X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Luxembourg City Hostel Reviews

2, rue du Fort Olisy, Luxembourg City, Luxembourg

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2684 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

The ever "profit and money"-oriented hostel I have been to. It shouldn't be considered as a hostel as you can see most of their guests are not youth, and everything is charged in not youthtravrller-friendly price. The shower design is bad, probably insufficient WC and shower for the whole floor of guest, took the wrong bed sheet out, no one clean the rubbish. Even unclear location wrote on the description, actually apart from line9, 14 can reach there too. On top, no wifi except in the lobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, we are truly sorry you felt that way. I can assure you that all our prices are as low as we can afford to make them. We'd also like to point out that most of our rooms are equipped with their own showers and toilets, so the toilets and showers are not "for a whole floor" as you suggested. Furthermore, I can assure you that all rooms are cleaned every single day. We are sorry the hostel did not live up to your expecatations and hope you still managed to enjoy your stay in Luxembourg.

69%

Be prepared for this not to feel like a hostel. There are families with lots of children and adults who forget that they are sharing rooms with other people. That's what you get when it's the only hostel in town. Breakfast was fine. Rooms were clean but the hostel itself wasn't welcoming. Beautiful trek to get there though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us some feedback. As we are a family-friendly establishment, families with kids are more than welcome to stay with us too. We also believe that budget accomodation should be an option for anyone. That does not mean, however, that we don't see your point though, especially as getting to know fellow travellers is an essential part of staying in hostels. We hope you still enjoyed your stay. Kind regards from Luxembourg!

86%

Very good facilities. Overall satisfactory hostel for short stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for visiting and leaving a nice review. Even if it was only short, we hope you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards from Luxembourg

80%

Clean, efficient hostel which was excellent value for money. Although lacking somewhat in atmosphere the hostel was located very conveniently and was a pleasant to spend time in. The breakfast was particularly good and the optional lunch good value for money.

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave some feedback. As we rely so heavily on local and fair trade products, it's always particularly nice to hear positive things about our restaurant. We are sorry, however, you felt the hostel was lacking in atmosphere and hope you still enjoyed your time in Luxembourg. Given the high rating, I'm confident that that was the case! Kind regards, and may the roads rise up to meet you. ;-)

89%

Very nice, good location, great help from the staff, just no air con in my room. Other than that a great, welcoming hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and leaving us with such a lovely review. As you may know, Western Europe has experienced a freakishly hot summer, and unfortunately we (like most) have had quite a few issues dealing with the heat. We hope it wasn't too much of an inconvenience and are happy to see you still managed to enjoy your stay. Good luck on all your future trips!

94%

Very pleasant, clean and quiet hostel. Don't expect to drink and have fun in this place (feels more like a hotel sometimes) though. Facilities are recently renovated and look really good. I highly recommend a stay in this place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, that is a very flattering review. Thank you so much for staying with us and recommending us. As we have our very own bar, we actually do invite people to drink and have fun, but if you have any suggestions, we'd also be happy to hear from you. :-) Great that you enjoyed your stay, and good luck on all your future trips!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
83%

Nice hostel with a location close to the casements, although you have to walk uphill for a few minutes to get to them (or to the bus stop). Table tennis table outside with surprisingly good rackets provided. Dinner is available for a reasonable price and is quite good. Would be nice if breakfast were served later. Wi-Fi was a bit patchy in places. One complaint: I booked two nights, but after the first night the sheets etc. were gone from my bed and I had to put on new bed linen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for stopping by and taking the time to write such detailed feedback. Given the topography of the city, I'm afraid there's always going to be some up- or downhill involved no matter where you go. :-) Being so close to the casemates is definitely nice though. We looked into why your sheets were removed, but unfortunately ran into a dead end, so all we can do is apologise. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and Luxembourg in general. Kind regards from Luxembourg

80%

Maybe a description of the way would be cool, because I had difficulty finding the hostel - the street the hostel is in separates at one point, you can either go up hill or down hill - I chose going up and realised it was the wrong decision. Anything else was awesome, I loved the friendly staff, the dorm and also the common area and the terace. really nice hostel! would definitely come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and leaving us some valuable feedback. In fact, following your review, we have decided to write an entirely new directions, and all we need to do now is translate it into various languages. We are really pleased to see that you were happy with everything else, and we hope to have you back in Luxembourg some day. All the best for your future trips!

60%

Directions to this hostel are wrong! Bus 9 doesn't exist. Take 25 from airport & connect to 20 to Altmunster. Walk under bridge & down towards your right on a trail through the woods. The hostel is at the bottom of the hill. Beware - there's no AC here! I was absolutely miserable, couldn't sleep all night because the rooms were SO HOT. I had to go down to the lounge at 4am just to get some cool air to preserve my sanity. I'm a girl who gets cold easily, but even I thought I'd have a heat stroke


83%

Nice location and views. The free breakfast buffet is really good,and the meals you can buy there for lunch or dinner are delicious and affordable. Helpful staff, and a clean hostel in general.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, great to hear that you had a nice time when staying with us. We do think of our restaurant as one of our strong points, especially since we reply heavily on local and fair trade products, so it's really nice to see it being appreciated. Thank you for your lovely review and good luck on your future trips! Kind regards from sunny Luxembourg

