of facilities to keep you occupied. Would be even better if the reception works round the clock.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice! We try to keep our prices as low as possible because we are aware that our guests need to pay about 7,50 euro a day for transport. Our reception is open till 11pm and the night driver is around till 2am. Thanks for enjoying our hostel, staff and all facilities:-)

100%

For me personally it would be perfect if the hostel would change to something like a ecological or bio- hostel. for me it would be no problem to pay a little more if there would be for instance solar and photovoltaic paneels a rainwater- cysterne and a bio-breakfast.

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoo 100% thank your staying and sharing your ideas about ecological or bio hostel.

94%

everything in lucky lake is perfect, definitely going back whenever I can, staff is super friendly and the two girls that are in the reception are amazing. Only weak side it is a bit far from downtown, but everything else is amazing.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!!! See you soon!

97%

Lucky Lake is THE best hostel I've ever stayed at! True, it's a bit of a ways from the city but I found it refreshing to be away from the hustle and bustle. Staff is excellent. Caravans and breakfast bus are so cool! I can not say enough positive things about Lucky Lake. I never wanted to leave!

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's so lovely! Thank you very much. Safe travels.

97%

Loved this hostel! Relaxing and comfy atmosphere. It was nice to see another side if Amsterdam but also have easy access to the city center. The lake was beautiful, wish I had taken advantage of the kayak and bicycle rentals! Oh well, next time :) Also, I'd recommend a cabin... the caravans are nice but get very hot when the sun comes up as they are basically metal boxes. The staff are great too, thumbs up - all around great hostel!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you!! See you next time:-)

97%

The best hostel in the world! Bathrooms are extremely clean. Breaky was a perfect start to the day. Highly recommended.

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Woohoo! Best hostel in the world?? That's awesome, thank you.

97%

The coolest hostel Ive ever visited. its amazing. its far out from amsterdam but the staff make sure this is not a problem with a shuttle to and from the metro which runs every 10 mins. This hostel is chilled out, relaxing and perfect if you have been on your feet travelling through Europe! The breakfast is amazing it sets u up for the day. Facilities are top class. Kitchen, chill out room, cinema, smoke room, Hammocks, washing machines, mini shop in reception.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really happy you had a good time and enjoyed the hostel! Thanks for this great review!

94%

Great Hostel! helpful staff, super clean rooms, short walk to the lake - you can even rent kayaks and dingy boats. It's a bit like camping in a way but its really nice. Washrooms are clean and theres lots of hot showers. Wifi is So/So depending on where your room is but usually works at the check-in office. All around it was a fun laid-back place to stay while still very organized. good cooking facilities and Shuttle is easy enough. Bikes to rent are in good condition too :)


97%

amazing staff,amazing atmosphere ,nature,breakfast..we're missing "lucky lake"

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sweet! Thanks and maybe we'll welcome you back some day!

89%

Had a fantastic 2 nights at Lucky Lake Has a great vibe and atsmophere which sums up Amsterdam it's so close to a beautiful lake where you can bike ride and kayak which was fantastic The staff were super ffriendly made you feel right at home shuttle bus to the city centre is really easy and cheap its a great stay to see different sides of Amsterdam!!

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Fantastic review, thank you!

97%

Awesome place to stay outside of the main part of the city, but very easy to get to. Everybody there was awesome, can't wait to come back!! :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome :-) We're glad to hear that you found it easy to get into the city from Lucky Lake Hostel, perfect!

97%

Awesome vibe, gorgeous location on a lake. Staff are very helpful and accommodating. I spent two full days just at this hostel, didn't even bother with the city because it was so nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wahahaha! That is just so funny! Thank you very much for appreciating Lucky Lake.

97%

Had the most amazing stay at Lucky Lake! The staff were extremely nice and helpful. The location was easy to get to via the shuttle and very peaceful. It was lovely to come back to after the craziness of Amsterdam. Thanks Lucky Lake!

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you too for enjoying our hostel and leaving this lovely review!

100%

This is an amazing place, I went to chill out and almost immediately I felt relaxed and in holiday mode! Staff really friendly, nothing too much trouble! The site has a great location near the lake and only 15 mins to city by Metro. Bike hire, great fun to visit nearby typically Dutch villages. I would definitely stay again.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much. We hope to welcome you again, maybe with your daughters next time :-)

(1393 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback