X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Lucky Lake Hostel Reviews

Vinkenkade 75, Vinkeveen, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
2366 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 95%Staff
  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 93%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Too often travellers get stuck directly in the city centre and are unable to venture off due to time restraints. Lucky Lake Hostel provides a one of a kind atmosphere matched with a wonderfully accommodating shuttle that offers a pick-up/drop-off service to connect with the metro to visit the city, etc. My friends and I had a particularly good time walking/swimming along the Dutch countryside. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone who is looking for an "off the beaten path" experience.


91%

It is a vey unique hostel with a lot of cool kitch, but it fits iin there. It is quite outside of the centre of Amsterdam, but the hostel is it worth.

  • 31st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Schön wäre es, einen kleinen Spiegel in den kleinen Wohnwagen zu haben (z. Bsp. in Nr. 10) Shuttle Service top. Frühstück top.

  • 30th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

We spent three very nice days at Lucky Lake. The amtosphere there is very nice, it looks also cute with all these caravans. The way with the metro to the city is easy and uncomplicated.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review!

91%

Such an awesome hostel! Cute, funky rooms, which are super clean. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms. Such an awesome chilled atmosphere here, and the staff are amazing, they even redirected some mail for us! There's a free shuttle to the station too! Do yourself a favour and stay here if your coming to Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Awesome, thanks for recommending us guys!

91%

Had a really lovely stay at Lucky Lake, the cabin we stayed in was lovely and cosy, especially when the weather started to play up and it poured down we were cosy and warm in our room! The shuttle service and breakfast were also really good and nice hot showers and clean toilets were also a good feature :) overall a very lovely stay, if only the weather in Amsterdam was nicer for the couple of days :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your lovely words. We're sorry for the rain and hope you'll come to stay with us again on a sunny day:-)

100%

We were greeted by the friendliest staff and welcoming atmosphere. Staff are super helpful and the facilities at the hostel are brilliant. Facilities are clean and excellent breakfast provided. The full kitchen with all utensitls provided helped save a lot of money. The minibus service to the train station was brilliant and always on time. Be sure to book if you want to use the little cinema as it is very busy. The lake nearby is fantastic and worth going for a swim! Will definately return soon!

  • 23rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay, what an awesome review. Thanks so much, we're very happy you had such a great stay!

89%

Loved the caravans, really cute. Showers were powerful, clean and very hot which was great! Was nice to be so close to the lake, and shuttle to the train station is very useful, it's then a short train into the centre of Amsterdam. Overall fantastic stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thank you!

91%

Amazing hostel! Te staff are so friendly and inviting and the atmosphere is beyond anything I've experienced at other hostels. It is a bit if a pain to get to and from the city centre but the staff do their best to accomodate this by offering free busses to and from the station. Would recommend for a group, for a solo traveller, for pretty much anyone

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive feed back.

100%

The best hostel in the world! Would recommand it to everybody. Clean, cosy and great service. Especially perfect if you want to relax and see the country side. Great for couples since you have your own private caravan. The atmosphere you have to feel for yourself - AMAZING.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Just one word; WOW!!! Thank you.

97%

I love this place so much. Second visit this summer and it was better than last time. Back soon, I hope.

Owner Comment (Hide)
:-) Thanks and see you soon!

100%

La meilleure auberge de jeunesse que je connaisse ! Un endroit super agréable, où l'on peut se détendre vraiment et profiter du temps !

  • 18th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Agréable! Merci

91%

Lucky Lake was a fantastoc place to stay. The staff was very accommodating and hospitable. I would highly recommend this hostel to backpackers traveling The Nethrlands.

  • 17th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for recommending us!

91%

We (a couple) stayed here for two nights and it was lovely. Cute little caravans and decoration all over the hostel made it feel really cosy. Standard free breakfast and tea and coffee. A really chilled atmosphere. The only negative point is the location, it's far out of the city centre (30 mins train and shuttle). However the train tickets are cheap and they have a shuttle bus once/twice an hour right to the hostel. But we really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay again :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your nice review and we hope to welcome you back some day!

74%

The carvans were really cool and there was a nice atmosphere, the breakfast truck was great, but felt the shuttle could of come more regularly as got stuck at the bus stop

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your nice review. We ask our guests that in case there are more then 8 people waiting at the shuttle stop, to please give us a call so we can come with an extra bus. We do all we can to make transportation to and from the hostel as good as possible for our guests although you do need to be a bit more flexible staying here compared to a stay in the city.

100%

I loved my stay at Lucky Lake, by far the best hostel I've ever stayed at, I'll definitely recommend and can't wait to be back. Only thing I think it could be improved is the shuttle service on rainy days, as it can get really busy at times on the way back from town and people might have to wait a lot longer in the cold/rain.

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
100% yay! We do all we can to make transportation to and from the hostel as good as possible for our guests. Asking you to call us if there are more then 8 people waiting at Holendrecht station really helps to avoid waiting in the cold and rain. Thanks for your feed back and hope to welcome you again!

97%

By far the coolest place weve ever stayed, The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, The shuttle bus made the location extremely handy, Ordering pizza and toasties at the desk was so good and having free tea and coffee all day was good for sleepy morning, While your there definitely take advantage of the lake and rent paddle boards you wont regret it! This place is just amazing i would recomment to everyone to go there at least once! I plan on going back soon just for the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay!! How awesome, we're very happy that you liked it and hope to welcome you back! Thank you.

100%

The. Best. Hostel. Ever. Me and my friend really enjoyed staying here! Its a bit away from amsterdam city center but totally worth it! And you can easily go to the city for day and then come back. This place was so cosy, calm and near beautiful little town and a beach. I would stay at this hostel again in a heartbeat! And probably will visit it again! Dont hesitate to book this hostel! :) very good beds, showers and stuff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yay! Thanks for your little rave about our place! We hope to welcome you back again some day.

94%

Éste Hostal es la bomba!!!!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A very nice and comfortable place if you are short on Money. You get warm water, breakfast, a shuttle to the next trainstation and a great Location for free. The atmosphere ist amazing, because everything got that 50s charm, i would say. I definitely would have stayed longer if it was possible.

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's nice to your you think you got good value for the money. Thanks for your review.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(248 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback