Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Luz Madrid Rooms

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 350 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
6.0

Cleaning staff made my room up twice even when do not disturb sign was displayed. Also the airconditioner filter appeared to never have been cleaned as it kept shooting out thick black dust all over the room. Location and price was good.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
8.0

Location was great; right in the heart of Madrid. Rooms were nice and air conditioned. Had a few issues with our arrival (the receptionist/host could not speak english), but overall it was a good place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

Clean and very central, close to Sol and Opera metro stations. Very affordable accomodation so I can't complain. Some things to note - you need basic Spanish to communicate with the front desk, rooms can get hot (no working aircon in my room), walls are thin so if you're a light sleeper it might not be for you, and I think they should consider having soap in shared bathrooms. They do give you a bar, but you have to keep taking it with you to bathroom which might be annoying for some people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
9.1

Really good location and value for money for basic accomodation. I had a private single room with shared bathroom that was completely adequate for a single retired traveller. Although this establishment calls its self a hostel it is really a basic hotel. No kitchen facilities or common area, but as a cheap place to sleep, perfect.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2017
10.0

The hostel was so amazing! It was in central Madrid and close to everything, a 10 minute walk to Sol and 20 minute walk to El Retiro park, Prado Museum etc. It was cheap and had everything we needed. A clean room, clean bathrooms and comfy beds. Margarita was lovely too! Thank you so much!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.0

Hostal Luz is located in an apartment building very close to the Opera Metro Station and also to Puerta Del Sol. We had a bit of trouble finding the hostel's entrance at first because we had forgotten that in Europe, the ground floor of buildings is often called "Floor 0" and not "Floor 1" as in America! So you really have to walk up four flights of stairs to reach the hostel entrance which is on the left. Clean, quiet, and good place to retire after a day out in Madrid!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2017
8.3

Pros: fantastic location; very clean;nicely decorated; mostly quiet; lots of bathrooms to share. Cons: heavy cigarette smoke from front desk staff (had to put a towel under door to block it); staff not super friendly/ difficult to communicate with (no English/ my Spanish is broken); no common room to meet others. Biggest issue is that I couldn't get a straight answer about extending my stay despite sending several emails both in Spanish and English. only confirmed morning I was supposed to leave

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
8.0

Good value for the money you pay for the hostal. Superb location, very friendly staff. Clean and neat!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Feb 2017
8.9

Great WiFi. Great location: can walk to a lot! High pressure showerhead (shared bathrooms but there are a lot). Nice big windows in our room. Stayed here 3 nights for 2 days in Madrid and we left thinking we made a great choice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
10.0

Hostal luz was in the perfect location for anyone wanting to explore Madrid by walking. It is close to everything and once you find it, it is quite easy to navigate to and from. I will say, it can be a bit noisy outside if you are trying to go to bed earlier in the night (we weren't so it didn't bother us). I would highly recommend - great price for a great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.