X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2289 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 92%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Pros: The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful, they had cheap food available at reception; Super comfortable beds. Cons: Terrible wifi that barely worked in the wifi zone; Location was 15 minute shuttle drive + ~20 minute train ride to central station; the shuttle only leaves once an hour so we didn't get a full first day as we couldn't leave before 3pm due to lack of seats after arriving around 12:30. Overall, it was an okay hostel. Not the best but definitely not the worst.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We hope it's pretty clear on our website and booking sites that we are not situated in the city and that you do need to travel a bit to get to the hostel. The free shuttle bus runs as often as possible, especially in the mornings every half hour because we understand all our guests want to spend as much time as possible in the city. Thanks for staying and safe travels.

100%

Its like a second home to me! The staff is amazing and it has everything you want! :)

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Soooo sweet! We'll probably see you back again soon X

86%

Great hostel, I had an amazing time, thank you!

  • 15th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You're very welcome. It makes us very happy that you had an amazing time :-)

91%

The shuttle could pass each 30 minutes, wasn't easy to wait in the cold... Shuttle left 10 minutes earlier and I had to wait a lot. Also, by the end of the day there was more people that could fit the van, if there was more shuttle this wouldn't happen

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. We're sorry you had some difficulty with the shuttle. We ask all our guests to call us if there are more then 8 people waiting at Holendrecht station to take the shuttle, if we get the call we always come with a 2nd shuttle. We try to keep the shuttle running smoothly and ask our guests to be a little flexible as well. We hope you did enjoy your stay.

86%

This hostel was extremely cool and quirky - not your average hostel. The caravans, hammocks and breakfast bus were awesome- dominant contributers to the uniqueness of the hostel. The dorm room was also extremely clean and very practically designed. I loved my room! And the bathrooms- they were always clean and well maintained. However the staff werent overly friendly when off hours- It was a little intimidating Also, just be aware of the location. It's a shuttle and 20 minute metro from city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review. I'm sorry to hear about you felt intimidated by the staff. They are all very friendly and social. We're super happy you liked our new dorms :-) Enjoy your travels and take care.

100%

Put this place on your bucket list !!!,!,!,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wahahahaha! Thanks! And 100% as well :-) We're glad you've had a good time.

100%

the most peaceful and nice little countryside vibe place around. highly recommend. :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% thank you!!

100%

Best hostel ever! The staff is amazing, the rooms are super clean and comfortable, the breakfast (in the bus!) is great and you might even have little cute ducks as company. It is very easy to reach Amsterdam with the shuttle and it was no problem at all for me to be a bit far away (on the contrary, it was kind of great to be somewhere quieter). The atmosphere is also great and I made lots of friends there whilst traveling solo. I'm already planning to go back there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow, this is great!! You make us smile:-) See you soon.

89%

Absolutely loved this hostel and the vibe it had going! As someone who doesn't smoke, I was worried about how I'd fit in at a hostel in Amsterdam but I met lots of cool people - smokers and non smokers alike - and wish I could have stayed longer! By far the best hostel experience I've had in Europe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow this is great, thanks for staying and leaving such a wonderful review. Safe travels!

100%

Best hostel in Europe!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay!!! 100% thank you for your awesome review.

71%

Our room was freezing when we got there late at night (my flight was delayed) so the first night was horrible because it was literally freezing even when the heater was running the whole night. The second and third night was manageable because we asked for extra blankets. The free breakfast was really great. I wish that the reception would stay open later than 11pm..

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry to hear you were so cold! Normally the room get warm pretty quick with 2 people in the bed and the warm blankets and heater. Hope you did feel cozy in there despite the cold. Good thing you enjoyed breakfast, the most important meal of the day:-) Safe travels and take care.

91%

What a fun, quirky little place this was. We had a great time staying there. Everything we could possibly need was provided for us, from hairdryer to pots and pans. The shop was well stocked with a good variety of things and our room was great value for money. The highlight has to be the movie caravan. Such a great idea and a great way to pass an evening.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great! This makes us soooooo happy:-)

86%

Alternative style hostel south of Amsterdam. Nicely decorated and with good opportunity to meet up with people. Common room was mostly outdoors, so only with good weather you can hang out with others. A warm summer night will be really nice though at this hostel. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for recommending us!

100%

I couldn't ask for more! One staff member, Rose, went out of her way to assist me in my travel plans, even getting me last minute information from the internet 2 minutes before I was due to leave. I made good use of the lake, on-site cinema and Dutch pancakes for breakfast. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Thanks for a great stay.

  • 6th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just lovely! Thanks for staying and hope to see you again XXX

94%

I believe that Lucky Lake hostel is almost a reason per si to visit Amsterdam. Despite being away from city centre, the space itself is magical and great for a good night sleep away from a busy noisy city. I went soon after the beginning of Spring so the nocturnal weather was not the most inviting for guests to hang around on open air socializing but the facilities are great. Nuria and the rest of the staff were very helpful and hard working. This hostel is well worth my money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow thank you!!

91%

Amazing hostel for spring and summer! Excellent breakfast! The only point not so good is the distance to the city center. But I definitely recommend it. If possible, allow a full day to stay in the hostel and enjoy the atmosphere.


97%

Really cool hostel and amazing staff. We had such a wonderful time there. Even though the location is outside of Amsterdam, the free bus-services and the team made up for that big time!

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's awesome! Thank you for staying.

89%

This is really a superb hostel that it likes a family. Staff are so good and helpful during my stay. I also enjoy the environment and atmosphere in Lucky Lake Hostel. It is highly recommended for everyone when you are travelling in amsterdam,

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much! We're very happy you felt at home:-)

91%

The staffs are really friendly and provided useful information for us. Clean bathroom, bed , reception and lounge. The decorations are stylish as well. Nice staying for a single traveler.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice! Thanks and we hope you'll stay in many more friendly and clean hostels during your travels, enjoy!

97%

We really loved this hostel. Staff were awesome and always wondering if they could help us with anything. The free breakfast was great where we could make our own pancakes, Dutch pancakes, and eggs on alternating days. We stayed in a cabin that had very nice built in bunkbeds and a table to sit around. We made use of the beautiful location by walking to the nearby lake and renting bikes to go into the nearby town. Highly recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Such a lovely review, thanks!

(169 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback