Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lusaka Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 336 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 9.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th May 2017
8.6

Lovely staff and very helpful. In general in Zambia be carefull of the "sorry no change" You will have to remember your credit as you may loose it unless you follow it up. This started with the officials on the Zambian side at the Malawi border post. This is not the case in Malawi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.9

Directions to walk there from bus station are not great. Instead turn LEFT at the Fire Dept station, RIGHT at the 1st street (3way stop), LEFT at first street, then LEFT again at first street. Food GREAT. Bigger & better lockers would be nice. Otherwise everything good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and the food.. Sorry for the mixed up directions, I hope you did not get lost from the bus station - there is only a left turn at the fire station.. We are working on the bigger, newer lockers.

  • spillam5277
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Mar 2017
9.7

Nice spot. I stayed in the mixed dorm at the back, basic bunks that do the job, the door doesn't lock. Shower was amazing and outside toilets and sinks were always very clean, as was the dorm. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food available which was tasty and a good laundry service. Pool is very small and in the very centre of all the seated and bar area so not the best. Id certainly stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and our new showers.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
9.4

Everything was great - such a friendly, helpful, fun staff. Only suggestions - would just have liked the sinks and showers to be cleaned more regularly. Thanks for a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback. Great you enjoyed your stay. You should see our new showers. They have just been completely renovated and are now easier to clean and are getting cleaned on a regular basis.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
10.0

Great spot and close to the bus station. Wifi was amazingly fast such a bonus! Staff were very helpful and it was a great laid back vibe. Didn't have the breakfast there but went to Mugg and Bean at the mall nearby and it was great. I'd come back here! Beds and bathrooms were clean and comfortable

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Jan 2017
10.0

I had an amazing time ended up staying on 3 different occasions . The staff are lovely people . If you want to do a great Safari ask Kim about Pinnon Lodge it's ace . Martin there guide is a great man .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • yannick_naudts8309
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
2.6

Private room wasnt good at all. 40 dollar for lowest basics ever. No protection for mosquitos, holes in the walls. You could hear everything from outisde. Overall a bad experience, becareful with all the mosquitoes.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay and that you received the old room. It is currently undergoing extensive renovations. All other rooms have large new nets to keep the mossies out. and the area has been sprayed to reduce mossies.

16th Dec 2016
7.4

Stayed here twice. First time was in private room which was nicer than many hotels. Had a great time playing pool with locals who use the bar. Good food. Second time arrived late at night and slept in dorm. Big dorm outside is horrendous, worst dorm room I have ever seen filled with people basically piled on top of each other. Room was even more humid than outside just because of people's breath in small space. Female dorm inside was better, so if you can, spend the money to stay there instead.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
8th Dec 2016
8.0

Great hostel in a good part of Lusaka. Nice and clean rooms, friendly staff and a very chill bar/hang out area. Will definitely stay here again (if I come by Lusaka).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Zambia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Nov 2016
10.0

My stay was excellent and i enjoyed more especially that i mate some good guys from jamica.i was not bold

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.