Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Lusaka Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 308 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
Lusaka Backpackers Located at 161 Mulombwa Close, 31300, Lusaka.
Lusaka Backpackers
Zambia
Lusaka 161 Mulombwa Close, 31300
87% 308
-15.4118985 28.2915115
Lusaka Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jul 2016
6.3

I never once saw a reception worker, and they closed the bar at 9:30. When I asked for help booking a bus ticket I was just handed a phone. Nothing horrific happened, but I probably wouldn't go back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • universalsea
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.0

Arrived at a quiet time, but served the purpose. Looks like a rocking place in summer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Jun 2016
7.7

Nice bar area, nice staff. The kitchen leaves alot to be desired though. A few pots and pans. Some very dirty. No sharp knife at all. Maybe two big plates to eat dinner. I get the feeling they want you to buy your food from their own chef.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2016
8.3

Good place but a tad too expensive in my opinion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately Zambia is an expensive country. We are keeping prices the same or trying to reduce them.

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
6.6

Good place to crash for a night or two. Nice vibe by the bar and chance to meet some cool travellers. The place is not pretty and the kitchen is delapidated. I wouldn't recommend cooking in there but the food provided by the hostel's kitchen is good and cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, great you enjoyed your stay. I agree the kitchen is in need of an upgrade, so a new one is under construction and will be open within the next month.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jun 2016
9.7

Great atmosphere, lovely staff and a great place to hang out in between adventures. Great value for money, and a good place to meet interesting people if you're travelling on your own.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 30 reviews
5th Jun 2016
9.4

Very highly recommended. Great location, decent wifi (rarity in Zambia!), the dorms are clean and spacious. There's a kitchen where you can order food for reasonable price. The bar area is great, very sociable in the evenings. Special mention goes to John and Kim, who were most helpful - they can help you book any place in Zambia you want to go to next (very competitive pricing) and have great recommendations on what to do/see.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2016
8.0

The place was tidy and had a good atmosphere for meeting other travelers. Otherwise, accommodations and facilities were typical. It was nice to have a kitchen though as there was not much food available within 10 min walking distance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd May 2016
8.9

Great hostel in a good location in Lusaka (is within walking distance or very short taxi ride from bus terminals). Nice pool to cool off and a comfy bar with great restaurant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th May 2016
9.1

The staff are very welcoming to all their guests, and I felt completely at home. John and Jassel are great company at the bar, Kim is always willing to provide advice and the kitchen staff are on call all day to cook you a fresh meal. They make a great team! The venue is great for socialising and there are also a few nooks to work on your laptop or read a book. Wifi was reliable. I imagine that the lively poolside atmosphere can't be beaten in summer. A few restaurants are walkable in 10 mins.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.