91%

I only stayed for 1 night but its one of the best hostels out there. Also - the best free breakfast ive had at a hostel :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
One of the best hostels out there - wow! Thank you so much for such a flattering review. :-) We're also more than happy you enjoyed the breakfast so much. Given that rely so heavily and local and fair trade products, this is particularly pleasaing for us! Kind regards from Luxembourg

94%

Modern, clean and well laid out. Good parking, nice outdoor space and good social spaces (bar, garden, library/pool room/computer room). Small dorms but generally clean and quiet. Sturdy lockers in the rooms (take your own combination padlock). The location is beautiful however is at the bottom of a very very steep hill. We walked it up into the town centre in 30+ degree heat and it was hard work. All in all a nice place to spend a night or 2.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and leaving nice feedback! Great that you enjoyed the facilities and location. It's true that when it's 30°+ degrees, the hill can be challenging. We have had a freakishly hot summer though, and such conditions are not normally the case. ;-) Just to let you know: Guests can bring/use their own padlocks of course, but for those who don't, free padlocks are available (for a fully reimbursed deposit) at the reception. Kind regards from Luxembourg

60%

Wifi was pretty atrocious... Only worked in one area of the reception, and no rooms! Also rather a lack of plug sockets No atmosphere at all! However excellently located to see the old town and Chemin de la corniche (the highlights) Free breakfast is a bonus, albeit not very impressive, and only served till 9pm Also only one washing machine is a pain

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. As the idea is to encourage people to get to know each other in the common areas and limit noise in the dorms, it has been a conscious decision not to extend the free WiFi to the rooms. We are sorry if this was such a major inconvenience for you and your feedback concerning the matter will be taken into consideration, as will your other comments. We'll do our best to improve! Take care and good luck on your trip!

97%

Great location just 10 minutes from the old city. I would stay here again. I recommend the hostel needs to give clear directions as to how to get to the hostel the first time.

  • 3rd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you very much for your kind review. Will look into updating the direction - promise! Kind regards from Luxembourg

86%

Very clean, well maintained hostel located right beneath the historic part of the city. Breakfast provided was a bonus with a choice of drinks, cold meats, cheese, breads and cereal as well as preserves. Booked a 6 bed room and was allocated a 4 which was a welcome surprise. Room was small but excellent locker space. Wifi only works downstairs and not many charging points. Shower was dubious as the light would automatically turn off. Generally however a pleasant stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hostel. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! As for the WiFi only being available in the common areas, the idea to is to get people to mingle in the open spaces and get to know each other. That aside, it also helps limit noise in the dorms. We do, however, acknowledge the continuously growing importance of being connected and your comments will certainly be taken into consideration! Thank you for your feedback!

97%

met a lot of cool people, nice cafe for breakfast and short walk to everything!

  • 31st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, great that you met a lot of nice people. That's certainly one of the best parts of staying in a hostel and something we're always happy to hear. Sounds like you had a good time then - yay! :-) Kind regards from Luxembourg

94%

They had good parking availability and isn't far off from the centre of the city either on foot or by car (although it is near-impossible to bring a car near the centre). The toilets,showers,hallways and dorm rooms were all very clean. However, one annoying thing was that the wifi was only available to you in the reception area. But besides that it was overall a good stay in a well-maintained, safe and professionally-run hostel that caters for all types of guests of every age group.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. You are right about taking a car to the city centre - it's better to leave the car on our free parking space and to explore the city on foot. Not extending WiFi to the dorms was a conscious decision to encourage people to mingle and get to know each other in the common areas, but we do of course acknowledge the growing importance of being connected. Glad you had a good time! Kind regards

94%

I really liked the location. It was down the hill from the city, so could be a problem with a lot of bags, but I pack light and like a nice trek through the beautiful park, or by the old city wall. The building was nice and clean, very new looking. Good atmosphere with a lot of people. Staff were very nice. No problems with the room. Would stay here again for sure, and would definitely recommend coming to luxembourg to see this world heritage site, and vibrant old city area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, thank you for taking the time to write that very lovely review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with! Indeed, the location is something we definitely think of as a bonus seen as we're so close to the tourist attractions and old town. For those with heavy luggage, by the way, we also offer a shuttle service! Good luck on your future trips and kind regards from Luxembourg!

94%

Good location, very clean. Room was comfortable with individual lights and large lockers. Slow-ish wifi, can't access it in the room. Not able to check in before 1.30pm. Great buffet breakfast!!


57%

The hostel lacks a hostel atmosphere and is more an overgrown hotel. The area it's located in is beautiful but does involve a uphill walk to go anywhere, not a big problem, but hard with bags. Also the facilities are not very clean. The mattress was stained, the shower had black mold in it. And the shower turns off every minute and you have t keep turning it on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear, I'm sorry to hear you weren't satisfied with the facilities. I can assure you though, that the bathrooms are cleaned meticulously several times a day. I also apologise for any inconvenience with the shower turning off automatically, but I would like to point out that it's part of our ecological efforts and sustainability programs, which we take very seriously. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing us. Kind regards from Luxembourg

(1407 results)


View all Luxembourg City Hostels

Please give us your feedback