Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Luna's Castle Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 651 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • rgolembleski
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Luna's castel, exceeded my expectations for a hostel, one of my favourites. Not only where the rooms nice with good storage for your bag, comfy beds and AC the view was gorgeous. Super great atmosphere, right where you want to be in Panama City. Casco Veijo it's self is a dream, so nice there. One of the best qualites was the staff, they were absolutely wonderful to us, this should be your first pick on where to stay in panama! (Not to mention the downstairs bar & happy hour)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

The best place to stay for backpackers in Panama city looking for quiet time or something a bit livelier! Amazing chill out areas, free filtered water, coffee and pancakes for breakfast. The beds with curtains and fans make a nice touch.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
9.7

Loved our stay here. We were in a 10 bed dorm and it was by far the nicest dorm we have stayed in throughout our South and Central America trip! Pancakes in the morning were amazing. Staff were lovely and the location was perfect. Couple of dollars for an uber to most of he main attractions. Thank you guys!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.4

Absolutely loved this hostel. Location is brilliant in Casco Viejo and the building itself is really beautiful. Facilities are great - well stocked kitchen, bar (with beer for $1) and each bed has its own huge locker and set of curtains. Staff weren't super friendly which was the only downside, but always answered any questions I had. Highly recommend this spot to anyone heading to Panama City.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

Great location, fans in the rooms which make the top bunk desirable, and curtains for a little more privacy. Didn't get to enjoy the bar unfortunately. Small lockers in common area which is fine, but giant drawers under the bed can be kind of noisy for the bottom bunk.Slight problem with bugs coming out of the wood the first night but they immediately switched me to another room and fumigated the very next day - I really appreciated how swiftly it was dealt with and would recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Mar 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel! The old building has such character, and so many great communal areas. Very cool staff! Travel Teddy really enjoyed his stay: https://youtu.be/1QR4tyN2Mzg

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
8.6

Luna. You big, beautiful, loud, just-the-right-amount-of-sketchy, goddess of Casco Viejo. From the central patio that's sticky with pancake syrup and last night's Balboas, to the crooked tables in the cave-dark pit outside the bar below, Luna's Castle is the perfect place to experience Panama City's Old Quarter. The staff is helpful (not to mention gorgeous) and they make it very easy to get around the city. Bummer Note: Don't go out alone at nite, and don't expect decent sleep on the weekends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Mar 2017
8.9

Great Hostel but only tiny lockers available. There's a good couple of rooms to chill/nap if arriving in the early morning after taking the night bus from bocas. Nice bar down stairs with happy hour of 50 cent beers! I give this this hostel the Tom stamp of approval.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Mar 2017
7.7

Security let some creepy guy from the bar who was stalking me and my friends up into the actual hostel. Not safe at all -- he wasn't even staying there. The rooms are either too hot or too cold. Everyone was always complaining. The fan in my bed didn't work and they didn't fix. We noticed downstairs that some of the thermostats were being kept at 85 degrees farenheit, while others were being kept at 60 degrees. MORE BLANKETS would be great! Make sure the fans work, and keep the temp CONSISTENT!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Mar 2017
10.0

Excellent hostel and probably the best located in beautiful Casco Viejo close to all of the restaurants, bars and sights! In a lovely old colonial building with lots of character and filled with artwork! Staff were impecably professional and friendly. Good wifi, decent kitchen with pancakes, bananas and coffee included as breakfast. Bunks are comfortable and showers were hot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.